User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 120
  2. Negative: 23 out of 120

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 24, 2011
    8
    Stuck between a rock and a hard place; Final Fantasy neither resembles the games of its namesake nor provides solid narrative to quiet the harshest critic. Both camps hate the film for what it isn't; it isn't related to the games at all and it isn't 2001: A Space Odyssey. As far as visuals go, The Spirits Within looks amazing ten years after its original release, which is not to say it'sStuck between a rock and a hard place; Final Fantasy neither resembles the games of its namesake nor provides solid narrative to quiet the harshest critic. Both camps hate the film for what it isn't; it isn't related to the games at all and it isn't 2001: A Space Odyssey. As far as visuals go, The Spirits Within looks amazing ten years after its original release, which is not to say it's overbalanced with style over substance ... well, it is, really. This came out when I was studying for a computer animation degree and I will always love it (even if most of it is motion captured) because it blew my eyes out of its sockets. The story is standard Science Fiction fare that often breaks down into shoot 'em up action but underneath is something deeper that's there if you decide look for it. Expand
  2. Sep 15, 2013
    7
    The greatest criticism I will have to this movie is its name. Yes it was made by Squaresoft, but it is Final Fantasy in name only. It offers and deliver very little to give it any connection to the franchise. A few small nods here and there, but nothing substantial enough to make the connection. This is likely why allot of fans really raged against the movie. I didn't rage, I was just aThe greatest criticism I will have to this movie is its name. Yes it was made by Squaresoft, but it is Final Fantasy in name only. It offers and deliver very little to give it any connection to the franchise. A few small nods here and there, but nothing substantial enough to make the connection. This is likely why allot of fans really raged against the movie. I didn't rage, I was just a little disappointed.

    That aside as a movie, on its own forgetting the name, it is beautiful. Considering the animation was done in 2001 it was utterly breathtaking and mind blowing. Character are great and the voice acting absolutely fantastic. Story was a little limp though. I felt there was too little focus on the main plot and more on the main characters. This constant sidetracking from the main plot really get a little boring and does ruin the pacing. Making the movie a little boring at times. But when the action kicks in, it really kicks in! In fact it kicks in far to quickly and is over before you know it.

    Overall:
    The Spirits Within (I ignore the FF part) is a decent enough movie that perhaps could have been longer, simply to add in more relevant plot points and perhaps cut down on the character development a little.

    A great movie that you will love the first time you watch it, but can be a bit dull as a rerun.
    Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2010
    0
    complete and utter crap. now im a fan of the FF games played them all but this doesnt resemble any thing to the game peroid . now i wasnt expecting them to remake one of the games in movie form but i was expecting them to capture the feel of the games like swords , magic , summong monsters , with a interesting villian . well all that was tossed out in the crapper for some kind of millitarycomplete and utter crap. now im a fan of the FF games played them all but this doesnt resemble any thing to the game peroid . now i wasnt expecting them to remake one of the games in movie form but i was expecting them to capture the feel of the games like swords , magic , summong monsters , with a interesting villian . well all that was tossed out in the crapper for some kind of millitary shooting at ghost aliens which was boring as hell. the voice acting was bad the story was terriable. the CGI did look nice but it was so coverd in all the **** that this film was . with in 10 minuites i was getting bored and i actaully walked out of the movie in the last 15 minuites it was that bad and ive never done that when seeing a movie at the theaters and ive sat through crap like judge dread , Aliens reserection , and last action hero . this film was so bad that when the good charicters where dieng i was happy because i knew i wouldnt have to see them again. this film is definitly on my top 10 list of worst films ive ever seen. Expand
  4. Aug 27, 2010
    2
    Even being a huge fan of the video game series, I feel like this movie is best remembered as being forgotten. Not only was it not as technologically revolutionary as it promised, it's just a plain horrible movie.
  5. Aug 28, 2011
    3
    Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within is a movie made by people who dont know anything about movies or story telling. The creators are clearly only skilled in creating 3 minute video cut scenes and not feature length films. The visuals are only impressive in a technical sense and lack memorable creativity. There is nothing to care about with its heroes nor villains, and the story drags throughFinal Fantasy: The Spirits Within is a movie made by people who dont know anything about movies or story telling. The creators are clearly only skilled in creating 3 minute video cut scenes and not feature length films. The visuals are only impressive in a technical sense and lack memorable creativity. There is nothing to care about with its heroes nor villains, and the story drags through pain and agony to a complete void, a waste of time. Everyone is entitled to enjoy what they choose but that does not make it good and anyone who says this movie is good is an uncritically minded blithering idiot. This movie is only worth your time if you were studying bad movies and wasted film opporunities.â Collapse
  6. Feb 2, 2012
    5
    Ok, I know most every new FF game is done in a universe different than the previous release.
    but hey! only a FF fan could catch that glimpse.
    The only "Final Fantasy" stuff that this movie has is its name... nothing else.
  7. Feb 22, 2014
    7
    i think this film failed all because of one thing....the name as a FF fan i saw this and thought it was terrible but a few weeks ago i found it on DVD for a very cheap price so i bought it and then i watched as if it wasn't part of the franchise and it was an fairly enjoyable sci-fi film not the best but it wasn't terrible, the voice acting was great, the animation was brilliant for a 2001i think this film failed all because of one thing....the name as a FF fan i saw this and thought it was terrible but a few weeks ago i found it on DVD for a very cheap price so i bought it and then i watched as if it wasn't part of the franchise and it was an fairly enjoyable sci-fi film not the best but it wasn't terrible, the voice acting was great, the animation was brilliant for a 2001 film but the story was a bit lacking and left me with a few questions but its worth a watch by any animated movie fan even if you view it just as a technical milestone Expand
  8. Jul 28, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Final Fantasy the Spirits Within: 3 out of 10: Have you ever walked through the airport and seen one of those religious cult members with their robes and bald heads selling flowers? You ever wonder what would happen if you stuck up a conversation with one of them and went back to the compound in the unmarked white minivan? I imagine after 24 hours of food and sleep deprivation they would show you this film.

    That's exactly what Final Fantasy feels like. A cult recruiting film for James Lovelock's Gaia theory. Really, forget Battlefield Earth (which was god awful but hardly filled Scientologist recruiting sites as people feared); forget Passion of the Christ, heck even Triumph of the Will was less of a propaganda film.

    Besides the heavy-handed religious message the film itself is a mess. The basic plot has alien ghosts that kill on contact overrunning the earth. The one group wants to use a death star style laser in space (paid for by your tax dollars) to kill the deadly aliens. The other group wants to travel around collecting magic broccoli so Gaia will use her spirit to drive away said ghosts. Guess what side the movie is on. To make the Gaia broccoli-collecting group look more reasonable the movie stacks the deck by making the Laser people completely insane.

    Even with the deck stacking and James Woods drooling as the mad general I still wondered why they couldn't try the laser? Oh that's right they might kill Gaia who lives under the earth like a cross between Lovecraft's Old Ones and a hibernating Care Bear. The animation is groundbreaking for film but really not that much better than the cut scenes in the last few Final Fantasy video games.(Which the movie has literally nothing to do with. Even the tone of the film is all wrong.)

    Either unknown voice work or live actors might have been a better choice in casting. The action scenes are well done though the ghosts aren't exactly scary. The magic of the visuals wears off after twenty minutes or so. The irritation at the story however can last for weeks.
    Expand
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 28
  2. Negative: 6 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Cody Clark
    60
    The result is a feast for the eyes but frequently a famine for the frontal lobes, a movie of towering imagination and middling rewards.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Fox
    40
    The movie exists only as a showcase for the animation technology known as hyperReal, a photo-realistic simulation of space, figure and movement that hopes to one day erase the line between animation and live action once and for all.
  3. The film's plot gets so convoluted no nongamer older than 14 will be able to follow it all.