Final Destination 3

Final Destination 3 Image
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 183 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: When high school senior Wendy (Winstead) joins her fiends for a Grad Night celebration at the local amusement park she experience a vivid premonition of a fatal accident in which the rollercoaster becomes a death trap for her and her friends. But that's only the beginning. (New Line Cinema)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 28
  2. Negative: 7 out of 28
  1. 75
    Week in and week out, horror movies cheat us, so it's wonderfully cathartic to watch a bunch of kids cheat death in what turns out to be the best installment yet in the "Final Destination" franchise.
  2. 63
    A welcome antidote to the depressing, feel-bad sadism of recent horror hits like Hostel and Saw II, Final Destination 3 puts the fun back in watching stupid people die Rube Goldberg-elaborate, ridiculously gory deaths.
  3. 60
    Director James Wong and co-writer Glen Morgan seem, in this film's creaky first third, to be working on automatic pilot, but they gradually cut loose, staging one imaginative and gleefully gruesome death after another.
  4. Signs of fatigue are all over the film itself.
  5. After a fiendish start, filmmakers James Wong and Glen Morgan approach their task with all the subtlety of a hammer to the head (or a knife to the gut, or an ax to the back). They do, at least, find a mordant humor in the formula.
  6. 40
    We are here for the gore – which this film has plenty of. Too bad it doesn't have much else.
  7. There's nothing fresh or off-beat in Final Destination 3, no talent that is struggling to get out. The only thing struggling to get out was me from the theater.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 71
  2. Negative: 8 out of 71
  1. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    Almost the perfect Final Destination series in all, effects are awesome. Actors in the movie are natural. The roller coaster deaths are veryAlmost the perfect Final Destination series in all, effects are awesome. Actors in the movie are natural. The roller coaster deaths are very brutal that makes the movie a perfect horror movie. It does manage the formula of horrors with brutal or gory deaths. It does good. I hope the Final Destination 5 makes an another perfect formulatic horror movie. Expand
  2. RupertM.
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    I thought it was clever and really quite amusing. My date was scared silly - and loved it.
  3. CalebC.
    Feb 11, 2006
    9
    Best horror film so far this year.
  4. Apr 17, 2015
    6
    I liked the first 3 movies of this series, there happen' all the crazyies thinks that you can't even imagine. And the deaths... I like it.............
  5. Sep 5, 2011
    5
    So we have yet another installment of the uninteresting franchise (it's only my opinion, so you get my drift) and this is as good as theSo we have yet another installment of the uninteresting franchise (it's only my opinion, so you get my drift) and this is as good as the previous film, but that is not saying much. Expand
  6. Aug 13, 2010
    5
    Now, if you're expecting more than blood, gore and death from this third installment in the Final Destination saga and hope for somethingNow, if you're expecting more than blood, gore and death from this third installment in the Final Destination saga and hope for something resembling a plot line, then stay out. You will be disappointed.

    In all fair and vague shortness, Final Destination 3 is more or less the same as its predecessors. It is an expanded montage of elaborately staged and immaculately bloody deaths strung together by a simple and undemanding story line. Frankly speaking, the stars have not much to do other than stand and act scared - or disbelieving. Regardless, most of the actors did well, with leads Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Ryan Merriman and Kris Lemche standing out slightlier than the rest.

    Similar to its antecedents, Final Destination 3 is about high-schooler Wendy Christensen (portrayed adequately by Mary Elizabeth Winstead) receiving a premonition of the ill-fated rollercoaster ride in which she is on board. She panics and manages to save herself and a bunch of her friends (or more appropriately, entrees in Death's wish list), but soonafter realizes that Death's in the market for tying up loose ends.

    If you've decided to give this film a try, then come in with an open mind and just expect fun. Leave your brains at the door, and anticipate gallons of strawberry, juice and banana (creatively mixed up to produce a simulation of blood and bone marrows) to come shooting out of the screen.

    To grade a film like this, you have to evaluate the atristry of its death sequences, review the mock build up of suspense preceding a death sequence and diagnose the level of bone-chilling each death sequence brings to the table. In short, Final Destination 3 is all about the death sequences. And, suffice it to say, the film succeeds in every level while doing so.

    Look pass the plot holes gargantuan enough for a train to barrel through. Ignore the poor screen-writing abilities of James Wong, chock-full of dialogues to bury, witty one-liners that never succeeds to pass off as witty one-liners and one or two exchanges so tacky and cliched until it makes you want to punch nails into your ears. Pay no attention to the strong lack of sturdy character development, or the lack of any kind of sturdy characters for that matter. Do all this, and you might just have a good time.

    For what it's worth, James Wong tries, but still, the sub-plots about the 'Pictures which Tell the Future' and 'The Search for the Two Unknown Ride Attendees' does not add anything new to the table, and instead, turns out to be very predictable and foreseeable. Without wanting to reveal too much, I just have this to say: If you want your audience to be surprised by the plot twist, make sure you have a couple of red herrings ready. Introduce characters who have decent amount of screentime to pose as the possible potential victims, but not too much as to steal the limelight from any of the ten main stars.

    Nevertheless, as aforementioned, Final Destination 3 is a movie whose sole purpose is to entertain and delight twisted, sadistic fans by introducing new and improved ways to kill off characters who merits their deaths. And, for that, it passed.

    Verdict:
    Those who just expect a good time will find this immaculately bloody film to be fulfilling, to say the least. Those who expect more will be dismayed. Nevertheless, the film hits the targets its supposed to, and that adds up to a good, enjoyable thriller perfect for movie night.
    Expand
  7. BenF.
    Feb 23, 2006
    0
    this is the worse of the three movies by far. I like the first one, and loved the second one even more. Not only was the acting terrible but this is the worse of the three movies by far. I like the first one, and loved the second one even more. Not only was the acting terrible but the plot related back to the first final destination a lot like the second one did. however none of it made any sense, atleast in the second one there was a tie in from the first movie. even the deaths weren't that creative. It's amazing how the second movie seemed to go two steps further in chaos, while the 3rd movie seemed to take 3 steps back, bad transiiton from scene to scene also killed this movie. Expand

See all 71 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.