User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 162 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 162
  2. Negative: 31 out of 162
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 22, 2011
    4
    "Final Destination 3" is like "Final Destination", a movie where teenagers play around and foolishly die in preposterous methods. The only bad thing is, its bad.
  2. MarkB.
    Apr 22, 2006
    3
    Not that it has THAT much plausible competition, but the original Final Destination, written and directed by X-Files expatriates Glen Morgan and James Wong, was the best, smartest and most effective teen slaughterfest since Wes Craven's original Nightmare on Elm Street. In it, a high school student envisions a fiery plane disaster which will wipe out his Paris-bound classmates and Not that it has THAT much plausible competition, but the original Final Destination, written and directed by X-Files expatriates Glen Morgan and James Wong, was the best, smartest and most effective teen slaughterfest since Wes Craven's original Nightmare on Elm Street. In it, a high school student envisions a fiery plane disaster which will wipe out his Paris-bound classmates and several teachers; he then successfully talks several of them out of taking the flight. Death, who would've completely gotten away with its plans if it hadn't been for those meddling kids, proves to be the ultimate poor sport, and starts picking off the survivors in various bizarre, baroque and mostly very elaborate methods. Part of the original's success (as well as that of its sequel, which was energetically directed by Snakes on a Plane's David R. Ellis) was that Death, although never seen, was an incredibly vivid personality: an anal-retentive type who insistently redoes its handiwork in the EXACT SAME PATTERN that it originally would've had its plans not been thwarted, and judging from the increasingly elaborate nature of the "accidents" it stages, is a dark force whose all-time favorite board game isn't Monopoly, Risk or Clue...but Mouse Trap. Sadly, this third entry is as sloppy, perfunctory and unfunny-jokey as most of the Elm Street follow-ups were, and at least those had the lame excuse of Craven NOT being involved with most of them. However, Morgan and Wong are back for this one, and while their use of a roller coaster ride certainly had potential (aren't ALL horror films by nature roller coaster rides?) this movie's victims--who had realistically and intriguingly varied personalities and reactions in the first two Final Destinations--are, except for the hero and heroine, all either disbelieving twits or total morons. The deaths all follow the same identical pattern (whirrrr--woop, woop, woop--whiz!--whew!--WHAM!!!) and the editing, so precise in the first two entries, is maddeningly slapdash, looking as though several frames have been randomly sliced out of all those Rube Goldberg nail-gun/ barbeque pit mishaps. And let's be honest: as far as Death's selected traveling music goes, The Lettermen don't have a fraction of the cultural, historic or emotional resonance that John Denver brought to the original. As anyone would normally expect from the third film in any horror series, the "special makeup effects" budget has noticeably increased (probably surpassing the actors' salaries), but for all the gallons and drums of red stuff added by Morgan and Wong to the proceedings, Final Destination 3 still comes off as almost totally bloodless. Expand
  3. peterr
    Aug 30, 2009
    0
    Worst film in the franchise. In between the death scenes, there was no suspense, tension or atmosphere. The dialogue was weak & there was no dimension to the characters. No character seem affected about the gory deaths they witnessed. Other than the deaths, this film provided no storyline. FD1 & 2 were good, FD3 died!
  4. MariaA
    Aug 30, 2009
    1
    Well the 3D part was OK...only some parts of the movie were 3D. Other than it being 3D there was nothing in this movie that we have not seen in every other Final Destination. The plot in the other once were more intense, and it kept you wondering what was going to happen. This one you know whats going to happen. He has a dream of people dying, wakes up freaks out people survive, they Well the 3D part was OK...only some parts of the movie were 3D. Other than it being 3D there was nothing in this movie that we have not seen in every other Final Destination. The plot in the other once were more intense, and it kept you wondering what was going to happen. This one you know whats going to happen. He has a dream of people dying, wakes up freaks out people survive, they start dying in order. Please make a final destination with a twist. Its like they made this movie thinking no one had ever seen final destination, or hoping we would be so stupid we would not remember that this movie is just like the other ones. Overall this is not worth spending your money. In my case $22 USD. Expand
  5. BenF.
    Feb 23, 2006
    0
    this is the worse of the three movies by far. I like the first one, and loved the second one even more. Not only was the acting terrible but the plot related back to the first final destination a lot like the second one did. however none of it made any sense, atleast in the second one there was a tie in from the first movie. even the deaths weren't that creative. It's amazing this is the worse of the three movies by far. I like the first one, and loved the second one even more. Not only was the acting terrible but the plot related back to the first final destination a lot like the second one did. however none of it made any sense, atleast in the second one there was a tie in from the first movie. even the deaths weren't that creative. It's amazing how the second movie seemed to go two steps further in chaos, while the 3rd movie seemed to take 3 steps back, bad transiiton from scene to scene also killed this movie. Collapse
  6. MarkA.
    Mar 11, 2006
    3
    By far the worst of the 3 movies. The first 2 always seem to leave a question to who will be killed next or at least a possible way out but the 3rd just kills off each character in the most gruesome way possible with very little of interest in between. Too predictable even for a sequel.
  7. RubenR.
    Mar 28, 2006
    0
    The acting was really so bad, none of the actors could act, As with FD1 & FD2, I wanted the characters to do well, I wanted them to succeed and solve the "death mystery" The reason why I loved the first two movies in this series were the deaths, they were smart, scary and made you, the viewer, a little bit more wary of normal items like garbage disposal or elevators. The deaths in this The acting was really so bad, none of the actors could act, As with FD1 & FD2, I wanted the characters to do well, I wanted them to succeed and solve the "death mystery" The reason why I loved the first two movies in this series were the deaths, they were smart, scary and made you, the viewer, a little bit more wary of normal items like garbage disposal or elevators. The deaths in this movie were not good, you were just waiting for them to happen - which is a shame as the first two movies really made you jump with the sudden deaths... Expand
  8. NickM.
    Jul 28, 2006
    4
    It was allright. The major problem is that all 3 final destination movies pretty much offer the same exact thing. The first one was good, but the second two seemed like stale reproductions of the first one, except with different ways to die. Overall the plot remains the same.
  9. MartinA.
    Aug 21, 2006
    0
    By far one of the worst movies i have ever seen. In all fairness, i knew it was going to be the worst movie i would ever see before i saw it. my only incentive to go see this abomination was the fact that my friend paid for it and had smoked me up before-hand (note to my fellow tokers, blazing before this movie does not help it in anyway, it just ruins your buzz...its that bad). This By far one of the worst movies i have ever seen. In all fairness, i knew it was going to be the worst movie i would ever see before i saw it. my only incentive to go see this abomination was the fact that my friend paid for it and had smoked me up before-hand (note to my fellow tokers, blazing before this movie does not help it in anyway, it just ruins your buzz...its that bad). This movie is just made for mindless barbarians who want to see people die in as many ways as possible, regardless of how little thought was put into the plot, seeing as how it was exactly the same as the last two: a few people escape death because some random highschool girl with no psychic history out of nowhere has a prophetic vision of them all dying, and surprise, surprise: now they all have to cheat death before death gets them! whoa! ...as someone also mentioned below..i thought it would be so stupid it would be funny...i was even high and it was no such thing....just rediculously stupid. Expand
  10. AmurabiM.
    Sep 14, 2006
    4
    Everything is funny about this film: the idea, the premise, the filmmaking, the gore and the acting. Its the kind of film that exists just to be teased by critics and public. That could be good if the filmmakers put some fun in the making. In this case, all seems just replaced, recycled and too tired. But the funny premise of killing those stupid characters is more interesting for the Everything is funny about this film: the idea, the premise, the filmmaking, the gore and the acting. Its the kind of film that exists just to be teased by critics and public. That could be good if the filmmakers put some fun in the making. In this case, all seems just replaced, recycled and too tired. But the funny premise of killing those stupid characters is more interesting for the simple thing that here, everybody dies. Expand
  11. Jun 13, 2011
    4
    Final Destination 3 is the best film of the franchise because of the cast's acting ability. "The Scream Queen" Mary Elizabeth Winstead gave another good performance, but the movie itself is predictable, bloody, but not scary as usual.
  12. Apr 7, 2012
    2
    Final Destination 3 is sickening, not only from the deaths but also from the acting and writing. The movie is far lazier in coming up with different kind of deaths. A pretty bad movie all around.
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 28
  2. Negative: 7 out of 28
  1. 20
    Rote sequel that surely no one was waiting for: Like the serially thwarted Death (the only "character" to return from the first two Final Destination movies), audiences are required to endure banal exposition and junior-high-level foreshadowing before being treated to the nauseatingly detailed scenes of CGI slaughter.
  2. 25
    Fans of the genre might appreciate the decidedly R-rated violence and nudity, but that's really all the film has to offer.
  3. What makes all of this ''fun,'' instead of dark or threatening, is that the victim was an idiot who leered at the class teases with horny glee.