User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 767 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 767

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Very Goooooooooooooooooooooooood Film!!!!! My favourite film!!!
  2. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    Fight Club delivers a slowly escalating story about an underground fight club. It is dark and brutal. Edward Norton delivers a good performance as a depressed young man who's life is going nowhere. Brad Pitt does a fantastic job of playing a man who is not attached to objects. He's all about experience. This movie's story keeps the viewer enthralled in it's twisted world. It also has a terrifying and amazing ending. Expand
  3. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    Great film. David Fincher proved with this film that he really is special. While I am very confused about the mediocre critic score, I do see why some dislike this film. To me, it is a beautiful, action-packed, entirely enjoyable thrill ride that is incredibly re-watchable.
  4. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    One of the best movies of all times. Of course, the title doesn´t say much, but the story ends up being a wonderful masterpiece. The great antisocial sense only makes it more exciting.
  5. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    One of my ultimate favorites. Psychological, philosophical and full of little details to enjoy when watching over and over again. And I do think this is a comedy. Dark, twisted and bizarre comedy, just the way I like it.
  6. Mar 5, 2014
    9
    Fight Club is an odd movie. When you first hear about it, it sounds anything but spectacular. What's so interesting about guys fighting each other in a basement? The movie sounds boring.
    WRONG
    After watching Fight Club a solid six times, I can safely assure everyone that it is one of the best movies ever. I can't explain why, but it's just an awesome movie, and I'd argue that it's one of
    Pitt's best movies.
    Just watch it. Do yourself a favor.
    Expand
  7. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fight club is the best movie ever. I don't think anyone was expecting Tyler Durden to be a split personality or an alter ego of The Narrator. I think Edward Norton and Brad Pitt should do more movies together. Some people think that Marla was also a hallucination. I don't think so. I love the fact that this movie had a green outer look. Go to the Imdb and read the trivia because there are some pretty cool trivia facts. I want to tell you some but there are to many. I give this movie a 10 out of 10. And check out my page. Thanks for reading. Expand
  8. Feb 26, 2014
    10
    This cult classic is on my top 10 list. Due to its original and creative plot and directing styles. The movie is quite shocking and brutal, but what is most shocking are the negative reviews on it. I have over-viewed lots of these bad reviews and all they talk about is how much violence is in it, and judge little to nothing on the story and/or film quality. Needless to say i shall ignore those reviews due to their plain ignorant critics. Anyways, The story captures you quickly and is very fun to watch. The characters are interesting and fun, the shots are great, the plot is captivating, to sum it all up what isn't their to like about this movie. Expand
  9. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    A film that can really hit you seductively and fascinate you in a humor way. If you think that this film is serious, you got it all wrong. A ride with the best actors into a dark tragedy but somehow charming. The most significant film that can really make you amazed in many ways. Finishing this great work by the best ending ever totally blown me off. What also makes this film special is the main character, after all, doesn't 'solve' the problem like other films. It was a cinematic experience, and frankly speaking, it took me a while to confirm that this is the best film I've ever seen so far. Expand
  10. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    I had to write about this movie. It's just a masterpiece. Anyone shouting about violence or fights or bad language, which are only a tiny part of it, are just people who can't understand the movie and its cleverness, its message, its point of view on life, the wonderful acting, photography, music. Yes, actually you must have some intellect to understand what's behind the surface and the great effort David Fincher put in it. Expand
  11. Feb 11, 2014
    10
    Nearly everyone knows the rules, number one of which I’m about to break.

    What do you do if you’re sick of your boring, pathetic life? In the most cathartic, DIY approach possible, Fight Club answers this question: you change it. The absolute prototype of an existential thriller, it wouldn’t be taking too much of a leap to suggest that Fight Club is one of the best films ever made.


    Jim Uhls’ excellently adapted screenplay of Chuck Palahniuk’s novel (this is the only major work by Uhls that I can find), this thriller has been exciting male audiences the world over since its release in 1999. Even Palahniuk himself said the film was amazing. In fact, he admitted that film was so good, the book in comparison made him feel ashamed.

    A nameless, pitiful, seemingly friend and family-less Office worker (Edward Norton) suffers from insomnia. True to Palahniuk’s style, the solution to the insomnia comes in a bizarre way. He finds relief by attending support groups for diseases, diseases he doesn’t have; these people really listen to him, and afterwards, he sleeps. At these meetings he meets Marla Singer (Helena Bonham Character), a nemesis and lover, and it is through her that Mr. Office worker discovers his true self, but not until after he’s transformed more than just his own life.

    Mr. Pitiful Office worker meets Tyler Durden (Brad Pitt). Durden helps Mr. Pitiful Office worker admit to his misery once and for all. Channeling their suppressed male aggression in its rawest form, they start fighting each other. Soon Mr. Pitiful Office worker realizes that he and Durden are not alone.

    Men, downtrodden, tired of their insignificance as worthless individuals all aim to do something greater. They jump at the chance to vent their primal steam, and the solo fights turn into group fights.

    Durden’s vision eventually transcends aggression in its physical form and becomes something much greater, a community where the individual ceases to exist. As part of this whole, every unnamed member is an equal and significant contributor, and it is through the whole that the individual finds meaning. As part of the whole they are changing the future together.

    This movie is a directing marvel. With time shifts, psychological manipulations, and very meticulous scene planning, we are kept on the edge of our seats for the entire film. Accompanied by the pounding soundtrack composed by the Dust Brothers, Fincher achieves the rarity of making a movie better than a book. Fincher turns the concrete basement of Lou’s Tavern into perhaps the most famous arena in all of modern film. The house on Paper Street, a lone abandoned mansion, becomes a factory of redefinition, of reinvention. In the final scene an amazing mesh between the visuals and the music, The Pixies’ “Where is my Mind,” Fincher creates one of the most stunning combinations of sight and sound in all of film. And it's a pretty damn good ending to the plot too.

    The most memorable scene is when Durden is behind the wheel of a car full of passengers. He buckles up, pins the gas, and lets go of the wheel. The car veers off the road and crashes, flipping multiple times. We are force fed the hard truth here. The Fight Club mantra: to change to our lives we need to rid ourselves of our past failures, forget the job, the kids, the car, the living room, the flat screen HDTV, and just let go.

    You are not your f'cking khakis.
    Expand
  12. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    Fight Club is the best movie if you can understand it. If not, it sucks. That's why we have a very big range here. If you rated negatively go and watch the movie again, search the deeper meanings about the system, understand the movie and come back here to hate yourself.
  13. Dec 27, 2013
    5
    Fight Club saddened me. After the dark subtlety of Se7en, I was expecting Fight Club to be similarly atmospheric and engaging. Instead, I got a thoughtless plot bashed out in front of me with about as much sensitivity as Brad Pitt has body fat. The story was so peculiar, and not good or interestingly so, that I lost interest very quickly. The 'shock' ending wasn't even enough to redeem the two hours of nonsense I had just endured. Norton gave a characteristically stale performance, and Brad Pitt, although fairly energetic and likable, offered little theatrical contribution, unless an unnatural six-pack counts. All in all, the pace and (sometimes) the feel of the film was good, but it was headed in the wrong direction and carried by a bad actor and a painful lack of subtlety. A mediocre film but Helena Bonham Carter sure was cool. Expand
  14. Dec 21, 2013
    6
    Fight Club is a film about an insomniac (Edward Norton) who meets a soap vending and bomb making badass (Brad Pitt). Together they start an underground club where people fight each other, which ends up becoming a terrorist organization that is bent on blowing up a collection of buildings. That sounds ridiculous, but that's all I got out of this movie. It's incredibly pretentious and I don't get the appeal of it. There's an emo girl (Helena Bonham-Carter) who acts as a love interest to the main character, but essentially does nothing but have sex with the main character and serve as a way to foreshadow the movie's huge twist. The twist got me, but that didn't resolve any of my questions. This movie is incredibly disjointed. The main character has no logical reason to be doing the things he does in the film, and the motive is so pretentious and stupid that re-wording it outside the film is impossible. Aside from the sloppy and disjointed plot, the acting was very strong and it had good cinematography. Soundtrack wise, this movie doesn't have any standout tracks, which is a bit disappointing. The movie runs for a little over two hours, which is ridiculously long. Not only that, but it's paced very poorly in my opinion. Nothing really happens until the twist, and even then you're too confused to even care what happens. Overall, Fight Club was a disappointment. It was incredibly pretentious, slow, long, and over-hyped. I respect it for being one of those "you have to watch it twice to fully get it" type of movies, but I've personally never been a fan of that style. Expand
  15. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    Unexpected twists and turns keep Fight Club interesting, and it taps into the Tyler within all of us, but is more drawn out than it needs to be. Also has many hidden meanings and metaphors.
  16. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    One of the best movies i have ever seen. It took me a long time to watch it and when i finally did i can say If you haven't watched it yet, do it as fast as you possibly can.
  17. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    Great movie, some wannabes says its pointless and its but thats just because they want people to think that they know something about movies. This film is genius.
  18. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    If you are a woman and haven't watch this movie yet wonder what is it about, Fight Club wasn't one-dimensional movie that have men beating crap at each other. Yup, they had fight scene in this movie but that's not the main point. When I first heard about it, I was a little taken aback I thought it was going to be another dumb movie where man acted so macho and kill each other) but managed to sit down and watch the entire movie. Then I repeated it couple more times. I know that I had made a wrong judgement. It's the kind of movie that had a deeper meaning than it looks like and the one that gets better each time you see it. Expand
  19. Oct 17, 2013
    8
    It is original and unpredictable and has good performances but its ideas are horrible: strong minorities should impose their will upon society and freedom is connected with violence and primal instincts. argonautis.eu
  20. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    WHAT? I don't have time to write a review, but THE CRITICS ARE BS! I'll say that again.
    THE CRITICS ARE ****
    This movie is my favorite movie, it's amazing in all the right way, WATCH IT RIGHT NOW screw the critics.
  21. Sep 26, 2013
    6
    One of the most overrated movies ever made. Fight Club has gathered a massive cult following over the years and while I understand that, I feel the film is immature and even self indulgent. I don't think it's a bad movie though. It features stylish cinematography, and the themes the movie contains definitely pertain to the type of society we are in. I like David Fincher as a director and I'm a huge fan of Se7en, as well as some of his other movies but Fight Club just misses the mark. The movie just feels juvenile,and too convoluted to truly become a modern "Masterpiece". If you truly want a movie with something intelligent to say your best bet is to look elsewhere. My rating: 6.5/10 Expand
  22. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    Fight Club is my very favorite movie. It's kind of life-changing. Great pictures, colors, actors and the idea combined with a genius music (btw for this I recommend you http://fightclubsoundtrack.com/ where you can listen to this for free) make a masterpiece of a cinematography.
  23. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    "The first rule of Fight Club is..." From director David Fincher comes the modern cult classic Fight Club; a smart, provocative film that tackles modern culture and social issues in a daring and innovative way. The cast is outstanding; Brad Pitt, Edward Norton, and Helena Bonham Carter all deliver seminal performances. And, enough cannot be said about how brilliantly crafted the film is; it takes several viewings to absorb it all and really appreciate how well-thought-out everything is. Fight Club offers insightful social satire while delivering an intense and captivating drama with an amazing plot twist. Expand
  24. Aug 12, 2013
    10
    masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece
  25. Aug 9, 2013
    10
    Definetly in my movie-toplist. Very good adaption of the book. I love the story and the actors, great play. For me it was really a mind-changing experience.
  26. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    Los Angeles Times, Entertainment Weekly, how could you? I fear you just don't understand it. Well the audience obviously has proven its good taste here so consider yourselves proven wrong by the User Score. No offense though, I just had to say it :D
  27. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    Brilliantly realized nonsense, Fight Club is one of the most highly stylized and energetic movies ever made. I can only imagine how impressively innovative it must have seemed when it first came out, with its surreally pulsating soundtrack, constant miniature sucker punches, and wildly inspired direction. The performances are all darkly comical and Nortan's character is an amusingly disturbed individual. It's not perfect however. It has a twist ending that descends the story into complete, albeit entertaining, stupidity, it packs on way too much sexually immoral content, and lacks any true meaning despite its constant insistence that it does. It also slows down too much during some sections. These flaws would normally sink a movie's score a lot further down and even kill some outright, but Fight club is so entertaining in a hyper macho off kilter sort of way, so well made, and so memorable in ways that few movies can ever achieve that in the end they're not detrimental to the film's overall quality. I have to say, Fight Club is some sort of flawed, but brilliant classic. But don't watch it unless you're mature and old enough to not be scarred by some of the film's immoral or violent material. Expand
  28. Jun 10, 2013
    1
    I don`t care if the point of this movie is deep. It`s still a movie with guys just running around doing pointless crap! This is Dumb and Dumber the serious version.
  29. Jun 1, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fight club is a very interesting film to talk about, seeing in how it talks about such a hot subject and has lots of messages and meanings. I will try however to try and simplify as much as I can. Fight club is about an insomniac who meets this guy who then gets him to form a fight club. From that it sounds pretty simple, but in actuality it's a bit more complex. He starts joining therapy sessions merely for the thrill, I know it's strange right? But apparently the thrill is that he can finally try and show some emotions. I guess that this is here to later show up in the film, like how they talk about his life is meaningless and he only goes along with curve to get by. A lot like the catcher in the Rye. Once we are introduced to Tyler Durden the film starts to become much more interesting, and I think that's a good joke as well. Brad Pitt does a great job of being this leader of anarchy, he's charismatic, and has the right attitude to approaching people to join his cause. Edward Norton however is uninteresting, but that's the point, and I guess that's a pass in my book. One of the most famous parts of this movie figuring out who Tyler Durden really is, and when you find know it makes everything you just scene even more weird. Also the themes it tries to convey are bit too complicated or not that well thought out. I really do like this film, and I think it is a very good movie, but I think again that it may be saying a bit too much or not making sense. Expand
  30. May 14, 2013
    8
    Fight Club is a great film. It is well made with its interesting characters, fascinating story with a cool/shocking twist, and some interesting ideas about are society are put forth. Only people I can think who would not appreciate this movie are people who are squeamish and whose minds lack the ability to grasp an intricate story (so no little kids). This film is for an older crowd. So overall, I really enjoyed this movie. It kept me engaged, surprised, shocked, and made me think. It is really well made and I will definitely see it a couple more times in the future. With more viewings this film will probably only get better and better. Expand
  31. May 10, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lots of movies try to be daring. Lots of movies try to be hyper stylized, interestingly crafted, confusingly brilliant, and narratively abstract. I'm not saying it's a bad thing, actually I love different, but what I'm trying to say is that everyone tries to be "the first" and no one does a better job at creating something like that than Fight Club.
    Fight Club is the definitive perfect movie. Not one movie does what this movie has accomplished and I don't think any other movie will ever do something like this again. It's the exact definition of abstract and I think that is a beautiful thing. There's a lot I have to say about this movie because this one is very near and dear to my heart and I know it is with a lot of other people too, but I also know that a good amount of people also hate this movie, but that's just part of the beauty. It has the unique ability to both be worshiped, and be despised all at the same time. I'm a worshiper.
    If you haven't seen Fight Club you will probably guess that it's all about two guys who create a club that lets people release their aggression by beating each other to a pulp. Well, that is a part of it, but a surprisingly very small one. That's just the background, not only is Fight Club one of the most narratively abstract movies I have ever seen, it is also the movie with the most underlying themes. Fight Club is about much, much more than just fighting.
    You may have heard the line, "this is your life and it’s ending one minute at a time." Well, I live by that line, literally. This was also the first lesson that I picked up from this film full of great lessons, you have to live your life to the fullest. You shouldn't care what other people think, do it for yourself and do it quick because the clocks ticking. This brings us to our next lesson. Edward Norton plays the main character known as "the narrator." We meet him as a traveling automobile company employee who has insomnia. This character is a very interesting character because he goes through a very large change throughout the movie. Before he meets Tyler Durden he is known as the "everyman." He is emotionally unstable and he tends to put all of his worries and fears into his possessions and he is one of those people who has to hold onto his structure and have everything straight and tidy and it becomes a problem. That is the next lesson, you have to let go. The average human is stuck in a box going about their average days going through their daily cycles until they go to bed, and they could be doing a lot more. "You are not special. You are not a beautiful or unique snowflake." So embrace that and use it to your advantage. Embrace the fact that God may not like you, "we are God's unwanted children, so be it!"
    Now let’s talk about Tyler Durden for a second. This guy is indisputably the coolest character in all of movies, ever. You see him and your just like, I want to be him. The best part about him is that he is relatable in the strangest way. I can relate to him although he is completely insane. Even though he is completely insane, he does in a way symbolize all of us, but in our most free state. Tyler Durden is free; he is chaos, which is the exact opposite of Edward Norton. This then ties in with our next theme, freedom. The fight club that is created is in every way illegal, and the whole point of it is to get away from all the rules and your dull and normal life. “At the end of a fight, nothing is resolved yet nothing matters.” That tells you everything you need to know about these people. The first two rules are “you do not talk about Fight Club,” as you probably know. Rules? Yes, there are rules in fight club, but rules are meant to be broken. How can Fight Club spread if no one talks about it? That’s the point; Fight Club thrives on the breaking of its own rules because the whole point of it is to set you free from rules. It’s not even with those first two rules either. In the movie there is a fight between Edward Norton and this other guy and Norton literally beats the living hell out of him breaking the third rule, “when someone says stop, or goes limp the fight is over.” Afterward Norton says that he was feeling destructively beautiful and that’s all that matter in the end.
    Fight Club is a movie for the generations. It is a cult masterpiece that will never seize to amaze and disturb its viewers. It is a polarizing film and I am proud to say that I am a part of the following. Never believe that it’s all about the fighting, it’s not. It’s about much, much more than that and even with all the blood and violence; this movie shines as a disturbingly beautiful film. David Fincher does an outstanding job with the directing which is masterful to say the least and the two leads kill it. Plus with a surprise twist that you will never see coming, this movie just brings more and more to the table. A brilliant and yes, beautiful film that I wish to show my children one day.
    Expand
  32. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    Very nice movie, Edward Norton is an amazing actor, also brad Pitt.
    I like the story, is unique, creative and unexpected. In the end all come consistent.
  33. Apr 26, 2013
    3
    Extremely over-hyped. The first hour is mind-numbingly boring, the rest is a mediocre story about terrorism with a stupid plot twist which makes you wonder why people joined the fight club at the very start..
  34. Mar 30, 2013
    9
    it's one of the movies that you get to see once a life-time i loved the story and how anyone can relate to it Edward Norton did an amazing job and it was the first movie that i actually enjoyed brad pitt acting.
  35. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    A pretty fine movie that was brilliant in its day. Still is to a lesser extent. Fight Club was clever and well written with fantastic performances from Norton And Pitt. Oddly a rather decent performance from Meatloaf as well? Who knew?!?! Aside from the main cast and one or two of the side characters, no one else is really that developed and the movie plays out more like a fantasy than actual events, which contradicts the realistic tone it sets. Breaking the 4th wall is something I love to see in movies and is extremely rare to see in anything that isn't a comedy. Overall: Fight Club is an utterly brilliant movie that is almost perfect. A few minor flaws here and there, but nothing that really ruins it. A must see. Expand
  36. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    An excellent movie. I praise it and can't recommend it enough. I can't believe that Mr. Fincher did that movie AND "The Curious Case of Benjamin button".
  37. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    A movie that at first glance looks like some beat-em-up comedy-drama with Brad Pitt, is soooo much more after you watch it. Check it out, although you may have to re-watch it to understand the deeper meaning involved.
  38. Mar 15, 2013
    9
    Don't let it's seemingly block-headed name and average critic score fool you, Fight Club is an excellent film which deals with the desperate struggle of a disillusioned generation of men who can no longer find meaning in their material lives. This is yet another example of an exceptional film where bad reviews are the result of either an awesome failure to understand the movie or an exceptionally arrogant and indignant revolt against its highly confronting themes. Expand
  39. Feb 28, 2013
    10
    This movie was amazing, it was hilarious at times, it was gripping, the story was very well done and I was always left anticipating what would happen next, trying to put all the pieces of the non-linear narrative together as a spectator was fun, yes, fun, to do.
  40. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    The guy's film of all guy's films imo. Great acting by the cast, Solid action, and a great plot make Fight Club not only a seriously underrated movie but also a cult classic.
  41. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    A great commentary on consumerism. It's one with style and action. The characters are strangely interesting and the camerawork and effects are top-notch. This movie goes all out with its message, no holds barred.
  42. Jan 24, 2013
    10
    This movie completely took me by surprise and highlighted the strengths of commenting on American Society at the time. It clearly defined Brad Pitt and Edward Norton as box office contenders, also to continue the success of director David Fincher (Se7en, Panic Room) With spot on theme boundaries and pitch perfect narrrative, its a movie which Brad Pitt quoted as "to have an experience, take a punch more and see how you come out on the other end." Expand
  43. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    It's a sense of bewilderment after a film like this that comes around from your belief that what you just saw was completely abysmal, or simply genius. I'm the latter.
    This film was right on so many levels, not the soap fetish, not even Meat Loaf with breasts, this culture shock was just so good that it was expert cinema, a mind numbingly painful film to wrap your head around, but somehow
    makes sense in its own twisted way.
    Starring Ed Norton, Brad Pitt, and Helena Bonham Carter, Fight Club centres around Norton's unnamed character, who finds little creativity and interest in his routine white-collat job.
    He falls upon Tyler Durden, excellently played by Pitt. Durden is a wonderfully disturbed man, bursting with ideas and philosophical whims that reach out throughout the film. Initial screenings of this to company executives where met with distain. its easy to see why. This is not a film to be viewed lightly, its themes and content will not be met with an enjoyable stance. But that it was makes this film so enjoyable, uniqueness, rarity, symbolism and unconventional.
    the fast-paced nature of David Fincher's film maintains the setting and plot line which will exceed nyones expectation of what they may or may not expect from this movie.
    Norton is playing an exceptionally different character from his neo-nazi turn a year earlier in American History X, showing id diversity for any role given to him. Pitt excels as the brilliantly clever, funny but shady Tyler Durden. Bonham Carter is well cast as Marla Singer, how these two meeting is of particular interest, first outlining the dark humor within this film which persist throughout.
    Yes the film is sometimes muddled, and in several scenes it will have you wandering "whats the point?", but that aside, this film does deserve the 'cult' status it now holds, it is simply displeasing to many due to its differential approach to such a common theme, how to change the world, this film won't do this, but it will certainly turn heads to see what's making all the noise.
    Expand
  44. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    First rule of fight club is....you do not talk about fight club!! Second rule of fight club is YOU DO NOT TALK ABOUT FIGHT CLUB!!! This has to be one of the best movies ever made when it comes to a person living the same repetitious lifestyle working the same tedious job while desperately wanting something more meaning in their life...or in Edward Norton's case...all the above yet he also needed to feel loved! It may be violent but beneath its in your face approach its thought provokingly smart & daring!! People who dislike it probably couldn't get past the violent scenes when they were fighting but it was basically their way of getting over their failures which is why NO ONE WAS KILLED WHEN THEY FOUGHT EACH OTHER..they hashed out their problems then change their perspectives on their lives by changing the way society functioned as a whole!! I mean come on people....erasing ALL DEBT so everyone has a clean record? That's freaking genius! But still they did commit crimes like vandalism...theft....destroying property but its very entertaining to watch! The way it begins will have you believing that your going to watch a boring movie but it picks up VERY quickly when Edward go's to groups(hilariously funny) meets Karla singer then the show stealer brad Pitt....he's gold in this movie!! Every scene has meaning that will have you thinking...every actor are believable....& its just plain funny as it is serious(I almost died laughing watching Edward Norton kick his own ass @ the end Lamo)whoever says this movie sucks are either sensitive...easily offended...have no funny bone whatsoever or just hates great entertainment!! Brad Pitt: hit me as hard as you can...Edward Norton: like in the face? Brad Pitt: surprise me....Edward Norton: hits brad Pitt.....brad Pitt: ouch...you hit me in the ear man...lamo this is a must movie especially if your interested in seeing how one man decides to change his tedious & extremely repetitive lifestyle....9/10...it loses a point for ending lol Expand
  45. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Ahh here it is. My review of David Fincher's classic adaption of Chuck Palahniuk's transgressional fiction master work. "Fight Club" tells the story of a corporate drone (Norton) who (like many) is displeased with his life. He, in turn, forms a 'fight club' with Tyler Durden (Pitt) a soap maker to escape from this sedative lifestyle. Now right off the bat, if this movie were shown to the original pioneers of film (i.e. Porter, Chaplin, Capra) I can safely say that upon completion of the film they would promptly scream, yell, cry, and then explode. . . .maybe. They would definitely be appalled by what they would see. However, this does not make "Fight Club" a bad film. For, film, like literature, can take on many forms and eventually evolve over time. Though the themes displayed throughout the film are definitely strange and at times shocking, they are also peculiarly thought-provoking and at times pragmatic. The movie's messages on defiance and nihilism are deeply rooted within it's very intelligently written script. The dialogue is hilarious and at times disturbingly provocative. Brad Pitt and Edward Norton are two intensely talented actors, and seeing them work together on screen is really entertaining. Though anyone who watches this movie will walk out of the film talking about Brad Pitt's unforgettable portrayal of Tyler Durden. Pitt's obvious dedication to the role, paired with the near-perfectly written script he was given, makes for a character that I will quote many a time to come. Another aspect that I found particularly unique was the cinematography. I found that Photographic Director Jeff Cronenweth did a noteworthy job with the visuals of this movie. He really succeeded in using lighting to accentuate just how dismally somnolent the narrator's life is. I also felt that the use of lighting towards the end of the film was also very aesthetic. As for direction, David Fincher is . . . .well he's David Fincher. The guy really knows how to put a film together. In the end, "Fight Club" is a dark, dreary, appalling, hilarious film that I am glad to call a classic piece of American culture. Expand
  46. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    Fight Club is perhaps one of the most ingenious, pitch perfect films ever made. It hooks you with intense narratives, rocks your world with explosive scenes of extreme intensity, and then shatters your perspective of reality, leaving you at your knees, clapping, and laughing maniacally. It is crafted with the utmost brilliance and is easily one of the greatest films of all time.
  47. Oct 27, 2012
    6
    Too odd to bee good. The first hour of the movie is really great and fun to watch. The underground organization 'Fight Club' is a fascinating group of men, you don't understand why they do it but it's cool watching. But there comes more and more graphic violence, more and more plot twists and a disappointing end that seemed really inept. Fincher and his three main actors exaggerated it, so the only thing you are after watching the movie is being confused. Anyway, it's a cult film and I totally recommend you to watch it because of its strange manner, but don't have high expectations. Expand
  48. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    Fight Club is clearly one of my top favorite movies in all genres combined. Clearly an awful mind-blowing film because of ridiculously exceptional screenplay by Jim Uhis and outstanding direction by one of my favorite directors, David Fincher. Edward Norton and Brad Pitt gave intense performances, especially Edward Norton's performance was over the top, his character was calm and aggressive at the same time. Fight Club is not just a movie; it is a story of a man living a depressing life in the modern age, unsatisfied with everything and wants the change but can't do it in a proper and legal way so he does it in his own twisted and extremely hard way. It is the truth, it is our everyday life; something we eat, we wear, we buy, we steal, we talk about, we love and we hate. Expand
  49. Jul 4, 2012
    9
    Slow on the uptake, this film made me a fan of Ed Norton. Obviously the split identity Tyler Durden, played by Pitt, is a perfect outlet for Ed's straight laced character. Call me naive but when I first saw the flick i think I was the last one in the theater to realize the two were the same. Loved the intertwining the making of soap into the storyline as well.
  50. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    First rule of fight club is you do not talk about fight club .
  51. Jun 9, 2012
    6
    Dur dur pour moi de prendre réellement parti pour ce film. Déjà d'une part que j'ai bien eu du mal à entrer dedans. Dans cet univers crade et violent où règnent pourtant humour décalé (au niveau des dialogues) et philosophie (parfois poussée à l'extrême). Que par moments, j'ai bien failli décrocher de l'affaire à plusieurs fois, ne comprenant pas pourquoi il y a autant d'effets et de narrations qui, pour moi, m'ont semblé pénibles à suivre. Et pourtant, je ne peux m'empêcher de mettre en avant les gros atouts de ce film que sont son casting (impressionnant Brad Pitt), son ambiance (que je critique et pourtant que je valorise grâce à une mise en scène ardemment travaillée) et cet humour décalé qui apporte de la verve dans les situations et les conversations entre personnages. Quant au scénario, c'est la même affaire : j'ai du mal à adhérer à la pensée philosophique et à la critique sur la société, alors que j'aime cette idée de double-personnalité (twist final). Bref, Fight Club est un film que je devais voir, que j'ai vu, qui me restera en mémoire, mais que je ne reverrai pas si facilement avec plaisir. Expand
  52. Jun 5, 2012
    10
    Highly nihilist, you should not think that the film is stupid because the scenario (especially the final) is unrealistic, no, you'd just think about what's behind it. Course, if you've seen this film thinking "hey, i'm gonna see Brad Pitt fighting hard, yay !" it could be a little bit destabilizing because it's MUCH MORE.
  53. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    This is my favorite type of film. Its one that challenges you to look at things differently, and it does so with a satiric, yet brutal tone. Watching it for the first time, it wont go over well for you or anybody for that matter. Though, watch it a second time, and again and again.Then you will realize that everything it is telling you is true.
  54. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Great film; negative reviews here often reflect a sloppy or down-right non-existent understanding of the movie. Case in point: "..spend two hours wondering why the characters would rather punch each other than do something useful with their time and energy." - Alexander G. Now obviously, anyone who was actually attentive to the movie knows that they DID do something useful, and they fought for a reason. Expand
  55. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    This movie revolutionized my taste in movies. I was 13 when I first saw this film, and it packed a solid punch that left me in a daze for days on end. Brad Pitt, Edward Norton, and Helena Bonham Carter are all cast to perfection. Pitt in particular is at his personal best. I loved the book by Chuck Pahlaniuk, but I feel that Fincher pumped additional life into the story. It is visionary, innovative, and singular. There have been many attempts to copycat the feeling that this movie created, but it seems like every attempt at touching the greatness of this movie have fallen flat. I don't think that everyone is going to enjoy this movie. I would never watch it with my parents for instance, but it really is great. It was once a cult hit, but it seems to have leaped forward into mainstream pop culture, and I think it deserves the attention. Expand
  56. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    66 for the critics average...wtf? This is easily one of my top 5 movies of all time. I'm currently 20 years old and I bet I've seen this movie over 50 times, yes it's that good, if you haven't seen this you aren't american.
  57. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    This Book based movie is a classic. For the person interested in the book, the movie mirrors the book almost identically minus the copy-write changes. This movie does have a " man" factor to it. However, the metaphor for social injustice is made to a mature aduiance. Its a cult classic!
  58. Dec 8, 2011
    10
    Simply amazing. Norton and Pitt are great leads in this film. Carter is great as well. This is truely a guy's film of guy's films and should be treated as such.
  59. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    A highly underrated film by critics. An excellent film that will keep the viewer grasped in and experience a something completely new. The acting, script, direction, editing and sound are all top notch. There is a lot that can be picked up from this movie, and Fight Club makes you enjoy taking it all in.
  60. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    An excellent adaptation of the book. The small changes are excusable. Characters perform excellently and the story flows and comes together with elegance and class
  61. Oct 8, 2011
    7
    Despite the shaky, emotional final act, which was kinda predictable to intelligent audiences, David Fincher's "Fight Club" is one bad-ass **** movie that questions the authority and silencing the minority. And besides, its all filmed with revolutionary cinematography.
  62. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    "Los Angeles Times Kenneth Turan Score: 30 What's most troubling about this witless mishmash of whiny, infantile philosophizing and bone-crunching violence is the increasing realization that it actually thinks it's saying something of significance." Heh, how ironic, this dimwit of a critic is so ignorant and wrong that it makes me want to punch him in the face.. you know, like with war criminals or rapists.

    Anyway, no surprise the user reviews are so much better than the critics', as critics always have this aversion against films that are, or appear to be, radically anti-capitalist, anti-elitist and anti-status quo (in essence, anti-media).
    Expand
  63. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    Como ya se ha dicho, película de culto y efectista hasta la médula. Gran film que te atrapa des del principio hasta su inesperado y espectacular final.
  64. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I wrote my final paper for film class on this movie and, if anything, feel more confident in it's abilities than before I thoroughly analyzed it. David Fincher does some ground-breaking work in this movie and has practically reinvented the neo-noir movement.

    Some claim that the acting is flat and, while I'm inclined to agree, I also feel that this is entirely intentional. The film is supposed to feel real, not another Hollywood, over-dramatized fluff piece. Others see this as a shallow, testosterone and violence driven script but they couldn't be any further from the truth. The story is about a man struggling to fit in with boring, modern-day society. He can't so he creates an alter-ego that is exactly who he wants to be while destroying himself in the process.
    Expand
  65. May 25, 2011
    0
    A classic that does not deserve to be one. The acting performances did not impress me (except from Helena's) the movie has some illogical sense in it & the director made it into a big bunch of surreal mess.
  66. May 1, 2011
    7
    The way this movie plays out makes you start to either feel that life should be lived how you want it to or just makes you feel like all of humanity should just give up because certain people need to fight to feel loved. The movie starts well but in the last 2 minutes it just lets its self down.
  67. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    This has to be one of the greatest films of all time. Flawlessy executed and with a deep meaning, Fight Club rightly deserves it's status as a cult classic.
  68. Apr 16, 2011
    9
    The negative reviews seem concerned that the message of this film is not important or original enough. That seems to bypass the major achievement of this film, which is that it is able to wax philosophical about our dehumanisation while being bloody entertaining from start to finish.

    It is certainly uncomfortable viewing at times. More worrying is that it flirts throughout with silly
    machismo and a hackneyed twist at the end, but if nothing else, it at least can justify both of those directions. It remains a clever and thought-provoking exploration of its theme -- regardless of how many people have thought of asking similar questions before. Expand
  69. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    One of the best movies in history. It goes deep into the animal side of the male psyche while providing twists and turns. With realistic fight scenes, memorable quotes and hilarious content, Fight Club is a true treasure.
  70. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    this is one of the few movies I can watch over and over again and still be in awe. I love this movie, very brutal yet entertaining. I read that he author of the book, (Chuck Palahniuk) has said he likes this version better than his book Fight Club from which the movie is based, if that's not a good enough review for you then I don't know what is.
  71. Jan 10, 2011
    9
    Tyler Durden, I expect will be one of the most memorable character in cult-classic movies. Fight Club directed by David Fincher who always made a gloomy and mysterious effect on his every movie. The most important roles in thiz movie held by Edward Norton and Brad Pitt. Norton played the main character, which the name was not mentioned until the end of films. Pitt played as Tyler Durden, the bad boy character. The other Casts are Helena Bonham Carter and Meatloaf, as we knew him as musician. The Plots was arranged well. We could see what really happen from the beginning till the end from the innocent eye of the narrator. The movie begins with a slow intro. In the early of the story, he was told as insomniac. But after a few incidents, he found himself liked to have some imaginary visions, in that time Tyler Durden was appeared. Afterwards, Durden character collaborates with Norton character roller-coasting all over the rest of film. The story is getting excited dramatically. Brad Pitt played as wild profound character. One of his quotes was so powerful, The No.1 rule about fight club, is do not talk about fight club,.. The No.2 rule about fight club isâ Expand
  72. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    Ed Norton and Brad Pitt bring the amazing novel to life in what I personally consider one of the greatest movies ever made. The directing, acting, and visual appearance of this film is spectacular.
  73. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm about to break the first and second rules of Fight Club, because I have to talk about this amazing film. At first glance, this may seem like a simple testostorone based film that takes place within an actual fight club. Look further, for this is so much more. It is a satire on modern life, using things like schizophrenia & terrorism to illustrate this. Edward Nortons nameless narrator character meets two people who change his life: Tyler Durden (played by Brad Pitt) and Marla Singer (Helena Bonham Carter) With Tyler, the narrator creates a fight club, in which people who are stressed out and pissed off come to unload steam by beating the crap out of each other. It does make sense, by unloading your stress onto another person, concentrating it into every blow, you feel better about your day. The fight club then turns into something else entirely, an anarchic group whom commit acts of vandalism with cheer and smiles on their faces. Tylers actions may be anarchic, but they make sense. He believes everything has become so complicated with us wanting things we do not need, so sets out to destroy these things, like Starbucks. Each of the actors play their role convincingly. Edward Nortons insomniac narrator is a brilliant creation, along with the bat **** insane Tyler Durden. I gotta talk about the twist, that Tyler is actually another personality of the narrator. Once you know about this twist, watch the film a second time. You will see it make sense, and see the twist being sown earlier on into the story little by little. It is gritty also. For an example, see Edward Norton beating into Jared Letos face. Its so bloody. And when you see Tyler throwing Edward down the stairs, you know its actually Edward Norton throwing himself down the stairs, and thats a little creepy. The humour as well, Tylers earlier jobs, cutting porn into kids films and pissing in soup, is hilarious. Also, fight club members trying to start fights. They even cut a porn shot into the end of the film How can you not love this film? The acting, the writing, the direction, the twist, the storyline, its all brilliant. Quite bloody, but psychologically awesome. If you haven't seen it, you must! Expand
  74. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    Fight Club is multi-faceted movie about a man who is deeply unsatisfied with his life in the modern age, even with all the trappings of success that much of our society is based on, and decides to go off the beaten path to find his own personal satisfaction. From that point on the movie spirals out of control and into the abyss. This is a good thing. The movie holds many meanings and shows the characters in favorable and unfavorable ways. It does not try to cast things in a typical good and evil view point, nor does it say whether the choices the protagonist and the rest of the cast make are sound ones. One of the things it does do is look into the nature of our past, viewing the structure of our society and analyzing why we do what we do to live. It isn't until the narrator (Edward Norton) begins to destroy himself that he finally comes to realize what matters to him. That is when he meets two important characters, Marla Singer and Tyler Durden. It is during this time that the narrator escapes from his normal life by hosting with Tyler an underground fight club that evolved from the two just fighting outside of a local bar. Taking in Tyler's view on life, which is somewhat refreshing and scary at the same time, they form a close bond strongly resembling a married couple. The two do everything together and the narrator begins to emulate Tyler more and more, all the while the fight club grows stronger and stronger until it has become this cult-like phenomenon with Tyler and the narrator as leaders making rules for conducting fight club. Anarchy and non-conformity is their message, which I believe is meant to underscore the irony of fight club and their non-conformist, fight the man attitude. As the group evolves into something more dangerous, this irony becomes more apparent in the way those who once questioned the established authority, now blindly follow their "non-conformist" new group. Its been a little over a decade since Fight Club "enlightened" me, but it still gives me the same conflicting feelings about its message and the nature of humanity in general. There are those who would take it at its face value and see nothing but frustrated, grown men beating each other senselessly, and that's a shame because there is definitely much more going on then that. David Fincher has crafted an excellent movie: it's disgustingly stylish in its execution...almost too much, if that's possible. The sound track, done by the Dust Brothers burrowed it's way into my brain and never left. The movie would not be the same without it. As far as the actors performances, Ed Norton and Brad Pitt both have a strong rapport and the scenes come off naturally, while Helena Bonham Carter's Marla is hauntingly tragic, and filled with a desperate, but subtle sadness to her. At the time of the original screening this movie polarized people into the two camps of love or hate, due to it's ability to offended or amaze, but I wouldn't have it any other way. Too often are movies eager to please. This one strives to offend and cause questions...and I love it for that. Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. 66
    Despite terrific comic acting...and an atomic first hour, Fight Club makes a few wrong turns and ends up lost itself.
  2. This exercise in mainstream masochism, macho posturing, and designer-grunge fascism is borderline ridiculous. But it also happens to be David Fincher's richest movie.
  3. 50
    But the second act is pandering and the third is trickery, and whatever Fincher thinks the message is, that's not what most audience members will get.