Paramount Pictures | Release Date: November 2, 2012
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 364 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
266
Mixed:
77
Negative:
21
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
NedRyerson1Jan 17, 2013
Flight is a very interesting movie because of the plot that presents; a pilot landed a plane that was falling in flames and save most of the people on it, but a blood test indicated that he was with a considerable percentage of alcohol in hisFlight is a very interesting movie because of the plot that presents; a pilot landed a plane that was falling in flames and save most of the people on it, but a blood test indicated that he was with a considerable percentage of alcohol in his blood. In this point the protagonist start living in a big contradiction, because he is a national hero, but also an alcoholic. That is why the story moves between two worlds, in one he is a questioned pilot trying to defend his image; and in the other one he is immerse in drugs and liquor failing to acknowledge his problem. This theme of a protagonist facing to worlds is recurrent in the filmography of Robert Zemeckis, for example past versus future in Back to the Future; expectations about the world versus real world in Forrest Gump; and life in the island versus life in the civilization in Cast Away. In the same way of these mentioned pictures, the protagonist of Flight will enter in a rediscovery of himself, to finally become a new person, with no possibilities of returning to what he was before. Despite that the film is slow, Denzel Washington is great and Zemeckis did it again. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
7
rancorNov 6, 2012
This movie is okay. Since Robert Zemekis directed this, I thought that this would become an instant classic. It's only okay at best. Washington and Goodman definitely redeem the movie a bit since their acting is so great. Unfortunately, itThis movie is okay. Since Robert Zemekis directed this, I thought that this would become an instant classic. It's only okay at best. Washington and Goodman definitely redeem the movie a bit since their acting is so great. Unfortunately, it wasn't even to put this up there with Forest Gump or The Green Mile. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuJul 27, 2013
Flight is an interesting and well acted movie about a man battling with alcoholism. The movie suffers a little by being overlong but overall it's a decent cautionary tale.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
EvolutionaryMar 12, 2013
My advice would be to watch the first half of this film, which is generally original and captivating. When it gets about an hour in, you will begin to notice some overt cliche thrown in casually. By the end of the film, you will walk outMy advice would be to watch the first half of this film, which is generally original and captivating. When it gets about an hour in, you will begin to notice some overt cliche thrown in casually. By the end of the film, you will walk out feeling appalled that you have once again been tricked into watching a predictable and non-sensical hollywood plotline tailored for the un-thinking audience. Damn you Hollywood producers for relying on formula and ill conceived moral banality to ruin yet another film that had great potential. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
imthenoobJun 10, 2013
Washington and his supporting cast are enjoyable and the first 40 mins are good (up until after the crash) and then it just sorts of level off. It gets a little interesting at parts through out but never really gets to the potential that itWashington and his supporting cast are enjoyable and the first 40 mins are good (up until after the crash) and then it just sorts of level off. It gets a little interesting at parts through out but never really gets to the potential that it was capable of reaching. Sort of a disappointment really because Flight easily could have been the best drama of the year. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
StrawberryBlondFeb 20, 2013
The movie's synopsis is basic, and so is the film. After the first half an hour, everything slows right down and it turns into more of an insight into the mind of an alcoholic. It's a very long movie for a story that's been told many times,The movie's synopsis is basic, and so is the film. After the first half an hour, everything slows right down and it turns into more of an insight into the mind of an alcoholic. It's a very long movie for a story that's been told many times, with just a few alterations. Towards the end, we see what a great actor Denzel is and we come to a satifying conclusion. This is certainly a fascinating film to watch that will have you pondering over whether we should criminalise someone for drinking on the job or whether they deserve a second chance depending on the situation. But it's hardly a movie that would make my all time favourites list. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Josh-k25Feb 7, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I watched this movie because of Denzel Washington, and if only in his case, the reviews are true.
Washington does a stellar job throughout the movie, and as is the case with most if not all movies he stars in, he practically makes the movie. The acting itself is actually quite good across the board, as is the writing, even if it does feel a bit stretched at times. I do hold one substantial complaint, however, that being the exception to both of the commendations above. In one scene, when Denzel Washington's character Whip goes to see his co pilot in the hospital, the writing and acting take an expected, yet nevertheless disappointing turn. Here, the already foreshadowed "crazy Christians" scene plays out, and the director attempts no subtlety. As both husband and wife stare with fury at Whip, they switch suddenly, like they just escaped an asylum, from anger to the resolute conviction of madmen as they state (paraphrasing) "the plane was pre-ordained to crash" and that they "prayed for it". All this is said by a slightly lowered camera with a light focused on a gaudy crucifix hanging above his bed. All as his wife, with a catatonic face chants "praise Jesus!" in a tone akin to a cultist. Now, I understand that there are many people who view life many other ways, and yes, I do believe we should tolerate all religions. However, I fail to see how making Christians look crazy is tolerant. Few if any prolific Hollywood directors would risk putting a scene featuring crazy Buddhists or crazy Zoroastrians, crazy.. pretty much any other religion in their movie, for fear of rightful outrage, and quite frankly, such a biased, one sided point of view not only shows either hatred or ignorance, but also runs a high risk of taking the viewer out of the movie, and placing them back in their seat scratching their head.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
oliver1hJan 29, 2013
A very good drama about facing who we are, taking responsibility, and change to the right direction. Mr. Denzel Washington's acting was great. A little bit slow, but worth watching im my opinion.
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
8
theofficeNov 10, 2012
A high quality drama with a great story that is a good break from the action flicks that dominate the market nowadays. Scenes that will be funny for some may be all too real for others. Denzel Washington does a fantastic job as usual.A high quality drama with a great story that is a good break from the action flicks that dominate the market nowadays. Scenes that will be funny for some may be all too real for others. Denzel Washington does a fantastic job as usual. Definitely recommend. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
C-MoneyNov 7, 2012
Denzel's rock-solid here (yeah, yeah, what else is new). His performance, the story line, and the subtle message will be appreciated even more for those who have battled any addiction problems of their own. Would have reached a 9 in my bookDenzel's rock-solid here (yeah, yeah, what else is new). His performance, the story line, and the subtle message will be appreciated even more for those who have battled any addiction problems of their own. Would have reached a 9 in my book had Zemekis not chosen to portray evangelical Christians in a short scene I found insulting and laughably stereotypical. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
6
GreatMartinNov 2, 2012
Denzel Washington will probably be nominated for his performance in
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
6
jimboesqNov 2, 2012
This movie should be called The Bottle Jockey or something that more accurately denotes its central theme i.e, an alcoholic airline captain having is coming to Jesus moment. The movie is 140 minutes long: 10 minutes of setup; 15 minutes orThis movie should be called The Bottle Jockey or something that more accurately denotes its central theme i.e, an alcoholic airline captain having is coming to Jesus moment. The movie is 140 minutes long: 10 minutes of setup; 15 minutes or so of pretty good flying scenes-followed by 110 minutes of watching Denzel Washington Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
erom1943Nov 11, 2012
Don't expect this movie to be about pilots, flying or the airline industry. It is a movie about an alcoholic, alcoholism and substance abuse. It's about the ensuing denial, effects on career, the enablers and the effect on friends and lovedDon't expect this movie to be about pilots, flying or the airline industry. It is a movie about an alcoholic, alcoholism and substance abuse. It's about the ensuing denial, effects on career, the enablers and the effect on friends and loved ones. That being said.....it is a good movie, and should be seen by all who have someone close to the affected by substance abuse. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
WilliamJonesFeb 25, 2013
This film is so plagued with technical errors somebody should be accountable. They discharge the fire extinguishers yet the engines keep running. Every jet pilot in the world knows if you pull the fire handle it cuts the fuel and the engine stops!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
TVJerryNov 4, 2012
From the previews this looks like the nail-biting experience of a plane crash. That's pretty true
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
10
mwm7430Nov 2, 2012
As the movie begins you think you know where it is headed, but you (the audience member ) only really have a general sense of direction and you quickly learn that this screen play and director Robert Zemeckis have a much more involved journeyAs the movie begins you think you know where it is headed, but you (the audience member ) only really have a general sense of direction and you quickly learn that this screen play and director Robert Zemeckis have a much more involved journey planned. This film exfoliates like an onion to reveal much more of a surprise than you could have anticipated. For once the trailer isn't the best part and it doesn't reveal "all of the good parts." There are a number of great performances by both known veteran actors like Denzel Washington and a bunch of lesser known actors as well. This movie is packed with twist for certain, but they aren't the kind of supernatural twist that are typically overloaded with a generous helping of hyperbole, not this movie is packed with realistic moments that people will be able to identify with. There will most certainly be some Oscar nominations from this film, including perhaps best screen play, best supporting actor and may be best director. Go see this film! Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
2
jelonNov 25, 2012
Flight had a potential to be a compelling psychological and moral drama but squandered all that it built up in the last 30 minutes by pandering to the worst Hollywood stereotypes of preachy sentimental commercialism. I wanted to throw upFlight had a potential to be a compelling psychological and moral drama but squandered all that it built up in the last 30 minutes by pandering to the worst Hollywood stereotypes of preachy sentimental commercialism. I wanted to throw up when Denzel sanctimoniously decides to go all repentant at the hearing, and then makes his schmaltzy confession to fellow inmates. When his son (with whom he established no relationship in the film) showed with a school assignment, I was ready to strangle Zemeckis, Denzel, and especially the scriptwriter for the most saccharine sappy weepy sell out. I really don't know how any intelligent viewer could have related to that concluding half hour of the film and I can't recall any recent film that undermined itself so irredeemably. What a waste of money and talent, especially Denzel's. The recovering drug junkie's role was woefully underwritten, and only Goodman in his walk-on role can safely dissociate himself from the rest of the film. The bright spots were the secondary characters, especially the black stewardess who should have had more screen time and the dying cancer guy in the hospital. When I say the film had potential, just imagine a complex, ambiguous film where Denzel lies at the hearing (without the psychologically and dramatically ridiculous drunken binge the night before), the corporations are punished (as they should for unsafe aircrafts), Denzel retires with a nice severance package that gives him time to first realize that without cocaine he would have not saved the plane and then brings him out of the cycle of self-abuse. He moves to Jamaica with his white girlfriend. She does photography, he just chills, and in the last scene, we see them listening to raggae and smoking weed, a great pitch for legalizing marijuana. Expand
7 of 17 users found this helpful710
All this user's reviews
2
thcsrebNov 5, 2012
See another movie. Don't waste your time here. It is a drama about a drunk.

This movie is no more about a "Flight" than the movie "Animal House" is about animals. The 1st 30 minutes or so are compelling. A pilot, presumably a party animal,
See another movie. Don't waste your time here. It is a drama about a drunk.

This movie is no more about a "Flight" than the movie "Animal House" is about animals. The 1st 30 minutes or so are compelling. A pilot, presumably a party animal, pilots a jet with mechanical problems to an unlikely landing, saving countless lives. However, that is only the special effects lead-in to the latter half of the movie - almost 90 minutes, and the TRUE plot - a despicable journey with an alcoholic and his un-entertaining habits, drug use, drinking to excess, lies, more lies, and boring conversations that are at times entirely stereotypical. Denzel Washington does NOT create a new character for himself here. Don Cheadle plays the exact same character he plays in every other movie - the stoic. The movie drags on endlessly and becomes almost unbearable at times. See another movie. Don't waste your time here. It is a drama about a drunk.
Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
8
gfnyNov 2, 2012
An excellent movie with excitement, drama, and good story line. Denzel Washington is sure to receive an Academy nomination. The picture trailer only hints at the true story.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
5
OroiaelNov 14, 2012
Luckily there is a great nude scene. Otherwise a very bland film about not much. Tries to be dark and troubling, but comes off as shallow and uninteresting. Nudity is worth a Netflix rental, but not full price at the theater. If I were DenzelLuckily there is a great nude scene. Otherwise a very bland film about not much. Tries to be dark and troubling, but comes off as shallow and uninteresting. Nudity is worth a Netflix rental, but not full price at the theater. If I were Denzel I'd fire my agent. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
3
namelessNov 11, 2012
An art film about drinking pretending to be a Hollywood film about an airplane crash. If you want an art film about being self destructive and using drinking as the vehicle and being able to guess the ending just after the crash than this isAn art film about drinking pretending to be a Hollywood film about an airplane crash. If you want an art film about being self destructive and using drinking as the vehicle and being able to guess the ending just after the crash than this is your film. It is filmmaking 101. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
2
christhefishDec 25, 2012
I went to a lot of trouble to register so I could write a review for this movie. Although the term 'Movie' implies 'Moving Picture' This one moves along quite well for 12 ish minutes, And then staying awake becomes problematic. WithoutI went to a lot of trouble to register so I could write a review for this movie. Although the term 'Movie' implies 'Moving Picture' This one moves along quite well for 12 ish minutes, And then staying awake becomes problematic. Without spoiling it, I can tell you it turns to **** BORING **** YOU WOULDNT BELIEVE HOW NOTHING HAPPENS. I was waiting for ghosts, secret agents,men in black, hell, even ALIENS! SOMETHING!? It Reels you in and you think; 50 minutes in ;Any minute now this film is gonna peel out tyres smoking, and;. . NOTHING!! Just a boring innacurate like my spelling take on alcoholism, and some directionless mumbo jumbo .
As we say on the other side of the pond, its complete Pants! ( or utter B@LL*X after 9.45 p.m.)
I have two nephews not yet ten yrs old and they would nod off to this. ITS
RUBBISH !
YAWNN
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
4
MarcDoyleDec 19, 2012
The professional critics were far too generous to this film. Sure, Denzel does a nice job portraying the drunk pilot, but his story is simply tedious. I wasn't in the mood to watch a saga of an alcoholic pilot in denial. It's not anThe professional critics were far too generous to this film. Sure, Denzel does a nice job portraying the drunk pilot, but his story is simply tedious. I wasn't in the mood to watch a saga of an alcoholic pilot in denial. It's not an ambitious story in the least. Even John Goodman's character is wasted. He's terrific in his first scene, but then he becomes a caricature of himself in the coke sequence. The actors who save the film are Kelly Reilly (as Nicole) and Nadine Velazquez (from the League). Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
VladimirLeninNov 11, 2012
This movie is allot better than the trailer. I love the story, big ass's, blow, and booze. GO watch it and you will not be disappointed. Denzel kicks ass.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
MegWhiteleyNov 4, 2012
Flight... Ok, the movie is very interesting, have a trama that sounds interesting, the screenplay is really awesome, and the performance of Washington is really amazing. The problem with Flight, is that have some boring moments. But the movieFlight... Ok, the movie is very interesting, have a trama that sounds interesting, the screenplay is really awesome, and the performance of Washington is really amazing. The problem with Flight, is that have some boring moments. But the movie is really fantastic. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
kingacres0Dec 15, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a brilliant movie. I have read many good reviews by my fellow moviegoers so I won't share the thousands of reasons why this film is great but the kicker for me was Whip's scene while offering testimony at the decisive NTSB hearing. Most of us have a sense of how corporate and political machines work and we expect cover-ups as an almost routine way of doing business. Here's the spoiler: instead of taking the route laid out for him by his very bright lawyer, Whip graduates from villein to hero by telling them the unvarnished truth, for which he pays a very steep price but also finds a very a credible redemption. Denzel Washington, a screen idol of heroic proportions, strips away this facade to reveal a character with huge, even fatal flaws in a fearless performance. The work of John Gatins and Robert Zemeckis in this film is in the realm of pure genius. If you want to learn something about yourself and a good deal more about the human condition, don't miss this film. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
ErikTheRedNov 19, 2012
Middle class pap, trite, and hackneyed. Basically about one reprehensible guy who struggles with his addictions. If you would like to see Denzel drinking, smoking, and snorting without any larger message then this is the movie for you.Middle class pap, trite, and hackneyed. Basically about one reprehensible guy who struggles with his addictions. If you would like to see Denzel drinking, smoking, and snorting without any larger message then this is the movie for you. Basically a movie devoid of meaning except for a nice, safe upbeat end which, in my mind, is the hallmark of something below even a B-movie. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Flight is truly something to marvel. Denzel Washington is a hero here, not because his character in the movie landed a plane and was called a hero, but because his performance was a true act of heroism. Bravo.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
8
BKMNov 12, 2012
Flight is, at its core, the story of a man struggling with alcoholism and the devastating course of events that have to play out in order for him to finally face the truth about himself. At the same time, it forces us to wrestle with our ownFlight is, at its core, the story of a man struggling with alcoholism and the devastating course of events that have to play out in order for him to finally face the truth about himself. At the same time, it forces us to wrestle with our own notions of heroism as we must choose whether to root for or condemn the deeply flawed protagonist. The film wisely lets us draw our own conclusions resulting in a sobering take on addiction and redemption fueled by Washington's spot on performance. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
BikerjamesNov 19, 2012
I wanted to take a shower after this movie. The snorting, shooting up, drinking, more drinking, and general drug abuse is hard to watch. The acting and writing throughout is excellent, with especially noteworthy cameos from John Goodman asI wanted to take a shower after this movie. The snorting, shooting up, drinking, more drinking, and general drug abuse is hard to watch. The acting and writing throughout is excellent, with especially noteworthy cameos from John Goodman as the drug pusher and James Badge Dale as a cancer patient. Denzel is solid throughout as he always is. The special effects (the plane crash) looked real and was intense. Overall I thought the movie was a little predictable, and was such a downer that it loses the repeatability factor - I have no desire to ever see it again. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews