Paramount Pictures | Release Date: November 3, 2006
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 178 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
133
Mixed:
29
Negative:
16
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Flushed Away suffocates nay say-ers.
A very wacky, witty, and downright bizarre idea transformed into a very acceptable film. It's not pretty nor polite, but very watchable.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
homer4presidentMar 28, 2015
It had a great cast and animation, but sadly after a while the dimness and the movie itself gets boring. It had a interesting idea, and it seemed to work for a while, and it was very funny and made me laugh, but it was weird near the end. IIt had a great cast and animation, but sadly after a while the dimness and the movie itself gets boring. It had a interesting idea, and it seemed to work for a while, and it was very funny and made me laugh, but it was weird near the end. I thought it was good, but could've been better. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
BrianS.Feb 11, 2007
I loved it! Following this May's dissapointment of Over The Hedge I thought this film was awesome.I love all the crude jokes , but mainly those screaming and singing slugs, auhhhhhhhhhhhhh,! When I first saw the trailers I thought it I loved it! Following this May's dissapointment of Over The Hedge I thought this film was awesome.I love all the crude jokes , but mainly those screaming and singing slugs, auhhhhhhhhhhhhh,! When I first saw the trailers I thought it would stink, but I was wrong it rocked. The sewer rat was wareing a pair of upside down undearware how crazy is that? I love it and I hope you too. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
grandpajoe6191Oct 4, 2011
"Flushed Away" isn't a great claymation movie. It kinda 'flushs' down the plot with revolving characters and settings. Nevertheless, the film still is a entertaining movie to watch (especially those 007 fans).
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
RogerSmith97Nov 4, 2011
Overall I Loved It! I Just Bought It On DVD Today... I Think More People Should Really Sit Down And Watch It... It's Genuis!
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
4
MovieGuysSep 29, 2013
A movie about rats flushed down a toilet can only go so far without straying from the point. This movie does nothing for me, or film in general, and what is fresh and exciting in "Finding Nemo" and "Ratatouille" (which has rats, too!) isA movie about rats flushed down a toilet can only go so far without straying from the point. This movie does nothing for me, or film in general, and what is fresh and exciting in "Finding Nemo" and "Ratatouille" (which has rats, too!) is bland and recycled here. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
FranzHcriticJul 6, 2014
You'll enjoy it while you watch it; it has enough wit and slapstick to keep it running on its own motor. After you exit the theatre, you'll think of how idiotic and crude it was. At least the British/Australian accents made things funnier, asYou'll enjoy it while you watch it; it has enough wit and slapstick to keep it running on its own motor. After you exit the theatre, you'll think of how idiotic and crude it was. At least the British/Australian accents made things funnier, as they always do/ Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMar 19, 2011
A hilarious movie, a must see for fans of comedies, seriously go out and watch this it's fantastic, you can and will not be disappointed at all, a must see.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
2
PabloR.Nov 3, 2006
Trash!!!!!!! I mean come on.... the beginng is so long, that the actual adventure is about an hour... GARFEILD! This movie wasnt even funny, other movies have done the same things...but better! TRASH!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MarkK.Oct 19, 2007
Snoooooze. Borrrrinnnggg. Your kinds will like while you sleep away the minutes. SKIP THIS ONE PARENTS.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
JacobDec 18, 2013
The story and characters are not the most deep or sophisticated as something like Chicken Run but this film is still a lot of fun. The characters are likeable and charming. The story is flowing and engaging with some nice humor. Additionally,The story and characters are not the most deep or sophisticated as something like Chicken Run but this film is still a lot of fun. The characters are likeable and charming. The story is flowing and engaging with some nice humor. Additionally, there is tons of visual appeal and attention to detail. Aardman takes a simple and cliché story and makes a fun and enjoyable film that is definitely worth checking out. Aardman is studio miles ahead of Dreamworks, which makes it sad that this is their last film with Dreamworks as their films are rather enjoyable. While it’s a shame this film didn’t do well at the Boxoffice and ended Dreamworks’ partnership with Aardman it’s a good film to go out on. Flushed Away is a children’s film with a lot of heart and charm that will appeal to anyone especially animation fans and was more than deserving to get a nomination for best animated film as opposed to Happy Feet. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
sil3nt_nickMar 27, 2013
Hugh Jackman and Kate Winslet have great chemistry together as Roddy and Rita, who make an unlikely friendship defending Rita's hometown in the sewers of England.
As quoted by the many singing slugs, "Poor old Roddy, flushed down his own
Hugh Jackman and Kate Winslet have great chemistry together as Roddy and Rita, who make an unlikely friendship defending Rita's hometown in the sewers of England.
As quoted by the many singing slugs, "Poor old Roddy, flushed down his own potty, Rita can't you find it in your heart to help him?"
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
FreedomFightersNov 6, 2016
Once upon a time, Aardman Animations made brilliant films that were distributed by DreamWorks Animation. Then "Flushed Away" came out, lost DreamWorks $109 million dollars, and ended their deal with Aardman prematurely. Box office woes aside,Once upon a time, Aardman Animations made brilliant films that were distributed by DreamWorks Animation. Then "Flushed Away" came out, lost DreamWorks $109 million dollars, and ended their deal with Aardman prematurely. Box office woes aside, "Flushed Away" was a bold step for Aardman: where all of their previous films were stop-motion, this film was made entirely in CGI. The result? A well-animated, clever, funny, and overall enjoyable (and severely underrated) animated film. Sure, it's not Aardman's best, but it's certainly well-worth watching if you love a good animated film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
GameWarpZoneJun 16, 2015
Ever since this film came I out I have adored its memorable characters, songs, references and storyline. While maybe its no E.T., Flushed Away is one of the greatest animated films of all time and I strongly encourage you to buy it as it isEver since this film came I out I have adored its memorable characters, songs, references and storyline. While maybe its no E.T., Flushed Away is one of the greatest animated films of all time and I strongly encourage you to buy it as it is quite cheap nowadays.

-GWZ, Signing Off (Not Really!)
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
CineAutoctonoDec 5, 2015
Flushed Away mice either a film designed to sewer version of London, amazing production design , and very good script, and you can not miss the session improved Aardman movement has been buenisima really
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeJan 31, 2016
Enjoyable and decent from DreamWorks Animation and Aardman Animations. While the story, it's about a rat who gets flushed down the toilet, isn't that interesting, the movie should be that enjoyable to us all.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
gameguardian21Jun 19, 2016
Flushed away is another successful movie from DreamWorks animation. It isn't as good as other dreamworks films like kung fu panda, and shrek, but it's still a pass thanks to the adventure our heroes have that can bring a classic feel in a way.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DrakeD.Dec 1, 2006
Wow. what a great movie!!! reccomend it to everyone. i usually HATE movies in this category, im more into gory-horror, but i LOVED this film. awesome. 10/10 great story, awesome comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcoJan 4, 2007
Brilliant masterpiece! One of the best animated picture of the last 5 years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChristopherW.Feb 20, 2007
I have not been remarkably impressed by any animated film since 'The Incredibles.' 'Cars' was good, but certainly the weakest entry from the highly regarded studio Pixar. I suppose it was too much to hope that Pixar would I have not been remarkably impressed by any animated film since 'The Incredibles.' 'Cars' was good, but certainly the weakest entry from the highly regarded studio Pixar. I suppose it was too much to hope that Pixar would set a standard by which all other animation studios would seek to meet. This British/American hybrid has moments of wit and rib tickling humor, but as a whole, the plot just sort of meanders about aimlessly. Aspects of the story are quite original, but we have seen all of these characters before in other incarnations. The trend in animated films is moving ever so intentionally to an uncomfortable mishmash of potty humor and unintrusive unmemorable characterizations directed solely at young children. We get PG rated content that is neither completely appropriate for small children, and not at all satisfying or meaningful for adults. Is it any wonder that so many of these kind of films see tepid box office returns? 'Flushed Away' may be a slight step above most other recent films from this genre, but it could very well prove to be a disappointment nonetheless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RodG.Feb 20, 2007
It was okay. I enjoy watching my kids laugh and they did when they watched this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatrickH.Feb 23, 2007
Fun and Entertaining movie! Also well known actors and actress lend there voice for this fun movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JeffC.Mar 1, 2007
Pretty bland all in all, but the singing slugs are very funny. Another lameish kiddie viddie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StephenD.Mar 9, 2007
This movie has more charm, imagination and funny jokes than recent animated adventures. Plus a little romance. It grows on you with repeated viewings, especially since there are lots of little details you notice for the first time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SomeGuySep 2, 2007
This was a very funny movie. Even though I'm not a child or anything, I found it enjoyable because of the dialogue (it was OK), and the animation, which was fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichelleC.Nov 1, 2006
This was fairly entertaining and quite funny. Jackman and Winslet have awesome chemistry just with their voices. Not sure why frogs are chasing rodents???
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewR.Nov 3, 2006
One of the best animated movies I have ever seen. Right up there with the Incredibles. Truly hilarious. I just came from the movie and I want to see it again right now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PeteT.Nov 6, 2006
The fast paced nature of this movie does not make it a classic or anything close but the ingenious script and the hilarious and orginal soundtrack covers and intellegent design make the movie worth appraise. Hugh Jackman and Kate Winslet are The fast paced nature of this movie does not make it a classic or anything close but the ingenious script and the hilarious and orginal soundtrack covers and intellegent design make the movie worth appraise. Hugh Jackman and Kate Winslet are of course funny to see as clay figures but they are very cute and well cast. The underworld adventure and funny jokes make this cute movie lovable and at times joyous. A great family film to see when your bored, but still short of classics like The Incredibles and Shrek. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CollinW.Nov 6, 2006
Never too annoying so the adults can get some laughs too. It has some european joke references and some moments in which the characters open up and come alive. The movie as a whole is very enjoyable despite its fast paced flaws it is still Never too annoying so the adults can get some laughs too. It has some european joke references and some moments in which the characters open up and come alive. The movie as a whole is very enjoyable despite its fast paced flaws it is still very brillant in its diverse character arrangement and its strange and annoying jokes. I would recommend it for a family viewing but not for a birthday party when the kids want to watch a classic. Stick with Shrek but make sure you rent this one along the way for a look. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HannahB.Nov 6, 2006
The Best Animated Movie of 2006. Should get the oscar in that catagory. My cousin and I could not stop laughing. Smart Story and really intresting as well as overall brilliant humor that relates to a diverse array of people and generations to come.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChadS.Mar 1, 2007
"Flushed Away" gets it half-right. After making Billy Idol sound cool for the first time in two decades, the film does an adept job at showing how a feral rat(Andy Serkis as Spike) seems out of place in posh trappings. Because "Flushed Away" "Flushed Away" gets it half-right. After making Billy Idol sound cool for the first time in two decades, the film does an adept job at showing how a feral rat(Andy Serkis as Spike) seems out of place in posh trappings. Because "Flushed Away" is aimed at kids, the film hides the truth about Roddy(Hugh Jackman); he's probably an awful snob. When our domestic rat is flushed into the sewer city(read: ghetto), Roddy encounters Rita(Kate Winslet) and never gets to interact with the wild rats. "Flushed Away" turns into a sort of "Raiders of the Lost Ark" adventure, and any examination of differing socio-economic classes are flushed away. The backstory for The Toad(Ian McKellen) has the sort of sophistication that's missing from the main narrative. The Toad is so obviously a basket case(and sympathetic, thanks to McKellen), you sort of wish his plan for a holocaust panned out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AlisonL.Nov 6, 2006
Cute and Funny. Not unforgettable or brillant just...cute and funny .
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CollinW.Nov 6, 2006
Never too annoying so the adults can get some laughs too. It has some european joke references and some moments in which the characters open up and come alive. The movie as a whole is very enjoyable despite its fast paced flaws it is still Never too annoying so the adults can get some laughs too. It has some european joke references and some moments in which the characters open up and come alive. The movie as a whole is very enjoyable despite its fast paced flaws it is still very brillant in its diverse character arrangement and its strange and annoying jokes. I would recommend it for a family viewing but not for a birthday party when the kids want to watch a classic. Stick with Shrek but make sure you rent this one along the way for a look. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarkB.Dec 12, 2006
Following the box office disappointment of this animated feature (you don't have to be Jimmy the Greek to correctly bet that viewers young and old would rather watch dancing penguins than rats flushed down toilets) it was announced that Following the box office disappointment of this animated feature (you don't have to be Jimmy the Greek to correctly bet that viewers young and old would rather watch dancing penguins than rats flushed down toilets) it was announced that Aardman Animation would not be working with DreamWorks Pictures again. Here's one more example of a Hollywood breakup whose causes are so easy to explain that almost any average, casual moviegoer and Entertainment Weekly reader can temporarily claim amateur divorce-lawyer status. Aardman's previous full-length features, Chicken Run and Wallace & Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit, succeeded beautifully with abundant charm, dry British wit, attention to character that was almost as painstaking as their shot-by-shot work with hand-crafted plasticine figures, and GENERALIZED observation and parody of specific movie genres (the P.O.W. escape movie, the horror film). DreamWorks, on the other hand, specializes in loud, often exhausting, frequently crass CGI jokefests that too often substitute for real humor or observation an endless fusillade of pop-culture references that serve no other purpose than to inform us that the writers watched the same TV and movies and listened to the same Top 40 radio that the rest of us did. (Their good stuff--the Shreks--still comes off as a bit forced and overbearing; Madagascar and Shark Tale are well-nigh unwatchable, and their lone gem, this year's earlier Over the Hedge, is either an example of its makers reining in their worst, most excessive impulses and genuinely learning from Pixar and Chuck Jones or the ultimate illustration of the spaghetti-on-the-wall theory.) When DreamWorks stays in the background and lets Aardman thematically and stylistically dominate, as happened with Chicken and Wallace, all is well and the Stars and Stripes and the Union Jack can fly side by side in peace and friendship; when DreamWorks takes over too much of the editorial content, which I strongly suspect happened here, you get this thing. Flushed Away, the story of a Roddy, a poor little rich rat who, when his owners go on holiday, inadvertently gets sucked into the sewers and discovers a whole community of one-liner-spouting creatures he never knew existed, works on the DreamWorks theory that no gag or background throwaway is too forced or unfunny to land on the cutting-room floor and adds a corollary of its own: when in doubt, slam the hero in his little tiny balls. (This movie is in doubt a LOT.) I wasn't surprised to learn, while watching the end credits, that Flushed Away's five (!!) writers included two sitcom pros, Frasier's Christopher Lloyd and Joe Keenan--in fact, that goes a long way toward explaining why one of the film's villains, the crude, lazy bully Sid, has a personality so similar to Daphne's worthless brother on that show. But then, even the stuff that works in Flushed Away is disappointingly derivative: the best gag, predicated on seeing something you think is something but is really something else, is a recycling of a convulsively funny sequence in Caddyshack, and even this movie's celebrated singing slugs call forth too many memories of the infinitely more charming singing mice in the original Babe. Speaking of which, even Aardman's trademark character design (give everybody big, bulging eyes and stereotypically British buck teeth) works against them here: if you're going to make an animated film about VERMIN, for crying out loud, you'd better make them cuter than Pixie and Dixie combined! The final, surprise bit involving Sid really DOES work, and it's hard to completely dislike any film whose suspenseful climax is built from the urban legend involving toilet use during the Super Bowl and other big sporting events, but overall, Flushed Away's failure was set long ago when Aardman made its Faustian decision to eschew its traditional, Harryhausen-like approach and hop on the CGI expresss. If they did it because, as some of their representatives have explained, water is too difficult to animate the old way, then let's hope Aardman's next project takes place in the Sahara Desert. As Flushed Away proves, their movies work when they're completely TOUCHED by human hands. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RubbaManisCoolMar 16, 2007
Wasn't really funny. Used too many of the same jokes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexApr 17, 2007
Very, very funny. after about the third or fourth slug scene, i was loving Flushed Away. sure, there are the typical kiddie movie plot requirements, such as the cheesy (no pun intended) love story between the two main protagonists, but thereVery, very funny. after about the third or fourth slug scene, i was loving Flushed Away. sure, there are the typical kiddie movie plot requirements, such as the cheesy (no pun intended) love story between the two main protagonists, but there is more than enough grown-up homor to keep adults, and even some jaded teens, entertained throughout. personally, i loved the French ninja frogs. they had the best scenes in the whole movie. overall, 8.0 out of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
FuturedirectorJul 19, 2016
Flushed Away doesn't show an special message and there's no moral enough to be a familiar film. But the great comedy, the adventure, suspense, likable characters and catching story-telling, makes this a really nice animated film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews