Fight Club Image
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1400 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: The film's narrator (Norton) attends support groups of all kinds as a way to "experience" something within his unfeeling, commercial existence. On a business trip, he meets Tyler Durden (Pitt) who encourages them to form a fight club as a release for their latent aggressive tendencies.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. Delivers a sucker punch to the audience and then pulls the rug out from under it. It is sensational. It is also grimly funny.
  2. Reviewed by: Gemma Files
    100
    It always surprises, never bores. It's also just damn good, on every possible level -- so go see it. Now.
  3. 89
    Fight Club's dirty little secret is it's one of the best comedies of the decade.
  4. It's visually surrealistic, acted with integrity, so brutal in spots that I averted my eyes.
  5. Baltimore Sun
    Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    63
    Keeps filmgoers wondering what will happen next even as they are repulsed by what's happening in front of them.
  6. This exercise in mainstream masochism, macho posturing, and designer-grunge fascism is borderline ridiculous. But it also happens to be David Fincher's richest movie.
  7. If, as Fincher has said, this movie is supposed to be funny, then the joke's on us.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 240
  1. EricB.
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    this an amazing movie, plain and simple. at first glance, it's your simple action movie, but if you watch and analyze it, it goes MUCH this an amazing movie, plain and simple. at first glance, it's your simple action movie, but if you watch and analyze it, it goes MUCH deeper than that. Very well filmed, and I myself was surprised to find the main focus of this movies was not guys fighting eachother. As was said by Gemma Files of Film.com, " It's also just damn good, on every possible level -- so go see it. Now. " Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Great film; negative reviews here often reflect a sloppy or down-right non-existent understanding of the movie. Case in point: "..spend twoGreat film; negative reviews here often reflect a sloppy or down-right non-existent understanding of the movie. Case in point: "..spend two hours wondering why the characters would rather punch each other than do something useful with their time and energy." - Alexander G. Now obviously, anyone who was actually attentive to the movie knows that they DID do something useful, and they fought for a reason. Expand
  3. BarryP.
    Oct 18, 2008
    10
    Such awesome acting from all of the main cast. It's the best thriller out there.
  4. Benjamin
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    One of the most engaging, intelligent, thought-provoking movies of our time.
  5. Jan 24, 2013
    10
    This movie completely took me by surprise and highlighted the strengths of commenting on American Society at the time. It clearly defined BradThis movie completely took me by surprise and highlighted the strengths of commenting on American Society at the time. It clearly defined Brad Pitt and Edward Norton as box office contenders, also to continue the success of director David Fincher (Se7en, Panic Room) With spot on theme boundaries and pitch perfect narrrative, its a movie which Brad Pitt quoted as "to have an experience, take a punch more and see how you come out on the other end." Expand
  6. Mar 5, 2014
    9
    Fight Club is an odd movie. When you first hear about it, it sounds anything but spectacular. What's so interesting about guys fighting eachFight Club is an odd movie. When you first hear about it, it sounds anything but spectacular. What's so interesting about guys fighting each other in a basement? The movie sounds boring.
    WRONG
    After watching Fight Club a solid six times, I can safely assure everyone that it is one of the best movies ever. I can't explain why, but it's just an awesome movie, and I'd argue that it's one of Pitt's best movies.
    Just watch it. Do yourself a favor.
    Expand
  7. May 25, 2011
    0
    A classic that does not deserve to be one. The acting performances did not impress me (except from Helena's) the movie has some illogicalA classic that does not deserve to be one. The acting performances did not impress me (except from Helena's) the movie has some illogical sense in it & the director made it into a big bunch of surreal mess. Expand

See all 240 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree

    When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree Image
    Published: August 10, 2011
    Sometimes, movie reviewers as a group appear to be out of sync with Metacritic users. We look at the films with the biggest discrepancies between professional critic scores and the user consensus.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  5. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.