Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 324 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Flight tells the redemption story of Whip, a commercial airline pilot who pulls off a heroic feat of flying in a damaged plane, saving 98 lives on a flight carrying 106 people. While the world begs to embrace him as a true American Hero, the everyman struggles with this label as he is forcedFlight tells the redemption story of Whip, a commercial airline pilot who pulls off a heroic feat of flying in a damaged plane, saving 98 lives on a flight carrying 106 people. While the world begs to embrace him as a true American Hero, the everyman struggles with this label as he is forced to hold up to the scrutiny of an investigation that brings into question his behavior the night before the doomed flight. (Paramount Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Nov 1, 2012
    100
    Flight is exciting - terrific, really - because in addition to the sophisticated storytelling techniques by which it keeps us hooked, it doesn't drag audience sympathies around by the nose, telling us what to think or how to judge the reckless, charismatic protagonist played by Denzel Washington.
  2. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Nov 1, 2012
    90
    Flight is freakishly real; it's one of those big-screen nightmares that will inspire fear-of-flying moviegoers to run home and Google car rental deals and Greyhound schedules.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Nov 1, 2012
    88
    We can quibble about the punitive punchline of John Gatins' script, but keeping complexity aloft for so long makes Flight a miraculous feat.
  4. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Nov 1, 2012
    75
    Flight is a so-so movie with Denzel Washington as a commercial-airline pilot who crash-lands a plane while drunk, high, hung over, and horny. It doesn't do much that you couldn't anticipate just by seeing the trailer - the trailer is more exciting than the movie itself.
  5. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Nov 4, 2012
    75
    It may not be frivolously engaging but it is compelling.
  6. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Nov 1, 2012
    65
    Turns out to be a disappointingly standard addiction story in its second half also serves as a reminder that Hollywood tends to be more invested in these types of self-serious movies than most actual audiences.
  7. Reviewed by: Vadim Rizov
    Oct 16, 2012
    50
    Zemeckis intends to give us a slightly more depraved version of Washington's usual charismatic hero, then pull the rug out from him. But Flight's true downward spiral is its own loss of momentum.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 109
  2. Negative: 10 out of 109
  1. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    As the movie begins you think you know where it is headed, but you (the audience member ) only really have a general sense of direction andAs the movie begins you think you know where it is headed, but you (the audience member ) only really have a general sense of direction and you quickly learn that this screen play and director Robert Zemeckis have a much more involved journey planned. This film exfoliates like an onion to reveal much more of a surprise than you could have anticipated. For once the trailer isn't the best part and it doesn't reveal "all of the good parts." There are a number of great performances by both known veteran actors like Denzel Washington and a bunch of lesser known actors as well. This movie is packed with twist for certain, but they aren't the kind of supernatural twist that are typically overloaded with a generous helping of hyperbole, not this movie is packed with realistic moments that people will be able to identify with. There will most certainly be some Oscar nominations from this film, including perhaps best screen play, best supporting actor and may be best director. Go see this film! Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    This movie is allot better than the trailer. I love the story, big ass's, blow, and booze. GO watch it and you will not be disappointed.This movie is allot better than the trailer. I love the story, big ass's, blow, and booze. GO watch it and you will not be disappointed. Denzel kicks ass. Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2012
    8
    Denzel's rock-solid here (yeah, yeah, what else is new). His performance, the story line, and the subtle message will be appreciated evenDenzel's rock-solid here (yeah, yeah, what else is new). His performance, the story line, and the subtle message will be appreciated even more for those who have battled any addiction problems of their own. Would have reached a 9 in my book had Zemekis not chosen to portray evangelical Christians in a short scene I found insulting and laughably stereotypical. Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2012
    7
    Not oscar worthy in my opinion but a good movie. Makes you never want to take a drink ever again effectively. They just overdo it way tooNot oscar worthy in my opinion but a good movie. Makes you never want to take a drink ever again effectively. They just overdo it way too much. If someone drank that much they would of been dead of blood alcohol poisoning long before the storyline for this movie began. Expand
  5. Jul 20, 2013
    7
    If you're judging this movie purely on the various elements of cinematic categories (such as acting, production value, plot development, etc.)If you're judging this movie purely on the various elements of cinematic categories (such as acting, production value, plot development, etc.) it's an incredible movie. Denzel Washington delivers one of his best performances and that's saying something because he's one of the best there is or has ever been. The supporting cast of Don Cheadle, Kelly Reilly, Bruce Greenwood, and John Goodman is fantastic as well. The special effects were also done incredibly well. The plane crash was impressive and looked amazingly realistic. The movie, while really long, didn't drag either because the plot developed well and the characters felt authentic. So why the just pretty good rating? Because what's the purpose of a movie? To me it is to be entertained and I have always had trouble enjoying a film when the protagonist is such a detestable character, which Washington's was. There was also quite a bit of completely unnecessary nudity. Sure, Nadine Velazquez is absolutely breathtaking but was that opening scene really necessary? It seemed forced and more for shock effect than anything else. Nonetheless, this was still a very good movie and I think most people would enjoy it. Expand
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. IN MY OPINION **MAY CONTAIN SPOIILERS** by CtheTav This film is not what it seems. I expected to see some kind of action epic based on a plane with a drunken pilot trying to save the day. Apparently the trailers lied. What I saw was a story of a man battling addiction and the overarching story of the culture to blame and compensate that society has become used to. Denzel Washington plays the part of an alcoholic pilot struggling to sober up for an enquiry in to the crash seen in the films trailer. The story is suitably dark and shows the lengths people will go to cover their own asses and place the blame somewhere else without going too far i.e. full blown murder conspiracy. Robert Zermeckis seems to get a lot out of Washington who gives possibly his best performance to date and the film manages to tell the story over a longer time frame without resorting to narration which is always a plus in my opinion. The romance in the film seemed to drag on and I felt it didn't really add to the film and took away from the story. I liked the overall disturbing feeling that the film gives off after watching which is a sure fire sign of some kind of emotional investment. Rating 6 out of 10 A fairly thought provoking experience with rather unnecessary portions Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2015
    0
    This movie makes me sick! I highly doubt they let a cocaine snortin drunk put lives in danger every time he flies without a damn drug or bloodThis movie makes me sick! I highly doubt they let a cocaine snortin drunk put lives in danger every time he flies without a damn drug or blood test! Also the "maneuver" he pulled out of his @ss was BS cause it was attempted in real life and everyone died on that plane! Another thing don't portray people who believe in Jesus as fanatics or crazy! They take religion and make drinking and doing drugs much better than worshiping God like it's a much better alternative. That redhead was annoying and stupid as f#ck! She would rather do heroine and suck d#ck for her drugs rather than make a good living doing porn! Her accent bugged the hell out of me and tone down the nudity at the beginning you sick @ssholes! I believe in God but I'm no fanatic or crazy idiot so f#ck you! Expand

See all 109 User Reviews

Trailers