Final Destination 5

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 177 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 177
  2. Negative: 20 out of 177

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Aug 15, 2011
    3
    I've seen better Final Destinations, and the series is becoming very predictable in its attempts at unpredictability. Of course, the "predictable" cause of death is not going to do it. Just expect a head to explode in some kind of totally unforeseeable way shortly after that "close call." It's the lack of foreseeability that makes the movie not scary in the least. The best horror moviesI've seen better Final Destinations, and the series is becoming very predictable in its attempts at unpredictability. Of course, the "predictable" cause of death is not going to do it. Just expect a head to explode in some kind of totally unforeseeable way shortly after that "close call." It's the lack of foreseeability that makes the movie not scary in the least. The best horror movies thrive on anticipation - this goes completely the opposite way - quick death with zero build-up. Gory? Sure. But scary in the traditional sense? Not at all. And this installment wasn't even all that funny to me. Rent the one with the subway accident. That at least had some fun social commentary. Expand
  2. Aug 20, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I went in thinking, what sights will i see, and picturing myself, saying "oh my God," as i heard this was the most violent and intense. The beginning credit sequence was pretty cool, which promised an intense and visceral premonition sequence. However, after the premonition was over, i thought, "that was it." The other Final Destination films, especially 2 were a lot better. In terms of the individual deaths, i almost laughed at how fake and preposterous the first one was. I am not a gymnast, never have been, but if i fell off a balance beam, i would just roll over in pain, not be broken in half. I know the deaths are supposed to be over the top, but this first one was just stupid. What followed was just many annoying characters dying in fake-looking ways, exactly the other other films (not inventive at all). Then end plane sequence was awesome as well as the collage of deaths from the other films. Even as a somewhat FD fan, i was not impressed. This was one of the less graphics films in the series. Expand
  3. Aug 17, 2011
    2
    I hope this 5th installment into the dreadful final destination series is the final installment. This movie was just plain dumb and boring. It was exciting when somebody died but the rest of it just dragged on. The only reason i saw this was because its what my friends chose and because i work at the movie theater and it was free for me. I only gave this mindless film a 2 because itsI hope this 5th installment into the dreadful final destination series is the final installment. This movie was just plain dumb and boring. It was exciting when somebody died but the rest of it just dragged on. The only reason i saw this was because its what my friends chose and because i work at the movie theater and it was free for me. I only gave this mindless film a 2 because its actually some of the best 3d effects ive seen in a movie in a long time, but other than that this movie was stupid. 2/10 Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2011
    3
    Una película que definitivamente nunca debió haberse hecho, lo peor del caso es que la Sexta y Séptima parte están en negociaciones a realizarse, así que habrá que ver si 6 o 7 películas serán suficientes para hacer de "Final Destination" mínimo una películaUna película que definitivamente nunca debió haberse hecho, lo peor del caso es que la Sexta y Séptima parte están en negociaciones a realizarse, así que habrá que ver si 6 o 7 películas serán suficientes para hacer de "Final Destination" mínimo una película palomera de esas que ves en lugar de las TV Novelas Expand
  5. Sep 1, 2011
    3
    Eleven years ago Final Destination took horror fans in a fresh new direction. The film had gruesome death scenes (not nearly as bad as the later installments.) But fate -and whether one could escape its plan- was where the real intrigue lied. Final Destination 2 traded character development for sillier death scenes, but at least some were mildly possible and interesting. I had theEleven years ago Final Destination took horror fans in a fresh new direction. The film had gruesome death scenes (not nearly as bad as the later installments.) But fate -and whether one could escape its plan- was where the real intrigue lied. Final Destination 2 traded character development for sillier death scenes, but at least some were mildly possible and interesting. I had the foresight to avoid what i felt would be ridiculously bad films in the third and fourth installments of the franchise. Something told me this one would be different. The film is directed by James Cameron's understudy, David Quale; who admitted the last films didn't live up to the first two. Quale claims to have attempted to use what worked in the first films to construct his fifth installment. One would think at the very least this film would have made brilliant use of the 3D technology that was, of course, extraordinary in Avatar. Horror movies are possibly the best genre for 3D -because you're meant to be jumpy- but this film attempts to ease us in through credits that slowly come closer and closer to the audience, but it becomes rather boring. Moving forward, Quale decides to splatter our cool 3D shades with blood and guts rather than use the technology to scare us. Sure... the bridge scene was nice, but after that the film stumbles from poor dialogue to atrocious acting to fantastically unbelievable death scenes. I know there are those who will say I should have seen that coming. Maybe they're right, but the first film wasn't nearly as grotesque and was written much better. Even the second installment looks very believable in comparison. The deaths are way too much, I wanted to scream at the screen in my best Mortal Kombat voice "finish him" (already). We always get plenty of plausible ways for characters to meet their demise, but instead we see something like a character getting their head knocked off by the torso of a deer being propelled by a tornado. Who am I kidding? That would be much too interesting for this film. One or two scenes should have surprised us by taking one of the more obvious deaths. Sam and his friends are mostly played by relative newcomers, but along the way, we meet some nice characters. Tony Todd (Candyman) is back as the coroner. He actually has a few terrifically ominous lines. And David Koechner (The Office) plays his usual oblivious character well. As a fan of the original I did enjoy the plot twist, which does something that I can't remember ever being done before. In the end, this installment may have done what it set out to do; make a better movie than Final Destination 3 or The Final Destination (the fourth film which claimed to be the last.) If the filmmakers wished for anything more however, they should have spent as much time crafting dialogue and story as they did dreaming up 1,000 ways to die. Expand
  6. Aug 21, 2011
    0
    As soon as it began I thought, "this is so stupid" and this thought is repeated throughout the movie along with a regret for spending money on it. I have seen all the FD. Even after 4, which was pretty bad, I came back to see if this was improved. It was NOT. Full of goriness true, but the story line was horrible, premonitions not believable or along with the great suspense of the mainAs soon as it began I thought, "this is so stupid" and this thought is repeated throughout the movie along with a regret for spending money on it. I have seen all the FD. Even after 4, which was pretty bad, I came back to see if this was improved. It was NOT. Full of goriness true, but the story line was horrible, premonitions not believable or along with the great suspense of the main character getting them and trying to stop death from getting the others. And then to add, all of a sudden that they could cheat death by taking another person's life when in FD 2 they had said only a "new life" could break the chain...we all remember the pregnant character Sabella Hudson (portrayed by Justina Machado) was one of the survivors of the Route 23 pile up accident. Isabella was a delievery girl who was also nine months pregnant only to find out it was actually back from death to life...remember Kimberly sacrifices herself for Officer Burke's safety by driving the van she is riding to a lake, however Officer Burke rescues her and sends her to a hospital for recovery. I wondered if the people who wrote 1 and 2 were the same ones that wrote 5..I am officially DONE with Final Destination movies. This was a true disappointment. Collapse
  7. Sep 6, 2011
    2
    So, I was riding with my friend and I flicked an ash in his eye, causing him to crash into another car and flip on our side. Beforehand, we went to the gas station to get gas, but the gas pumper didn't tighten the gas cap properly, forcing it to come off. Someone helped me out, but for him it was sadly too late. A bolt of lighting hit the fuel, causing a fire that led to his car. ForSo, I was riding with my friend and I flicked an ash in his eye, causing him to crash into another car and flip on our side. Beforehand, we went to the gas station to get gas, but the gas pumper didn't tighten the gas cap properly, forcing it to come off. Someone helped me out, but for him it was sadly too late. A bolt of lighting hit the fuel, causing a fire that led to his car. For whatever reason, his door just didn't want to open he was unforgettably burnt alive. That was one year ago. Opps, I spilled water on my plugs. I'll have to clean them right now. Expand
  8. Jan 6, 2012
    2
    Final destination 5 is horrible, because the special effects could be done because anyone and moreover has also planned the killings bad, of course not counting the blood so ridiculous and bad actors
  9. Nov 11, 2013
    2
    What happened to 'Final Destination'? even all this be just a festival of death, it is impossible not to notice the inexistente development of characters, in an attempt to expose a flawed romance and a lack of creativity to drive the story, everything the first 3 films had, here not even the smell.
  10. Oct 30, 2013
    1
    No tiene sentido seguir con una saga así, en verdad ya con una trilogía bastaba, hasta la tercera estuvieron buenas, pero de la cuarta hasta aquí un desastre tras otro peor, ya nos cansamos de ver gente muerta no sé que gracia le ven a una película en la que solo mueren personas, acaso les divierte hipócritas.

    Julián, Argentina.
  11. Aug 13, 2015
    1
    I've always found final destination quite entertaining in its ridiculousness but even that couldn't save FD5. I hated the characters and the story was extremely boring. This is worse than the 3rd film.
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Aug 18, 2011
    38
    Isn't as novel as it hopes to be, but it gets the job done.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Aug 18, 2011
    40
    Can this be the end of Death? If only.
  3. Reviewed by: Aaron Hillis
    Aug 13, 2011
    70
    So tapped into its audience's giddy schadenfreude that beyond a kinkier-than-usual jolt of black humor and some clever red herrings, the formula remains rote.