Columbia Pictures | Release Date: July 11, 2001
6.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 122 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
75
Mixed:
22
Negative:
25
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
BroyaxMay 24, 2017
Sans aucun doute le meilleur avatar de toute la série des Final Fantasy, car en passant d'un média à l'autre, elle s'est libérée -forcément !- de ses infâmes et insolvables problèmes de jouabilité et de "game design" complètementSans aucun doute le meilleur avatar de toute la série des Final Fantasy, car en passant d'un média à l'autre, elle s'est libérée -forcément !- de ses infâmes et insolvables problèmes de jouabilité et de "game design" complètement pourravenazes. L'adaptation s'est donc bien passée et constitue esthétiquement (et techniquement) un ravissement pour les yeux.

En termes d'animation en images de synthèse, ce Final Fantasy est en effet toujours aussi beau et impressionnant, même aujourd'hui. En outre, on ne s'y ennuie pas une seconde (chose impossible sur les "jeux" débilitants de la série) et le film sait maintenir l'attention et la curiosité.

Car il est clair qu'il s'agit d'une "curiosité" et d'une histoire bizarroïde et bancale qui a retenu (hélas) les tics et les TOC (troubles obsessionnels compulsifs...) de la franchise vidéo-(pas)-ludique... On a donc là en vérité une fable écolo-bobo emballée dans de la poésie de supermarché, une fable d'une grande naïveté qui ne tient pas debout, puisque directement inspirée d'un folklore bouddho-shintoïste ou assimilé très gnangnan (sans parler du Greenpeace concentré en boîte !).

Le film reste donc beau et esthétique (le bleu contre le vilain orange...) mais se révèle beaucoup trop bêbête pour réellement espérer convaincre.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ZerasightApr 11, 2017
As a Final Fantasy fan from the bottom of my heart I need to say that this movie is very normal with a predictable Story. Nothing to be excited about as a FF fan because there are no references at all. The CGI animations are great for 2001As a Final Fantasy fan from the bottom of my heart I need to say that this movie is very normal with a predictable Story. Nothing to be excited about as a FF fan because there are no references at all. The CGI animations are great for 2001 and if you like movies about the earth and weird aliens you might give this one a try. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Antgiog1202Jul 14, 2016
Final Fantasy: Spirits Within felt as if someone was playing a video game. Each scene was like another cut-scene you would experience when you complete a level, which can cause confusion very often. The animation was terrific, but it lackedFinal Fantasy: Spirits Within felt as if someone was playing a video game. Each scene was like another cut-scene you would experience when you complete a level, which can cause confusion very often. The animation was terrific, but it lacked facial expression each character was supposed to express at key moments. The voice acting felt careless and and defective, which really bothered me watching this film because it altered the enjoyment I was so much expecting. It also had a weak plot that felt very unoriginal and dull. I don't know too much about the Final Fantasy video games, but I do know that the film was very disappointing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeApr 18, 2016
Once again another example of great video game franchises turning to be great movie franchises, but eventually fails to hit the bargain bag at any cost.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
AdanedhelFeb 2, 2012
Ok, I know most every new FF game is done in a universe different than the previous release.
but hey! only a FF fan could catch that glimpse.
The only "Final Fantasy" stuff that this movie has is its name... nothing else.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
SophieBSep 22, 2007
This movie is definitely not as bad as I previously had heard. Amazing, stunning state-of-the art animation and a definitely enjoyable film, but there are too many character and plot cliches and some of the voice acting is subpar. A decent This movie is definitely not as bad as I previously had heard. Amazing, stunning state-of-the art animation and a definitely enjoyable film, but there are too many character and plot cliches and some of the voice acting is subpar. A decent film, and one I'd recommend to watch just to see how REALLY good the graphics are, but not groundbreaking in plot or character development. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
RirenFeb 3, 2007
You can't knock its beautiful computer graphics. Shrek, Incredibles and Monster House have nothing on this movie's realistic designs and textures. Unfortunately all that computer power went into a generic science fiction plot. Fans You can't knock its beautiful computer graphics. Shrek, Incredibles and Monster House have nothing on this movie's realistic designs and textures. Unfortunately all that computer power went into a generic science fiction plot. Fans of the videogame series will be disappointed to see this film has very little in common with any plot from the games, nor does its world fit with the Final Fantasy cosmos. The voice acting is fine, if hammy, though there isn't much in the script for them to work off of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MichaelC.Sep 14, 2001
I was unsure of this film since I had never played the game on Playstation. However, when viewing The Spirits Within, it doesn?t matter whether you?ve played the game or never heard of it, the film is a big heap of mumbo-jumbo and it has I was unsure of this film since I had never played the game on Playstation. However, when viewing The Spirits Within, it doesn?t matter whether you?ve played the game or never heard of it, the film is a big heap of mumbo-jumbo and it has nothing to do with the game. I never thought I would have to say this about a movie, but the plot is in desperate need of being simpler. Sure, I like a good complex plot that makes you think after viewing. With Final Fantasy the plot is just so hard to understand that you?ll need to force a scientist to come with you. It doesn?t leave you thinking after viewing, and if it did, your head would probably burst thinking about all the options the plot had. I didn?t care about the characters, the romance was cheese on a huge stick and I was frankly bored through most of the movie. Okay, I?ll admit like everyone else that I thought the computer generated people and sets were pretty amazing, most of the action scenes were entertaining (except the final reel ? sheesh, what when on there?) and the character Aki was very believable, determined and voiced well by Ming-Na. This movie just didn?t please me in the rest of the areas in filmmaking unfortunately. In this review, I?ll go out on saying a similar thing to what I said at the start. The Spirits Within is a big disappointment not only for people who?ve never played the game, but also for people who have. When I came out of the cinema, I heard loud and clear ?That movie was ****ing horrible. The game was so much better.? There goes proof: fans and non-fans of the game are most likely to be upset by the films utter silliness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful