Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: May 30, 2003
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 802 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
741
Mixed:
32
Negative:
29
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
heyitsmegrif4Jan 8, 2012
Finding Nemo is definitely one of Pixar's greatest creations because it is charming, beautifully animated and hilarious mostly because of Ellen Degeneres's hilarious and unforgettable performance. To help this movie succeed even more it isFinding Nemo is definitely one of Pixar's greatest creations because it is charming, beautifully animated and hilarious mostly because of Ellen Degeneres's hilarious and unforgettable performance. To help this movie succeed even more it is emotional and heartwarming. I give this film 99%. Expand
21 of 22 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
10
Neo010390Apr 6, 2011
Now this is the kind of breathtaking adventure that keeps me entertained all the way. Distributed by Disney and Pixar, Director Andrew Stanton has produced an incredible movie about the underwater sea life. It tells the story of a Clown fishNow this is the kind of breathtaking adventure that keeps me entertained all the way. Distributed by Disney and Pixar, Director Andrew Stanton has produced an incredible movie about the underwater sea life. It tells the story of a Clown fish called Marlin (voiced by Albert Brooks), who is very protective over his son Nemo (voiced by Alexander Gould) after the loss of his family. Nemo grows increasingly tired of his Dad worrying all the time that on his first day of school, he disobeys his father and swims up to touch a speed boat. He then gets captured by a scuba diver. Marlin swims after him, but is too late and he quickly sets off on his speed boat. Marlin, swimming as fast as he can, soon bumps into a royal blue tang fish called Dory (voiced by Ellen DeGeneres), who suffers from short term memory loss. The two then decide to work together and try and rescue Nemo (which from this point on is like going through this difficult quest - being chased by a shark, tackling jellyfish and swallowed by a whale) before it is too late. What I liked most about this movie was the jaw binding special effects. The CGI of the underwater oceans surroundings are breathtaking, and the designs of the fishes are nicely done, although a bit fake in the eyes I would say (don't recall there being fish eyes the size of a grapefruit). Of course the film wouldn't be as good without any good comedy performances from voice acting, and Finding Nemo managed to conquer that. All the actors/actresses played a good voice part, but I have to give full credit to Ellen DeGeneres. Her performance as Dory is absolutely brilliant, honestly she really plays the character so well and will provide audiences from 5 to 50 with great laughter, especially the one where she is trying to speak whale. I actually don't think they could have found another person to better Dory. What I like most about Pixar films is that they try to capture the audience to imagine what the character (whether it's a toy, an insect or a fish) inside is feeling, and what your reactions would be if you were the character. As well as joy and laughter, there's a real heart to this film. Finding Nemo is a truly epic masterpiece, filled with action/adventure and characters and emotions. Expand
9 of 9 users found this helpful90
All this user's reviews
9
MichaelDMay 29, 2011
Once again, Disney and Pixar produces a fantastic story for everyone.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
TimJMar 20, 2009
I must have seen this movie over 50 times with my kids and i never tire of it. Great storytelling, emotional depth and the most beautiful animation you will see. In my top 3 favourite movies ever. And I'm 41.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
rodericrinehartAug 14, 2010
My daughter adores this movie, and I'll admit the plot is cute and the characters have a good depth for a cartoon. The brilliant colors of the movie are just an added extra.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
PaxsterOct 23, 2010
It is up there with Toy Story for my favourite child movies. It is both an exciting and moving tale with a bit of traditional Disney comedy. A number of quirky characters like forgetful Dory and the Shark, Bruce keep you hooked on thisIt is up there with Toy Story for my favourite child movies. It is both an exciting and moving tale with a bit of traditional Disney comedy. A number of quirky characters like forgetful Dory and the Shark, Bruce keep you hooked on this aquatic journey till the very end. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
JacobMay 30, 2013
Finding Nemo is wonderful. While it may not have Up’s unbelievable first ten minutes or the tear jerking ending to Toy Story 3, ten year later the film still holds up as one of Pixar’s finest. It has a simple story that kids can follow thatFinding Nemo is wonderful. While it may not have Up’s unbelievable first ten minutes or the tear jerking ending to Toy Story 3, ten year later the film still holds up as one of Pixar’s finest. It has a simple story that kids can follow that does an excellent job balancing comedy, drama, and horror. The characters are all likeable and memorable. Plus, the animation is outstanding making you feel like you are underwater. Ten years later the animation has not aged a bit. The film is perfect for kids and great for adults and you need to see it if you have not already Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Apr 7, 2011
A beautiful movie done by the ever talented people at Pixar Animation Studios. At the time of its release, one can argue this was the most emotional Pixar movie. Had I been older when seeing it for the first time, I believe I might've cried.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
asylumspadezNov 20, 2011
An animation classic if you ask me. Finding Nemo is a sad yet enjoyable tale and should be enjoyed by anyone who watches it. The one flaw of the film is that it sort of gets set into this mode where it cant get out of it and it can make it aAn animation classic if you ask me. Finding Nemo is a sad yet enjoyable tale and should be enjoyed by anyone who watches it. The one flaw of the film is that it sort of gets set into this mode where it cant get out of it and it can make it a little boring but overall its still great. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JawsPapi87Aug 12, 2011
This is one of the funniest, most adult-worthy kids movies ever made and is so funny that it's perfect for repeat viewings. It's deifinitely a kids movie that I'm not ashamed to love
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ZilcellNov 10, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Another great film from Pixar. An over protective father fish goes after his son Nemo when he is kidnapped and brought to a dentist's fish tank in Sydney. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
CDQJun 28, 2012
I don't even know how to respond to people that give this movie a negative review. This is one of the greatest animated movies ever created. Finding Nemo is absolutely hilarious and visually stunning, with some of the best characters in anyI don't even know how to respond to people that give this movie a negative review. This is one of the greatest animated movies ever created. Finding Nemo is absolutely hilarious and visually stunning, with some of the best characters in any Pixar movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MonsieurEamesJan 23, 2013
Almost as great as Toy Story, and that's saying a lot. Finding Nemo's characters, score, and animation are absolutely flawless. Finding Nemo is one of Pixar's best.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Iky009Jan 3, 2014
Um dos clássico da Pixar, certamente um dos melhores da sua era de ouro. Um dos filmes mais lindos que já vi com uma bela história e personagens magníficos.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
busbfranJan 7, 2014
Finding memo is a emotional, exciting movie that makes you root for the clown fish to find his son while travelling across half the ocean. Your in for a intense, funny, sometimes depressing movie that you can't help watch 100 times over.Finding memo is a emotional, exciting movie that makes you root for the clown fish to find his son while travelling across half the ocean. Your in for a intense, funny, sometimes depressing movie that you can't help watch 100 times over. Finding Nemo is a movie your never forget. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysSep 29, 2013
How could one not enjoy Finding Nemo? It's a spectacle of a film, a jewel in the crown of cinema. The computer animations and the ways it presents itself are genius. Everything about it is carefully planned and thought out, and almost nothingHow could one not enjoy Finding Nemo? It's a spectacle of a film, a jewel in the crown of cinema. The computer animations and the ways it presents itself are genius. Everything about it is carefully planned and thought out, and almost nothing is left to chance. While that might not be interesting in some movies, it works very well here. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JoeKnowReviewsApr 6, 2014
Finding Nemo was one of the first films I ever saw in cinema. Granted I hardly remembered watching it as a child, however as I age: I find that it gets better every time I watch it. I can't help but admire its colourful and flowing animation,Finding Nemo was one of the first films I ever saw in cinema. Granted I hardly remembered watching it as a child, however as I age: I find that it gets better every time I watch it. I can't help but admire its colourful and flowing animation, diverse and memorable characters, gripping story, heartwarming morals, impeccable voice acting and particularly strong and emotional interactions/connections between characters. It set the bar even higher for Pixar after Toy Story and Toy Story 2: and propelled them onward into their illustrious career in making computer animated films; that have since become revolutionary. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Delaforce828Oct 13, 2014
Looks great, well produced, and is just as great as Toy Story. The look of things like water is appealing to look at and seems real. The human characters look great also. The character of Dory I thought would be annoying but actually, ILooks great, well produced, and is just as great as Toy Story. The look of things like water is appealing to look at and seems real. The human characters look great also. The character of Dory I thought would be annoying but actually, I laughed quite a lot at the character because of how funny she was. What can I say despite being really overrated it's an instant classic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MariofanFeb 9, 2015
This movie is awesome! Has to be one of my favourite movies of all time with The Simpsons and The Cat in the Hat. The animation is great. There is an amazing storyline. The voice acting was good. The characters are great. Finding Nemo isThis movie is awesome! Has to be one of my favourite movies of all time with The Simpsons and The Cat in the Hat. The animation is great. There is an amazing storyline. The voice acting was good. The characters are great. Finding Nemo is Pixar's best movie and you should definitely watch it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MovieManiac83Apr 24, 2015
The more things change, the more they stay the same. As we enter the summer of 2003, Walt Disney Pictures reigns supreme as the distributor of the best animated fare. Yet, less than a dozen years after Beauty and the Beast became the firstThe more things change, the more they stay the same. As we enter the summer of 2003, Walt Disney Pictures reigns supreme as the distributor of the best animated fare. Yet, less than a dozen years after Beauty and the Beast became the first (and thus far only) animated film nominated for a Best Picture Oscar, Disney's in-house animated division has degraded to the point where it's a pale shadow of its former self. However, by acquiring the exclusive North American distribution rights for the films of Japanese master Hayao Miyazaki and by entering into a partnership with Pixar Films, Disney has managed to maintain its position atop the mountain, despite furious challenges from Dreamworks and Fox. Without either of those deals – especially the Pixar one – Disney's once unassailable position might have been lost.

The movies of the Pixar canon – Toy Story and its sequel, A Bug's Life, Monsters Inc. – have all been critical and box office successes. There is no reason to believe things will change with Finding Nemo. Visually, the film is just as jaw-dropping as its predecessors (if not more so). From a narrative standpoint, it's not quite as ambitious as some of the earlier movies, but it has enough juice to keep things moving for 100 minutes. And, as always, the voice casting is perfect. Throw in a moral, and some nice touches of technical accuracy (that fish keepers will appreciate), and the movie represents the best family film to-date of 2003.

Pixar films always contain thematic content, and this one is no different. It touches on the issues of how a parent's natural protective instincts can drive away a child, and how children, no matter how desperately they crave independence, still need their families. None of this is presented in a heavy-handed manner. Instead, it's offered in such a way that even the younger members of the audience will understand what the film is saying without feeling like they're being subjected to a sermon. There's also a message about the importance of diversity and harmony, as a wide variety of animal species band together to help Marlin as he searches for his lost son.

Finding Nemo is every bit as humorous as Monsters Inc., although some of the comedy is more low-key. Having experienced comedians like Albert Brooks and Ellen DeGeneres as the lead voices helps immeasurably. Brooks, as is his forte, makes Marlin sound constantly beleaguered. DeGeneres is a hoot as the tang with no short term memory. Willem Defoe brings an initial whiff of the sinister to his part as Nemo's older, larger tankmate. Other voices include Alison Janney, Austin Pendleton, and Geoffrey Rush as a helpful pelican.

Director Andrew Stanton has opted to animate some of the fish realistically, while using artistic license with others. The clownfish and hippo tang, for example, look almost identical to their real-life counterparts. The sea horses and turtles, however, have some of their rough edges smoothed out, making them cuter and more child-friendly. Overall, Finding Nemo is a treasure trove of visual splendor. From the opening scenes on the coral reef with Marlin taking up residence in his new anemone to the cheesy insides of Nemo's aquarium cage, the film is colorful and amazingly detailed. Every time I view a Pixar film, I am stunned at how much there is to see. Finding Nemo proves that the computer animators can do as much under water as above it.

I wonder if Finding Nemo will fuel an upsurge in interest in salt water aquariums. To be sure, clowns are interesting fish to keep, but only for those with a little patience. Children expecting their pets to exhibit the characteristics of Marlin and Nemo will likely be disappointed. Nevertheless, ecological considerations aside, there's nothing to gripe about where Finding Nemo is concerned. Pixar has done it again, and, in the process, managed to salvage Disney's reputation – at least for a little longer.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MadMaxFuryRoadSep 6, 2015
This is definitely my favorite animated movie of all time to date. I love this film and have been watching it since I was a little kid, I must have watched this at least 10 times and I am so eager to watch Finding Dory!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
YellowKirbySep 10, 2015
One of the greatest animated movies ever made. An original story, amazing and charming characters, witty jokes... almost as good as the "Toy Story" trilogy!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
Pixar illustrates the super dad in their masterpiece "Nemo". They don't use guns or super skills like "Death Sentence" or "Taken", but with colorful visuals and deep characters that actually maneuver the movie. You did it again, Pixar!!!
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
3
Bradyboy12Aug 12, 2013
a horribly overrated film that delvers a lame story and tries to use star power to make it appeal to older audiences and tries to be a serious animated drama while at the same time making wise crack jokes, the result a terrible combination
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
thefishslapMay 27, 2016
i canat belive thsi!!? thay had a sharc in THE game?. yeah. for a whuile. i rely thinc the guril atthe detnist was a cabniball!! she sed SHE WAS PERANNA. thena fish inthe toylet? i dont thinc sew1. this isn not a professinal gamemovi at alli canat belive thsi!!? thay had a sharc in THE game?. yeah. for a whuile. i rely thinc the guril atthe detnist was a cabniball!! she sed SHE WAS PERANNA. thena fish inthe toylet? i dont thinc sew1. this isn not a professinal gamemovi at all not chylde aproupreit? 3/10v for lying to bviewers!!@?! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
charliew1820Jun 29, 2012
One of pixars most famous and memorable works is absoloutely beautiful. There is no denying it is visually stunning, great pacing and Dory is one Pixars greatest creations. The film doesnt have the emotional touch as much a as 'Toy Story 3'One of pixars most famous and memorable works is absoloutely beautiful. There is no denying it is visually stunning, great pacing and Dory is one Pixars greatest creations. The film doesnt have the emotional touch as much a as 'Toy Story 3' and 'Up' but the message given is thoughtful and meaningful. This is some of the best animation in a film in recent memory, it truly is unforgettable and there is so little flaws that this can go down as one of Pixars greatest films. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
4
JezzN.Apr 16, 2008
Good movie, but in the end it was really boring! NOTE: DO NOT HIRE OUT! NOT WORTH IT.
2 of 17 users found this helpful
0
JJReyesOct 2, 2005
The animations were all nice, but i was bored during most of the movie.
2 of 19 users found this helpful
0
KeanesL.Apr 27, 2004
This is just another poor attempt by Disney to make another film that is over credited. Worst of all, they dragged Pixar with them. This is suppose to be a children's movie but includes topics and situtaions that are too serious and This is just another poor attempt by Disney to make another film that is over credited. Worst of all, they dragged Pixar with them. This is suppose to be a children's movie but includes topics and situtaions that are too serious and almost to a point too scary for most children 8 and under. Besides the entire movie is so repetitive that I fell asleep the first time I went to see it. I watched the movie four different times in the theaters with friends and my boyfriend and all together I only laughed 6 times. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
9
aaronpaul121Oct 3, 2012
This film is A-MA-ZING! Thank you very much Pixar for another masterful film....I'm looking forward for your next features.......
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews