Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 1000 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: The film's narrator (Norton) attends support groups of all kinds as a way to "experience" something within his unfeeling, commercial existence. On a business trip, he meets Tyler Durden (Pitt) who encourages them to form a fight club as a release for their latent aggressive tendencies.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. Delivers a sucker punch to the audience and then pulls the rug out from under it. It is sensational. It is also grimly funny.
  2. Reviewed by: Gemma Files
    100
    It always surprises, never bores. It's also just damn good, on every possible level -- so go see it. Now.
  3. 89
    Fight Club's dirty little secret is it's one of the best comedies of the decade.
  4. It's visually surrealistic, acted with integrity, so brutal in spots that I averted my eyes.
  5. 63
    Keeps filmgoers wondering what will happen next even as they are repulsed by what's happening in front of them.
  6. This exercise in mainstream masochism, macho posturing, and designer-grunge fascism is borderline ridiculous. But it also happens to be David Fincher's richest movie.
  7. If, as Fincher has said, this movie is supposed to be funny, then the joke's on us.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 217
  1. JasonA.
    Feb 15, 2006
    10
    I've watched this movie more than any other movie and it never gets old. The number of quoteable lines in this film is remarkable. I I've watched this movie more than any other movie and it never gets old. The number of quoteable lines in this film is remarkable. I once sat down with a pen and a notebook and wrote every line I found interesting, witty, ect... I filled 5 pgs front and back. If you enjoyed the movie then all I can say is READ THE BOOK! Chuck Palahniuk's novel puts this amazing movie to shame. Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Great film; negative reviews here often reflect a sloppy or down-right non-existent understanding of the movie. Case in point: "..spend twoGreat film; negative reviews here often reflect a sloppy or down-right non-existent understanding of the movie. Case in point: "..spend two hours wondering why the characters would rather punch each other than do something useful with their time and energy." - Alexander G. Now obviously, anyone who was actually attentive to the movie knows that they DID do something useful, and they fought for a reason. Expand
  3. MH
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    A movie which explores the human psyche and travels into the uncharted territories of the mind, bringing (almost) everything into question A movie which explores the human psyche and travels into the uncharted territories of the mind, bringing (almost) everything into question but allowing the audience to pass judgement. Expand
  4. GlennM.
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    'Infantile philosophizing'? There's no wonder America hates Fight Club, because of its harsh, brutal reality that truly makes 'Infantile philosophizing'? There's no wonder America hates Fight Club, because of its harsh, brutal reality that truly makes you question life's values and your 'goals'. Fincher's, Norton's and Pitt's greatest movie, ever. Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2014
    10
    This cult classic is on my top 10 list. Due to its original and creative plot and directing styles. The movie is quite shocking and brutal,This cult classic is on my top 10 list. Due to its original and creative plot and directing styles. The movie is quite shocking and brutal, but what is most shocking are the negative reviews on it. I have over-viewed lots of these bad reviews and all they talk about is how much violence is in it, and judge little to nothing on the story and/or film quality. Needless to say i shall ignore those reviews due to their plain ignorant critics. Anyways, The story captures you quickly and is very fun to watch. The characters are interesting and fun, the shots are great, the plot is captivating, to sum it all up what isn't their to like about this movie. Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2013
    9
    Don't let it's seemingly block-headed name and average critic score fool you, Fight Club is an excellent film which deals with the desperateDon't let it's seemingly block-headed name and average critic score fool you, Fight Club is an excellent film which deals with the desperate struggle of a disillusioned generation of men who can no longer find meaning in their material lives. This is yet another example of an exceptional film where bad reviews are the result of either an awesome failure to understand the movie or an exceptionally arrogant and indignant revolt against its highly confronting themes. Expand
  7. May 25, 2011
    0
    A classic that does not deserve to be one. The acting performances did not impress me (except from Helena's) the movie has some illogicalA classic that does not deserve to be one. The acting performances did not impress me (except from Helena's) the movie has some illogical sense in it & the director made it into a big bunch of surreal mess. Expand

See all 217 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree

    When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree Image
    Published: August 10, 2011
    Sometimes, movie reviewers as a group appear to be out of sync with Metacritic users. We look at the films with the biggest discrepancies between professional critic scores and the user consensus.