Screen Gems | Release Date: February 20, 2009
5.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 36 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
16
Mixed:
10
Negative:
10
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
boy_number_8Aug 19, 2014
Not terrible, probably better than most other films in the cheer leading genre.
A cheer-leading film which is more "masculine" focused and aimed primary more to the male democratic but females will also enjoy.
There are a few classic teen
Not terrible, probably better than most other films in the cheer leading genre.
A cheer-leading film which is more "masculine" focused and aimed primary more to the male democratic but females will also enjoy.
There are a few classic teen comedy jokes which have been recycled from other movies, but overall the movie is just a bit of fun.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KundKDec 1, 2010
Hyper-fast teen comedy made to make people laugh and not to be taken too seriously. The jokes come hard, fast and un-PC, but they are never mean-spirited; there are tons of obvious and obscure (visual and verbal) references for geeky viewersHyper-fast teen comedy made to make people laugh and not to be taken too seriously. The jokes come hard, fast and un-PC, but they are never mean-spirited; there are tons of obvious and obscure (visual and verbal) references for geeky viewers to parse and the whole thing is extremely self-referential and postmodern-y. Think less "American Pie" and "Bring It On" and more "Clueless" and "Popular" on hormonal overdrive. Well worth a watch, just like the director's follow-up "Easy A". Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JesseM.Jun 18, 2009
Despite this films failings -- and as the above reviewers had rattled on about at great length, there are many -- the chemistry between the two leads had me laughing start to finish. Perhaps I went it to it with such low expectations, it had Despite this films failings -- and as the above reviewers had rattled on about at great length, there are many -- the chemistry between the two leads had me laughing start to finish. Perhaps I went it to it with such low expectations, it had to be good. Who knows... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TDKinDallasJun 12, 2009
A really bad movie, but I laughed a lot!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayHMay 30, 2009
There aren't many surprises, but I enjoyed the movie and it did at least make me laugh. The cast is fun and the characters are likable. Let's call it a guilty pleasure. Juliette Goglia is terrific as the conniving little sister.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ScottEMar 16, 2009
I took my two teenage kids to see this. Its not as bad as I thought it would be. Its entertaining and has some funny moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelNFeb 23, 2009
I think the main reason it's getting reviews that aren't good is that the target audience is mainly younger people, rather than the people who are most likely to be reviewing it. I thought it was funny from the beginning to the I think the main reason it's getting reviews that aren't good is that the target audience is mainly younger people, rather than the people who are most likely to be reviewing it. I thought it was funny from the beginning to the end. It was joke after joke after joke. It was consistently funny throughout the entire movie. The ending is also kind of a surprise. It's definitely enjoyable, and it's worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChadSFeb 21, 2009
"Fired Up" plods on without consequence in a sort of no man's land where both male and female audience members will be disappointed by the film's equivocal handling of the tropes prevalent in such teen "classics" as "American Pie" "Fired Up" plods on without consequence in a sort of no man's land where both male and female audience members will be disappointed by the film's equivocal handling of the tropes prevalent in such teen "classics" as "American Pie" and "Bring it On". Conjuring hormonal-fueled hi-jinks under the parameters of its PG-13 rating, devitalizes the horndog-to-human being transformation that Shawn(Nicholas D'Agosto) and Nick(Eric Christian Olsen) undergo when the delinquent football players both find love in what was, on first impression, the Shangri-La of booty calls: a cheerleading camp. The film's relative wholesomeness has the stagnating effect of making the jocks' lascivious natures seem wholesome by association; in effect, killing the anarchic spirit that is crucial to a genre which celebrates bacchanal decadence and godless immorality. "Fired Up" is a sex comedy that won't go to first base; it's a starter film for pre-adolescents not ready to lay their eyes on Shannon Elizabeth's immaculate breasts. "Fired Up" is the filmic equivalent of a training bra. As for the cheerleading-specific scenes in this bland, would-be comedic romp about the two sexes, to paraphrase John Lydon of Public Image Ltd., "This Is Not a Poor Man's Bring it On", either. "Fired Up" is not worthy enough to kiss the hem of Kirsten Dunst's lycra skirt. The routines are lost in the shoddy editing, and adding insult to injury, the infectious girly-ness of the Peyton Reed film is replaced by a sort of post-feministic plot point, in which the squad's impending success is contingent on Shawn and Nick's participation during the final cheer-off. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
rickyrFeb 21, 2009
This movie isn't as bad as everyone else is saying it is. it isn't only about two guys who are womanizers but also about a cheerleading squad that comes in last every year and with the help of these "womanizers" come up and do This movie isn't as bad as everyone else is saying it is. it isn't only about two guys who are womanizers but also about a cheerleading squad that comes in last every year and with the help of these "womanizers" come up and do better than ever before. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FDenkinsFeb 21, 2009
I especially hate how all these sh*tty comedies dress their ad campaigns up to make em all seem like the next "Knocked Up" or "Superbad".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
R.L.Feb 20, 2009
I'm not a man who usually give's a movie a bad score or review but I can't help my self with this one. Fired up is as stupid and gay as they come. Comedies about the maturing of arrested adolescents
0 of 0 users found this helpful