For a Good Time, Call...

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 4, 2014
    4
    Quite an interesting premise, which unfortunately, fell a tad flat in the final act. Ari Graynor is certainly a comedienne to keep our eyes on--but certainly not amidst all this raunchiness.
  2. Mar 10, 2013
    8
    This is a funny movie with a decent amount of heart. This film could have been horrible like other raunchy comedies have been over the last couple years, but it's not because of the two lead actresses along with a couple of well placed cameos.
  3. Dec 23, 2015
    7
    In recent years, the direction of female comedies has taken a turn for the better. It was always believed that a comedy, featuring a mostly female cast, would only work as a buddy comedy. No one ever thought that women would ever be able to successful pull off a raunchy comedy, until Bridesmaids came along and changed all that. For A Good Time, Call... is from the same writers andIn recent years, the direction of female comedies has taken a turn for the better. It was always believed that a comedy, featuring a mostly female cast, would only work as a buddy comedy. No one ever thought that women would ever be able to successful pull off a raunchy comedy, until Bridesmaids came along and changed all that. For A Good Time, Call... is from the same writers and producers as Bridesmaids and may even be funnier. The story begins with Lauren (Lauren Anne Miller) being dumped by her long time fiancee. On her own, Lauren can't afford the upscale apartment she's been living in, and is forced to move in with Katie, a promiscuous, pill popping OCD, who she'd only met once before, at a party, where Katie threw up on her. At first, the hostility is off the charts, but when Lauren loses her dream job, she is forced to help Katie run her business, a phone sex line. This film is not for the faint of heart, as it is very raunchy, to the point of shocking even me, someone who thinks they've seen it all. While this may seem like a great thing, the truth is, as with most single themed comedies, the longer it goes, the less funny it gets. At first, seeing the things these girls were saying and the people they were talking to was hilarious, but after an hour of this film, it just really wasn't all the funny anymore. Both the female leads are terrific and they are the reason this film works. For A Good Time, Call... is very raunchy and very funny, but it has one centralized theme and doesn't deviate from it much at all. If not for the amazing young ladies who star in it, this film would have got tiresome a lot more quickly then it did. For a good time watch this movie, it's way out there, but some parts are truly hysterical. Expand
  4. Sep 3, 2012
    7
    Surprisingly, the writing is fresh, and Ari Graynor is at her comic best here. Don't overthink it - you know it's going to be fluffy fun, and it is. Check it out.
  5. Nov 13, 2014
    6
    "For a Good Time, Call ..." 10 Scale Rating: 6.5 (Decent) ...

    The Good: Despite it's premise and content, it was actually a charming film. Ari Graynor has a breakout performance and the cast as a whole does a solid job. Genuinely amusing for the most part. The Bad: The end is a little too tidy and very VERY rushed. It just sort of ends after dragging on for the last 20 minutes, which
    "For a Good Time, Call ..." 10 Scale Rating: 6.5 (Decent) ...

    The Good: Despite it's premise and content, it was actually a charming film. Ari Graynor has a breakout performance and the cast as a whole does a solid job. Genuinely amusing for the most part.

    The Bad: The end is a little too tidy and very VERY rushed. It just sort of ends after dragging on for the last 20 minutes, which really brings down what was otherwise a good movie.
    Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2012
    7
    For a Good Time Call, wow, good movie, have much funny situations, and much funny lines, an interesting trama, with a great development, and good performances. I consider that For a Good Time Call is a good movie.
  7. Apr 1, 2015
    8
    FOR A GOOD TIME CALL is one of those buoyant lovely films about friendship that just totally thrill me. It's also really dirty and funny. Try to ignore the 3rd act required conflict moment and you'll love it! And Ari Graynor is sublime.
  8. Jan 26, 2013
    8
    I think the movie was hilarious making a phone-sex type of movie instead of a XXX commercial on Playboy TV. Very raunchy, more like Zach and Miri Make A Porno or Striptease. But it's sex first, candy later. I didn't see the movie, but it's worth a buy. I was wondering if Director Kevin Smith is watching in retrospect.
  9. Aug 17, 2013
    7
    I wasn't expecting much from this film, I wasn't even going to watch it but For A Good Time, Call... actually turned out to be a pretty decent comedy that put a smile on my face time and time again. Much of that is down to the subject matter, smutty raunchy sex humour will always be funny to my juvenile side. Credit needs to also be given to the leading pair, Lauren Miller and Ari Graynor.I wasn't expecting much from this film, I wasn't even going to watch it but For A Good Time, Call... actually turned out to be a pretty decent comedy that put a smile on my face time and time again. Much of that is down to the subject matter, smutty raunchy sex humour will always be funny to my juvenile side. Credit needs to also be given to the leading pair, Lauren Miller and Ari Graynor. Miller (Seth Rogen's wife) co-wrote the film and Graynor is brilliantly cast as the Katie, the imposing, raunchy alpha-female masking vulnerability. I don't think the film would be as funny without her. Considering the female writing team and cast the film certainly rivals, but not quite beats, stand-out female comedy Bridesmaids.

    Justin Long plays an over the top gay friend and cameo's from Rogen and Kevin Smith are among the film's highlights.

    Short, funny and with predictable heart in the final third, For A Good Time, Call... is worth checking out.
    Expand
  10. Sep 1, 2012
    2
    Campy to a fault, For a Good Time, Call... takes an unorthodox subject, phone sex, and lays it on top of a plot which checks off every single cliché in film about friendship. The two protagonists were flatter than cardboard cutouts, introduced more as caricatures than characters. The only exception was Justin Long's character who's quirkiness stole our attention every time he was onCampy to a fault, For a Good Time, Call... takes an unorthodox subject, phone sex, and lays it on top of a plot which checks off every single cliché in film about friendship. The two protagonists were flatter than cardboard cutouts, introduced more as caricatures than characters. The only exception was Justin Long's character who's quirkiness stole our attention every time he was on screen. A story with no struggle, and no point, dictated by the horrible soundtrack. Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Mike McCahill
    Nov 4, 2012
    60
    The dialogue, penned by Miller with Katie Anne Naylon, is subversively salty: surpassing even those Judd Apatow comedies to which it's indebted, this is almost certainly the filthiest movie ever to bear the Universal logo.
  2. Reviewed by: Josh Winning
    Oct 27, 2012
    60
    All right, it's not up there with "Bridesmaids" but, thanks to a game Graynor (here channelling a young Bette Midler), a revolving door of cameos and some gloriously smutty pillow talk, For A Good Time delivers, yes, exactly that.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Sep 14, 2012
    0
    Save the money you might spend for a ticket to see For a Good Time, Call... and just read a dive bar's restroom wall for free. That's the sub-level of comedy here, with a litany of crude sexual euphemisms and phallic images passed off as jokes.