Fight Club Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1259 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: The film's narrator (Norton) attends support groups of all kinds as a way to "experience" something within his unfeeling, commercial existence. On a business trip, he meets Tyler Durden (Pitt) who encourages them to form a fight club as a release for their latent aggressive tendencies.

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. Delivers a sucker punch to the audience and then pulls the rug out from under it. It is sensational. It is also grimly funny.
  2. Reviewed by: Gemma Files
    100
    It always surprises, never bores. It's also just damn good, on every possible level -- so go see it. Now.
  3. 89
    Fight Club's dirty little secret is it's one of the best comedies of the decade.
  4. It's visually surrealistic, acted with integrity, so brutal in spots that I averted my eyes.
  5. Baltimore Sun
    Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    63
    Keeps filmgoers wondering what will happen next even as they are repulsed by what's happening in front of them.
  6. This exercise in mainstream masochism, macho posturing, and designer-grunge fascism is borderline ridiculous. But it also happens to be David Fincher's richest movie.
  7. If, as Fincher has said, this movie is supposed to be funny, then the joke's on us.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 234
  1. EricB.
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    this an amazing movie, plain and simple. at first glance, it's your simple action movie, but if you watch and analyze it, it goes MUCH this an amazing movie, plain and simple. at first glance, it's your simple action movie, but if you watch and analyze it, it goes MUCH deeper than that. Very well filmed, and I myself was surprised to find the main focus of this movies was not guys fighting eachother. As was said by Gemma Files of Film.com, " It's also just damn good, on every possible level -- so go see it. Now. " Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Great film; negative reviews here often reflect a sloppy or down-right non-existent understanding of the movie. Case in point: "..spend twoGreat film; negative reviews here often reflect a sloppy or down-right non-existent understanding of the movie. Case in point: "..spend two hours wondering why the characters would rather punch each other than do something useful with their time and energy." - Alexander G. Now obviously, anyone who was actually attentive to the movie knows that they DID do something useful, and they fought for a reason. Expand
  3. BarryP.
    Oct 18, 2008
    10
    Such awesome acting from all of the main cast. It's the best thriller out there.
  4. ChrisS.
    Mar 24, 2008
    10
    It's a long shot to say this is the greatest movie ever made, but the argument can be made by anyone who sees it and truly gets it. It's a long shot to say this is the greatest movie ever made, but the argument can be made by anyone who sees it and truly gets it. I've never written a review for any film before, but even 9 years after its release, Fight Club has earned it. Violent, yes, of course. It's called Fight Club. But strangely enough, that's a misleading title. It's the most ambiguous fable ever, in that the moral is whatever you make it out to be. This movie solidified Edward Norton to me as a top-tier actor capable of sheer brilliance, and Brad Pitt is amazing as well, cool and scary and ridiculously funny with his red leather jacket. Which brings me to my next point, if you've heard the word "comedy" used in relation to Fight Club, you heard correctly. It points out the hilarious nature of society's individuals to try desperately to reach some form of perfection, but of course we know this is impossible. Almost every motif you could think of in a great satirical tale is present in Fight Club. The one I never hear people mention is addiction. (Society Expand
  5. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    The guy's film of all guy's films imo. Great acting by the cast, Solid action, and a great plot make Fight Club not only a seriouslyThe guy's film of all guy's films imo. Great acting by the cast, Solid action, and a great plot make Fight Club not only a seriously underrated movie but also a cult classic. Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2013
    9
    Don't let it's seemingly block-headed name and average critic score fool you, Fight Club is an excellent film which deals with the desperateDon't let it's seemingly block-headed name and average critic score fool you, Fight Club is an excellent film which deals with the desperate struggle of a disillusioned generation of men who can no longer find meaning in their material lives. This is yet another example of an exceptional film where bad reviews are the result of either an awesome failure to understand the movie or an exceptionally arrogant and indignant revolt against its highly confronting themes. Expand
  7. May 25, 2011
    0
    A classic that does not deserve to be one. The acting performances did not impress me (except from Helena's) the movie has some illogicalA classic that does not deserve to be one. The acting performances did not impress me (except from Helena's) the movie has some illogical sense in it & the director made it into a big bunch of surreal mess. Collapse

See all 234 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree

    When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree Image
    Published: August 10, 2011
    Sometimes, movie reviewers as a group appear to be out of sync with Metacritic users. We look at the films with the biggest discrepancies between professional critic scores and the user consensus.