Universal Pictures | Release Date: April 18, 2008
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 252 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
201
Mixed:
24
Negative:
27
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
heyitsmegrif4Dec 31, 2011
Jason Segal and Mila Kunis have just enough chemistry to almost pull off this sporadically funny, raunchy comedy. Forgetting Sarah Marshall is funny, but not on the verge of entertaining. I give this movie 58%.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
RalphhM.Apr 19, 2008
Didn't really think the lead guy was funny.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
DanaM.Apr 21, 2008
Borderline rental versus see-it-in-the-theatre movie. If you like numerous one-second flashes of Segals private part, and the incessant barrage of sex themes, then you might enjoy this movie. Otherwise, rent it.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
4
WalterApr 22, 2008
Very surprised at the score up there. This was very subpar as a comedy. I walked out on it, not because it was that dreadful, but rather because my expectations were set so high and I was gravely disappointed. This story is about as Very surprised at the score up there. This was very subpar as a comedy. I walked out on it, not because it was that dreadful, but rather because my expectations were set so high and I was gravely disappointed. This story is about as predictable as one can imagine. Beyond that, the Judd Apatow gang makes scoring incredibly beautiful women seem like anything a pasty, pale chubster can do with ease. So why is this character so tortured to lose his hot girlfriend? He is shown in bed with a series of stunning women right after his breakup. I also found the repetition of cut shots of the main character weeping...on the balcony, on the floor, on his couch, as he slaughters a pig, etc. as being way too overused as a fallback joke when there was too much dead story-telling. Not only does our protagonist end up with an equally stunning new mate, he does so with ease and without missing a beat....so what is the title about again? Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
4
ShawnMApr 22, 2008
Kind of boring. Not funny enough for the theater. Rent it. Only gave 4 because his new girl is SO SEXY.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
KevinApr 27, 2008
Ehh.... nothing special. Had a feeling it wasn't going to live up to Apatow's previous offerings. Definite rental material here. On the way out of the theater it will not be difficult to forget you saw "Sarah Marshall".
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
GeorgeFJun 15, 2008
The movie was moderately entertaining but not worthy of the rave reviews. It is basically a romantic comedy for women with offensive material thrown in for the guys. It should be a big boost for Mila Kunis, but will damage Kristen Bell. The The movie was moderately entertaining but not worthy of the rave reviews. It is basically a romantic comedy for women with offensive material thrown in for the guys. It should be a big boost for Mila Kunis, but will damage Kristen Bell. The director must hate her. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
PaulBOct 12, 2008
If you're tempted to rent this move ... forget it. Not one character in the lot your can like. The main character is a whining slob.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
6
RickO.Apr 18, 2008
It's ok...Nothing to laugh about really. For a comedy, it really lacks the yucks and laughs necessary to be a successful comedy. Not as good as Superbad, and better than knocked up. It's a definite rental.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AMovieCriticApr 19, 2008
I'm a huge Judd Apatow fan, I really liked Knocked up and Superbad, I think they've got a distinct style of humor and really just tell great and funny stories with excellent characters. Sarah Marshall's got a lot of that same I'm a huge Judd Apatow fan, I really liked Knocked up and Superbad, I think they've got a distinct style of humor and really just tell great and funny stories with excellent characters. Sarah Marshall's got a lot of that same humor in it but it's surrounded in a romantic comedy that just feels kinda...meh. Scenes seem to abruptly cut into the next ones, jokes happen with no real payoff, (the coral joke,) side characters (especially Jonah Hill as a stalker/waiter,) are entertaining but really serve no purpose.... It's a good movie, helped a lot by Mila Kunis (Meg from Family Guy,) who'se one of the hottest actresses I've ever seen (she proves she can really act, too) but it's a little slow-paced and the main character's depression starts to wear thin. It's a fun and funny movie and a good date movie but the script needed a bit of work and the movie felt like it was over-edited. A lot of the lines from the commercials, too, weren't in the movie. I hate it when that happens. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JenniferFApr 23, 2008
There is a great review of Forgetting Sarah Marshall by two old school Hollywood veterans in their 80's --they have different viewpoints but are smart funny and give a fresh perspective-check it out go to YouTube and type in Reel There is a great review of Forgetting Sarah Marshall by two old school Hollywood veterans in their 80's --they have different viewpoints but are smart funny and give a fresh perspective-check it out go to YouTube and type in Reel Geezers you'll find this and other reviews there Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndrewHApr 28, 2008
To people who say things like "This seems like a very good movie" without actually seeing it. This is a REVIEW not a speculation. DON'T DO THAT. It is a good movie. Kinda. If you can get thru all the "man parts"
0 of 0 users found this helpful