Miramax Films | Release Date: November 12, 2004
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 127 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
106
Mixed:
17
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
Mr-Liberal-LDSFeb 2, 2013
A heart-warming and charming film about the story behind the inspiration for Peter Pan, and on the value of tenaciously being true to yourself, enjoying the authentic relationships that that renders, and making this life worth living for theA heart-warming and charming film about the story behind the inspiration for Peter Pan, and on the value of tenaciously being true to yourself, enjoying the authentic relationships that that renders, and making this life worth living for the brief time that we have it. I think it tactfully teaches that marriage is to be taken seriously before one enters into the contract, and I think that that is an important message for our modern world. While the movie is child appropriate it isn’t especially child friendly, unless they are precocious I think that they may very well bore of it; the movie is really more for adults. If the kids are interested however they are certainly welcome. I have no complaints about this film. Dramas aren’t my first preference when it comes to entertainment, but if you like dramas I have to imagine you will love Finding Neverland. Clean nostalgia evoking thought provoking heartfelt fun. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MarcR.Oct 2, 2006
I cried!
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
LuisV.Aug 27, 2005
Great movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CrystalP.Nov 2, 2005
I thought it was a beautiful film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamApr 12, 2006
After some fun takes on the story of Peter Pan, I've always wondered who the man was that started the epic tale, and if the life of the man was a movie, would it be any good. Ladies and Gentlemen, Finding Neverland has finally ended my After some fun takes on the story of Peter Pan, I've always wondered who the man was that started the epic tale, and if the life of the man was a movie, would it be any good. Ladies and Gentlemen, Finding Neverland has finally ended my craving for that movie, with (in my opinion) 2004's best picture. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LaraS.Mar 7, 2007
So magical and moving. Can't help but want to hug every character!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BarryR.Dec 25, 2004
?Finding Neverland? is not the story of the DA in Santa Barbara and his quest for evidence against the County?s most famous resident. No, it is the story of another celebrity?.i.e. James Barrie, a portion of his life and those that played ?Finding Neverland? is not the story of the DA in Santa Barbara and his quest for evidence against the County?s most famous resident. No, it is the story of another celebrity?.i.e. James Barrie, a portion of his life and those that played such an integral and important part in it. It is the story of the writer?s role in creating, seeing and perhaps even being Peter Pan. One of the great children?s stories of all time is perhaps more a reflection and statement about the life of Mr. Barrie than the fictional character in the property. This is truly a ,quality movie. The writing, acting and directing are excellent. Johnny Depp is marvelous in his role as James Barrie. He gives an understated and meaningful portrayal matched by the quality work by Kate Winslett. Of course, the coups de gras and best performance, in my opinion, is given by the young boy named ?Peter? about whom much of the Pan character was based. It is very difficult to direct young children but as with everything, the greater the risk, the greater the reward?..so, too, when the directing of the child brings about a memorable and gut wrenching result , the accolades go to where they belong. Marc Forster does a really fine job of directing and, coupled with a great screenplay and wonderful acting, the movie gets and deserves an 8 with a strong >recommendation to go and see it. Dustin Hoffman, for nostalgic reasons I believe (he played Capt. Hook in "Hook"), is in the picture but his scenes are so short and inconsequential that you realize he?s there because, well, as Peter says, ?you have to believe?. Have fun and learn what really was behind the creation and writing of ?Peter Pan?. As Wendy would say, ?wiggle your shoulders and fly to the movie?. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SpangleNov 21, 2015
Finding Neverland is an absolutely brilliant film. Rarely does a film move me to tears, but this one absolutely succeeded. Packed to the brim with magic, imagination, fun, and a childlike wonder, this film inspires hope and belief, all whileFinding Neverland is an absolutely brilliant film. Rarely does a film move me to tears, but this one absolutely succeeded. Packed to the brim with magic, imagination, fun, and a childlike wonder, this film inspires hope and belief, all while tearing you down emotionally. I know it may not be as historically accurate as some would hope, but this is what a biopic should be. It covers the relevant topics and still touches you in a way only fiction can, a truly challenging task for most biopics. Johnny Depp is fantastic here, as are Kate Winslet and all of the young Davies boys. The film's magic and sense of wonder it inspires never really ceases, but certainly extends to the overall message of the film that captures the essence of Peter Pan as well; just believe. The film's cinematography is great, especially the final sequence with Sylvia and the score is also very well done. Finally, the plays within a film that get put on throughout the film are fantastic and brilliantly done, capturing that same imagination and suspension of reality. Finding Neverland is a truly wondrous work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Mar 27, 2016
As imaginative and endearing as it is, there is a certain safe quality to "Finding Neverland's" stamp on the Oscar-bait/biopic sub-genre. Still, one can't help but be charmed by the brilliant imagery and lasting thematic messages spun aboutAs imaginative and endearing as it is, there is a certain safe quality to "Finding Neverland's" stamp on the Oscar-bait/biopic sub-genre. Still, one can't help but be charmed by the brilliant imagery and lasting thematic messages spun about by the film's brilliant cast members. Without a doubt, "Finding Neverland" is a triumphant love letter to the lasting power of creativity and that warm feeling of knowing what it truly means to be a kid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeMay 3, 2016
Finding Neverland is just like those average Peter Pan stories, except you don't start at exactly Neverland. An another adventure worth going and never coming back.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ConradoflightJun 30, 2017
Pure joy. Solid, touching story and one of Depps top 3 performances ever, more low key and subtle compared to his wacky pirate. The soundtrack is a 10. Still listens to it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews