Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: February 8, 2008
4.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 83 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
27
Mixed:
15
Negative:
41
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
MorganFJul 20, 2008
Totally laughless. The chemistry between McConaughey and Hudson wasnt there. It totally relied on McConaugheys bod (hes shirtless 80% of the time). More action than a romcom.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
JeffB.Feb 7, 2008
From the first five minutes it was clear how bad the rest of the movie was going to be. The writing was poor, the plot predictable and acting ok. Hudson's tan looked a little awkward too...It just amazes me how these movies ever get From the first five minutes it was clear how bad the rest of the movie was going to be. The writing was poor, the plot predictable and acting ok. Hudson's tan looked a little awkward too...It just amazes me how these movies ever get made. I wouldn't waste my money on this movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
It's nice to see movies try every once in a while - with this movie it appears that is asking too much. "Fool's Gold" is probably referring to all the money this movie cheated from hapless moviegoers during its opening weekend. If I had toIt's nice to see movies try every once in a while - with this movie it appears that is asking too much. "Fool's Gold" is probably referring to all the money this movie cheated from hapless moviegoers during its opening weekend. If I had to guess, all the characters on camera were made to be stupid to help distract from the stupidity of the people behind the camera (but believe me, it's hard to miss...) Alright, I'm done pummeling this movie. :) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
BrianC.Feb 10, 2008
This movie is painful to watch. The fact that I was dragged into this movie with the likes of "Michael Clayton", 'There Will Be Blood", "No Country For Old Men", and "Juno" all on the NOW PLAYING list made this even more excruciating.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
DeeO.Jun 26, 2008
This movie sucked -- I hated it! I was hoping for the same chemistry that sizzled between MM & KH as in How to Lose a Guy, but was totally disappointed to find that their sizzled just simply fizzeled on my flat screen!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
[Anonymous]Feb 7, 2008
I liked this movie a lot more when it was called How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ColinB.Feb 8, 2008
Edward, I know you're joking -- and it's not funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FantasyFeb 8, 2008
Just dreadful. They just keep cranking out this garbage. It will be gone within two weeks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AliceFeb 11, 2008
Can we give minus numbers. REFUND!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
J.H.Feb 11, 2008
Matthew has only been in two good movies...dazed and confused and a time to kill. he just keeps going downhill making one terrible romantic comedy after another. another Hollywood sellout just trying to get a fat check.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JFeb 11, 2008
This is terrible. The plot and dialouge are honestly the worst i have come across in ages. I could not even count how many time they relied on Mathew getting hit in the head with shovels or other items as a method of forwarding plot. This This is terrible. The plot and dialouge are honestly the worst i have come across in ages. I could not even count how many time they relied on Mathew getting hit in the head with shovels or other items as a method of forwarding plot. This film truly has no redeeming features, I dont have a clue how it ever got made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SuleimanMFeb 11, 2008
Read the score and use your imagination to think of what I'm trying to say.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MikeF.Feb 11, 2008
this movie is the classic stinker, would hope that Matt M reads his reviews and that smirk is wiped off his conceited face...but he and co star will make a ton of money off the dopes that watch this drivel.....geez...save your money for the this movie is the classic stinker, would hope that Matt M reads his reviews and that smirk is wiped off his conceited face...but he and co star will make a ton of money off the dopes that watch this drivel.....geez...save your money for the good stuff, mostly rare movies that once in a while are worth seeing on the big screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DarkMageFeb 15, 2008
Don't be fooled by the "treasure" and sense of adventure. This was the worst movie of the year. I counted TWO minor laughs in the audience. It fails miserably as a comedy and was completely boring. This was the Valentines date for me Don't be fooled by the "treasure" and sense of adventure. This was the worst movie of the year. I counted TWO minor laughs in the audience. It fails miserably as a comedy and was completely boring. This was the Valentines date for me wife and I and she fell asleep. After she said I should have taken her to see Rambo -- she would have enjoyed it more! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AnjoiD.Feb 15, 2008
"Fool's Gold" - The title refers only to the writers and producers. Those fools are going to get their own gold by scamming all the suckers who paid money to watch this terrible terrible movie. Don't even rent. Instead, download "Fool's Gold" - The title refers only to the writers and producers. Those fools are going to get their own gold by scamming all the suckers who paid money to watch this terrible terrible movie. Don't even rent. Instead, download it, use the disc as a coaster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KevinL.Feb 19, 2008
This is by far the worst movie I've ever seen in my entire life period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SteveOJun 4, 2008
whoever actually liked this movie belongs in a mental institution.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AnonymousSep 3, 2008
They have the potential to be good actors but Matt and Kate have clearly become those type of douchebag actors who now rely on theor looks, need I mention their other really really bad romantic comedies they have ever made?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BillGFeb 14, 2009
More completely mind numbing garbage. If my friends werent such dorks for having this , I never would have let myself been tortured like that. When this kind of hollywood schlock ceases to exist the the world will have improved.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
CameraBounceGodFeb 22, 2015
I liked how mconahay does the look down at something and even though you cant really see him you know it him....but i don't like little tricks where its almost like the thing he just found on an immediate second look isn't actually what hesI liked how mconahay does the look down at something and even though you cant really see him you know it him....but i don't like little tricks where its almost like the thing he just found on an immediate second look isn't actually what hes been looking for....I also don't believe hes that happy about it....next is kate hudson managing to look in a mirror and be shallow without me actually getting pissed which is probably the best scene in the movie im guessing....next mconahay shoots a man in the foot and is under water for an interesting second...almost threw up watching two retarded gay guys...not sure what they're doing in here....i guess it is beautifully enough shot to be all doctored up for blue rays of which i've only scene harry potter....its fine to get divorced by yourself....mconahay seems to actually be able to make somethings funny...he gets hit in the head from the trailer is good....Sutherland plays a weird father to an uninterested stuck up girl..."try to keep it under 50 thousand you impossible girl all you have to be is asstastic so this whole seen doesn't seem out of place....But one could say that most female actresses other than Michele Phiefer, Trinity, and robin wright are attractive....I can't think of more.....its like they almost want us to notice that the daughter is being particularly rude, they hold the camera on her long enough for that thought to register in my opinion....the camera gets all excited around her ass of course...hence my username....still it is boring dialogue so why not this movie as well...Anyway, .who says bimbo ever? who does an almost stab a vagina scene...lol whatever...can you even dive at night there? not much of an adventure...I think that everything to be said..- JRA Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews