Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 690 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: This visually stunning underwater adventure follows the comedic and eventful journeys of two fish - a father and his son Nemo - who become separated in the Great Barrier Reef. (Disney/Pixar)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. 100
    The movie's generosity of spirit and artistry swamps its flaws.
  2. 100
    Summer hasn't even started, but you won't likely find a better catch this season than Finding Nemo, a dazzling, computer-animated fish tale with a funny, touching script and wonderful voice performances that make it an unqualified treat for all ages.
  3. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Mar 25, 2013
    100
    The H2O theme fits in with the main feature, its tale of a clownfish searching for his son constituting Pixar’s most effective amalgam of comedy, artistry and emotional pull.
  4. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    90
    Of all the great vocal characterizations...the showstopper is Brooks, who hasn't had a part this good since "Lost in America" (1985). His Marlin is tender, cranky, hysterical, yet somehow lucid.
  5. 88
    As always, the voice casting is perfect. Throw in a moral, and some nice touches of technical accuracy (that fish keepers will appreciate), and the movie represents the best family film to-date of 2003.
  6. Dazzles us with computer-generated animation that has never looked quite so boldly exotic or shimmeringly beautiful.
  7. Reviewed by: Kevin Carr
    50
    After four Pixar features under their belts, it is painfully easy to see the clichés emerging.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 254
  1. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    Finding Nemo is definitely one of Pixar's greatest creations because it is charming, beautifully animated and hilarious mostly because ofFinding Nemo is definitely one of Pixar's greatest creations because it is charming, beautifully animated and hilarious mostly because of Ellen Degeneres's hilarious and unforgettable performance. To help this movie succeed even more it is emotional and heartwarming. I give this film 99%. Expand
  2. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    Finding Nemo, for me is the most amazing underwater animation ever made, really intelligent, creative, beautiful and emotional! This is what IFinding Nemo, for me is the most amazing underwater animation ever made, really intelligent, creative, beautiful and emotional! This is what I call a good family movie! A rare animation, that has the spirit of family movies, and the 3D re-release is AMAZING!! Expand
  3. savannahr.
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    This was the best movie i have ever seen. i really felt connected. i laughed, i cried, i enjoyed every bit of it.
  4. Mar 12, 2015
    10
    Simply put, Finding Nemo is Pixar's greatest achievement. I have seen all of the Pixar movies and not one has impressed me as much as thisSimply put, Finding Nemo is Pixar's greatest achievement. I have seen all of the Pixar movies and not one has impressed me as much as this one. This movie is simply perfect. I can't find anything wrong with it. Finding Nemo is a masterpiece. Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    Finding Nemo is one of Disney's best. You'll definitely laugh, you might tear up, and the action will keep you hooked. A touching story, too.Finding Nemo is one of Disney's best. You'll definitely laugh, you might tear up, and the action will keep you hooked. A touching story, too. The animation is very good, especially for 2003. Expand
  6. Oct 23, 2010
    9
    It is up there with Toy Story for my favourite child movies. It is both an exciting and moving tale with a bit of traditional Disney comedy. AIt is up there with Toy Story for my favourite child movies. It is both an exciting and moving tale with a bit of traditional Disney comedy. A number of quirky characters like forgetful Dory and the Shark, Bruce keep you hooked on this aquatic journey till the very end. Expand
  7. KeanesL.
    Apr 27, 2004
    0
    This is just another poor attempt by Disney to make another film that is over credited. Worst of all, they dragged Pixar with them. This is This is just another poor attempt by Disney to make another film that is over credited. Worst of all, they dragged Pixar with them. This is suppose to be a children's movie but includes topics and situtaions that are too serious and almost to a point too scary for most children 8 and under. Besides the entire movie is so repetitive that I fell asleep the first time I went to see it. I watched the movie four different times in the theaters with friends and my boyfriend and all together I only laughed 6 times. Expand

See all 254 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.