New Line Cinema | Release Date: February 10, 2006
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 205 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
96
Mixed:
73
Negative:
36
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
MarkB.Apr 22, 2006
Not that it has THAT much plausible competition, but the original Final Destination, written and directed by X-Files expatriates Glen Morgan and James Wong, was the best, smartest and most effective teen slaughterfest since Wes Craven's Not that it has THAT much plausible competition, but the original Final Destination, written and directed by X-Files expatriates Glen Morgan and James Wong, was the best, smartest and most effective teen slaughterfest since Wes Craven's original Nightmare on Elm Street. In it, a high school student envisions a fiery plane disaster which will wipe out his Paris-bound classmates and several teachers; he then successfully talks several of them out of taking the flight. Death, who would've completely gotten away with its plans if it hadn't been for those meddling kids, proves to be the ultimate poor sport, and starts picking off the survivors in various bizarre, baroque and mostly very elaborate methods. Part of the original's success (as well as that of its sequel, which was energetically directed by Snakes on a Plane's David R. Ellis) was that Death, although never seen, was an incredibly vivid personality: an anal-retentive type who insistently redoes its handiwork in the EXACT SAME PATTERN that it originally would've had its plans not been thwarted, and judging from the increasingly elaborate nature of the "accidents" it stages, is a dark force whose all-time favorite board game isn't Monopoly, Risk or Clue...but Mouse Trap. Sadly, this third entry is as sloppy, perfunctory and unfunny-jokey as most of the Elm Street follow-ups were, and at least those had the lame excuse of Craven NOT being involved with most of them. However, Morgan and Wong are back for this one, and while their use of a roller coaster ride certainly had potential (aren't ALL horror films by nature roller coaster rides?) this movie's victims--who had realistically and intriguingly varied personalities and reactions in the first two Final Destinations--are, except for the hero and heroine, all either disbelieving twits or total morons. The deaths all follow the same identical pattern (whirrrr--woop, woop, woop--whiz!--whew!--WHAM!!!) and the editing, so precise in the first two entries, is maddeningly slapdash, looking as though several frames have been randomly sliced out of all those Rube Goldberg nail-gun/ barbeque pit mishaps. And let's be honest: as far as Death's selected traveling music goes, The Lettermen don't have a fraction of the cultural, historic or emotional resonance that John Denver brought to the original. As anyone would normally expect from the third film in any horror series, the "special makeup effects" budget has noticeably increased (probably surpassing the actors' salaries), but for all the gallons and drums of red stuff added by Morgan and Wong to the proceedings, Final Destination 3 still comes off as almost totally bloodless. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
peterrAug 30, 2009
Worst film in the franchise. In between the death scenes, there was no suspense, tension or atmosphere. The dialogue was weak & there was no dimension to the characters. No character seem affected about the gory deaths they witnessed. Other Worst film in the franchise. In between the death scenes, there was no suspense, tension or atmosphere. The dialogue was weak & there was no dimension to the characters. No character seem affected about the gory deaths they witnessed. Other than the deaths, this film provided no storyline. FD1 & 2 were good, FD3 died! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MariaAAug 30, 2009
Well the 3D part was OK...only some parts of the movie were 3D. Other than it being 3D there was nothing in this movie that we have not seen in every other Final Destination. The plot in the other once were more intense, and it kept you Well the 3D part was OK...only some parts of the movie were 3D. Other than it being 3D there was nothing in this movie that we have not seen in every other Final Destination. The plot in the other once were more intense, and it kept you wondering what was going to happen. This one you know whats going to happen. He has a dream of people dying, wakes up freaks out people survive, they start dying in order. Please make a final destination with a twist. Its like they made this movie thinking no one had ever seen final destination, or hoping we would be so stupid we would not remember that this movie is just like the other ones. Overall this is not worth spending your money. In my case $22 USD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BenF.Feb 23, 2006
this is the worse of the three movies by far. I like the first one, and loved the second one even more. Not only was the acting terrible but the plot related back to the first final destination a lot like the second one did. however none of this is the worse of the three movies by far. I like the first one, and loved the second one even more. Not only was the acting terrible but the plot related back to the first final destination a lot like the second one did. however none of it made any sense, atleast in the second one there was a tie in from the first movie. even the deaths weren't that creative. It's amazing how the second movie seemed to go two steps further in chaos, while the 3rd movie seemed to take 3 steps back, bad transiiton from scene to scene also killed this movie. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MarkA.Mar 11, 2006
By far the worst of the 3 movies. The first 2 always seem to leave a question to who will be killed next or at least a possible way out but the 3rd just kills off each character in the most gruesome way possible with very little of interest By far the worst of the 3 movies. The first 2 always seem to leave a question to who will be killed next or at least a possible way out but the 3rd just kills off each character in the most gruesome way possible with very little of interest in between. Too predictable even for a sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RubenR.Mar 28, 2006
The acting was really so bad, none of the actors could act, As with FD1 & FD2, I wanted the characters to do well, I wanted them to succeed and solve the "death mystery" The reason why I loved the first two movies in this series were the The acting was really so bad, none of the actors could act, As with FD1 & FD2, I wanted the characters to do well, I wanted them to succeed and solve the "death mystery" The reason why I loved the first two movies in this series were the deaths, they were smart, scary and made you, the viewer, a little bit more wary of normal items like garbage disposal or elevators. The deaths in this movie were not good, you were just waiting for them to happen - which is a shame as the first two movies really made you jump with the sudden deaths... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MartinA.Aug 21, 2006
By far one of the worst movies i have ever seen. In all fairness, i knew it was going to be the worst movie i would ever see before i saw it. my only incentive to go see this abomination was the fact that my friend paid for it and had smoked By far one of the worst movies i have ever seen. In all fairness, i knew it was going to be the worst movie i would ever see before i saw it. my only incentive to go see this abomination was the fact that my friend paid for it and had smoked me up before-hand (note to my fellow tokers, blazing before this movie does not help it in anyway, it just ruins your buzz...its that bad). This movie is just made for mindless barbarians who want to see people die in as many ways as possible, regardless of how little thought was put into the plot, seeing as how it was exactly the same as the last two: a few people escape death because some random highschool girl with no psychic history out of nowhere has a prophetic vision of them all dying, and surprise, surprise: now they all have to cheat death before death gets them! whoa! ...as someone also mentioned below..i thought it would be so stupid it would be funny...i was even high and it was no such thing....just rediculously stupid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
csw12Apr 7, 2012
Final Destination 3 is sickening, not only from the deaths but also from the acting and writing. The movie is far lazier in coming up with different kind of deaths. A pretty bad movie all around.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews