User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 93
  2. Negative: 18 out of 93
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. kgm
    Apr 29, 2009
    2
    Punchdrunk
  2. DaveM
    Jun 15, 2009
    1
    Best nap I've had in a long time. An insomniac's must see!
  3. TavoG
    Aug 31, 2009
    1
    How is this movie getting halfway decent reviews? Worst movie I have seen since the last Indiana Jones movie.
  4. TravisT
    May 2, 2009
    0
    BOO! we left after an hour. LAME!!
  5. pc
    May 1, 2009
    0
    Too much like never back down
  6. Jack
    May 3, 2009
    0
    This movie was one of the worst films I've ever seen. And I've seen Wicker Man. I was physically ill after watching this terrible excuse for cinema.
  7. BobV.
    Apr 24, 2009
    0
    This movie was absolutely terrible.
  8. IsaacH
    Aug 28, 2009
    0
    Purely a terrible movie. Bad acting to go with the terrible script and dialogue. You never really understand the whole of what is going on and they never tell the back story for any of the characters even though a large chunk of the movie is based around Sean's past.
  9. Mar 20, 2012
    0
    Unwatchable. Bad story, bad acting, bad fight corry. I knew it was time to stop watching when I caught myself reading something else with the movie going in the background.
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    40
    The movie never works up a pulpy head of steam. It's like an exploitation movie that thinks it's an art movie, only there's no art to be found.
  2. Reviewed by: Adam Markovitz
    42
    Murderously dull stretches of dialogue suck most of the fun out of this sloppy drama.
  3. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    50
    For all the utter phoniness of Fighting -- the cockeyed, faux-verite shooting, the lurches in storytelling, the lack of character development, a contrived crisis between Shawn and his would-be girlfriend Zulay and Tatum's dopey-charming thing--Fighting's not so bad.