User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1095 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamesT.
    Mar 3, 2004
    6
    I thought the first half of Fight Club was a creative spark in the film industry, until the second half came along. It became a movie that was trying to sound deep and intellectual to a bunch of stoners, basically. That's not a very difficult task. Oh and Brent B. said, "This movie is probably the second deepest modern movie, only to the Matrix.". What?? The Matrix is far from a deep I thought the first half of Fight Club was a creative spark in the film industry, until the second half came along. It became a movie that was trying to sound deep and intellectual to a bunch of stoners, basically. That's not a very difficult task. Oh and Brent B. said, "This movie is probably the second deepest modern movie, only to the Matrix.". What?? The Matrix is far from a deep movie. I did like the first one, but I did not think it was deep. Expand
  2. Jun 9, 2012
    6
    Dur dur pour moi de prendre réellement parti pour ce film. Déjà d'une part que j'ai bien eu du mal à entrer dedans. Dans cet univers crade et violent où règnent pourtant humour décalé (au niveau des dialogues) et philosophie (parfois poussée àDur dur pour moi de prendre réellement parti pour ce film. Déjà d'une part que j'ai bien eu du mal à entrer dedans. Dans cet univers crade et violent où règnent pourtant humour décalé (au niveau des dialogues) et philosophie (parfois poussée à l'extrême). Que par moments, j'ai bien failli décrocher de l'affaire à plusieurs fois, ne comprenant pas pourquoi il y a autant d'effets et de narrations qui, pour moi, m'ont semblé pénibles à suivre. Et pourtant, je ne peux m'empêcher de mettre en avant les gros atouts de ce film que sont son casting (impressionnant Brad Pitt), son ambiance (que je critique et pourtant que je valorise grâce à une mise en scène ardemment travaillée) et cet humour décalé qui apporte de la verve dans les situations et les conversations entre personnages. Quant au scénario, c'est la même affaire : j'ai du mal à adhérer à la pensée philosophique et à la critique sur la société, alors que j'aime cette idée de double-personnalité (twist final). Bref, Fight Club est un film que je devais voir, que j'ai vu, qui me restera en mémoire, mais que je ne reverrai pas si facilement avec plaisir. Expand
  3. Oct 27, 2012
    6
    Too odd to bee good. The first hour of the movie is really great and fun to watch. The underground organization 'Fight Club' is a fascinating group of men, you don't understand why they do it but it's cool watching. But there comes more and more graphic violence, more and more plot twists and a disappointing end that seemed really inept. Fincher and his three main actors exaggerated it, soToo odd to bee good. The first hour of the movie is really great and fun to watch. The underground organization 'Fight Club' is a fascinating group of men, you don't understand why they do it but it's cool watching. But there comes more and more graphic violence, more and more plot twists and a disappointing end that seemed really inept. Fincher and his three main actors exaggerated it, so the only thing you are after watching the movie is being confused. Anyway, it's a cult film and I totally recommend you to watch it because of its strange manner, but don't have high expectations. Expand
  4. Sep 26, 2013
    6
    One of the most overrated movies ever made. Fight Club has gathered a massive cult following over the years and while I understand that, I feel the film is immature and even self indulgent. I don't think it's a bad movie though. It features stylish cinematography, and the themes the movie contains definitely pertain to the type of society we are in. I like David Fincher as a director andOne of the most overrated movies ever made. Fight Club has gathered a massive cult following over the years and while I understand that, I feel the film is immature and even self indulgent. I don't think it's a bad movie though. It features stylish cinematography, and the themes the movie contains definitely pertain to the type of society we are in. I like David Fincher as a director and I'm a huge fan of Se7en, as well as some of his other movies but Fight Club just misses the mark. The movie just feels juvenile,and too convoluted to truly become a modern "Masterpiece". If you truly want a movie with something intelligent to say your best bet is to look elsewhere. My rating: 6.5/10 Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2013
    6
    Fight Club is a film about an insomniac (Edward Norton) who meets a soap vending and bomb making badass (Brad Pitt). Together they start an underground club where people fight each other, which ends up becoming a terrorist organization that is bent on blowing up a collection of buildings. That sounds ridiculous, but that's all I got out of this movie. It's incredibly pretentious and IFight Club is a film about an insomniac (Edward Norton) who meets a soap vending and bomb making badass (Brad Pitt). Together they start an underground club where people fight each other, which ends up becoming a terrorist organization that is bent on blowing up a collection of buildings. That sounds ridiculous, but that's all I got out of this movie. It's incredibly pretentious and I don't get the appeal of it. There's an emo girl (Helena Bonham-Carter) who acts as a love interest to the main character, but essentially does nothing but have sex with the main character and serve as a way to foreshadow the movie's huge twist. The twist got me, but that didn't resolve any of my questions. This movie is incredibly disjointed. The main character has no logical reason to be doing the things he does in the film, and the motive is so pretentious and stupid that re-wording it outside the film is impossible. Aside from the sloppy and disjointed plot, the acting was very strong and it had good cinematography. Soundtrack wise, this movie doesn't have any standout tracks, which is a bit disappointing. The movie runs for a little over two hours, which is ridiculously long. Not only that, but it's paced very poorly in my opinion. Nothing really happens until the twist, and even then you're too confused to even care what happens. Overall, Fight Club was a disappointment. It was incredibly pretentious, slow, long, and over-hyped. I respect it for being one of those "you have to watch it twice to fully get it" type of movies, but I've personally never been a fan of that style. Expand
  6. Dec 27, 2013
    5
    Fight Club saddened me. After the dark subtlety of Se7en, I was expecting Fight Club to be similarly atmospheric and engaging. Instead, I got a thoughtless plot bashed out in front of me with about as much sensitivity as Brad Pitt has body fat. The story was so peculiar, and not good or interestingly so, that I lost interest very quickly. The 'shock' ending wasn't even enough to redeem theFight Club saddened me. After the dark subtlety of Se7en, I was expecting Fight Club to be similarly atmospheric and engaging. Instead, I got a thoughtless plot bashed out in front of me with about as much sensitivity as Brad Pitt has body fat. The story was so peculiar, and not good or interestingly so, that I lost interest very quickly. The 'shock' ending wasn't even enough to redeem the two hours of nonsense I had just endured. Norton gave a characteristically stale performance, and Brad Pitt, although fairly energetic and likable, offered little theatrical contribution, unless an unnatural six-pack counts. All in all, the pace and (sometimes) the feel of the film was good, but it was headed in the wrong direction and carried by a bad actor and a painful lack of subtlety. A mediocre film but Helena Bonham Carter sure was cool. Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2015
    5
    I just don't understand the concept behind the movie. I think that is stupid and rubish. Just to see Brad Pitt make many girls crazy but not me. I never agree with the people, I really have a bad tastes.... or not!
  8. AlexanderG.
    Feb 6, 2010
    4
    If you're too young for the MPAA rating, you'll probably think that watching sweaty men hurt one another is a good expression of masculinity and take this to be a deep and fascinating movie. If you're mature enough to realize that violence really isn't good for much of anything, you'll see right through the stupid "fighting sets you free from society" and spend If you're too young for the MPAA rating, you'll probably think that watching sweaty men hurt one another is a good expression of masculinity and take this to be a deep and fascinating movie. If you're mature enough to realize that violence really isn't good for much of anything, you'll see right through the stupid "fighting sets you free from society" and spend two hours wondering why the characters would rather punch each other than do something useful with their time and energy. The general theme of bringing down the office slave lifestyle could have made a great movie, but presenting a fascist underground fighting society as an acceptable alternative is just ludicrous. It's not an aweful movie; I loved the sequence where Tyler uses an unloaded revolver to motivate a convenience-store employee to improve his life, and the liposuction soap counterculture lifestyle was fascinating until it turned into a training complex for gullible and animistic men, but this movie does not deserve its high user score by any stretch. Expand
  9. TedK.
    Jun 20, 2008
    4
    This movie is much too long and is never that entertaining to begin with. The premise is silly and if you find this stuff thought-provoking you need to get out more.
  10. Jul 31, 2014
    4
    I don't get why people are always so excited about "Fight Club". There are some views expressed here, some ridiculously clearly (such as some comments on consumerism), but in a naive and narcissistic way. "Fight Club" struggles hard to show its awareness of things that are troubling modern societies, including fascism or repression, but it fails to achieve its ambitious goals. It drowns inI don't get why people are always so excited about "Fight Club". There are some views expressed here, some ridiculously clearly (such as some comments on consumerism), but in a naive and narcissistic way. "Fight Club" struggles hard to show its awareness of things that are troubling modern societies, including fascism or repression, but it fails to achieve its ambitious goals. It drowns in its excessive violence and its messy storyline, and lacks the quality to match even classics that walk the same path, such as Stanley Kubrick's "A Clockwork Orange". Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. 66
    Despite terrific comic acting...and an atomic first hour, Fight Club makes a few wrong turns and ends up lost itself.
  2. This exercise in mainstream masochism, macho posturing, and designer-grunge fascism is borderline ridiculous. But it also happens to be David Fincher's richest movie.
  3. 50
    But the second act is pandering and the third is trickery, and whatever Fincher thinks the message is, that's not what most audience members will get.