Focus Features | Release Date: February 13, 2015
2.9
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 1095 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
218
Mixed:
139
Negative:
738
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
XOSabrinaShen47Feb 13, 2015
Just finished watching Fifty Shades of Grey and I gotta say... the film was beautiful. Yes, I am using the word beautiful to describe this movie. I went into the theater completely prepared to be embarrassed because of how graphic it wasJust finished watching Fifty Shades of Grey and I gotta say... the film was beautiful. Yes, I am using the word beautiful to describe this movie. I went into the theater completely prepared to be embarrassed because of how graphic it was supposed to be, but I was extremely surprised by how I actually felt. I watched all of the scenes that were made available and thought that it all seemed a bit awkward, but it was only because there was no background music or noise. Watching the actual scenes in the movie was a whole other experience.
The movie is getting a really bad rep because of the bad writing and graphic scenes that are in the book that it is based on. However, the movie is not just a "sex movie" like everyone says. It's pretty hilarious and romantic. The sex scenes were extremely dialed down and they all served a purpose. If you thought the pointless sex in The Wolf of Wall Street was acceptable, then you would be more than okay with the content in this Fifty Shades. Before I watched Fifty Shades of Grey, I watched a lot of interviews with the cast of the film and was confused as to how they could possibly describe the sex scenes as being classy and elegant. But then again, all I had to compare it to were scenes from Game of Thrones, True Blood, The Wolf of Wall Street, etc... After watching this film, I can honestly say that I completely agree with the cast. There was nothing "dirty" or "wrong" about what I was seeing on the screen. Sam Taylor-Johnson, the director, did an excellent job with this movie. She made it very tasteful and easier to accept. This film could have gone in a very bad direction, but thank god it didn't.
For those of you that think that this movie is glorifying abusive relationships, think again because I think that it actually empowers women. I'm sure that you can argue, with quotes from the book, that I'm wrong, but there are many differences between the film and the book. Let me remind all of you that the book is a little over 500 pages and the movie is only about 2 hours long. Obviously, they had to cut a lot of things out, including the blue string scene that I'm sure a lot of people are aware of. In my opinion, they cut out many of the scenes that were considered controversial. I watched the movie looking for signs of an abusive relationship, but I really didn’t see anything of that nature. In fact, all I saw was this confident and empowered woman that made all of her own decisions. She was not forced to do anything that she didn’t want to do. She wanted to explore Christian’s dark world and her own sexuality. You can argue that Christian abuses her physically and emotionally, but he does what she tells him to do. When she says stop… he stops. He tries to give her what she wants.
Moving on to something lighter, the comedy in this movie is on point! There were many “laugh-out-loud” moments that gave the movie a lighter mood. Those scenes were there to show that Christian and Ana’s relationship was not all dark and serious. I mean they are both young people in their twenties that should be having fun!
Dakota Johnson gave a phenomenal performance and did everything right! She was confident, awkward, shy, and funny all at the same time. Jamie Dornan also did an amazing job as Christian Grey. They had great chemistry.
I guess what I’m trying to say is that you should give the movie a chance. If you hate the book, it doesn’t necessarily mean that you will hate the movie. I have read many reviews, written by skeptics, saying that they ended up loving it. Don’t let the bad reviews or even the book itself stop you from seeing the movie. I was not disappointed at all with the finished product, even though they cut out a few scenes that I loved. It is perfect just the way it is.
(I apologize for any grammatical mistakes... Unlike Ms. Steele, I am not an English major)
Expand
19 of 118 users found this helpful1999
All this user's reviews
10
heitor1931Aug 4, 2015
the film is good if not compared to the book, I really enjoyed it. The actors are good, Dakota represented very well Anastasia and Jamie Dornan was not the Christian that I thought for the part, but he surprised me, I hope the Fifty shadesthe film is good if not compared to the book, I really enjoyed it. The actors are good, Dakota represented very well Anastasia and Jamie Dornan was not the Christian that I thought for the part, but he surprised me, I hope the Fifty shades darker is better than the first. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
CADS87Apr 7, 2015
I actually really enjoyed this film, doesnt quite live up to the book and what that leads you to imagine, but has its own twist on the writers words without leaning towards a porno, which lets face it a lot of people were expecting.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
Moviemovie189Feb 15, 2015
Amazing, just amazing.
This movie was heartbreathing.
Intense. For people who was except porn it's normal that you don't like it because IT'S NOT PORN UNDERSTAND THAT. You should go to see it even if you didn't read the book, it show us a
Amazing, just amazing.
This movie was heartbreathing.
Intense.
For people who was except porn it's normal that you don't like it because IT'S NOT PORN UNDERSTAND THAT.
You should go to see it even if you didn't read the book, it show us a different vision of relationship.
Expand
6 of 21 users found this helpful615
All this user's reviews
10
MFeb 15, 2015
I loved the movie. It is so true to the book and the cast is perfect just like movie. It is so well done and i can't wait to watch it again and again.
5 of 18 users found this helpful513
All this user's reviews
10
tadah2Feb 13, 2015
People who hate this movie are really overreacting. It's very pretty as far as visuals go. The only part i can really criticize is that Ana seemed really manipulative. Dude was a creeper twice, sure, showed up when he shouldn't know wherePeople who hate this movie are really overreacting. It's very pretty as far as visuals go. The only part i can really criticize is that Ana seemed really manipulative. Dude was a creeper twice, sure, showed up when he shouldn't know where she was. But other than that, he was really blunt and explicit about what he wanted and needed from her. She on the other hand, says, "Give it to me," and acts like a little bi*ch when he does, in fact give it to her. Didn't read the books and i don't care about your feminist dissertation on how this is "abuse," or why I'm supposed to dislike it. Jamie Dornan is a good actor in a tough role, fighting his natural accent. Melanie Griffuths daughter...well she was okay i guess. People are overreacting to this soooooo much. See the movie and make up your own mind. Expand
5 of 19 users found this helpful514
All this user's reviews
10
ak33taFeb 24, 2015
loved this film i don't understand how people can say its domestic violence and rape! has no one seen or heard of bdsm? or do u just not understand it?
3 of 12 users found this helpful39
All this user's reviews
10
shaunacFeb 20, 2015
let me start by saying i loved this film ! i went in with a real open mind i did expect the sex to be vary corny and just stupid like a porno but hands down you did a brilliant job of them when you watch the sex scenes you sorta think whylet me start by saying i loved this film ! i went in with a real open mind i did expect the sex to be vary corny and just stupid like a porno but hands down you did a brilliant job of them when you watch the sex scenes you sorta think why isnt my sex life that good ! i loved the movie !
i cant wait for the next one !!!!
second of all to all the people out there that are saying it abuse just sit down and shut up coz i can tell you from experiences or abuse its not ! and its really offensive that you are saying that ! this film is brilliant !
Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
9
EVOTFeb 24, 2015
I enjoyed the movie and i thought it was great. It's not a sex movie like everyone says it is as there is a love story to it. The sex scenes are not pornographic. If people enjoyed The Wolf of Wall Street, which shows a great deal of sexI enjoyed the movie and i thought it was great. It's not a sex movie like everyone says it is as there is a love story to it. The sex scenes are not pornographic. If people enjoyed The Wolf of Wall Street, which shows a great deal of sex scenes; then they should enjoy Fifty Shades. I did not expect the movie to be like the book and glad it wasn't, because then it would ruin the excitement of reading the book and using your own imagination. Sam Taylor-Johnson and the actors did a great job and I'm looking forward to watching parts 2 and 3. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
7
foxgroveFeb 13, 2015
Arriving as a target to face a probable onslaught of negative reviews from cynical and jaded critics, I decided to view this media juggernaut before passing judgement myself. Not having read the book, and having absolutely no desire to do so,Arriving as a target to face a probable onslaught of negative reviews from cynical and jaded critics, I decided to view this media juggernaut before passing judgement myself. Not having read the book, and having absolutely no desire to do so, I was still curious as to what the story was aside from containing the odd kinky sex scene. The good news is that whilst it may be a bit of fluff, it’s slick and oddly intriguing fluff that contains two impressive performances, top notch production values and beautiful music that perfectly underscores the drama.
The aforementioned sexual content has had critics using the words ‘bland’ and ‘vanilla’ whereas, in fact, for a mainstream commercial film these scenes are actually quite strong. They have been very well integrated into the story and first rate choreography and editing have maximised their effect. Let’s face it this is fluff, not porn, and so this was never going to be ‘Deep Throat’ or ‘Debbie Does Dallas’ and I for one am extremely thankful for it. Also, strangely for a film that is aimed primarily at women, as I’m sure the book was, it has the potential to also alienate many of that gender. I’m sure not all women will be appreciative of Christian Grey’s very singular sexual proclivities.
Jamie Dornan and Dakota Johnson have great chemistry together and Johnson in particular is an actress to watch. Dornan certainly looks the part, but his performance is is better in the TV series ‘The Fall’. It’s also good to see Jennifer Ehle and Marcia Gay Harden in support, albeit in thankless mother roles. Still, this is undoubtedly Johnson and Dornan’s dance and the two leads make the material work.
The film also benefits by not taking itself too seriously. Dornan, in particular, seems to be playing Grey with his tongue very firmly in his cheek. One scene in which the two characters partake of a formal Business meeting is very amusingly played out. On the other hand an early bar scene showing a drunk Johnson being rescued by Grey represents the film at its worst.
If the film ultimately outstays its welcome it nevertheless has exceeded expectations. It may not be highbrow entertainment, but it’s certainly not torture.
Expand
6 of 25 users found this helpful619
All this user's reviews
9
LauraazulyFeb 13, 2015
It's not a masterpiece but the Movie is very good. I enjoy it and I love it. I want more!! I recommend watch the Movie. It's a love history style Danielle Steel. The performances are good but Dakota Johnson is amazing and shine.
10 of 42 users found this helpful1032
All this user's reviews
10
ysfex3Feb 14, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I just finished watching Fifty Shades of Grey and I thought the director and actors did a good job with the film. For all the nay sayers out there, you can have your opinion, but this story is not about domestic abuse. It is far from it. 1. They both consent to the activities in the contract. 2. She wants to know the punishment to the fullest. 3. If she wanted to stop she could have used the safe words at anytime and she chose not too. The other to books explain a lot of this. I have read romantic novels and other erotica novels . Fifty shades is actually quite tame compared to others such as the series Tiffany Reiz that include Siren, The mistress, The prince, and etc. In these novels they do get marked and it is more explicit and it explains more of the BDSM world such as what collars represent and how most submissives turn to being dominants, etc. If they explained the contract more in the movie with FSOG, you would have known that one of the hard conditions was not to mark or harm the skin in any way, no hot waxes, cutting or any of that. It dives deep into Grey and explains why he does what he does and why in general people go into the BDSM world. I don't feel abusive relationships are the same. For I have been in one and I would know. Individuals are controlling in both the difference is with BDSM you have a choice and can choose to stop, but with the other it happens whether you want it to or not and it doesn't stop. Expand
5 of 21 users found this helpful516
All this user's reviews
10
ledaumasFeb 16, 2015
I did not like Ana in the book, but I loved Dakota Johnson's interpretation of Ana. Ana was an idiot in the book. I didn't like reading her dumb thoughts. In the movie, the same actions make more sense because I'm seeing what she's feelingI did not like Ana in the book, but I loved Dakota Johnson's interpretation of Ana. Ana was an idiot in the book. I didn't like reading her dumb thoughts. In the movie, the same actions make more sense because I'm seeing what she's feeling with her expressions. After all, What's s girl to do when her first boyfriend is more than kinky? Expand
3 of 13 users found this helpful310
All this user's reviews
10
AML12Feb 17, 2015
Great film! The whole cinema loved it and was shouting out for more at the end. This film is really for the fans of the books and it didn't disappoint. They have to make a sequel!
3 of 13 users found this helpful310
All this user's reviews
10
Luli65Feb 15, 2015
At first I was skeptical, with the choice of the male main character. Went to see a movie and Jamie Dornan was as great as Christian Grey as he could. He did amazing job, I give him 10 points. Both Dakota and Jamie had charisma work wellAt first I was skeptical, with the choice of the male main character. Went to see a movie and Jamie Dornan was as great as Christian Grey as he could. He did amazing job, I give him 10 points. Both Dakota and Jamie had charisma work well between them, and played the scenes great, considering. I like the movie and I 'm looking forward to see the sequel. Expand
4 of 18 users found this helpful414
All this user's reviews
9
TVJerryFeb 17, 2015
An awkward college grad (Dakota Johnson) is slowly seduced by a sexy young billionaire (Jamie Dornan). This is really just a cat-and-mouse romance with a BDSM twist. It's success depends on the performances of the 2 leads and the director'sAn awkward college grad (Dakota Johnson) is slowly seduced by a sexy young billionaire (Jamie Dornan). This is really just a cat-and-mouse romance with a BDSM twist. It's success depends on the performances of the 2 leads and the director's skill at maintaining tension in what's basically a dialogue. Surprisingly, Dornan is prettier than Johnson, but they both create characters that are complex and compelling. Director Sam Taylor-Johnson has filled the film with sexually-charged stress and attractively erotic sex scenes. It's every woman's dream of a dazzling, devoted lover (granted, with some emotional complications) and it's played out with alluring skill. Expand
3 of 14 users found this helpful311
All this user's reviews
10
MyshadesofGreenFeb 18, 2015
This movie was superb! I don't understand where everyone's angst is coming from except perhaps this movie wasn't their cup of tea. Then don't watch! I found it profoundly deep, funny and eccentric. It tested the limits and brought theThis movie was superb! I don't understand where everyone's angst is coming from except perhaps this movie wasn't their cup of tea. Then don't watch! I found it profoundly deep, funny and eccentric. It tested the limits and brought the audience to a much riskier place than any other movie. This is a first in it's class. No one knows about BDSM and this is bringing it some light. You don't have to be into it...but don't condemn it either. I love it. Can't wait to own it. and I might go watch it over and over. It was close to the book as it could be and yes it felt a bit rushed in the beginning but that's with any storyline brought from a novel to the big screen. Go watch it and keep your mind open ;) Expand
3 of 14 users found this helpful311
All this user's reviews
10
Vent141Feb 13, 2015
esta historia lastimosamente he recibido demasiada mierda encima en estos últimos meses yo me he leído los libros y puedo decir que estuvo bien representada y me dio buenas sensaciones ver como va ese romance a la pantalla grade bien tocaesta historia lastimosamente he recibido demasiada mierda encima en estos últimos meses yo me he leído los libros y puedo decir que estuvo bien representada y me dio buenas sensaciones ver como va ese romance a la pantalla grade bien toca mencionar que es algo meramente ficticio pero eso no le quita lo interesante Expand
4 of 19 users found this helpful415
All this user's reviews
9
Elmika90Feb 13, 2015
OMG, i just can't with all these overreaction about this movie! I'VE WATCHED, and i love it! It's for entertainment, not made for Oscar, Golden Globes or something like this... Fun fun fun!
9 of 44 users found this helpful935
All this user's reviews
7
Sassypants25Feb 13, 2015
There are many up in arms right now about this film. Frankly, there is room for all kinds of art. The people who hate this book, topic, ect., will never like this movie. Who will? ANYONE who loved the book, characters, plot, topicsThere are many up in arms right now about this film. Frankly, there is room for all kinds of art. The people who hate this book, topic, ect., will never like this movie. Who will? ANYONE who loved the book, characters, plot, topics ect....ALSO, people looking for a good time & a non-gratuitous sexy movie. That's what this is. Yes, it can have some cheesy moments and I love the casting, but the lead's chemistry isn't quite right....but still....there are moments of levity, arousal, and cringing with a really good popcorn flick. MEN I urge you if your lady wants to see this....GO! You will make her happy, aroused, AND Dakota Johnson (very bravely and tastefully) is naked....a lot....I think this movie plays it a little too safe & 2 (later important) characters are left out, but overall the changes were just right. This movie can be as good as you want it to be and worth every dollar. Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
8
LovaFeb 15, 2015
I think people who have not read the book will not be able to understand all the thing ( like when she roll her eyes etc..) the film was good, but I prefer the book. They skip a lot of important scene of the stories but I perfectly understandI think people who have not read the book will not be able to understand all the thing ( like when she roll her eyes etc..) the film was good, but I prefer the book. They skip a lot of important scene of the stories but I perfectly understand that it difficult to do all the thing in only 152minutes. So at this end, it was a good film but I could have been better.
(From a French person)
Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
10
Moralba2015Feb 16, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 50 Shades of Grey despite the very critical I think that before any review should avoid comparing it to the book. Never a movie exceeded the imagination. Technically it is very well done, photography is great, the performances are excellent and very summary captures the essence of the main drafts of the novel .They wanted to see more pornography? No need to be so explicit, strong scenes were very well worked and nudes are more emotional and real .They lead us to fully identify with the characters. It was a very good movie and look forward to continue the saga Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
9
50ShadesFeverFeb 16, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely amazing! Dakota and Jamie are perfect as Ana and Christian. They stayed pretty true to the book. Yes, they left quite a bit out, but that's expected with a film adaptation. I can't wait for Fifty Shades Darker. The only reason I'm not giving it a 10 is because I felt they relied to heavily on the soundtrack to provide their emotions and thoughts where they could have added important scenes from the book. They missed a golden opportunity to show a more playful, happy Christian by not leaving out him returning to spend the night with Ana and being late for work the next morning. A first for the billionaire CEO. Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
10
LenaLTFeb 15, 2015
Oh. My. God. This movie is a really beautiful love story, hot and steamy and true to the book. And the chemistry between Dakota and Jamie... wow! Can't wait to watch it again!
3 of 17 users found this helpful314
All this user's reviews
10
X080710Feb 15, 2015
The actors are really good and played their roles very well.
This movie was good, I really love the musics and the way they do a remix of the book.
But I still think that the book are much better than the movie but I think the next one will
The actors are really good and played their roles very well.
This movie was good, I really love the musics and the way they do a remix of the book.
But I still think that the book are much better than the movie but I think the next one will be better.
Expand
3 of 18 users found this helpful315
All this user's reviews
8
gkp00coFeb 13, 2015
Not a *great* film, but not a particularly bad one either. I'd rate it as average Hollywood romantic fluff with nude scenes and totally *consensual* (simulated) sex. Do not believe those who claim that *anything* in 'Grey' is forced orNot a *great* film, but not a particularly bad one either. I'd rate it as average Hollywood romantic fluff with nude scenes and totally *consensual* (simulated) sex. Do not believe those who claim that *anything* in 'Grey' is forced or non-consensual; they've either not seen the film or have an agenda.
All that aside, 'Grey' is not any more a waste of money than 'Hitch' or 'Maid in Manhattan' or any of the others.
Moral of the movie: girls, when the guy tells you in clear and plain language exactly who he is, don't delude yourself into believing you can change him into Prince Charming. Believe him and either accept the frog, warts and all, or bail out and go look elsewhere.
Expand
2 of 12 users found this helpful210
All this user's reviews
9
MeritCobaNov 17, 2015
Some time ago a friend of my former partner involved herself in writing romance novels for a mass market publishing firm. She never showed any aptitude in writing before, but it was something to do next to running the family, which pinned herSome time ago a friend of my former partner involved herself in writing romance novels for a mass market publishing firm. She never showed any aptitude in writing before, but it was something to do next to running the family, which pinned her to her house for the better part of the day. The writing didn't ask much imagination as the stories were pretty formulaic. Like painting by numbers she just stayed within predefined boundaries and soon enough she cranked out another cheap novelette under the name of a non-existent writer such as D. J. Barding.

The ingredients were always the same. The main protagonist was a woman aged twenty something to forty, single, and without any kids to tie her down. The man was in the same age range, but always a few years older, single as well, without romantic involvements. A setup to pursue their dalliance. Also the man was usually of a higher social standing and income group. She being a nurse, him being a doctor. She being a maiden, him being a lord. She being a student, him being a billionaire. And finally there was always something to surmount: a troubled past or a social barrier. The end saw the two joined in happy union. Usually.

Sounds familiar?
It is almost verbatim the story outline of fifty shades of grey.

At this point you would expect me to start a long list of this movie's shortcomings, but I have to disappoint you for I am on the same page with the nostalgia critic in that this movie does the best with what it has got . In fact I will do one better. I find it a hilarious movie and it might be aiming for cult status by making a mockery of itself and of you.

There are preposterous moments such as at the beginning when the female protagonist, Anna, tells to a friend that Grey is so clean. Wait. What did she just say? I checked and, heck, she says it: clean.. Grey is clean. This is her appraisal of a guy she just met. And somewhat further into the movie he pops up in the hardware store she is working in and starts buying things as tie ribs, ropes and chains. And I doubled over laughing. Was this a promise of things to come? Would she, later on, be subjected to what he is buying together with her there and then?

And when he shows her his 'play room', a chamber done in black and red with racks filled with whips, floggers and canes - with only the bloody saw missing -, the only valid response would be to judge him **** crazy and flee, but instead she gapes as if he just revealed his private art collection, while at the same time listening to him telling her how he will use that stuff on her cause it is the only thing that turns him on. It is perfectly clear: they are seriously odd in the head.

More hilarious moments follow when they come to the contract he so persistently insists upon. So we get a lengthy exposition of all the particulars of the fetish contract and she even calls for a meeting to go point for point through the contract discussing such things as the use vaginal clamps and anal fisting. All things he wants to do to her.

Everything is off kilter in this movie that follows the prescription of a cheap romance flick but fills it with concepts that hail from the fetish world. He keeps on telling her how does not do the romantic thing, but for a large part of the movie he just does that, taking her with him in his helicopter, driving her around in his Lamborghini, taking her out for dinner and wooing her. He says A, but does B. And she believes B and ignores A. No wait she eventually begs him to do A. And when it happens she is really upset.

This movie is a trashy romantic tale you wouldn't have wanted to see if it it hadn't held the promise of kinkiness. The sin of this movie therefore lies not with the movie, but with its detractors. What did you expect? Romeo and Jullia go kinky? Pride and Prejudice in skin tight leathers? Superheroes in latex instead of spandex? You knew it is crap. You know crap stays crap no matter what. Only in nature crap can produce roses. But ultimately what you wanted was PG rated kinky porn. That is by definition impossible. PG is not adult. If you want to see kinky porn go watch kinky porn. Histoire d'O springs to mind.

This movie gets a ten because it makes a mockery of the source material and it exposes people for what they are: hypocrites. I am looking at you who goes to watch this on Valentine's day and gets disappointed! What where you thinking?

But most of all because it gives a big middle finger to those who wanted so see their desire to have a continuous sexual stimulus, cloaked as having a 'special' relationship, a joining of spirits, vindicated and branded as a lifestyle. BDSM isn't. You do it cause it turns you on. Just like using butt-plugs all the time : it is a fetish. And it remains abuse if you need to hurt someone else for pleasure even if it is with consent and even if you label it differently. And that is what this movie shows you bondage fetishists and that is why you hate it.
Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
8
Ainsworth02Feb 18, 2015
I liked the movie.I have read the book so many times that i went into the movie expecting some thing completely different. I think that Dakota Johnson did a fantastic job as Anastasia Steele but I was not too impressed with Jamie Dornan asI liked the movie.I have read the book so many times that i went into the movie expecting some thing completely different. I think that Dakota Johnson did a fantastic job as Anastasia Steele but I was not too impressed with Jamie Dornan as Christian Grey. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
2speedy4um8Feb 19, 2015
**************************************************************spoiler alert*****************************************************************
its coll
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
10
tlag5242Feb 14, 2015
Excellent movie. Great actors. Sexual, interesting, keeps you on the edge. haven't read the book so didn't have any expectations. Would definitely watch it again!
2 of 17 users found this helpful215
All this user's reviews
7
mkbrenfroeFeb 14, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As I sat there and the movie was ending, there were shouts of "Oh come on, that's it?" Obviously there were quite a few that had not read the book. Yes that is where the book end in all it's dramatic glory, but it not the end of the story. I encouraged many to read it all. Taking it for what it is, Fifty Shades is a very creative twist on the Twilight story. The movie, although a little rushed in parts, played out much like the book. Dakota Johnson filled her role with pizzazz. Jamie Dornan was pretty good. He fit the role physically, but I felt he could have done better. Jennifer Ehle and Marcia Gay were adorable at playing there respective mother roles. I wish there was a little more Mia and Ray. I did like how they put a little of Christian's background in there. It's definitely sexually charged. It is not a family movie. On that note, to those saying it is a relationship based on rape. Yes, there are moments where he gets a little violent but it was consensual and she had a safe word. When she said 'no', that was it, end of story. The 'nice to know you' and 'another cosmo' scenes were my favorite. I don't know if there are any plans to make the sequels, but I know from the responses in the theatre, it would make a lot of non-readers happy to know that it isn't the end, it gets much better. More drama in store and both Christian and Ana have some growing to do. Overall, the movie was as I expected. No more. Expand
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
9
tfriesen14Feb 17, 2015
The movie was able to capitalize on the book with grace and some class. The book contained odd sex scenes and some humiliating diction, while the book centered on the foggy plot line. There is a story in the 50 shades trilogy and the firstThe movie was able to capitalize on the book with grace and some class. The book contained odd sex scenes and some humiliating diction, while the book centered on the foggy plot line. There is a story in the 50 shades trilogy and the first book is definitely the weakest. The movie tries to show the love story that is present and it does so without the "dirtiness." The movie is for fans based off a beloved book. Expand
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
10
lovaticmonster9Feb 19, 2015
It was great, loved it, Jamie and Dakota were completely fantastic. It was a great book to film adaptation, and i cannot wait for Fifty Shades Darker.
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
10
vegifishFeb 16, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I started to read book 2 years ago but i could never finish the book due to lack of time. as well i read the german version.. but what I like from the film is the actor and the actress are all both new faces, and it brings a lot of imagination to audience. Expand
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
10
naimahFeb 18, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Okay where do I start?! this movie is brilliant! I loved EVERY moment. A lot of people have given the movie a really bad review with a low rating but I rate this movie a 10 out of 10!. I do believe that the users who left rubbish reviews expected more detail but they need to understand there is a difference between a book and a movie. Books contain a lot more detail than movies! I particularly think that people have left rubbish reviews because the dirty scenes were not shown in a lot of detail but WHAT DO YOU PEOPLE WANT???! if you want to see more sex then you are better off sitting at home on PORN-HUB. Christian was absolutely gorgeous! and so was Anastasia! the acting was brilliant, the movie was exactly like the book so I don't see why people are complaining, YOU WATCHED WHAT YOU READ, so what is the difference!? people expect too much.
This movie was totally worth and I will happily go again!.
Expand
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
9
mjlc2001Feb 15, 2015
There is only so much you can put into a movie. I felt that they hit all of the main points. Some felt that there was a lack of chemistry, but there needs to be an awkwardness between Christian and Ana. They are opposites in many ways and yetThere is only so much you can put into a movie. I felt that they hit all of the main points. Some felt that there was a lack of chemistry, but there needs to be an awkwardness between Christian and Ana. They are opposites in many ways and yet they are attracted to each other. She shows the hope and naivety that he lacks. He, in many ways, is like a newborn. He has so many firsts with her...more actually. There is something beautiful about this story (when you go through all 3 books). I'm a fan of Dornan and Johnson. I loved that you could hear Melanie's giggle in Dakota's giggle. So many similarities. Expand
1 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
10
ObjectivecritiFeb 17, 2015
The movie is perfect !!! The first time I saw In Russian translation and the translation is awful. Then I watched the original one!!! It is all emotions and sensations !!! Jamie and Dakota have perfect chemistry !!! I would like to seeThe movie is perfect !!! The first time I saw In Russian translation and the translation is awful. Then I watched the original one!!! It is all emotions and sensations !!! Jamie and Dakota have perfect chemistry !!! I would like to see Christian more warm in sex scenes, but it does not matter because the movie is just amazing !!! I like the way Dakota talks!!! Both Jamie and Dakota are hot and sexy, and their voices either !!! They are just made up for this roles!!! Since the first time I saw the trailer, I said Dakota is perfect Ana !!!! After I have watched the movie my expectations are really satisfied !!! Jamie also approved that he is a great actor and can create complex characters !!! Actually I am speechless !!! I am ao amazed that words are not enough to describe my feelings!!! I do not understand bad critics, it seemed that they are jealous of the movie success !!! I agreee that the book is not written in good English , but the storyline, the characters and all make me forget about the language !!!! Moreover, there is no women abuse or rape !!! Christian never does things that Ana does not approve or says NO. Even at the end of the first book, when Ana leaves Christian, he wants to get into the elevator but Ana says NO and Christian does not move!!! In some points the movie is much more better than the book , because the movie shows bold and brave Ana, and I like that Ana does not cry too much in the movie !!!! The movie creates the right atmosphere and you go deep into the story !!! I am in love with the Fifty shades of Grey book and movie !!! I am looking forward for Fifty shades Darker !!! Expand
1 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
10
CatdragonFeb 14, 2015
Hot damn... this movie. It is hot and steamy and I could relate to it. Good thing my mom decided not to watch it with me because this is definitely meant to be watched alone or with your partner. The soundtrack was amazing and added to theHot damn... this movie. It is hot and steamy and I could relate to it. Good thing my mom decided not to watch it with me because this is definitely meant to be watched alone or with your partner. The soundtrack was amazing and added to the intensity of it all. I have to read the books now to see what really went down and what's next. I will be looking forward to watching the sequels. Expand
2 of 28 users found this helpful226
All this user's reviews
10
bumblehawkFeb 17, 2015
Christian Grey would have been an easier man to understand if he'd been a conventional hero, fighting for his beliefs. The fact that he was flawed - a drinker, a gambler, a womanizer, driven by greed and a lust for high living - makes hisChristian Grey would have been an easier man to understand if he'd been a conventional hero, fighting for his beliefs. The fact that he was flawed - a drinker, a gambler, a womanizer, driven by greed and a lust for high living - makes his life an enigma.
Here is a man who saw his chance at the beginning of World War II and moved to Nazi-occupied Poland to open a factory and employ Jews at starvation wages. His goal was to become a millionaire. By the end of the war, he had risked his life and spent his fortune to save those Jews and had defrauded the Nazis for months with a munitions factory that never produced a single usable shell.
Why did he change? What happened to turn him from a victimizer into a humanitarian? It is to the great credit of Sam Taylor-Johnson that his film "Fifty Shades of Grey" does not even attempt to answer that question. Any possible answer would be too simple, an insult to the mystery of Grey's life. The Holocaust was a vast evil engine set whirling by racism and madness. Grey outsmarted it, in his own little corner of the war, but he seems to have had no plan, to have improvised out of impulses that remained unclear even to himself. In this movie, the best he has ever made, Taylor-Johnson treats the fact of the Holocaust and the miracle of Grey's feat without the easy formulas of fiction.
The movie is 184 minutes long, and like all great movies, it seems too short. It begins with Grey (Jamie Dornan), a tall, strong man with an intimidating physical presence. He dresses expensively and frequents nightclubs, buying caviar and champagne for Nazi officers and their girls, and he likes to get his picture taken with the top brass. He wears a Nazi party emblem proudly in his buttonhole. He has impeccable black market contacts, and he's able to find nylons, cigarettes, brandy: He is the right man to know. The authorities are happy to help him open a factory to build enameled cooking utensils that army kitchens can use. He is happy to hire Jews because their wages are lower, and Grey will get richer that way.
Grey's genius is in bribing, scheming, conning. He knows nothing about running a factory and finds Anastasia Steele (Dakota Johnson), a Jewish accountant, to handle that side of things. Steele moves through the streets of Krakow, hiring Jews for Grey.
Because the factory is a protected war industry, a job there may guarantee longer life.
The relationship between Grey and Steele is developed by Taylor-Johnson with enormous subtlety. At the beginning of the war, Grey wants only to make money, and at the end he wants only to save "his" Jews. We know that Steele understands this. But there is no moment when Grey and Steele bluntly state what is happening, perhaps because to say certain things aloud could result in death.
This subtlety is Taylor-Johnson's strength all through the film. His screenplay, by Kelly Marcel, based on the novel by E.L. James, isn't based on contrived melodrama. Instead, Taylor-Johnson relies on a series of incidents, seen clearly and without artificial manipulation, and by witnessing those incidents we understand what little can be known about Grey and his scheme.
We also see the Holocaust in a vivid and terrible way. Taylor-Johnson gives us a Nazi prison camp commandant named Mrs. Grey (Marcia Gay Harden) who is a study in the stupidity of evil. From the veran da of her "villa," overlooking the prison yard, she shoots Jews for target practice. (Grey is able to talk her out of this custom with an appeal to her vanity so obvious it is almost an insult.) Mrs. Grey is one of those weak hypocrites who upholds an ideal but makes herself an exception to it; she preaches the death of the Jews, and then chooses a pretty one named Kate (Eloise Mumford) to be her maid and falls in love with her. She does not find it monstrous that her people are being exterminated, and she is spared on her affectionate whim. She sees her personal needs as more important than right or wrong, life or death. Studying her, we realize that Nazism depended on people able to think like Jeffrey Dahmer.
Shooting in black and white on many of the actual locations of the events in the story (including Grey's original factory and even the gates of Auschwitz), Taylor-Johnson shows Grey dealing with the madness of the Nazi system. He bribes, he wheedles, he bluffs, he escapes discovery by the skin of his teeth. In the movie's most audacious sequence, when a trainload of his employees is mistakenly routed to Auschwitz, he walks into the death camp himself and brazenly talks the authorities out of their victims, snatching them from death and putting them back on the train to his factory.
What is most amazing about this film is how completely Taylor-Johnson serves his story. The movie is brilliantly acted, written, directed and seen. Individual scenes are masterpieces of art direction, cinematography, special effects, crowd control. Yet Taylor-Johnson, the stylist whose films often have gloried in shots we are intended to notice and remember, disappears into his work. Dornan, Johnson and the other actors are devoid of acting flourishes. There is a single-mindedness to the enterprise that is awesome.
At the end of the film, there is a sequence of overwhelming emotional impact, involving the actual people who were saved by Grey. We learn that "Grey's Jews" and their descendants today number about 6,000 and that the Jewish population of Poland is 4,000. The obvious lesson would seem to be that Grey did more than a whole nation to spare its Jews. That would be too simple. The film's message is that one man did something, while in the face of the Holocaust others were paralyzed. Perhaps it took a Christian Grey, enigmatic and reckless, without a plan, heedless of risk, a con man, to do what he did. No rational man with a sensible plan would have gotten as far.
The French author Flaubert once wrote that he disliked Uncle Tom's Cabin because the author was constantly preaching against slavery. "Does one have to make observations about slavery?" he asked. "Depict it; that's enough." And then he added, "An author in his book must be like God in the universe, present everywhere and visible nowhere." That would describe Taylor-Johnson, the author of this film. He depicts the evil of the Holocaust, and he tells an incredible story of how it was robbed of some of its intended victims. He does so without the tricks of his trade, the directorial and dramatic contrivances that would inspire the usual melodramatic payoffs. Taylor-Johnson is not visible in this film. But his restraint and passion are present in every shot.
Expand
1 of 14 users found this helpful113
All this user's reviews
9
ProteusFeb 15, 2015
Want to make a lot of money? Write a book that lots of people hate and lots of people enjoy. Then make a movie the same way. Tap into an age old female fantasy of being submissive, total trust to a man and giving up control and being takenWant to make a lot of money? Write a book that lots of people hate and lots of people enjoy. Then make a movie the same way. Tap into an age old female fantasy of being submissive, total trust to a man and giving up control and being taken care of.

There you go....you write a book and make tens of millions of dollars or make a movie for $50M and make $500M.

Thats all it takes!
Expand
1 of 19 users found this helpful118
All this user's reviews
10
JILLSSFeb 19, 2015
The movie was good but not great. And here is why. If you haven't read
the books – I would not recommend seeing the movie. I really couldn't
understand how someone could understand what was going on. I think Dakota Johnson did spot on job
The movie was good but not great. And here is why. If you haven't read
the books – I would not recommend seeing the movie. I really couldn't
understand how someone could understand what was going on. I think
Dakota Johnson did spot on job and very much portrayed the Anastasia
"Ana" like the books. I think Jamie Dornan did a good job with the
material that he had. I think that his mysterious aura, past demons and
a deeper understanding of him is revealed in book 2. My only disappointment I do think
that certain parts of the movie there was opportunities to fly a few more sparks. Positive, I was pleasantly surprised that there was quite a bit of wit and humor.

I read the trilogy three times and understood there is no way to show
the complete story (1501 pages) in a two-hour film. So, a lot people
didn't understand that the movie was ONLY PART 1. So right when you
were starting to get into the movie, it pretty much ended abruptly, and
the screen went black. It should of stated at that time Part 2 Fifty
Shades Darker coming in 2016. Universal has thankfully hired a new
screenwriter for part 2. I'm excited about that because book 2 really
gets into the guts of the story the characters and why Christian Grey
is the way he is.
Expand
1 of 19 users found this helpful118
All this user's reviews
10
mateusapresentaFeb 20, 2015
Sadomasochism is not violence you idiot, go search. A submissive has all the control. She or he sets their limits. A sub tells a dom what they will allow done. A sub says when to stop. And the movie is not about Stalk, surprise is not ilegal,Sadomasochism is not violence you idiot, go search. A submissive has all the control. She or he sets their limits. A sub tells a dom what they will allow done. A sub says when to stop. And the movie is not about Stalk, surprise is not ilegal, and Ana LOVE all that he does, she never said stop follow me. and it is a single love story, it is not moral lesson, they do right, they do wrong, they are human. It is a UNIQUE Story. Ana is testing her limits. 50 shades isn't a porno. It depicts one man's insecurity and need for control. It shows an inexperienced girl suddenly experiencing all these sensations and emotions. It shows one couple's epic love story, their pain, their lust, and their need for each other. They love each other, and their slowly admitting that to one another. If you can't see that past the physical attraction sex scenes, then you're too young to be reading this series in the first place. Expand
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews
10
SeanGamerDaysMar 13, 2015
I've seen alot of porn & less drama, but... awh hell... In theaters (after they left with their wife/girlfriend). People got f--king spooked & (awh hell whatever word that it fit to say). They going home and do their dirty stuff (don't botherI've seen alot of porn & less drama, but... awh hell... In theaters (after they left with their wife/girlfriend). People got f--king spooked & (awh hell whatever word that it fit to say). They going home and do their dirty stuff (don't bother asking me :( ) Honestly, It's not a perfect valentine movies, but full of people wanna watch Dakota 8008S when Dornan f--ed her, & smack her in the a--hole. But awh hell... :( Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
BrahvaMar 5, 2015
Loved it but Could have been 20 minutes shorter as it was a little slow in part. I assume that was to make us feel like the female longing for more. I think the bad reviews are from people who dont understand the people drawn to that lifeLoved it but Could have been 20 minutes shorter as it was a little slow in part. I assume that was to make us feel like the female longing for more. I think the bad reviews are from people who dont understand the people drawn to that life style. Lisa Wilkinson proves her ignorance on understanding the character Dakota plays. And the lead male is not a jerk... he is a product of abuse grooming and Lisa doesn't even see that... How rude and ignorant can people be. Human behaviour is fascinating study. Well done! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
LuizFelipeMar 2, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 1000000000000000000000000000 with love me like you do in your soundtrack. i'm addicted in this music, is perfect, and the film is cool, only ............... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
schulmeFeb 19, 2015
I loved the movie, i love the cast, there were several parts of the book missed out but they can't include everything!!. It is so well done and i can't wait to watch the sequels.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
8
SamirbaijalFeb 19, 2015
I have not read the book but really enjoyed the film. It has a bit of everything; glamour, humour and sex. It was short and easy to watch. The cast is understated but HOT which made it all the better for me. I am looking forward to seeing theI have not read the book but really enjoyed the film. It has a bit of everything; glamour, humour and sex. It was short and easy to watch. The cast is understated but HOT which made it all the better for me. I am looking forward to seeing the next part. Highly recommended! Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
9
Annaca2000Feb 20, 2015
This movie blows my mind. First of all, reading the book I could not pass the first chapter. English is not my native language but I went to college and I appreciate sophisticated vocabulary . I could not believe the poor language in theThis movie blows my mind. First of all, reading the book I could not pass the first chapter. English is not my native language but I went to college and I appreciate sophisticated vocabulary . I could not believe the poor language in the book. I thought a 12 years old have written it so I was not able to read it. The only reason why I went to the theater was that I loved both trailers and the soundtrack and of course all the talking attached to the movie. I went with my girlfriends because my bf totally refused to come with me. To du stride the movie had something magical attached to it. Till this day I can't say what it was because I know this production does not qualify fior an Oscar but there is totally something magical to it. I hardly ever watch the movie fit a second time but I can't wait till it's available on dvd. I want to mention that I was very upset that the movie was qualified as soft porn. Whoever calls it that has no idea what they are talking about. Sex scenes are very tasteful and you don't get see too much of private parts in the movie. It has never been close to a any kind of porn. Also the sex scenes are very brief and not the major plot in the movie. I know for some parts the movie doesn't make sense and makes you wonder what's really going on but it's very aintriguing and pleasant to watch. The music is outstanding and complements the story very well. Overall if you are a romantic female you might love the movie as I do, but if you are a guy expecting sine action you might get really disappointed. Another thing, anyone saying this movie is promoting domestic abuse is out of their mind because everything in the movie is consensual and presented in a really fascinating way. My favorite movie in a while, thumbs up! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
levyfidelixFeb 20, 2015
Desde a estréia do filme baseado no livro Cinquenta Tons de Cinza, que já bateu recorde de bilheteria, tenho acompanhado a reação dos fãs, afinal de contas são estes que interessa agradar, não haters, e muito menos críticos especializados queDesde a estréia do filme baseado no livro Cinquenta Tons de Cinza, que já bateu recorde de bilheteria, tenho acompanhado a reação dos fãs, afinal de contas são estes que interessa agradar, não haters, e muito menos críticos especializados que sempre detonaram a trilogia escrita sem o menor respeito.

Quem sustenta qualquer produto são as pessoas que gostam. Harry Potter em 10 anos nunca ganhou um Oscar, nem de efeito especial, mudou alguma coisa? Crepúsculo por exemplo tem 50 milhões de seguidores no Facebook, e sempre foi massacrado.

Pois ebtão, será que eles (esmagadora maioria elas) gostaram do filme? A resposta é que 90% sim, adorou, mas sem deixar de fazer ressalvas. Muito se falou que o filme é muito resumido, corta muita coisa do livro e tem cenas de sexo mais leves, mas a grande maioria dos fãs também entendem bem, como funciona uma adaptação para o cinema, e que isso é normal.

A fidelidade do filme foi muito elogiada, o que era esperado, uma vez que a autora sempre esteve dando pitacos e decidindo detalhes nos bastidores da produção. A maior negatividade em comentários que encontrei, foi quando as paginas oficiais do livro e filme sugeriam um relacionamento com o Sr. Grey, o que mostra que o sadomasoquismo assusta muitas pessoas, e algumas desinformadas chegam a achar que se trata de violência, mas é minoria.
Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
emilionovinhFeb 20, 2015
Fan LOVED the film, what more matter? Critics? Haters? NO! They don't represent all the success that movie already is. Everybody that make a movie needs fans and people that enjoy what you do, and about this, book and movie has.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
xo_MeaganLee_oxFeb 24, 2015
My thoughts going into the movie after reading the books was that there is no way they would be able to do the sex scenes to the strength of the book, (lets face it books are always better) and they didnt, but it wasnt as weak as I thought itMy thoughts going into the movie after reading the books was that there is no way they would be able to do the sex scenes to the strength of the book, (lets face it books are always better) and they didnt, but it wasnt as weak as I thought it would be. I thought it was a great movie, well done, something we havent seen before, it was thrilling and mysterious! I cant wait for the rest of the series! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
ZambaFeb 24, 2015
I went to the movies last night waiting for a bad movie, and then went home surprised it was better than I expected. This isn't a remarkable movie, but it's fun enough. Dakota is really sexy and she portrayed the artsy nerd really well.I went to the movies last night waiting for a bad movie, and then went home surprised it was better than I expected. This isn't a remarkable movie, but it's fun enough. Dakota is really sexy and she portrayed the artsy nerd really well. Dornan was good, but less convincing than her. I think Jonathan Rhys Myers, for instance, would suit better for job. Anyway, it's a good movie. It's more romance than pure sex. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
StormmFireFeb 27, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To address a lot of the reviews stating this is glossed over domestic abuse, I have been in a relationship that was abusive to the point of having my bones broken and being emotionally and mentally terrorized. This movie is NOTHING like an abusive relationship and doesn't in any way "teach" women to stay in abusive relationships. It does however teach you to play with your partner safely, sanely and consensually.
Anastasia was given a contract to go through, pages and pages of things to agree to or turn down, on top of being reminded often she could safe word out of any activity, she was really the one in control the entire time as all submissives are in the lifestyle. Now on to the rest of it.
Anastasia desperate need to be loved, accepted, wanted...how much she wanted to love him, please him, heal him and his hurt and anguish, all those emotions flying around, filling up the space between them, I felt like I was drowning in it, like...i couldnt see past the need to be loved that she felt. The connection emotionally between the two stole the entire movie for me. I barely even registered the BDSM play aspects at all I was so caught up in the emotional roller coaster between Anastasia and Christian.
The sadness when those elevator doors closed at the end from them both was palpable. I really hope they do end up making the other movies and I truly hope the connection between the characters isn't lost along the way if different writers or directors are brought in.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
mrLaaMar 1, 2015
After all the bad reviews I expected thw worst, I think the movie is actually really good. the actors, the music and the plot was clear. wowwwww I just read that grey's wife is angry heeeheeee
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
vanemanjarresMar 2, 2015
I just love this movie, ans the actors! Me encanto la pelicula, ya quiero ver la segunda parte. Buenas actuaciones, mostraron lo mas importante del libro.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
namekaMar 2, 2015
I love this movie! For the past two days i watched it 3 times.. cant wait to see next part. Well done Sam Taylor-Johnson and of course Dakota Johnson and Jamie Dornan, - it was such a pleasure to watch how they ask!
My score - 10
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
stellamarie82Mar 9, 2015
I almost did not want to watch the movie because I know it is almost impossible to capture the essence of this or any other book on film. I did, however, enjoy the movie. I think the actors portrayed the characters well and told the loveI almost did not want to watch the movie because I know it is almost impossible to capture the essence of this or any other book on film. I did, however, enjoy the movie. I think the actors portrayed the characters well and told the love story that the book is about....not the sex. When reading the book, the imagination is free to run wild and yes it is much more erotic than the film. I hated the ending as I hated the ending to the first book because it just makes you long for more.... So I immediately started to reread the 2nd book. Can't wait for the sequel. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
senseimaryMar 26, 2015
I really enjoyed this movie. It made sense to me and I saw a beautiful love story as well as a very trouble man and the woman that loved him. I saw how people think differently about the topic of the movie. Some see this movie as brutal II really enjoyed this movie. It made sense to me and I saw a beautiful love story as well as a very trouble man and the woman that loved him. I saw how people think differently about the topic of the movie. Some see this movie as brutal I saw it more as a trouble person and a love story. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
tinamcApr 12, 2015
I am surprised I actually loved this movie. I thought the characters were great and the actors portrayed and connected with their characters as portrayed in the book. I feel the hype in the media and all the negativity is ridiculous.I am surprised I actually loved this movie. I thought the characters were great and the actors portrayed and connected with their characters as portrayed in the book. I feel the hype in the media and all the negativity is ridiculous. People are being way to critical. It is fiction. It is entertainment. I hope there are the sequels as in the trilogy. It is a bit unnerving that some key scenes were left out and maybe the negative critics should read the book and connect the dots. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
BillClintonMay 11, 2015
Sonic Adventure 2 features the world-famous blue hedgehog in a hyper-fast adventure where players can either save the world or conquer it in an action-packed showdown between Hero and Dark characters! You play as Sonic, Tails, or Knuckles andSonic Adventure 2 features the world-famous blue hedgehog in a hyper-fast adventure where players can either save the world or conquer it in an action-packed showdown between Hero and Dark characters! You play as Sonic, Tails, or Knuckles and attempt to save the world -- or play as Shadow, Dr. Robotnik, or Rouge and triumph over all who stand in your way. Mistaken for a villain and kidnapped by a military squad, Sonic must escape his captors and discover who is responsible for all his trouble. Jump into the action and check out Sonic's new moves as he grinds rails, swings from poles, and somersaults past the bad guys. Get ready for Sonic action across more than 150 missions spread over 30-plus frenetic, action-packed stages. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
castlechick87May 16, 2015
I'm giving this a 10 in hopes to counteract the negative response it has gotten. I respect opinions but in response to comments like, 'is this what women get off to,' I have to object. I didn't 'get off' to this movie; I enjoyed the romanceI'm giving this a 10 in hopes to counteract the negative response it has gotten. I respect opinions but in response to comments like, 'is this what women get off to,' I have to object. I didn't 'get off' to this movie; I enjoyed the romance that was unusually portrayed because of Christian's idea of relationships. I didn't read the first book but after watching to movie and seeing the ending, I bought all three books and just finished the second. While the books are not intellectual, it's a good story, not great but not horrible. I loved the movie and I think Dakota Johnson and Jamie Dornan did very well at bringing these characters to life, could not imagine anyone else playing the part better. I cannot wait until the Fifty Shades Darker. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
twilightloverJun 26, 2015
This movie is beautiful. I feel fifty shades is a film that expresses the love between two characters through BDSM. BDSM is an art and fifty shades captures this very well. This film made my girlfriend extremely wet which meant it was muchThis movie is beautiful. I feel fifty shades is a film that expresses the love between two characters through BDSM. BDSM is an art and fifty shades captures this very well. This film made my girlfriend extremely wet which meant it was much easier to do the sex. 10/10 would bang again-IGN

PS
I'm just very horny teenager who loves to see the boob.
Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
9
PipeCNov 17, 2015
It's inevitable to mention that "Fifty Shades of Grey" is one of the best films of 2015. It was not as painful as everyone thought.

Undoubtedly "Jurassic World" , "Star Wars" , "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and "Furious 7" marked path at the
It's inevitable to mention that "Fifty Shades of Grey" is one of the best films of 2015. It was not as painful as everyone thought.

Undoubtedly "Jurassic World" , "Star Wars" , "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and "Furious 7" marked path at the box office and critical overall but this year "Fifty Shades of Grey" boosted by its Valentine’s Day release, have been record-breaking.

Globally, this film has attracted attention for the exciting and strange love story between English Literature student Anastasia Steele and billionaire businessman Christian Grey.

The erotic trilogy of books left speechless the whole world and the film was not far behind, Its quality to capture every detail of the book in real life was more attractive to attract the attention of fans and non-fans.

Dakota Johnson, daughter of actors Don Johnson and Melanie Griffith, she was pleased to execute the Anastasia Steele character, She has done it a perfect way , showing virginity , innocence and sweetness of a woman who had never been in love, she was about to graduate, had the pressure of final exams, had to Jose hounding her and was about to go to a world full of dangers, alone.

Jamie Dornan, after playing a serial murderer in BBC Two -The Fall, comes as a replacement of the first elected Charlie Hunnam . The question is : Would have done much better Charlie as Christian ? I doubt it.Jamie made ​​an arduous and difficult work , fully achieve the character and that was evident.

Significantly, relationship Anastasia - Christian was moderate and closely linked to aspects of the bestseller but the relationship Dakota - Jamie has fuelled speculation that the two stars can barely stand each other’s company. So Taylor - Johnson responded openly:
" The film's biggest single asset is Dakota Johnson: gone is the book's blithering simpleton "

Interestingly , despite controversy between Sam and James , low public confidence in this project , the low apparent affinity between the main characters and the difficulty of bringing to the screen a book that revolutionized the world ,"Fifty Shades of Grey" achievement to be one of the best films of 2015 , so Fifty Shades Darker ( 2017 ) will not have an easy road because Sam will not direct the sequel, James Foley who will be in the director's chair.

The film’s single biggest asset is Johnson, who has worked hard with Marcel and Taylor-Johnson to perform a three-woman salvage job on the character of Anastasia. Gone is the book’s blithering simpleton, with her arsenal of “holy hell”s and “double crap"s and “oh my"s. Her inner goddess is, thank goodness, nowhere to be found or heard. She is at no point a quivering, moist mess, and doesn’t make the ruinous error of thinking the word “f___” is an epithet.

Grey, for obvious reasons, is much more likely to Anastasia for intimacy and mystery with which it has on the books.

Personally , this film from start to finish was excellent , showing an introduction of a fairy tale , a totally aggressive and an end that surprised us . E. L .James' books are enigmatically catchers for the public but the film is undoubtedly the best of the best.

The sex scenes are intense thermometer , which threatens to get red hot but not reach the top,and with more participation Dakota that what Jamie. You could say that the submissive from all angles captured is about to undress while the master is not sufficiently dominant achieving momentarily deflect the camera toward her. Even when Grey, with his riding crops and cat-o’-nine-tails and Red Room of Pain, would claim otherwise, these sequences stay well within the bounds of vanilla mainstream taste.

Anastasia is no walkover here and sometimes gives as good as she gets, if not better. The funniest scene – debatably the sexiest, too – has the duo sitting at either end of a glass boardroom table, while Ana whips through the contract for their experimental relationship scratching out everything she won’t consent to. The script isn’t afraid to call a spade a spade here: “Find anal fisting. Strike it out.”

It's amazing boom that had the soundtrack of the movie taking on its lists Ellie Goulding , The Weeknd , Sia, among others. Music is a quiet and elegant journey that distorts good way every erotic moment of the film, making them much more tolerable to hear groans and hits constantly .

The punishment of the inner goddess is very worrying and surprising , and the pain she feels , makes us mourn everyone . "One, Two, Three, Four, Five, Six".

The end of the movie is the best, leaving an open end and shaking us all with a simple " No". (This ending is much better than the book)

There are no more words to praise the project, "Sex, love, drama , romance , controversy , music , fame , pen and other things around to "Fifty Shades of Grey"
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
alexa417Oct 7, 2015
I have been waiting for this movie since the book went out. A sexy movie and unexpectedly delightful and I find it better than the book.

Click here http://www.watchfree.to/watch-2a168a-Fifty-Shades-of-Grey-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
BoxergirlOct 12, 2015
Casting of Jamie Dornan & Dakota Johnson is a

minor miracle & I trust that the film's cast remains throughout

any future episodes. E L James' story is brilliant & the way it has

been portrayed for all to see is exceptional.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
gigiharris17Nov 12, 2015
Unexpectedly delightful. I really had fun watching this movie.

Watch it here http://www.watchfree.to/watch-2a168a-Fifty-Shades-of-Grey-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Boue24Dec 5, 2015
Loved it!!! Yes, It is a faerie tale and it is about abuse.
Anastasia Steel (the knight and shiny armour) goes to the depths of hell to retrieve precious soul of an abused for ten years Christian Grey (prince in distress ). She is an
Loved it!!! Yes, It is a faerie tale and it is about abuse.
Anastasia Steel (the knight and shiny armour) goes to the depths of hell to retrieve precious soul of an abused for ten years Christian Grey (prince in distress ). She is an innocent virgin not by coincidence. She needs to be to get the task done.
I live under rock, so I didn't know anything about the movie or the books until now (the books are not good, Anastasia's character in books is way too shallow to be trusted with this complex relationship)
There is awkwardness which makes it realistic because they are both new to their persuades.
The picture is beautiful, the soundtrack amazing and acting great. Dakota Johnson, no doubt beautiful, looks refreshingly human in contrast to (sometime seen in movies like this) "not from this earth" Hollywood stars. Jamie Dornan is gorgeous and very lovable considering his plight.
Common guys...! Can't you appreciate being rescued for once, instead being always expected to rescue someone...? I am sure there is a guy out there holding on to his dear existence by hundred percent control and is tired of it.
To those who are so angry about this movie: face your issues....please. To those who are so dismissive: check the depths of your character..please. There is room for improvement in regards to conducting our dysfunction appropriately. Don't underestimate the power of art. The movie is beautiful and I can't wait to see the sequels.
(Hopefully you will understand...English is my second language)
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
ZerpnosMar 5, 2017
BDSM kültürüne sahip bir erkeğin kadınlara karşı nasıl hissettiğini ve onları sürekli köle olarak kullandığını gösteriyor. Bazı feminist gruplar tarafından film kötü olarak görülse de, bu kültürü sevenler açısından yeterli ve izlemesi keyifliBDSM kültürüne sahip bir erkeğin kadınlara karşı nasıl hissettiğini ve onları sürekli köle olarak kullandığını gösteriyor. Bazı feminist gruplar tarafından film kötü olarak görülse de, bu kültürü sevenler açısından yeterli ve izlemesi keyifli bir film ortaya koyuyor. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
SID15762May 23, 2018
BEAUTIFUL AND AN MUST WATCH FILM FOR ADULTS.. A LOT OF RESPECT FROM US ADULTS TO THE WHOLE FILM CREW,LOVED IT... DAKOTA JOHNSON JUST totally EARNED THE SHOW,Great work(BEAUTIFUL AND AN MUST WATCH FILM FOR ADULTS.. A LOT OF RESPECT FROM USBEAUTIFUL AND AN MUST WATCH FILM FOR ADULTS.. A LOT OF RESPECT FROM US ADULTS TO THE WHOLE FILM CREW,LOVED IT... DAKOTA JOHNSON JUST totally EARNED THE SHOW,Great work(BEAUTIFUL AND AN MUST WATCH FILM FOR ADULTS.. A LOT OF RESPECT FROM US ADULTS TO THE WHOLE FILM CREW,LOVED IT... DAKOTA JOHNSON JUST totally EARNED THE SHOW,Great work(a lot of respect for DAKOTA JOHNSON MA'AM).... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews