Focus Features | Release Date: February 13, 2015
2.9
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 1095 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
218
Mixed:
139
Negative:
738
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
grandpajoe6191Aug 20, 2015
"50 Shades Of Grey" may be easier to describe as "The R-Rated Twilight". Yes, substitute all the main characters of "Twilight" with the same generic pornstar-named characters and all the action with pointless BDSM (I heard even the sex scenes"50 Shades Of Grey" may be easier to describe as "The R-Rated Twilight". Yes, substitute all the main characters of "Twilight" with the same generic pornstar-named characters and all the action with pointless BDSM (I heard even the sex scenes don't come close to the ones in the book) and you might as well have the ultimate mother-flick movie that's going to turn your valentines day upside down. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
4
asjklasjklasMar 4, 2015
If I’m being honest, I should be damning the Fifty Shades film to hell. It’s an adaption of one of the most poorly written novels in recent memory and makes the Twilight trilogy’s Stephanie Meyers—which it initially originated from, being aIf I’m being honest, I should be damning the Fifty Shades film to hell. It’s an adaption of one of the most poorly written novels in recent memory and makes the Twilight trilogy’s Stephanie Meyers—which it initially originated from, being a fan fiction—look like J.D. Salinger. It’s also one of the poorest representations of the BDSM community I’ve ever witnessed and I’d argue that it’s actually about a mentally unstable man who uses “BDSM” to stabilize his sadist mind—if I took “erotic” fan fiction seriously. But Fifty Shades of Grey just wasn’t as unwatchable as I initially predicted it to be and, to my surprise, it has entertainment value—if not in its target audience, it has laughable dialogue, cheap acting performances, and an overall sense of silliness, the way it boasts the fetish it knows nothing of, which should make it a must-see for the ones who antagonize it most. But otherwise, this isn’t a film I wouldn’t particularly remember, for better or worse, if it weren’t for the controversy, criticism and cultural criticism surrounding it. It’s merely a mediocrity dressed in clothing that might catch everyone’s attention, both good and bad, but some of us who neither treasure nor hate this franchise see how unfitting it truly is. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
6
LowbrowCinemaFeb 23, 2015
Dopey but never dull, 50 SHADES OF GREY is way too somber for its own good. Why are these films always so serious? Shouldn't S&M be fun? Or mean and nasty. Something. Luckily, saw this in Spanish in Mexico City which made it far moreDopey but never dull, 50 SHADES OF GREY is way too somber for its own good. Why are these films always so serious? Shouldn't S&M be fun? Or mean and nasty. Something. Luckily, saw this in Spanish in Mexico City which made it far more entertaining than it should be. Dakota Johnson is pretty damn good though. Question: Why does each generation need a story like this? From STORY OF O to 9 1/2 WEEKS to 50 SOMBRAS DE GREY. WHY? Inquiring minds want to know. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
LamontRaymondFeb 16, 2015
After seeing The Fall, I expected a lot more from Jamie Dornan, and after Ben & Kate, I expected more from Dakota Johnson. I hadn't read the book, so I was expecting something similar to the B & D segments from Nymphomaniac - hardly. Not muchAfter seeing The Fall, I expected a lot more from Jamie Dornan, and after Ben & Kate, I expected more from Dakota Johnson. I hadn't read the book, so I was expecting something similar to the B & D segments from Nymphomaniac - hardly. Not much happens in this movie. Go in expecting a little T & A, and that's what you'll get. Nothing more. The better movie to see, if you're into this dominant/submissive thing, is The Secretary with James Spader and Maggie Gyllenhal. Expand
10 of 16 users found this helpful106
All this user's reviews
5
j1trainFeb 17, 2015
At its best, it's the kind of movie you watch with a giddy grin. Otherwise, it's obviously bad and actually pretty tame for a movie about BDSM. Dakota Johnson is great, but Jamie Dornan gives a flat performance.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
4
juank87Mar 15, 2015
I've watched this movie and had no good expectations about it, because always something so popular becomes in a very bad movie, the dialogues were awful, it was too slow, but i was really impressed with dakota, she was one of the fewI've watched this movie and had no good expectations about it, because always something so popular becomes in a very bad movie, the dialogues were awful, it was too slow, but i was really impressed with dakota, she was one of the few things that highlights of this movie Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
BoojVhleeFeb 13, 2015
okay yes the intimate scenes were good and i was pretty satisfied that they followed the book close by, and i admit Johnson has portrayed Ana well despite the initial doubts i had with her but the most disappointing thing was i would sayokay yes the intimate scenes were good and i was pretty satisfied that they followed the book close by, and i admit Johnson has portrayed Ana well despite the initial doubts i had with her but the most disappointing thing was i would say Dornan. it seemed like he didn't really know how to be like Christian when he wasn't kissing or **** and i was expecting little bit more than "this". If it didn't had those R rated scenes i could have mistaken it for just another movie where this girl meets rich guy. Expand
7 of 24 users found this helpful717
All this user's reviews
6
movieminxFeb 13, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I went to see the film the weekend it came out, my expectations were limited. This is only because of the last few books made into films have not done well review wise since Hunger Games. That being said, I give this film an okay on the like and dislike meter; the dislike comes from the lack of forethought on the writers behalf. They refused to use proper transitions when cutting scene to scene; so, when someone who has read the books will wonder how the characters reached a certain point. Ex- when christen invites Ana and Kate to take photos of him for Kate's article, the script writers went from hardware store to the room where the photos were being taken. This happens throughout the whole film along with speedy line reading from Jamie Dornan, who refused to slow down and allow the audience to connect with what he was saying. There was also a lack of use with the supporting characters, their scenes were either speed up and disorienting or obsolete. The movie did not need Mia because Kate's brother Ethan was not mentioned in the film, and their was no reason for Ana's mom to be in the film either because the audience never even saw "Ms. Robinson" who was briefly mentioned and used way too aggressively. Furthermore, the film is 2 hours long, and the writers/directors could have used them more consciously instead of taking lines form the book and calling it a day. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
4
joy25Feb 20, 2015
"Fifty Shades" is not a romantic movie, is the movie the abuse of female, when sexual violence become pleasure . The action is boring, chemistry between two actors in the leading role demonstrate not implication and embarrassed (the scene"Fifty Shades" is not a romantic movie, is the movie the abuse of female, when sexual violence become pleasure . The action is boring, chemistry between two actors in the leading role demonstrate not implication and embarrassed (the scene in bath). The story presented in movie is not realistic, the scenario is very simple. The movie relatively respect the book. The book is extremely pornographic but exist chemistry between Anastasia and Grey. The movie is not pornographic, is not erotic is boring..... I want to see Jamie Dornan in this role and disapointed because he's not represented in this role. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
sebastianglzFeb 13, 2015
It isn't bad at all. Actually I wasn't expecting too much, but it serves its purpose, it gives the fans a "good adaptation". They tried hard with the direction and the screenplay, and the result was a movie I can only watch once. Plus, theIt isn't bad at all. Actually I wasn't expecting too much, but it serves its purpose, it gives the fans a "good adaptation". They tried hard with the direction and the screenplay, and the result was a movie I can only watch once. Plus, the chemistry between Dornan and Johnson is non-existent. Expand
4 of 17 users found this helpful413
All this user's reviews
5
LaurandaFeb 13, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am going to say that if you didn't read the book, a lot is not going to make sense to you, since lots of exposition was cut out (for time constraints), and we don't "hear" the endless tellings of Ana's Inner Goddess (which at least let you in a little bit about what the hell is going on, even if it was one of the worst parts of the book). That said, the movie was about as hokey as the book. I went to the movie to try to understand the characters better, and their motivations still make no sense. Even Grey, in the movie, basically tells us that that's just the way he is (with a possible transference from "Mrs. Robinson"). Ana I just don't get. She is naive and curious, yes, but she just jumps full on into Grey's twisted world?! And at the last second when he actually physically hurts her (at her request), she does a 180? Obviously, they get back together (since there are 2 more books), so I assume we learn more about the characters, but a story needs to be complete in a single volume. The only reason I even gave the movie 5/10 (the book I would say is a 3) is because I wasn't totally bored, and Dakota was pretty damn good (Jamie not so much). Expand
3 of 14 users found this helpful311
All this user's reviews
6
wornoutspinesFeb 13, 2015
I never wanted to read the books but I saw the movie. Fifty Shades of Grey is Twilight, without the religious crap, sorry to say but the relationships in Twilight didn't feel genuine or plausible - supernatural aspects aside - and thankI never wanted to read the books but I saw the movie. Fifty Shades of Grey is Twilight, without the religious crap, sorry to say but the relationships in Twilight didn't feel genuine or plausible - supernatural aspects aside - and thank goodness she doesn't wait four books to put out. The film is sensual, not sexual even thought there are boobs, bushes, and **** in it. It's a BDSM love story that reeks of teenage drama and desperation but it's still fun to watch, what does that say about?

Sam Taylor-Johnson delivered a tasteful movie despite the dicey subject. Fifty Shades is well shot, the cinematography is beautiful and luminescent - sorry about that word - literally bringing to light BDSM practices. She suggested sex without showing it, to be honest she showed quite a bit. But once again, the movie is sensual and not arousing - at least, it didn't arouse me. Taylor-Johnson also got some pretty surprising performances out of her actors. Jaime Dornan and Dakota Johnson were surprisingly very good.

Jamie Dornan is exceedingly good in this role, not that he is a bad actor, but I wasn't sure he could pull it off. He does though, he plays mysterious and domination well, and also clearly shows how Christian Grey loves the crack the whip. Dakota Johnson as the young and innocent Bella, I mean Anastasia is brilliant, she probably would have been a better Bella than Kristen Stewart - sorry but it's kind of true.

I hope Dakota Johnson had a hell of a pay day out of this movie because however tasteful it is, she's naked a lot in this film.

Chessy dialogues and unnecessary inuendos aside, Fifty Shades of Grey is not that bad.

@wornoutspines
Expand
3 of 14 users found this helpful311
All this user's reviews
6
3ebfan511Mar 6, 2015
It really wasn't as bad as some are saying. For reference I am a guy who dislikes chick flicks, but I like indie artsy types of films, so I guess my 6/10 makes sense. Also, I did not read the books and you don't need to have read them toIt really wasn't as bad as some are saying. For reference I am a guy who dislikes chick flicks, but I like indie artsy types of films, so I guess my 6/10 makes sense. Also, I did not read the books and you don't need to have read them to watch or understand or even enjoy the film. I enjoyed some parts of it, some parts were a little boring, but honestly, most of the time Mr. Grey and the girl were on screen together it was pretty interesting and captured my attention. It was not a bad film.

Some of the dialogue however was bad, so bad that it made me laugh. But the guys character is supposed to be stiff, so it works. Mainly though, in terms of the sex, if you have seen a single porn in your life then it wont be anything even remotely shocking. The sex was very PG, and it was much more about foreplay, or whatever it is that women like and think about so much. That was basically the whole point of the film was some kind of long drawn out sexual foreplay. But without even much sex. It was however interesting for as long as he was on screen, and when he was not I started to get bored momentarily...(they are on screen together most of the film though.)

6/10, it was OK. Really no reason to get excited unless you are a middle aged woman, or uptight about sex.
Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
4
HaithamBFeb 16, 2015
It is such a huge thing everyone made it out to be. But indeed, it is a porno that just got lucky, with a near blink of a story and somewhat acceptable performances.
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
6
danippMar 10, 2015
Yes, we have here a poorly developed story, with some dialogues that are ridiculous and supporting characters who are totally wasted. Jamie Dornan has the phisicality that Grey demanded but he doesn't have the attitude this role required. OnYes, we have here a poorly developed story, with some dialogues that are ridiculous and supporting characters who are totally wasted. Jamie Dornan has the phisicality that Grey demanded but he doesn't have the attitude this role required. On the other hand, Johnson made an adaptation that has a stunning soundtrack, great sex scenes and Dakota gives a perfect performance as Anastasia. For fans this will be awesome and even for people who didn't read read the books this can be an interesting entertainment. It's the classical love story we all know to be honest. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
brianna19Feb 17, 2015
After falling in love with the Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy, not to mention absolutely obsessed with Christian Grey and Anastasia Steel's relationship, when I heard there was a movie coming out, I had mixed feelings. E.J. James does not getAfter falling in love with the Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy, not to mention absolutely obsessed with Christian Grey and Anastasia Steel's relationship, when I heard there was a movie coming out, I had mixed feelings. E.J. James does not get enough credit for her work and like me and most other public readers of Fifty Shades, myself and others are often immediately judged. I will state that E.J. James revolutionized writing as well as giving the women an option to enjoy "porn" instead of watching the nasty, totally unrealistic scenes on our computers. Therefore with all this in mind, I was excited for the movie, I watched interviews and the trailer about a billion times, I couldn't wait. Now, my boyfriend being the boyfriend he is he said, "absolutely not" when I asked him to go see it on opening night with me, so I pushed it off until now. My person opinion is... This book is freaking hard to make into a movie and I give the directors, play writers etc... credit for giving it their best shot, but like myself and others, we all let our imaginations run wild while reading this book therefore this movie maybe appealed to someones imagination... but not mine and my roommates in particular. I thought this movie would appeal more to men than women, by this I mean I'm not trying to see boobs every other scene, but I do understand it is part of Christian Grey's "fifty shades." But this is a female fantasy/ book therefore the movie should appeal to us women! Another point, this movie moved WAY too fast! I get it you need to fit a 500 page book into a two hour movie but holy cow did they miss the connection making between Christian and Ana! I don't want to harp on this movie because like I said, it is near to impossible to appeal to everyone's imaginations. My last point would be, if you read the books and enjoy a good movie, go to the movie anyways because Dakota Johnson and Jamie Dornan do a fantastic job on what will probably be the hardest role they will ever play. All in all, if you haven't read the books, read them. If you haven't seen the movie and have the opportunity, like me, to go to $5 movie night take the opportunity to go see it with your girlfriends and go home to your hubbies and see what fifty shades you can come up with! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
Andi-HFeb 21, 2015
I wouldn't say horrible,cos I'm a big fan of the book and the story,but I expected something better.They missed out the most important thing from the movie. The passion.The book is full with passion,that's why its good.I felt the movie dryI wouldn't say horrible,cos I'm a big fan of the book and the story,but I expected something better.They missed out the most important thing from the movie. The passion.The book is full with passion,that's why its good.I felt the movie dry and empty.I'm quite disappointed. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
sofarmanMar 4, 2015
The movie you have to know the importance of time and money.
If you want to the erotic, look at the porn that will get better
It's serious advices! Remember that.!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
SchroederRockMay 21, 2015
A movie that thrives mostly on Dakota Johnson's performance as the central character "Anastassia". I enjoyed the chemistry between her and the stone-cold Christian Grey, played by Jamie Dornan, and it was really the only reason I could sitA movie that thrives mostly on Dakota Johnson's performance as the central character "Anastassia". I enjoyed the chemistry between her and the stone-cold Christian Grey, played by Jamie Dornan, and it was really the only reason I could sit through 2+ hrs. of this adult version of Twilight. While the movie isn't that good at all, the relationship assessments were intriguing. The realization that relationships require trust to be built and maintained, and that anyone can have a dark sexual fantasy or skeleton in their closet that is unknown to the world is always fascinating and very real. Learning to release the shame and risk being vulnerable to another person scares the crap out of so many people in the world, but properly-placed trust offers incredible rewards, and I think that Christian Grey is on his way to learning that. The problem I have with that is there's two more books to address that, and I'm curious how anyone can muster up enough on-screen time to make any audience feel like they should show up. The first movie coasted on anticipation and controversy. A second and third film wouldn't benefit from that luxury. Perhaps Focus Features and the screen-adaptation can work to remedy any literary faults and find ways to charge the 50 Shades story with more interest, instead of relying solely on the sexual fantasies of women to find success. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
jgzegerApr 2, 2017
While it is fashionable to pan this movie, a fine performance by Dakota Johnson and some good cinematography save it from being a complete disaster. On the whole, though, it remains of interest primarily to S & M enthusiasts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
csw12Mar 13, 2015
"Fifty Shades of Grey" is nothing more than a joke of a film but if you put aside ridiculous characters and unrealistic scenarios, it isn't that bad of a film. The film lacks passion, love and sex, not a good combo if the name of the movie"Fifty Shades of Grey" is nothing more than a joke of a film but if you put aside ridiculous characters and unrealistic scenarios, it isn't that bad of a film. The film lacks passion, love and sex, not a good combo if the name of the movie is "Fifty Shades of Grey". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
LoRevisorSep 29, 2015
Não é tão ruim como dizem, mas também nem chega a ser um bom filme... Dakota Johnson é encantadora Jamie Dornan é razoavelmente bom, o filme possui uma ótima trilha sonora, é um mediano-bom filme de romance tem umas partes bacanas,e tambémNão é tão ruim como dizem, mas também nem chega a ser um bom filme... Dakota Johnson é encantadora Jamie Dornan é razoavelmente bom, o filme possui uma ótima trilha sonora, é um mediano-bom filme de romance tem umas partes bacanas,e também tem um dos piores e mais patéticos finais da história do cinema... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Voice0fReasonMar 13, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was pleasantly surprised with this movie. I read a bunch of reviews on it from other users and pro critics that gave the movie a bad rap, but again, I was pleasantly surprised. Now hold it before you start flaming me and **** because that's what the internet does just hear me out.
A: A movie isn't bad because there is a lack of consent. That doesn't make a bad movie. Sure it makes a bad moral, doesn't give the right message, may encourage people, but that does NOT MAKE A BAD MOVIE.
B: She does give consent, just not written. At the graduation scene she says OK to his request. Yes he perused her, but how many movies does the guy peruse the girl or vise versa? What makes this movie different? Just because they have explicit sex scenes in it?
C: BDSM is OK. Personally, I do not like it. Does that mean whips, sticks, belts, rope, blindfolding, and gags are gross, horrifying, and disgusting? Of course! To me at least. People are into that kind of thing is a kink, and kink is wonderful. Hell people don't like my kinks or fetishes, some of which would be gross, horrifying, and disgusting to most people but that's peoples' kinks and there is nothing wrong with it. If you don't like it, that's not the movie's problem. It's yours, and why should the movie conform to your opinions? A movie is there to entertain you, and if you are not entertained by BDSM, then watch another movie, nobody is stopping you. There isn't a guy at the exit saying, "You paid for this movie so that mean's you can't leave."
D: This isn't a **** dating movie. If I wanted to have an erotic time with my partner, I wouldn't want to have it in a theatre with a big sweaty guy with a box of milk duds sitting next to me. That, and I don't watch sex scenes with my partner because that's not what I'm into.
Now that my rant is aside, the movie overall was a bit more than alright (that's a 5). The plot was surprisingly deep, showing us what a lack of communication can lead to. It also explores detrimental child abuse, the lack of two people not being able to mesh but have a deep infatuation with each other, a first relationship, and most importantly, how far can a relationship go when it's just based off of looks. It's quite emotional at parts as you feel either empathy/hatred for Grey or Anastasia. That's probably about the driving point of the film itself. The cinematography was good for the most part, scenery was great the whole way through, writing was... eh, and I'm sure glad it was a good adaptation and they didn't go strictly by the book. The only big problem I had was the acting. Not that it was all bad, but the contrast in quality between a good female role and a bad male role threw me off.
Overall: a bit over a bogie, but not yet par.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
TheWaffleDec 3, 2015
Of course this movie is ridiculous, everyone gets that. Most romance novels/movies at least try to have a pretense of reality, e.g. down on his luck but sexy cowboy, workoholic tv producer, etc, but not this one. The plot/fantasy is basicallyOf course this movie is ridiculous, everyone gets that. Most romance novels/movies at least try to have a pretense of reality, e.g. down on his luck but sexy cowboy, workoholic tv producer, etc, but not this one. The plot/fantasy is basically right out of a high school girl's diary: a helicopter flying, piano playing, extremely attractive, 27-year-old billionaire picks you out of a crowd for no reason and obsesses over you. It's more over the top than most romance flicks, but that's to be expected.

What I didn't expect was that a romance-novel movie with such an over-the-top premise would be so unbelievably un-sexy. This doesn't really qualify as a guilty pleasure, because almost an hour in the only excitement you get is a 2 minute chopper ride and some discussion of contract law. The film barely manages any suspense or temptation, and despite several minutes of build-up, Grey's (spoilers) pleasure room is really underwhelming.

I went in expecting it to be a bad guilty pleasure, but instead Fifty Shades of Grey is a really, really expensive-looking spectacle to be gawked at and laughed at.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
jppl1999Mar 17, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To be honest, I haven't read the book. So as you can see, the following will be just a vision created by what can be extracted from the movie itself: I gave it a mixed score because I considered it that way, such as if you have 0.5 and want to approximate it and the result gets to be 1. The actors are good, just that; they show failures and tend to overact, but, due to the film characteristics, that's just the minimal necessity for it. Now, what's important: the movie itself. The proposal its interesting and the exposure given to the viewers its creative; you don't usually see BDSM practice in movies, and even more, to be "socially" accepted. But that's not the principal thematic about the movie, the problem is that it gets to show hypocrisy. We have this "relationship" between Anastasia and Christian where he wants her to fit his profile and she tries to adapt to it, but it never gets fulfilled; there is always some sort of resistance between both, and mostly coming from Steele (which I find actually pretty funny), where she always plays with him, due to the intention from his to be "dominant over the submissive" but her intention is not to give in easily; that's the biggest problem and inconvenient coming from the film. They sell the movie as the "romantic story" which is in the dreams of every teenager fan of the book: Christian Grey plays with Anastasia Steele in order to obtain pleasure and satisfaction, but as the end of the movie exposes, if you retire the satisfaction from the act, then this one becomes hollow*, such as the movie.

*Yes! The Imitation Game.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
BeeceeJul 6, 2015
The film actually started out well (the actress playing Anastasia grew on me), and the photography is good, but eventually it became rather boring. Why wasn't Anastasia attracted to the nice artist, Jose? Mr. Grey needs to have a degree ofThe film actually started out well (the actress playing Anastasia grew on me), and the photography is good, but eventually it became rather boring. Why wasn't Anastasia attracted to the nice artist, Jose? Mr. Grey needs to have a degree of sexual magnetism for the film to work - it is lacking. Since there isn't much chemistry between the main characters, I only concluded that Anastasia liked Mr. Grey for his money, and Mr. Grey liked Anastasia for her innocence. But neither of them is really compelling. Fortunately, I didn't have to pay to see this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MarickMar 19, 2015
All I'm saying is that I'm disappointed film. I was expecting something else entirely I, don't know why but I had a much better impression for this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TheRoyalMelonDec 2, 2015
It's ok. The acting is ok, the plot is ok, everything is ok. Nothing special. I would watch it a second time but not a third. All the advertisement and hype for an ok movie. Why was I expecting that...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
horrorreviewsJun 22, 2015
the writing was so bad and the acting seemed so forced and exaggerated that this could have easily passed as a comedy. Seriously, me and my friends were laughing the entire time. Ending was garbage though. If your looking for a good romancethe writing was so bad and the acting seemed so forced and exaggerated that this could have easily passed as a comedy. Seriously, me and my friends were laughing the entire time. Ending was garbage though. If your looking for a good romance movie, this isn't it. On the other hand, if you are looking for a dirty comedy, this might be right up your ally Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
WJSNov 21, 2015
I found the first 45 minutes of this film to be intriguing. It's very flashy and the actors are pretty...but then it becomes more intimate and gets cheesy and silly and just sort of boring. I suppose that straight housewives enjoy the mildI found the first 45 minutes of this film to be intriguing. It's very flashy and the actors are pretty...but then it becomes more intimate and gets cheesy and silly and just sort of boring. I suppose that straight housewives enjoy the mild kinkiness, but really it just sort of comes across as an R rated made for TV movie. Of course I say this as a gay man who really doesn't appreciate the heterosexuality of it all. I did like the soundtrack though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
GuerrinoMay 29, 2015
What a **** is this?! **** at all topics! Who likes that? Only silly people. Guess, have i watched this? No!
Haven't even thought about this. But have seen good review on YouTube.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
markvantparkApr 10, 2015
A fake gay man who is living his sick sexual fantasies.
Spanking as new sex rage
A movie at the speed of the 30 KM/hour zone
Actually a very smooth and stylish movie for the late hours, romance, love.
Great soundtrack
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Gabriel2205Mar 25, 2015
Sinceramente , filme completamente sem nexo , muitas pessoas dizendo sobre as cenas de nudez e explicita , mas nada supre a filma de roteirismo desse filme , o que foi esse final ? pelo amor de Deus , vamos melhorar isso , dou 5 porqueSinceramente , filme completamente sem nexo , muitas pessoas dizendo sobre as cenas de nudez e explicita , mas nada supre a filma de roteirismo desse filme , o que foi esse final ? pelo amor de Deus , vamos melhorar isso , dou 5 porque algumas partes ficaram normalizadas e dentro do contexto. Adeus e comprem 1989 no itunes Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TeijoApr 7, 2015
Not as bas as I thought and yet not as good as promoted. Though the subjet of the movie and books deals with a complex theme of Master-servant relationship which is not usually comprehended by most therefore people are misleaded to a wrongNot as bas as I thought and yet not as good as promoted. Though the subjet of the movie and books deals with a complex theme of Master-servant relationship which is not usually comprehended by most therefore people are misleaded to a wrong and superficial analysis of the movie, misinterpreting the whole thing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Jess_HillJul 12, 2015
Should have been made as an R rated film. This is a very good adaption of the novel, with beautiful cinematography and great performances from Johnson and Dornan, given that they manage to actually deliver the repugnant dialogue withoutShould have been made as an R rated film. This is a very good adaption of the novel, with beautiful cinematography and great performances from Johnson and Dornan, given that they manage to actually deliver the repugnant dialogue without breaking character or dissolving into peals of laughter. But don't misunderstand me, a good adaptaion of absolute tripe does not a good film make. The sex scenes really needed the addition of an R rating, and the score is artfully utilised to undermine the decidedly disturbed subtext here. However, on that, abusers don't tend to begin a relationship with the requirement of explicit consent, nor do they cease their behaviour when told no, nor do they prioritise female pleasure as part of their lexicon. I'd suggest that the ire caused here is the congitive dissonance of viewers finding the (inaccurate) BDSM depicted erotic, in spite of despising the clear dysfunction of the relationship and the lack of apparent power afforded the protagonist. I'd point out that in this aspect, this film is no different to the vast majority of 'romantic' tales, Tess of the D'Urberville's and Twilight included. Not as horrific as I was expecting, but then, non-existent expectations allow for small surprises. 4.26/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
CineAutoctonoDec 13, 2017
"Fifty Shades of Gray" was undoubtedly a rather strange and uncomfortable movie, the performances of the characters went to extremes and the sex scenes are uncomfortable and strange for my taste, now I see why people hate towards the first"Fifty Shades of Gray" was undoubtedly a rather strange and uncomfortable movie, the performances of the characters went to extremes and the sex scenes are uncomfortable and strange for my taste, now I see why people hate towards the first movie and towards the saga in general. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ethanstapleyDec 17, 2017
Unintentionally hilarious. Nervous, wooden acting. Cringe inducing dialogue. It's very hard to take seriously. With this said, I didn't hate it and I actually relatively enjoyed watching it because it's unlike anything I've seen and just so bizarre.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews