Flicka

Flicka Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In this contemporary adaptation of Mary O'Hara's beloved novel "My Friend Flicka," 16-year-old Katy McLaughlin dreams of fulfilling her family legacy by working on her father's ranch in modern-day Wyoming. But Katy's father wants more for her, insisting that Katy go to college. Katy finds aIn this contemporary adaptation of Mary O'Hara's beloved novel "My Friend Flicka," 16-year-old Katy McLaughlin dreams of fulfilling her family legacy by working on her father's ranch in modern-day Wyoming. But Katy's father wants more for her, insisting that Katy go to college. Katy finds a wild mustang, which she names Flicka, and sets out to make her a riding horse. But Flicka and Katy are more alike than she could have imagined. Like Katy, Flicka has a disdain for authority and is not about to give up her freedom without a fight. (20th Century Fox) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    It's not really either an animal or a kids' film but rather a young adult drama that rings emotionally true.
  2. So those seeking a softer approach to the realities of both child- and animal-rearing should search elsewhere. The rest of us, meanwhile, are free to enjoy a well-made family drama pitched to young adults that's honest, tough and surprisingly engaging.
  3. 75
    The film paints a fairly realistic portrait of four people bound by blood but -- like all of us -- all too capable of underestimating each other.
  4. Yet -- and this must be said in all fairness -- as things progress, the magic of the story asserts itself over the audience.
  5. An entertainingly ridiculous update of Mary O’Hara’s 1941 children’s novel, “My Friend Flicka.”
  6. Another miscalculation by sophomore director Michael Mayer.
  7. 20
    No doubt the most devoted horse lovers in the tween set will get their fill, but parents should sneak out for a very long popcorn break.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 5 out of 15
  1. MaddieK.
    Mar 16, 2007
    10
    Amazing movie, about being free, and a great lesson to anyone who does not respect the horse.
  2. DeannaM.
    Oct 26, 2006
    10
    A great family film. I liked it so much I saw it twice. Great preformances. Would recommend for all family's. Go Tim McGraw!
  3. MonikaC.
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    Flicka is the best movie on earth a LOVED that movie, Alison Lohman is an amazing actress!
  4. BillC.
    Oct 29, 2006
    8
    Family film fare at as good a level as anything out there. It reminded me of the old Lassie TV shows of the 50's , but updated to a more Family film fare at as good a level as anything out there. It reminded me of the old Lassie TV shows of the 50's , but updated to a more honest level. Teenagers actually do argue with their parents sometimes and they don't always see eye-to-eye. They didn't allow for much of that in the 1950's TV Land, but it was happening then too. A film about Family, tradition, conflict and resolution. It's not Mission Impossible 3, thank god! Collapse
  5. Steve
    Nov 9, 2006
    8
    Well-done tweener movie. Enjoyable for adults also.
  6. LewK.
    Oct 27, 2006
    5
    Did I miss something? I went to see this because I remember so fondly the original "My Friend Flicka," and, of course, "Thunderhead." As I Did I miss something? I went to see this because I remember so fondly the original "My Friend Flicka," and, of course, "Thunderhead." As I recall, when the rifle shot was heard in the distance--the intention being to put Flicka out of her misery--it was the mountain lion who was killed. A nice twist to the climax. Yet, in the new film I don't recall hearing anyone even ask about the shot and no mention of the big cat. Big dramatic opportunity missed here. Unless I fell asleep! Expand
  7. AlT.
    May 21, 2007
    0
    Another awe inspiring tale of how once again, your children as supposed to rebel against everything in the world so that they can become Another awe inspiring tale of how once again, your children as supposed to rebel against everything in the world so that they can become strong individuals and rule the world... But once again, we see all of the qualities needed for a strong individual in place only to be defiant, rebellious, and oh... did I mention lazy? Any ranch hand would roll their eyes and this and just agree that this is more what real life on the ranch is. Family that expects the hired hands to do their work, plus theirs and not gripe. First off, ya, smart, thanks to Mom and Dad's cash, which they sacrifice in order for her to get a decent education, is returned in appreciation by a doot da doo girl looking for nothing but a free ride and "understanding". But of course, we have all been there: We didn Expand

See all 15 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016 Image
    Published: June 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including an extended version of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice plus Green Room, Everybody Wants Some!!, O.J.: Made in America, and more.
  2. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
  3. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  4. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.