Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    May 11, 2011
    75
    The bottom line: I am convinced this message is true.
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    May 20, 2011
    75
    A middling documentary but a magnificent indictment.
  3. Reviewed by: Sean O Connell
    May 19, 2011
    50
    Forks is a plate of vegetables. It's high on nutritional value but absent any pleasure.
  4. Reviewed by: Loren King
    May 19, 2011
    75
    The film delivers a concise history of Western eating habits, with graphs and charts punctuated by entertaining real-life experiences.
  5. Reviewed by: Carrie Rickey
    May 19, 2011
    75
    Its surgical candor makes Forks Over Knives a little bit like a food horror movie.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    May 13, 2011
    60
    Hey, isn't summer a good time for a salad?
  7. Reviewed by: David Lewis
    May 12, 2011
    75
    A must-see movie that could have used a sharper edge.
  8. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    May 12, 2011
    70
    Depending on your own relationship with food, the pro-vegetarian documentary Forks Over Knives may be an inspiring call to action, a tedious bit of propaganda or a 90-minute guilt trip.
  9. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    May 12, 2011
    30
    If you're curious about the whole-foods movement, try Michael Pollan's book "In Defense of Food," which addresses the subject from a wider variety of perspectives and does so in a far less insulting manner than this extended infomercial, with its muzak score, entire sequences lifted from network TV news, and bar graphs illustrating every other scene.
  10. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    May 12, 2011
    40
    Frankly, Mr. Shankly, I've seen Morrissey videos that are more life-changing than this well-intentioned but ultimately yawn-inducing barrage of factoids.
  11. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    May 10, 2011
    50
    I'm sure there is much to be learned from Forks Over Knives (the title means fruits and veggies can be forked, but anything you cut with a knife is lethal), but what does it have to do with real life?
  12. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    May 7, 2011
    70
    One of the more convincing, radical and politically volatile documentaries to come out of the burgeoning good-food genre.
  13. Reviewed by: Jeannette Catsoulis
    May 6, 2011
    50
    While at times fascinating, this trudge through statistics, graphs and grainy film of cholesterol bubbles and arterial plaque may challenge even the most determined viewer.
  14. Reviewed by: V.A. Musetto
    May 6, 2011
    38
    The preachy movie is hardly worth the hassle and money required to see it in a theater. Better to download it or wait for it to pop up on TV.
  15. Reviewed by: Kevin Thomas
    May 5, 2011
    80
    Richly inspiring and informative documentary.
  16. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    May 4, 2011
    83
    So scrupulously researched and argued that only a fool would ignore its findings.
  17. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    May 3, 2011
    60
    Some of the data is less convincing than Fulkerson would have us believe, but nothing trumps the clear eyes and shiny coats of a trio of newly minted vegans.
  18. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    May 3, 2011
    60
    Fulkerson's out to tweak the medical establishment, as well as offer dietary tips, and his film makes effective use of case studies and graphs to build a convincing, if inevitably simplified, argument for better living through fresh produce.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. The people in the movie all achieve some big health improvements, like lowering their blood pressure, lowering their cholesterol, and managing their diabetes without medication. Which is all the result of losing a lot of weight, every single person in it loses between 20 and 100 pounds.

    They lose the weight through exercise such as biking, jogging, weight lifting. And from changing their diet to eat foods that are more filling and contain fewer calories, like vegetables and soup.

    But the movie misses those important facts because it is so focused on convincing you that meat and animal products are bad, and that vegetarianism is the only answer. It even has a scene near the end that takes place at a farm for abused animals to try and convince you not to eat them, or drink their milk.

    Almost every graph and study used is twisted to support their vegan propaganda. Take the country occupied by the nazis for example, before and after the war the people there had high rates of death from heart attacks and cancer. During the war those rates drop significantly. The movie would have you believe the nazis took all of their meat products, and that is the major cause. But the nazis also took the people's grains and vegetables and every other food source they could. The people living there would have had a very low calorie diet during occupation, and would have lost a lot of weight.

    They also make the ridiculous claim that milk causes cancer, because they fed their lab rats milk protein and that gave every one of them cancer. By that logic, wouldn't chocolate be poisonous to humans? It is poisonous to dogs after all.

    The real enemy in our diets is calorie dense foods that don't fill us up, like rice and pasta. Or drinks that use a lot of sugar or corn syrup to achieve their sweetness. If you stopped consuming that, and ate more vegetables with leaner meats like chicken, turkey, or salmon. You would achieve even better results than the people in the movie.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    I was already a vegetarian for 4 months before watching this movie, not because of the health reasons, but because I started to become awareI was already a vegetarian for 4 months before watching this movie, not because of the health reasons, but because I started to become aware of the great suffering endured by the animals that we rear and massacre as if slaves. We pretend that they are lesser beings, incapable of human emotions, and ignore the realities of the industry. That said, this movie made me become vegan. I am loving the new way of life I have now, which consists of learning and discovering how to eat close to the ground, and avoid all animal products. This movie really sheds light on the health reasons why ditching animal products is the way to go. Most people would revolt at the idea of giving up animal based foods because it is so ingrained in western culture and diet. Once you wade through that feeling, you'll begin to realize that, if you live in America, there is no need to eat animals. If you live somewhere where that is your only food source, then it is acceptable as it is necessary. Anyway, watch this movie. A friend recommended it to my fiance, and she recommended it to me. Now I am showing my brother. This movie could save your life. Full Review »
  3. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    I am 60 years old and started the Forks over Knives program 2 months ago to the day. I have lost 20 lbs. and have stayed full in the process.I am 60 years old and started the Forks over Knives program 2 months ago to the day. I have lost 20 lbs. and have stayed full in the process. I have never been a vegetable lover, but the wonderful recipes have changed that. The meals are very satisfying and fun to prepare. Taking care of myself has become a great new hobby for me. I got started by watching one of the many free Forks over Knives videos. The only money that I spent was for one of the recipe book at a local book store. Great for anyone serious about their health and weight. Full Review »