Flight

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 348 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 348

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Mar 10, 2013
    7
    Honestly, this was not what I expected going in, but all the same, it was a very good movie. Denzel Washington, as expected, was fantastic and the movie was captivating to the end.
  2. Apr 3, 2014
    10
    While some may think Flight is just about a drunk, cocaine addict who has a drinking problem and confesses at the end, the film goes deeper than that. That is a very raw, unobserved way to put the storyline. While a narcissist might categorize the movie as a drug addiction film with drugs, beer, hooker and porn movies, I say, watch it again. Flight takes the tor of man who has addictionWhile some may think Flight is just about a drunk, cocaine addict who has a drinking problem and confesses at the end, the film goes deeper than that. That is a very raw, unobserved way to put the storyline. While a narcissist might categorize the movie as a drug addiction film with drugs, beer, hooker and porn movies, I say, watch it again. Flight takes the tor of man who has addiction problem, and add drama, suspense, and a kick-ass plane crash sequence to top it, probably one of the best scenes involving a plane ever. Denzel puts on his usual rock star performance, and the movie just goes into "flight" from there! Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    7
    Although there are some fairly disagreeable subject matter and pacing elements throughout it, "Flight" marks Robert Zemeckis's triumphant return to cinema, and yet another masterful performance from Denzel Washington.
  4. Aug 27, 2015
    8
    With excellent performances from veteran actor Denzel Washington as the problematic Whip Whitaker, "Flight" tells the well-crafted story of his personal journey to rediscover the true man he is, above the addiction of alcohol.
  5. Mar 10, 2013
    7
    This is a good film not a great one. Denzel Washington gives a good performance that makes this film better then it is. So overall a good performance from Denzel that lifts this film to a 7 for me.
  6. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    Ever since the movie Flight came out, people have been raving about it, but I didn't understand why until I actually sat down to watch it. Denzel Washington is one of my favorite actors, so I was going to see it either way, but I wasn't expecting it to be what it was. The previews and commercial all focused on the crash and the hero who made an impossible move to land the plane safely, butEver since the movie Flight came out, people have been raving about it, but I didn't understand why until I actually sat down to watch it. Denzel Washington is one of my favorite actors, so I was going to see it either way, but I wasn't expecting it to be what it was. The previews and commercial all focused on the crash and the hero who made an impossible move to land the plane safely, but in reality that's just a small part of the movie. The true focus of the movie is on the troubled life of pilot, Whip Whitaker (Washington), whose demons seem to find him wherever he goes. When he's in the air, Whip is at peace and away from a life of hardship and disappointments, but after the crash, he's unable to fly and has to face that life head on. The film itself was actually a bit slow after the thrilling introduction and the excitement on board the plane. At parts during this film, I was bored, but it's necessary to bring the story together into an unexpected conclusion. Sometimes, a film is slow and it's just not worth it to sit there, but Flight is different. The film may lack something in the middle, but it is well worth you're time. The story is out of this world and Denzel Washington shows that he hasn't lost a thing. This man brings such a strong presents to everything that he does, that often times I find myself overlooking the entire rest of the cast. There are a lot of big names in this film, that all become forgettable after the performance Washington gives. Even though this film came out at the wrong time, if he doesn't receive the Academies attention for this role, then there is a gaping flaw in their system. The story is fantastic, Denzel Washington is nothing short of amazing, and this story will stick with you long after the film is over, I can not recommend it enough! Expand
  7. Feb 2, 2015
    9
    Wow! Oscar winning actor Denzel Washington plays a pilot! and then gets causes a plan accident cause he's intoxicated. Director Robert Zemeckis has an unique way telling stories, in this film he capture's Denzel's befuddle performance as the pilot. Grade B
  8. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    Flight is truly something to marvel. Denzel Washington is a hero here, not because his character in the movie landed a plane and was called a hero, but because his performance was a true act of heroism. Bravo.
  9. Jul 27, 2013
    7
    Flight is an interesting and well acted movie about a man battling with alcoholism. The movie suffers a little by being overlong but overall it's a decent cautionary tale.
  10. Feb 5, 2013
    7
    Welcome back Robert Zemeckis after his actor-animation capture ventures, FLIGHT heralds his first time return to a real live feature after a dozen years. Great relief he is still excelling in instructing a debatable moral tale with a back-to-his-top-form two-times Oscar-winner Denzel Washington. The narration has its gradual and clock-wise temp in scrutinizing a heroic pilot’s personalWelcome back Robert Zemeckis after his actor-animation capture ventures, FLIGHT heralds his first time return to a real live feature after a dozen years. Great relief he is still excelling in instructing a debatable moral tale with a back-to-his-top-form two-times Oscar-winner Denzel Washington. The narration has its gradual and clock-wise temp in scrutinizing a heroic pilot’s personal quagmire after landing a doomed-to-be-crashed plane with minimum casualty by virtue of his alcoholic addiction (what’s worse is the fact that he was even when he was at the helm during that dreadful accident). From a legitimate angle, although his valorous action deserves raves from the mass, and the pivotal cause of the accident largely lies in an outdated plane part, he still unavoidably should assume his liability. There is no ambiguity in whether or not he should get away with it, and eventually the case evolves into a self-awakening resolution to reshuffle one’s life from his damned addiction (there is a more-than-enough trek leading into the thematic revelation, thanks to Washington’s instinctive charisma, if falls into other thespian’s palm, which would induce an over-dramatic and self-conscious bravura just to appease the good-over-evil expectation from well-prepared audience. The final twist is histrionic but Danzel’s telling confession is superbly visceral even though has been fermented overlong. The Kelly Reilly tributary also negotiates through an engrossing damsel in mistress plight, until it emerges (a shade bluntly) with the main narrative, prompts the salvation-evoking meeting between a compulsive and recurrent drunkard and an inveterate junkie, it is not a fatalist love story of LEAVING LAS VEGAS (1995, 8/10) although neither of them is another’s messiah. Ms. Reilly, a rather under-used British actress, after many years of endeavor in Hollywood, finally grabs a much meatier role in a mainstream flick and she is never daunted by Washington’s suffocating presence, infuses a secular savor tallies with the formatively square film. Robert Zemeckis shoots the most matter-of-fact airplane crashing process except the final collision, when CGI unavoidably reveals its tail, but the film stands unyieldingly on its ground as a preachifying morale parable, its motley spectators will never feel being offensive when it tries too much and many cliche settings keep hopping up, anyhow it is a laudable feat from Zemeckis, whom I feel spontaneously send my tip of advice (definitely I’m not a loner here), stopping meddling with the pricey animation gizmos and going back to the fertile soil where germinates FORREST GUMP (1994, 9/10) Expand
  11. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    Flight masters the most sincere and meaningful way to portray a man who we want to feel sympathetic towards, but find it difficult to so, as his reckless and arrogant behaviour plagues a tragic accident that he was directly involved with. The man in question is Whip Whitaker, an airline pilot, played by Denzel Washington, who gives an engrossing and driven performance as the damaged pilot,Flight masters the most sincere and meaningful way to portray a man who we want to feel sympathetic towards, but find it difficult to so, as his reckless and arrogant behaviour plagues a tragic accident that he was directly involved with. The man in question is Whip Whitaker, an airline pilot, played by Denzel Washington, who gives an engrossing and driven performance as the damaged pilot, who saves many lives after a mechanical failure results in the plane he is piloting to nose dive towards the ground, but with death comes responsibility, and Whip must answer many questions as to the events of the crash, especially when he was drunk and high while flying the plane.
    The film kicks it into high gear right from the beginning, as we see Whip holding his confidence in the tightest of situations, the spectacular scenes involving the plane being upside down and the excellent cinematography within the plane create quite a frightening and realistic experience, but the power of Washington's performance excels beyond this, he seems like a man possessed when danger arises, nothing like the nervous and ashamed alcoholic we meet as the film progresses, something which he shares in common with Nicole (Kelly Reilly), a struggling drug user who comes into Whips life as he begins to feel the effects of a 'survivor guilt' scenario, something which turns him back to the bottle.
    As mentioned, the film is a character study above everything else, its difficult to feel any sort of feelings of despair for the man on the screen when he will seemingly throw it back. Don Cheadle plays the attorney who is attempting to remove the toxicology report from a hearing scheduled for Whip, but as Whip continues to struggle with his demons, he leaves very little reason for anyone to help him.
    Stellar performances make this film what it is, Washington goes above and beyond to portray a man who is truly shocked and saddened by what happened, even if it is proven not to be his fault, but he finds nobody there to turn to. John Goodman seeks out his funnier side again to play the dealer for Whip, giving some comic tone to the otherwise thrilling film. Where the film doesn't succeed is its final act, which seems typically paced to suit the needs of those seeking a moral ending, because this wasn't a moral film, it was driven by one man and his mission to destroy himself to try and forget, and while it can be argued this was the case for his eventual moral side kicking in, it just felt entirely out of tone.
    But that aside, the film perfects telling a troubled story with great detail with an equally powerful performance from Washington, showing a man who is conflicted about life but confident in what he is good at.
    Expand
  12. Jul 20, 2013
    7
    If you're judging this movie purely on the various elements of cinematic categories (such as acting, production value, plot development, etc.) it's an incredible movie. Denzel Washington delivers one of his best performances and that's saying something because he's one of the best there is or has ever been. The supporting cast of Don Cheadle, Kelly Reilly, Bruce Greenwood, and John GoodmanIf you're judging this movie purely on the various elements of cinematic categories (such as acting, production value, plot development, etc.) it's an incredible movie. Denzel Washington delivers one of his best performances and that's saying something because he's one of the best there is or has ever been. The supporting cast of Don Cheadle, Kelly Reilly, Bruce Greenwood, and John Goodman is fantastic as well. The special effects were also done incredibly well. The plane crash was impressive and looked amazingly realistic. The movie, while really long, didn't drag either because the plot developed well and the characters felt authentic. So why the just pretty good rating? Because what's the purpose of a movie? To me it is to be entertained and I have always had trouble enjoying a film when the protagonist is such a detestable character, which Washington's was. There was also quite a bit of completely unnecessary nudity. Sure, Nadine Velazquez is absolutely breathtaking but was that opening scene really necessary? It seemed forced and more for shock effect than anything else. Nonetheless, this was still a very good movie and I think most people would enjoy it. Expand
  13. Nov 19, 2012
    8
    I wanted to take a shower after this movie. The snorting, shooting up, drinking, more drinking, and general drug abuse is hard to watch. The acting and writing throughout is excellent, with especially noteworthy cameos from John Goodman as the drug pusher and James Badge Dale as a cancer patient. Denzel is solid throughout as he always is. The special effects (the plane crash) lookedI wanted to take a shower after this movie. The snorting, shooting up, drinking, more drinking, and general drug abuse is hard to watch. The acting and writing throughout is excellent, with especially noteworthy cameos from John Goodman as the drug pusher and James Badge Dale as a cancer patient. Denzel is solid throughout as he always is. The special effects (the plane crash) looked real and was intense. Overall I thought the movie was a little predictable, and was such a downer that it loses the repeatability factor - I have no desire to ever see it again. Expand
  14. Feb 14, 2013
    8
    A genuinely nerve racking drama which combines top notch performance from Denzel of the multilayered flawed hero and near perfect direction to match. And it is not only the admittedly very impressive flight sequence in the start of the film, but the dram that unfold that keeps audience on their toes.
  15. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    This is no Robert Zemekis movie. This is something much more. Truly, this is a different direction that Zemekis has taken, but he without a doubt pulled it off. Flight is an engaging movie that soars in both acting and storytelling. But for sure, Denzel Washington's portrayal of Whip Whitaker is what helps make the movie so magnificent. Also, the movie had some amazing screenplay. JohnThis is no Robert Zemekis movie. This is something much more. Truly, this is a different direction that Zemekis has taken, but he without a doubt pulled it off. Flight is an engaging movie that soars in both acting and storytelling. But for sure, Denzel Washington's portrayal of Whip Whitaker is what helps make the movie so magnificent. Also, the movie had some amazing screenplay. John Gatins is a pure genius. I hope he keeps writing these awesome screenplays. One supporting character that struck me was John Goodman. The movie's that he's been lately are for sure putting him back on the radar. This is the comeback of John Goodman. I can't wait for him to bring back Sulley in "Monster's University." The only thing about this movie is that I wish it was nominated for best picture. It really deserved it! Overall, it's a breathtaking story that soars. Expand
  16. Jan 14, 2016
    9
    A very entertaining movie to watch and what an awesome performance from Denzel.

    Watch this movie for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-29bf6b-Flight-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
  17. Mar 2, 2013
    9
    Robert Zemeckis is back to his live action finest with Flight, a film that deconstructs the life of a hero until there is nothing left. Sounds depressing? It kinda is, but like most Zemeckis movies its full of heart. The film tells the story of Whip Whitaker (Denzel Washington), a pilot who saves countless lives when his plane loses control. However when he hits the ground his life isRobert Zemeckis is back to his live action finest with Flight, a film that deconstructs the life of a hero until there is nothing left. Sounds depressing? It kinda is, but like most Zemeckis movies its full of heart. The film tells the story of Whip Whitaker (Denzel Washington), a pilot who saves countless lives when his plane loses control. However when he hits the ground his life is upended by the airlines investigation into the crash and his life, which threatens to reveal his alcoholism. While the film does feel opinionated and at times a little naive (the ending is exceptionally so) it is also one of the most engrossing studies of alcoholism ever devoted to film. Denzel Washington is captivating as Whip, a man like most alcoholics in denial. His commitment to the role is astonishing and there is not a moment in the film you don't truly believe this character is real, that he would exist in a real world. There isn't a moment in this film where you don't think Denzel deserves all the adulation he has received for this role, its by far his best performance to date. In fact I may be offending Daniel Day Lewis fans when I say that Denzel was by far the more deserving nominee at this years Oscars. Even from the beginning of the film you are captivated by not just the opening sequences but by this character because not only is he broken but hes also charismatic and dare I say it, charming. However the film also soars in its technical aspects as well as the film starts with a pure adrenaline shot as it shows you in full the crash, every little detail. The editing is fantastic but the direction by Zemeckis is what makes it exhilarating. His attention to detail makes the crash tense and genuinely terrifying. The films only action sequence is crafted lovingly and with great skill gripping you to your seat so you just have to watch the rest even if the film settles into a much more serious area of discussion for the remainder. Despite the fact he is supported by some great actors like Don Cheadle and John Goodman, this is Washington's film and Zemeckis shows him at his best. The only downside is the film finds the need to inject some Forrest Gump schmaltz into the film as it draws to a close when it really isn't necessary at all but its to be expected from Zemeckis and it only annoys in the moment as the rest of the film is so good you can't help but remember the many good things over the solitary mistake Expand
  18. Feb 26, 2013
    8
    In an epic tale of man versus booze, Denzel Washington takes flight in one of his best roles as a deeply disturbed alcoholic pilot. He takes the audience into a private struggle, one that can easily draw us to root for this man brimming with flaws, but inadvertently hailed as a hero. The lies he makes, and the way he tells them in almost self-convincing way is sometimes lightly humorous,In an epic tale of man versus booze, Denzel Washington takes flight in one of his best roles as a deeply disturbed alcoholic pilot. He takes the audience into a private struggle, one that can easily draw us to root for this man brimming with flaws, but inadvertently hailed as a hero. The lies he makes, and the way he tells them in almost self-convincing way is sometimes lightly humorous, although the persisting issue is a heavy one.

    Whip Whitaker (Denzel Washington) is a heavyweight drinker, with occasion cocaine sniffing as break in between, I was informed about many types of liquors just by watching him drink. In his line of profession as a pilot, in which he's extremely gifted, it's a serious offense. Certainly, flying with an intoxicated pilot is no way to start any vacation. However, in a time of emergency, he manages to land a crumbling plane, in a stylish way, to boot. This instantly makes him a hero, but the follow-up investigation might just reveal his addiction and pretty much ruin his life.

    Nicole Maggen (Kelly Reilley) is an attractive red haired drug addict whose life entwined with Whip's, solely because they are treated in the same hospital. Whip sees her as a somewhat an escape from real life, meeting her seems rather surreal, not to mention at such junction of his life. Ultimately Nicole realizes her addiction problem and tries to find help, which proved to be a rude awakening for Whip to face his own problem.

    Hugh Lang (Don Cheadle) is Whip's attorney in the investigation. He tries to save Whip’s career, partially because of duty and perhaps some appreciation for Whip, but he eventually finds himself weighted down by Whip's erratic behavior. Hugh is involved professionally, though he resembles an incidental ally at times. John Goodman, whose entrance is the song "Sympathy for The Devil", is Whip's crack dealer. A shady acquaintance, evil Santa, who gives dark respite for Whip at his darker times.

    With fast and highly engaging screenplay, it highlights the few days of alcoholic's life with interesting perspective. Often his deception shows much confidence, but he falters when he's alone, these scenes is wittily shown sometimes even with barely dialogues in them. The start and the end provide more bombastic scenes, the first plane crash sequence is very engrossing as it puts the audience right besides these characters in their desperate time.

    Flight could've been an entirely bleak or somber movie, but it takes us into a man's journey to face his demon, merely as audience and with tongue-in-cheek humor. As result, it is a brilliant tale of triumph.
    Expand
  19. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Flight... Ok, the movie is very interesting, have a trama that sounds interesting, the screenplay is really awesome, and the performance of Washington is really amazing. The problem with Flight, is that have some boring moments. But the movie is really fantastic.
  20. Aug 10, 2013
    7
    Flight is not what I thought it would be but was still a good movie. I have never seen Denzel or Don Cheadle in a complete bad movie so of course this was good. They list Nadine Velazquez like shes a big part of this movie but shes really not besides some exposing scenes.
  21. Jan 1, 2013
    8
    Welcome back Bob Zemeckis! After 3 lacklustre 'performance capture' efforts, Zemeckis was in need of a comeback. Here is one of Spielberg's brightest protegee, squandering his talents on motion pictures that despite all efforts to the contrary, looked fake and 'unnecessary', be it Polar Express or A Christmas Carol. Flight marks his return to Live Action film making, and a welcome sight itWelcome back Bob Zemeckis! After 3 lacklustre 'performance capture' efforts, Zemeckis was in need of a comeback. Here is one of Spielberg's brightest protegee, squandering his talents on motion pictures that despite all efforts to the contrary, looked fake and 'unnecessary', be it Polar Express or A Christmas Carol. Flight marks his return to Live Action film making, and a welcome sight it is! Started out with one of the most harrowing plane crash in recent memory, Flight then transform into a study of alcholism and redemption. By the end of the film, Whip with all his imperfections, transformed himself into a true hero. Denzel delivers another tour de force performance, his best since American Gangster. Flight also is a change of pace for Zemeckis, who cuts his teeth on making event, tentpole pictures. More personal and suprisingly provacative, it's not perfect but one of the year's more memorable films. Expand
  22. Dec 30, 2012
    8
    "Flight" was directed by Robert Zemeckis and stars Denzel Washington, Bruce Greenwood, Don Cheadle and John Goodman. This is a film worth seeing if for no other reason than the first 20 minutes where action and drama take us into the stratosphere of emotion and fear. Written by John Gatins this is the story of an ill fated flight and the alcoholic pilot who despite his addiction, attempts"Flight" was directed by Robert Zemeckis and stars Denzel Washington, Bruce Greenwood, Don Cheadle and John Goodman. This is a film worth seeing if for no other reason than the first 20 minutes where action and drama take us into the stratosphere of emotion and fear. Written by John Gatins this is the story of an ill fated flight and the alcoholic pilot who despite his addiction, attempts to perform a miracle of aeronautical maneuvering. Not to be understated, Denzel Washington once again proves his wide range as an actor and gives us a performance worthy of his reputation and past accomplishments. Though thin in story line and weak in some other areas (i.e. depth of the characters etc.) I give the film an 8 stars because, above all else, it was entertaining and certainly gets the viewer involved. Expand
  23. Feb 3, 2013
    7
    Despite an Oscar worthy performance by Denzel Washington, the films too heavy-handed, redundant, and never quite takes full flight. The title of the film is deceiving in that it is more so about the descend (in more ways than one), and the resilience of the human spirit. For the first half-hour or so, "Flight" keeps us rapt with thrilling action and a troubling moral quandary. You strapDespite an Oscar worthy performance by Denzel Washington, the films too heavy-handed, redundant, and never quite takes full flight. The title of the film is deceiving in that it is more so about the descend (in more ways than one), and the resilience of the human spirit. For the first half-hour or so, "Flight" keeps us rapt with thrilling action and a troubling moral quandary. You strap yourself in for the next two hours and prepare to give yourself over to the in-flight entertainment. But after "Flight" descends from its high-wire act, the film reshapes itself into a fairly standard story about substance abuse, and the life-long endeavor of maintaining sobriety. Not incredibly entertaining or consistently compelling, but Denzel's Oscar worthy performance alone makes this worth the watch. Denzel does a perfect job giving us just enough to empathize for him but never enough of a reason to condone him either. To Robert Zemeckis credit, he directs a well-crafted film, loosely based on actual events. An interesting character study of a flawed hero we sympathize with throughout despite reoccurring disappointments. This flight reaches it's destination, but I don't think I want to get the round trip. For additional reviews visit: http://www.rottentomatoes.com/member/Nesbitt10 Expand
  24. Nov 12, 2012
    8
    Perhaps Flight is a little too long and may have one too many layers, but this does not stop it from being a very enjoyable experience. The film commences with the best crash sequence that I have seen and ends with one of the best performances of the year with Denzel Washington acting up a storm.
  25. Oct 5, 2013
    8
    Although I liked this film I did find it a little too long; in fact I have to admit that I watched it in two halves. From a totally stunning sequence at the start I felt it lost momentum for a while, that was until I became embroiled in the drama of Whip Whitaker’s story. It’s quite a tale and an excellent performance from Denzel Washington holds it all together quite brilliantly. I alsoAlthough I liked this film I did find it a little too long; in fact I have to admit that I watched it in two halves. From a totally stunning sequence at the start I felt it lost momentum for a while, that was until I became embroiled in the drama of Whip Whitaker’s story. It’s quite a tale and an excellent performance from Denzel Washington holds it all together quite brilliantly. I also thought Kelly Reilly did a pretty good job as well. But back to the opening sequence for a moment, for me it ranks as one of the best special effects driven sequences I’ve seen in a very long time and hats off to all involved. Taken as a whole, the film does take the audience on quite a journey and I know for some it couldn’t quite live up to that crash sequence. For me I thought it held together pretty well, mainly thanks to the acting skills of Mr Washington. Over all, definitely worth a watch but don’t get blown away by the crash sequence, there’s a lot more depth to it than that.

    SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED

    My score: 7.8/10
    Expand
  26. BKM
    Nov 12, 2012
    8
    Flight is, at its core, the story of a man struggling with alcoholism and the devastating course of events that have to play out in order for him to finally face the truth about himself. At the same time, it forces us to wrestle with our own notions of heroism as we must choose whether to root for or condemn the deeply flawed protagonist. The film wisely lets us draw our own conclusionsFlight is, at its core, the story of a man struggling with alcoholism and the devastating course of events that have to play out in order for him to finally face the truth about himself. At the same time, it forces us to wrestle with our own notions of heroism as we must choose whether to root for or condemn the deeply flawed protagonist. The film wisely lets us draw our own conclusions resulting in a sobering take on addiction and redemption fueled by Washington's spot on performance. Expand
  27. Nov 5, 2012
    7
    I thought this was a good movie but not a great movie. It surely does not meet the hype given by some. Yes, Denzel does act for the first time in quite a while but he really does not stretch that much. Also, the scences of going from drunk to sober are greatly exaggerated for the convenience of the audience. The film never really confronts the reality of going from addiction to sobriety.I thought this was a good movie but not a great movie. It surely does not meet the hype given by some. Yes, Denzel does act for the first time in quite a while but he really does not stretch that much. Also, the scences of going from drunk to sober are greatly exaggerated for the convenience of the audience. The film never really confronts the reality of going from addiction to sobriety. Still, the movie is entertaining and one never gets bored. I was disappointed with the ending but I expected that from a big Hollywood film with a megastar with Denzel. This is not an Oscar film but is an enjoyable night out. Expand
  28. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    Flight may not be liked by many but let me tell you why I like this film. Denzel Washington gives one of his best performances, he is the sole reason why I decided to watch this film in the first place and I don't regret it at all. The direction is satisfying enough to keep the viewers interested in the film i.e. the first 30 minutes of the film show the plane crash which is exceptional, IFlight may not be liked by many but let me tell you why I like this film. Denzel Washington gives one of his best performances, he is the sole reason why I decided to watch this film in the first place and I don't regret it at all. The direction is satisfying enough to keep the viewers interested in the film i.e. the first 30 minutes of the film show the plane crash which is exceptional, I have never seen something like this before, it was too terrifying and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout the sequence. After those 30 minutes, the 2 hour (almost) drama begins which passes by so quickly, you don't even realize (only if you are a fan of slow-paced drama films). And then, finally the ending, which is downright excellent, I pretty much hoped for an ending like this because without it, the film's message would not have been that clear. Washington's character Whip Whitaker finally accepts that he is a free man, he has no more lies to tell, he doesn't feel any burden or he doesn't have to carry all this throughout his remaining life.
    Whitaker is an unlikeable person, he is an alcoholic and he can't get enough of the booze and the cocaine but there comes a time when he realizes that lying about it would only make it worse since he's been lying about everything his whole life, not even his wife and his kid like him. Flight has an absolute message for every viewer: the message of acceptance, the message of "stop lying" and start telling what you really feel. What do you really want to say. Despite all these downsides, my sympathies were always with Whitaker because he really saved those people even when he was high and maybe that factor actually played its part by making him think of rolling the plane into an inverted position, who knows?
    A character-driven drama film with a phenomenal performance by Washington, strong supporting cast, great screenplay by John Gatins, and a wonderful direction by Robert Zemeckis who previously directed the two important films; an Academy award winning 1994 film Forrest Gump and a 2000 film Cast Away, both of which are excellent. Flight does not offer any action sequences or edgy moments after the plane crash but what it does offer is Washnigton's performance, the clever dialogues, and his characterization and depicts wonderfully how he's changed throughout the film. And it leaves you in a position where it's upto you that how do you want to think of his character, a hero or a criminal? A hero for saving 96 out of 102 people on the plane or a criminal for being so negligent and putting 102 people's lives at risk. You get to change your opinions about observing Whitaker's nature and his character throughout the story because of the things he do, his crazy drug addiction and finally, the decisions he make. This film may not be a strong Best Picture Oscar contender but it easily deserves a Best Actor nod for Washington's powerful performance.
    Expand
  29. Nov 3, 2012
    7
    Not oscar worthy in my opinion but a good movie. Makes you never want to take a drink ever again effectively. They just overdo it way too much. If someone drank that much they would of been dead of blood alcohol poisoning long before the storyline for this movie began.
  30. Jan 17, 2013
    7
    Flight is a very interesting movie because of the plot that presents; a pilot landed a plane that was falling in flames and save most of the people on it, but a blood test indicated that he was with a considerable percentage of alcohol in his blood. In this point the protagonist start living in a big contradiction, because he is a national hero, but also an alcoholic. That is why the storyFlight is a very interesting movie because of the plot that presents; a pilot landed a plane that was falling in flames and save most of the people on it, but a blood test indicated that he was with a considerable percentage of alcohol in his blood. In this point the protagonist start living in a big contradiction, because he is a national hero, but also an alcoholic. That is why the story moves between two worlds, in one he is a questioned pilot trying to defend his image; and in the other one he is immerse in drugs and liquor failing to acknowledge his problem. This theme of a protagonist facing to worlds is recurrent in the filmography of Robert Zemeckis, for example past versus future in Back to the Future; expectations about the world versus real world in Forrest Gump; and life in the island versus life in the civilization in Cast Away. In the same way of these mentioned pictures, the protagonist of Flight will enter in a rediscovery of himself, to finally become a new person, with no possibilities of returning to what he was before. Despite that the film is slow, Denzel Washington is great and Zemeckis did it again. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt (1)
    Jan 28, 2013
    80
    A welcome return to live-action filmmaking for Zemeckis, who hasn't lost his knack for a brilliant shot or for extracting great performances. It may not exactly be a first-class experience throughout, but there's nothing wrong with premium economy.
  2. The New Yorker
    Reviewed by: David Denby
    Nov 7, 2012
    80
    We get tired of watching Whip fail, and we're caught between dismayed pity and a longing to see him punished. Only a great actor could have pulled off this balancing act. [12 Nov. 2012, p.94]
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Nov 4, 2012
    75
    It may not be frivolously engaging but it is compelling.