IFC Films | Release Date: April 4, 2008
5.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 48 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
24
Mixed:
8
Negative:
16
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
ChrisLJul 30, 2008
What one calls subtle, I call boring, this movie was banal and boring. I spent more time trying to count in the dark how many hot girls were in the theatre than watching the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisK.Apr 4, 2008
A remarkably observed film. Confirmed for me that Hou is one of the most gifted and important directors of our time. If you're a fan of Hou's work (especially Cafe Lumiere) you will probably love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MarkK.Jan 10, 2009
A good artsy film is worth owning. This movie is not even worth napping through. Save the cramped neck by going to bed early and not watching this over-hyped, French-fried, potato.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ButterK.Dec 3, 2008
This is one of the worst movies I've seen in a long time. I couldn't wait for it to end. I wanted to pull out my hair because I found it sooooooooo boring and pointless. What was the point of this movie?? I can't believe the This is one of the worst movies I've seen in a long time. I couldn't wait for it to end. I wanted to pull out my hair because I found it sooooooooo boring and pointless. What was the point of this movie?? I can't believe the critics loved this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PaulB.Apr 20, 2008
Pointless, with endless scenes of pure nothingness. No plot, no character development, practically no dialogue...just the dreaded balloon floating as aimlessly as the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GhostDogApr 5, 2008
Work of genius. One of the highlights of 2007 and maybe the best of all Hou´s movies. Deliciously framed, superbly acted and deeply moving. The most important things will never be for everyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ummmApr 7, 2008
What struck me about this film, was the incredible performances of the actors in this film, yet in the long, contemplative scenes, stares, and balloon-watching, i was extremely disappointed th direction the ilm took. it was capable of so What struck me about this film, was the incredible performances of the actors in this film, yet in the long, contemplative scenes, stares, and balloon-watching, i was extremely disappointed th direction the ilm took. it was capable of so much more. 3 people walked out of the theater, and my friend (a movie critic, btw) and i, nearly fell asleep. what a shame! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarcoP.Jun 12, 2008
Incredibly boring! No story, no dialogues, no point. Even Paris looks like crap! Do not miss a 5 minutes "dialogues" with 3 sentences about the number of eggs required to make crepes. That will be the best part of the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisEJun 14, 2008
Amazingly beautiful in its portrayal of the beauty hidden under the surface of life. Slow and meditative, but that's how life can be, and there's so much grace to its construction and performances that it draws you right in.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AlfioM.Jun 3, 2008
That's a great movie for anyone who doesn't get bored watching a balloon screensaver for almost 2 hours.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KenDo.Jul 28, 2008
Films paced like this are not everyone's cup of tea, but this movie has a damned good reason
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelH.Jul 5, 2008
This can easily be missed for what it is, a reflection on a child caught in the world of adults messily trying to get by. Some time frame inversions and trying to read too much into everything will help you miss a lot here. Take it for what This can easily be missed for what it is, a reflection on a child caught in the world of adults messily trying to get by. Some time frame inversions and trying to read too much into everything will help you miss a lot here. Take it for what it is...a peek at life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RGOct 26, 2008
This is one of the most beautiful films of this year - the juxtaposition of the balloon on hovering over Paris with the the scenes of an extended family (suzanne, simon and song) floating through the cluttered Parisian apartment space is This is one of the most beautiful films of this year - the juxtaposition of the balloon on hovering over Paris with the the scenes of an extended family (suzanne, simon and song) floating through the cluttered Parisian apartment space is feast of casual beauty. Hou's approach lies in the simplicity of form - colors and framing and belief in his actors and image. there is plenty of real life drama here but nothing that is in your face (no close ups). hou's is def one the best directors out there in complete control of his images and sounds. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SamJun 20, 2008
I haven't seen the film, but some of the complaints on here are ridiculous. not every movie needs plot, character development and dialouge. there are other subtle, deeper purposes for the movie to exist, and they don't need to I haven't seen the film, but some of the complaints on here are ridiculous. not every movie needs plot, character development and dialouge. there are other subtle, deeper purposes for the movie to exist, and they don't need to explained through plot, characters, and dialouge. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RalfioN.Jun 29, 2008
That's a great movie for anyone who wants to become more attuned to the world we live in for almost two hours. Can't believe all the commentors and I saw the same film. It flew by.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DanBSep 30, 2008
In a word, Dull. Two hours of watching a frazzled mother, a quiet child and his equally quiet nanny go through their day to day. The most dramatic part of the film is when a tenant who is on screen for all of five minutes is to be evicted. A In a word, Dull. Two hours of watching a frazzled mother, a quiet child and his equally quiet nanny go through their day to day. The most dramatic part of the film is when a tenant who is on screen for all of five minutes is to be evicted. A film for film students, and only them, with it's cracking of the fourth wall and subtle meta commentary. Supposedly the film is also about the dreams and thoughts of the three main characters, but they are never said aloud, or narrated, or even hinted at. If this film we're viewed by the deaf, they would miss nothing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
[Anonymous]May 16, 2008
Can't beliefe all the reviewers and I saw the same film. It dragged, no plot, irritating sequences with the puppeteers, incredibly difficult just trying to figure out what is going on. Definitely artsy fartsy. Beautiful photography, though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MartinRJul 11, 2008
I could not bear it for more than 40 minutes and simply walked out. I don't expect all movies to have clear plot, dialogues or obvious point, but film has to entertain me or at least keep my interest to enjoy it. Otherwise I may as well I could not bear it for more than 40 minutes and simply walked out. I don't expect all movies to have clear plot, dialogues or obvious point, but film has to entertain me or at least keep my interest to enjoy it. Otherwise I may as well watch industrial camera or simply European street without any filmmaker being involved. I should have learnt my lesson with Cafe Lumiere, another agonizingly slow critically acclaimed feature of this master of standstill. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AndrewTAug 22, 2008
As a movie a 3, as a work of art hung on a wall, 9. I can see the point and the perspective, but is the memory at issue worth the canvas?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KevinR.Jan 18, 2009
First let me say that I like art films...I like French films--Godard, Truffaut, Renoir....but this movie was excruciating. One of the worst "entertainment" experiences of my life! It was a movie about nothing. If you like watching a kid have First let me say that I like art films...I like French films--Godard, Truffaut, Renoir....but this movie was excruciating. One of the worst "entertainment" experiences of my life! It was a movie about nothing. If you like watching a kid have a piano lesson, watching someone straighten up a living room, watching a piano tuner at work, or someone making pancakes then this is the movie for you. Oh and especially if you like to watch red balloons randomly floating around. I saw The Red Balloon when I was young and was enchanted. This, however, which is meant to be an homage, is beyond endurance. I give it a 1 for some occasionally nice cinematography. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
bdaNov 29, 2008
I know this shows that I'm geeky, literal-minded and impatient, but after watching it I went back and noted that the first bit of balloon footage ended at the 7-minute mark and then didn't reappear until the 57-minute mark. I know this shows that I'm geeky, literal-minded and impatient, but after watching it I went back and noted that the first bit of balloon footage ended at the 7-minute mark and then didn't reappear until the 57-minute mark. Wasn't this supposed to be about a balloon following a kid around Paris? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful