Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 650 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: This visually stunning underwater adventure follows the comedic and eventful journeys of two fish - a father and his son Nemo - who become separated in the Great Barrier Reef. (Disney/Pixar)
  • Director: Andrew Stanton and Lee Unkrich
  • Genre(s): Adventure, Comedy, Animation, Family
  • Rating: G
  • Runtime: 100 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. 100
    The movie's generosity of spirit and artistry swamps its flaws.
  2. 100
    It's the filmmakers' refusal to sugarcoat their tale's darker subtexts that makes Finding Nemo such a resounding piece of storytelling.
  3. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Mar 25, 2013
    100
    The H2O theme fits in with the main feature, its tale of a clownfish searching for his son constituting Pixar’s most effective amalgam of comedy, artistry and emotional pull.
  4. Reviewed by: Andrew Stanton
    90
    Aquatic joyride.
  5. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    88
    The most gorgeous of all the Pixar films — which include "Toy Story" 1 and 2, "A Bug's Life" and "Monsters, Inc." —Nemo treats family audiences to a sweet, resonant story and breathtaking visuals.
  6. Dazzles us with computer-generated animation that has never looked quite so boldly exotic or shimmeringly beautiful.
  7. Reviewed by: Kevin Carr
    50
    After four Pixar features under their belts, it is painfully easy to see the clichés emerging.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 247
  1. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    Finding Nemo is definitely one of Pixar's greatest creations because it is charming, beautifully animated and hilarious mostly because ofFinding Nemo is definitely one of Pixar's greatest creations because it is charming, beautifully animated and hilarious mostly because of Ellen Degeneres's hilarious and unforgettable performance. To help this movie succeed even more it is emotional and heartwarming. I give this film 99%. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    From start to finish, Finding Nemo has the kind of story that not only draws you in but also makes you so attached to the characters that youFrom start to finish, Finding Nemo has the kind of story that not only draws you in but also makes you so attached to the characters that you can't help but tear up at the ending. I love this movie. Expand
  3. JP
    Sep 26, 2005
    10
    This was a great movie. For all those people giving it a 0, you have to understand that this is a KIDS MOVIE. It is not easy to make a movie This was a great movie. For all those people giving it a 0, you have to understand that this is a KIDS MOVIE. It is not easy to make a movie on a computer, you try it. Yes you knew the story line because you are grow. If you are watching it with your children or little kids, you know the people that its made for, they would enjoy it. When you watch this movie you have to watch it as if you were a kid. Little kids don't understand getting lost from home and challenges so this is a perfect movie to help them get a little understanding and open up the topic for the parents. Get a clue this is a KIDS CARTOON MOVIE. Expand
  4. May 12, 2014
    10
    When it comes down to it Finding Nemo is my second favorite Pixar movie with Toy Story being the first. Its always good when you can go backWhen it comes down to it Finding Nemo is my second favorite Pixar movie with Toy Story being the first. Its always good when you can go back and watch a movie and feel the same way you did when you first watched it. Sure you know everything that is going to happen but that doesn't take away from how beautiful and emotional the story is no matter how many times you watch it. The cast was perfection but of course i liked Willem Dafoe's part the most what can i say the guy just kicks ass although Ellen DeGeneres was still pretty funny.

    Pixar has always been known for amazing animation and i remember how it looked on DVD because i still own my first DVD copy of it from back in 2003 as it was a birthday present. This time around though i watched it on Blu ray and holy crap does it look strikingly gorgeous i mean it was already top notch but the Blu ray just blows it out of the water. It makes all the colors look way more vibrant, the coral reef looked amazing and all the little specs of sand floating around when the fish touch the ground was crazy, also all the skin on the fishes looked crazy detailed. I know that it was just a remastering of the film but damn does it look beautiful.

    It sucks that Pixar films now are just clearly not on the same level as they were back then the last great Pixar film was Toy Story 3 and that was over 4 years ago now. Well i should clarify that they are not on the same level story wise animation wise they are still on top of the pack. Watching this film though it got me excited for Finding Dory im hoping that will be just great as this movie but with the recent trend of the new Pixar movies it doesn't look like that will happen i can always hope though.

    Overall i give it a solid 10 This film is perfection nothing more to say.
    Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2010
    9
    Finding Nemo is a wonderful, child-friendly classic that deserves its popularity. A truely compelling storyline with lots of little gags thatFinding Nemo is a wonderful, child-friendly classic that deserves its popularity. A truely compelling storyline with lots of little gags that are kept together throughout e.g. Dori's memory. A little long for a child's film, but when the length is its only criticism, you know it's a good movie. Expand
  6. Feb 15, 2014
    9
    Finding Nemo is (In my Opinion) Pixar's greatest contribution into the world of cinema and by far is one of the most entertaining andFinding Nemo is (In my Opinion) Pixar's greatest contribution into the world of cinema and by far is one of the most entertaining and "adorable" creations. Expand
  7. KeanesL.
    Apr 27, 2004
    0
    This is just another poor attempt by Disney to make another film that is over credited. Worst of all, they dragged Pixar with them. This is This is just another poor attempt by Disney to make another film that is over credited. Worst of all, they dragged Pixar with them. This is suppose to be a children's movie but includes topics and situtaions that are too serious and almost to a point too scary for most children 8 and under. Besides the entire movie is so repetitive that I fell asleep the first time I went to see it. I watched the movie four different times in the theaters with friends and my boyfriend and all together I only laughed 6 times. Expand

See all 247 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.