Final Destination 5

Final Destination 5 Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 177 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Death makes a killing in the next installment in the horror series which once again proves that no matter where you run, no matter where you hide...you can't cheat death. (Warner Bros.)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Aug 11, 2011
    80
    Aside from the showy, overwrought credits sequence, it's silly and self-conscious and still scary as hell.
  2. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Aug 11, 2011
    75
    Final Destination 5 is irresistible, and the reason it's irresistible is that it speaks to us in the language we all understand, which is fear.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Aug 11, 2011
    70
    This latest entry in the 11-year-old horror series duly adheres to tradition by providing inventively grisly demises for various characters.
  4. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Aug 11, 2011
    50
    Director Steven Quale is economical: He ditches plot altogether, delivering instead nothing but set pieces. He does come up with a few genuinely creepy moments of Hitchcockian edge-of-your-seat suspense and a few very inventive deaths.
  5. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Aug 12, 2011
    50
    Periodically, thanks to the 3-D, a long and pointy object emerges from the screen, threatening to impale the viewers through their eyeballs, enhancing the movie's guilty pleasure by reminding us that we, too, are made of vulnerable flesh and bone.
  6. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Aug 10, 2011
    42
    While FD5 is less generic and less facilely goofy and ironic than past series installments, it's still a rote execution of formula that scores its biggest points with self-aware references to its predecessors - including a closing-credits montage of kills from Final Destinations past.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Aug 11, 2011
    25
    The cheap thrills wear off way fast, and we're left with atrocious acting, feeble writing and clueless directing (from first-timer Steven Quale). The horror! The horror!

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 64
  2. Negative: 11 out of 64
  1. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    Other interesting film, finally a great Final Destination. This fifth part is the better, the cast is interesting, and this new situation ofOther interesting film, finally a great Final Destination. This fifth part is the better, the cast is interesting, and this new situation of kill for survive is funny, the best film of the saga. Collapse
  2. Jul 13, 2015
    10
    ........................................................................ 20........................................................................ 20 imbecis............................................................. Peter Travers bocó.................................................... Melhor Premonição ever,.............. Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2011
    8
    I watch every Final Destination movie, but I saw the IMAX 3-D version of #5 and it was so brutal, so much gore, and frankly it scares the hellI watch every Final Destination movie, but I saw the IMAX 3-D version of #5 and it was so brutal, so much gore, and frankly it scares the hell out of me. But it's a fun movie. I don't know how many deaths occurred in the movie like there was an old man saying that death cannot be cheated. And so there's no vision, just pure bloodbath and no one is survived. The acting was great, the suspense kills me a lot, and I think it's the best movie since the first. I hope if it could be a success if it's #1 or not, then maybe they could do Final Destination 6 back-to-back. Final Destination 5 rocks and let the bloodshed continue. Expand
  4. Jan 10, 2012
    6
    Final Destination 5 is absolutely better then franchises previous two(FD 3 & 4) . The Bridge Scene was undoubtedly wonderful and its theFinal Destination 5 is absolutely better then franchises previous two(FD 3 & 4) . The Bridge Scene was undoubtedly wonderful and its the second best accident scene (first being FD 2 car accident) of the franchise . The first half was so awesome . The first death was shown really well but after that all went kinda boring and too fast . It felt like the writer got really bored while he was writing it & also the director .It could have been am amazing film start to end but the second half was worst then FD 3 (FD 4 being the worst of all) . Cast was good , they played well but it wasn't enough . Like the first three film it wasn't so deep into the story . The whole movie was like a candy bar , You started slowly but suddenly you see its all gone .I gave 6 rating because I loved The Bridge scene and Its CGI quality so much. Without this scene I would give the film max 3.0 rating .BTW i loved the was they showed the last scene ...I was expecting this and they finally showed it this time . Expand
  5. Aug 24, 2011
    6
    Don't try to comprehend anything about this flawed story except that people die and they do so dramatically. While the acting is often forcedDon't try to comprehend anything about this flawed story except that people die and they do so dramatically. While the acting is often forced and poorly executed, the horror, magnified by 3D, makes it worth the buck. If you think you have become numb and unaffected by horrific scenes of blood, guts and mayhem-this will truly be a testimony to that. Keep a tight grip on your popcorn or chair handles for you're in for one-hell-of- a ride. Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2011
    5
    Better than the last two movies and a nice ending that I liked, the story still did lack some meaning since the girl "was not supposed toBetter than the last two movies and a nice ending that I liked, the story still did lack some meaning since the girl "was not supposed to die". Keep decent continuity, please :( If you set rules (she survived the first time so she should survive again), you need to stick by them. Expand
  7. Aug 21, 2011
    0
    As soon as it began I thought, "this is so stupid" and this thought is repeated throughout the movie along with a regret for spending money onAs soon as it began I thought, "this is so stupid" and this thought is repeated throughout the movie along with a regret for spending money on it. I have seen all the FD. Even after 4, which was pretty bad, I came back to see if this was improved. It was NOT. Full of goriness true, but the story line was horrible, premonitions not believable or along with the great suspense of the main character getting them and trying to stop death from getting the others. And then to add, all of a sudden that they could cheat death by taking another person's life when in FD 2 they had said only a "new life" could break the chain...we all remember the pregnant character Sabella Hudson (portrayed by Justina Machado) was one of the survivors of the Route 23 pile up accident. Isabella was a delievery girl who was also nine months pregnant only to find out it was actually back from death to life...remember Kimberly sacrifices herself for Officer Burke's safety by driving the van she is riding to a lake, however Officer Burke rescues her and sends her to a hospital for recovery. I wondered if the people who wrote 1 and 2 were the same ones that wrote 5..I am officially DONE with Final Destination movies. This was a true disappointment. Expand

See all 64 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: May 13, 2011
    In our weekly roundup of trailers and news about upcoming films, get a peek at "Horrible Bosses," "Real Steel," and "Final Destination 5," and learn more about new projects from Paul Thomas Anderson, Kenneth Lonergan, the Wachowskis, and Darren Aronofsky.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 17, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Kubo and the Two Strings, Ben-Hur, War Dogs, Morris From America, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  5. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.