Paramount Pictures | Release Date: July 6, 1994
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1036 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
805
Mixed:
27
Negative:
204
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
FranciscoQ.Dec 4, 2003
Excellent....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexJun 1, 2008
One of, if not the most inspiring movie I have ever seen. Has everything you could ask for from a film and more.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
FranciscoQ.Dec 4, 2003
Excellent....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ToniCOct 12, 2005
This movie is so good that I nearly know the whole movie, and its only good movies that I ever remember.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
MattC.Oct 6, 2005
Can it be more overrated? Hanks lays up his performance as a dolt. When will people learn that playing a simpleton or disabled person is not always cause for accolades?
1 of 7 users found this helpful
10
HenrikL.Jan 11, 2006
A great movie! Tom Hanks is an exellent actor and his performance as playing disabled is very good. As we go through Gump`s life, we also go trough modern American history!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MohithKOct 11, 2006
Good narration of the movie and an in depth feeling brought about in each character. The characters playing around had also been perfectly synchronized with Gump's life like Lt. Dan Taylor, a wonderful acting performance by Tom and Dan.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
StefanH.Mar 8, 2006
Just the very best movie ever made, apart from "The Godfather". Everybody rating it below 10 is not capable of understanding this movie.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
OviJ.May 27, 2006
A beautiful movie...by far the best i've seen yet... historically accurate (at least in most places) and has a great ending..though sad Everyone should watch this movie and give credit to its actors...especially Tom Hanks.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ShaneK.Aug 3, 2006
Simply the best acting performance in the history of filmmaking.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RaikL.Sep 25, 2006
great great great, in English even more than in German.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeJ.Dec 17, 2007
I think that the people who dont like this movie arent really watching it like they should be. this movie brings together so much of what makes America, America. we have liberals and conservatives, good and bad, black and white, innocents I think that the people who dont like this movie arent really watching it like they should be. this movie brings together so much of what makes America, America. we have liberals and conservatives, good and bad, black and white, innocents and guilt, and that is what makes us who we are. by seeing our world through these views we find out who we are and what we believe in. so, if you don't like this movie, try watching it one more time and look for a deeper meaning. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
AnshuR.Oct 28, 2007
it will be a sin to vote this movie any less than 10. Forrest Gump is a character any man on this earth can relate to. its a masterpiece of mankind's creation. there is not a single moment you will feel that you want to have a break it will be a sin to vote this movie any less than 10. Forrest Gump is a character any man on this earth can relate to. its a masterpiece of mankind's creation. there is not a single moment you will feel that you want to have a break while watching the movie. its filled with emotions, stupidity with humor and it touches the viewer's souls. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
DerekM.May 28, 2007
This captivating look at some of the most profound modern American history and pop-culture demonstrates a true storytelling experience, and expresses the idea that any one man can have a great impact on the world without the knowledge of This captivating look at some of the most profound modern American history and pop-culture demonstrates a true storytelling experience, and expresses the idea that any one man can have a great impact on the world without the knowledge of doing so, and that intelligence is not a lack of wisdom, or of character, and if possible, the child-like innocence captured by Gump's obvious handicaps make him more of a compassionate and loving human being than any lying and big-headed member of society gifted with intelligence. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
MaxO.May 30, 2007
One of the worst films I have ever seen. Pretentious, melodramatic, overly-sentimental, and manipulative. An obvious Oscar/credibility bid. It makes me weep that so many people have fallen for it.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
10
CassieT.Jul 9, 2007
A great film. Forrest Gump's childlike attitude all through life is refreshing and funny 10/10 all the way
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
DanicaG.Jan 13, 2008
One of my favorite movies of all time! What an amazing story that is told which displays all of the joys, pains, and victories that Forrest's character has encountered throughout his life. What a beautiful story, one that I can watch One of my favorite movies of all time! What an amazing story that is told which displays all of the joys, pains, and victories that Forrest's character has encountered throughout his life. What a beautiful story, one that I can watch over and over again. You really feel connected with Forrest's character. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful
0
MattF.May 21, 2008
This was an awful, ignorant, simpleminded movie. Tom Hanks delivered his least nuanced and one-note performance to date, and he won the Oscar! What a disgrace. This is a terrible film whose message is to conform; black panthers and hippies This was an awful, ignorant, simpleminded movie. Tom Hanks delivered his least nuanced and one-note performance to date, and he won the Oscar! What a disgrace. This is a terrible film whose message is to conform; black panthers and hippies are evil. I hate this corny film. Expand
1 of 12 users found this helpful
10
bananasquareJul 10, 2008
Tom hanks has performed unspeakably well!
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
PaulL.Aug 13, 2008
What a magical movie through the eyes of Forrest Gump. This is a phenomenon of a simple man who changed the world forever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
nandishhSep 13, 2009
One Of The Greatest Movie and Greatest Book Adaptation ever. Certainly among the Top5 films of the past 2 decades.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
patrickd.Aug 26, 2005
Forrest Gump is such a good movie, showing emotion is embedded into everybody, even those who have low IQ-Forrest Gump.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LargeNov 27, 2006
Best movie I have seen. Tom Hanks does excellent job as an actor, but the best part of this movie is the way of telling the story. In addition the whole story tells something about the history of USA. This movie has everything.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JuliOct 13, 2006
It's the best movie I have ever seen!!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BitBurnDec 25, 2006
Any movie that has a deep effect on society...."run Forrest Run!" and "Life is like a box of chocolate; you never know what you gonna get!" deserves a perfect score!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EmilyE.Jan 31, 2006
This was one of the best movies i have ever seen in my whole life. I laughed, i cried, i was angry i really had real emotions during this movie one of the greatest movies that have ever made.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
thewisekingFeb 6, 2006
perhaps the worst film ever made. never before in the history of cinema has anything this mawkish, pretentious stupid, and manipulative ever been foisted upon us. there is not one single thing in this film which isn't false. it is so perhaps the worst film ever made. never before in the history of cinema has anything this mawkish, pretentious stupid, and manipulative ever been foisted upon us. there is not one single thing in this film which isn't false. it is so outrageously derivative and obviously manipulative that i honestly was hoping, praying, that they were kidding. alas, they were not. this should be preserved, and shown in film schools as an example of "movie making by committee" and as an indictment of the boomer generation and how they destroyed american film. Expand
1 of 14 users found this helpful
10
BenS.May 18, 2006
I love Tom Hanks as he is realy fit and reminds me of myself!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KatherineJul 24, 2006
One of the greatest films Tom Hanks has done. I love the humore, the sadnest, the happinest. When it's sad, you can feel the pain that Forrest goes through. Or atleast I can. I always cry whenever someone dies. I can really feel his One of the greatest films Tom Hanks has done. I love the humore, the sadnest, the happinest. When it's sad, you can feel the pain that Forrest goes through. Or atleast I can. I always cry whenever someone dies. I can really feel his pain. A really great movie that everyone should see. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JBAug 11, 2006
It's the story of a man who lived an epic life and didn't even realize it. One of the most original and truly worthwhile films in Hollywood history. A must see for film buffs.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JustinAug 21, 2006
This is an absolutely incredible movie. Every element of it is well done and it illustrates better than anything I've seen the American experience that we all can relate to. All around, it's the best movie I've seen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PierreC.Dec 3, 2007
When I rate a movie, I try to imagine the best possible scenario for that movie. Everything from the acting (e.g. Tom Hanks) to the cinematography was spectacular. I could honestly not imagine it done differently. It's an inspirational When I rate a movie, I try to imagine the best possible scenario for that movie. Everything from the acting (e.g. Tom Hanks) to the cinematography was spectacular. I could honestly not imagine it done differently. It's an inspirational and captivating film that everyone should watch in their lifetime. Pure gold! Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful
10
JaredB.Jan 29, 2007
I can still remember sitting in the theater, watching this film. I was completely blown away by it. My reaction is still the same 13 years later. Tom Hanks gives a great performance as Forrest. However, my favorite character was Mama Gump, I can still remember sitting in the theater, watching this film. I was completely blown away by it. My reaction is still the same 13 years later. Tom Hanks gives a great performance as Forrest. However, my favorite character was Mama Gump, played perfectly by Sally Field. In my opinion, she should have won an Oscar for best actress. If you haven't seen this film, I highly recommend it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EdgarSep 22, 2007
its a really cool movie very entertaining, Forrest is a cool guy and the lieutenant Dan gives a fun touch to the movie
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
MichaelJApr 29, 2009
Stunning in every way imaginable.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AhmedTMay 14, 2009
One of the best movies Ever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ArielleF.May 23, 2009
One of my favorite movies of all time. It's worth buying on DVD, no doubt about it!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
louisdJun 23, 2009
Forest gump is one of those films which even today is not dated and will never be. Tom hanks unlike Tom cruise can actually act in every way. I've seen this film many times and i love it. Like Forest this film will run and run into Forest gump is one of those films which even today is not dated and will never be. Tom hanks unlike Tom cruise can actually act in every way. I've seen this film many times and i love it. Like Forest this film will run and run into history as one of the greatest films ever made period. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LeanneL.Apr 12, 2006
I loved this movie i thought it was super funny and i liked even though he was slow and ppl made fun of him because of it he still knew how to ignore them and didnt let it bother him he went on with his life and thats how it should be but as I loved this movie i thought it was super funny and i liked even though he was slow and ppl made fun of him because of it he still knew how to ignore them and didnt let it bother him he went on with his life and thats how it should be but as a overall rating i liked the movie alot! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RossO.Nov 21, 2007
Has every element of a perfect film. Even Hitler would have melted at this.
7 of 8 users found this helpful
10
AlmasI.Aug 22, 2007
This movie is amazing. I want to watch it again and again. One of the best movies what a mankind ever done.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
2
AmyB.Sep 15, 2007
I have now seen the majority of this movie 4 times. The first time was in the movie theater. I absolutely hated it - as did my date. HURRAY!!! The second time a liked it a little bit better, but the third and fourth time I went back to my I have now seen the majority of this movie 4 times. The first time was in the movie theater. I absolutely hated it - as did my date. HURRAY!!! The second time a liked it a little bit better, but the third and fourth time I went back to my thoughts. It is the predecessor for so many movies that take aim at certain things I think should be left alone. Sure, I'm old fashioned. But proud of it. Expand
1 of 12 users found this helpful
10
BenAug 19, 2008
Probably the best movie I have ever seen in my life, and definitely my favorite movie of all time. Tom Hanks does an incredible job as Forrest Gump, definitely a buy for me!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ShawnRJan 22, 2009
Absolutely one of the greatest films ever made! It's a movie about life and emotions we all go through at one time or another in life. Anyone who doesn't like the film is an OVER analytical moron missing the fun things in life... Absolutely one of the greatest films ever made! It's a movie about life and emotions we all go through at one time or another in life. Anyone who doesn't like the film is an OVER analytical moron missing the fun things in life... this movie being one of them. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JayTApr 17, 2009
Definitely one of the best movies out there. And about the part where some slow guy just happens to have one of the most successful life isn't a bad thing: it adds to the fun!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JackKApr 23, 2009
3 words. Awesome, Outstanding and unforgettable.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ajNov 28, 2005
One of the best movies i have ever seen. I like the way they mix historical events with comedy. Tom Hanks puts on an amazing performance as Forrest Gump.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RyGuyNov 16, 2006
Quite possible one of the best movies ever made! A feel good movie with character. A movie like this only comes once a lifetime.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BorisPNov 28, 2006
What I enjoy most about this film is the theme of "creating your own destiny vs. fate." Because Forrest is kind of floating around on a whim the whole time- but is it because that's what he was destined to do? Or did it all just kind of What I enjoy most about this film is the theme of "creating your own destiny vs. fate." Because Forrest is kind of floating around on a whim the whole time- but is it because that's what he was destined to do? Or did it all just kind of fall into his lap? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
nboley08Aug 17, 2010
One of the most American movies ever made. A brilliant tale of the American Dream narrated by a simple man with simple pleasures. Hanks is at his stunning best here, and Zemeckis proved that he's more than just a technological wizard when itOne of the most American movies ever made. A brilliant tale of the American Dream narrated by a simple man with simple pleasures. Hanks is at his stunning best here, and Zemeckis proved that he's more than just a technological wizard when it comes to making movies. A classic that deserves to be adored for decades to come. Expand
20 of 25 users found this helpful205
All this user's reviews
7
ERG1008Aug 24, 2010
Weird bloke at a bus stop relays his story to other people waiting by a series of flashbacks.
Very tongue-in-cheek piss take of American history & goes for the sentimental jugular throughout the film.
Tom Hanks & Robin Wright are good & the
Weird bloke at a bus stop relays his story to other people waiting by a series of flashbacks.
Very tongue-in-cheek piss take of American history & goes for the sentimental jugular throughout the film.
Tom Hanks & Robin Wright are good & the soundtrack is decent despite being a bit obvious.
Also seems like Gump has a bit of curse with him as most people he meets tend to die!
And surely the worst John Lennon impression ever!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
JacobOct 31, 2013
Forest Gump maybe long and for some promote ignorance but that does not stop it from being a straight up wonderful film. Forest Gump has a likeable character, a story that while a tad unrealistic is inspiration, and so many feels! If youForest Gump maybe long and for some promote ignorance but that does not stop it from being a straight up wonderful film. Forest Gump has a likeable character, a story that while a tad unrealistic is inspiration, and so many feels! If you haven’t seen this movie yet than check it out because there is some great stuff here. I just love it through and through. Forest Gump is a wonderful film that pulls at your heartstrings with its likeable character and emotional story making it a film that everyone should see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Feb 23, 2011
This is one of the few non-summer blockbusters that I love. Tom Hanks did an incredible job here. And this movie definitely deserved its Oscar for Best Picture.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Sep 5, 2011
It is very easy to understand that I haven't read the novel in which this film was based on, but that doesn't take away anything about how much I liked this film.

I liked the whole story about Forrest Gump's life as it revolves around him
It is very easy to understand that I haven't read the novel in which this film was based on, but that doesn't take away anything about how much I liked this film.

I liked the whole story about Forrest Gump's life as it revolves around him and his personalities which makes it one of the best ones yet.

I'm telling you, this film is not only one of the finest movies ever made, but one of the greatest masterpieces of all time with great comedy, a very nice concept, amazing emotional sad moments, good development, and Tom Hanks' wonderful performance. Thumbs up from me.

10/10
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
asylumspadezNov 20, 2011
This film is amazing. Tom Hanks was great in it and played the role perfectly. I think it also did a funny re-telling of some historical events. You cant help but love this film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
ScraperDec 25, 2011
Wouldn't it have been better if Forrest had been shot to death in Vietnam? Too many good things happen to this righteous character. For those of us cynical and in need of any intensity, it's too hard on the brain to see this nitwit who youWouldn't it have been better if Forrest had been shot to death in Vietnam? Too many good things happen to this righteous character. For those of us cynical and in need of any intensity, it's too hard on the brain to see this nitwit who you know nothing bad is going to happen to him, just the way more interesting characters around him. Expand
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
10
One_SIC_Ma666otAug 4, 2011
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------The--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------The perfect film, Tom Hanks at his finest. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
L0stR3negadeJan 23, 2011
Great movie in every way from the actors to the story and the meaning behind the whole thing... A movie deffenatly worth watching if you havent yet...
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
Beautiful, charming, a ironic and fantastic story told with big passion, a script which verge the surreal, but does the retract of a charismatic character, a anti-hero with charisma of a hero, a story which bring us to get enamored by theBeautiful, charming, a ironic and fantastic story told with big passion, a script which verge the surreal, but does the retract of a charismatic character, a anti-hero with charisma of a hero, a story which bring us to get enamored by the meter of the story. And the soundtrack? Damn straight, really flawless! A movie with Doors' music in the soundtrack already deserves my respect, and plus more than one, really impressive. Tom Hanks, really, embodies the character so exceptional! Very well directed too, might say in passing. I can't believe that I took so long to watch this film. I didn't know what I was losing. This movie is one of those which makes me remember why do I love so much movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MustisTheCatAug 2, 2011
For me this movie is just Tom Hanks. The story is there and it is fine, but everything depended on the 1st role actor. I hear often that is is easy for an actor to play an imbecil but I sure doubt that anyone could play it as well as Hanks.For me this movie is just Tom Hanks. The story is there and it is fine, but everything depended on the 1st role actor. I hear often that is is easy for an actor to play an imbecil but I sure doubt that anyone could play it as well as Hanks. At first I did not find the character believable. It seemed to have Hanks in the wrong flick. After like 15minutes of dubbing I found myself totally submerged in the story. A young, stupid boy who somehow managed to live his life with honor and without hurting anyone else. Everything thanks to his mother who loved him so much. This movie sneaks up on us like we never seen it and a simple little chain of events becomes a huge story of a man and life and what it is all about. Serious, funny and dramatic at the same time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
drlowdonMay 24, 2013
Forrest Gump is without doubt my favourite movie of all time. I am rarely one to watch a film more than once but I must have now seen Forrest Gump at least 5 or 6 times over the years. Tom Hanks is at his brilliant best as the title characterForrest Gump is without doubt my favourite movie of all time. I am rarely one to watch a film more than once but I must have now seen Forrest Gump at least 5 or 6 times over the years. Tom Hanks is at his brilliant best as the title character and it is a credit to the rest of the cast that they are not completely overshadowed by his performance.

At times this movie is able to make you laugh one minute and almost cry the next ("I miss you Jenny").

A must see.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BinkiJun 26, 2011
One of the best movies of all time. A must-see. Tom Hanks is simply fantastic. Everyone must see this film once in their lives, it's a real masterpiece.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
BookmasterOct 3, 2011
You will cry tears of sadness. Tears of depression. Tears of hope. Tears of joy. Tears of optimism.. you will cry every possible way your tear ducts can cause, can make, and will do... God bless you Gump.. you lovable idiot..
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Spielberg00Aug 27, 2011
If you've seen THE CURIOUS CASE OF BENJAMIN BUTTON (a life story made 14 years after this movie), think of that, then add some humor. I still don't see why this would win Best Picture, though...
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
A thought crossed my mind many years after viewing this picture: Forrest Gump cannot succeed as a sentimental message picture, because it's message is irresponsible. It is a message of ignorance through bliss, the idea that life would beA thought crossed my mind many years after viewing this picture: Forrest Gump cannot succeed as a sentimental message picture, because it's message is irresponsible. It is a message of ignorance through bliss, the idea that life would be inherently easier without our pesky brains and ideas. Hanks plays his role as best he could, but the film mistakes a remarkably sad existence for a happy one. Expand
9 of 31 users found this helpful922
All this user's reviews
10
FIlmsareawesomeAug 28, 2011
Tom Hanks Delivered the best performance of his career by portrying Forrest Gump. The idea of the movie was just amazing. "Run Forrest Run", this film was so inspirational, when I watched i couldn't believe it, I mean Forrest never stopped,Tom Hanks Delivered the best performance of his career by portrying Forrest Gump. The idea of the movie was just amazing. "Run Forrest Run", this film was so inspirational, when I watched i couldn't believe it, I mean Forrest never stopped, we always had to do something, and he chased for things, he wasn't waiting for them to fall off the sky, so for me that was special. The Relationship of Forrest & Jenny, and they encounters after years and stuff like that gave a original flavour to the whole movie. The Directing was awesome, this was truly the best film that Robert Zemeckis ever made. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
nicholas_danielDec 27, 2011
People often mistake nostalgia for sentimentality, as is the case with Forrest Gump, which exudes nostalgia. It is also easy for the cynic to scoff at the manipulative innocence of such a character as Forrest Gump. However, its effectivenessPeople often mistake nostalgia for sentimentality, as is the case with Forrest Gump, which exudes nostalgia. It is also easy for the cynic to scoff at the manipulative innocence of such a character as Forrest Gump. However, its effectiveness is undeniable. Forrest overturns every cornerstone in modern American history and allows us to rediscover what a wonder it was to live in 20th century America. All the while, Forrest takes no sides, judges no one, and holds no grudges. Of course, this does not make him a saint, because he appears to not have the mental capacity for such actions. Consequentially, he only has the capacity to see things in terms of those he loves rather than those he hates. Ideologically, he is a simpleton, but can anyone argue with the tangible results? Half of the comedic irony lies in the fact the he survives and lives to tell his story, with no regrets, despite being "slow". The films power lies in notions of right and wrong. In that regard, Forrest is a reflection of those he loves, namely Jenny and his Momma, and they are the ones who influence him. Because those who influence him are benevolent, he turns out to be what we all wish we could be; a lover rather than a hater, candidly honest rather than a liar, all the time. It's tough to imagine a world where everyone always chooses the alternative to malevolent hatred and deception. Whether out of pure righteousness, or because his "Momma" told him, Forrest gives us a glimpse of at least a microcosm of that world through his actions, and it is an experience I will never forget. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
asbeloliverMar 6, 2012
This film has everything, love, conflict, drama, humor, unforgettable characters, an amazing script, revolutionary effects, funny moments, touching moments, values, teachings, Robert Zemeckis spectacular address the outstanding performance ofThis film has everything, love, conflict, drama, humor, unforgettable characters, an amazing script, revolutionary effects, funny moments, touching moments, values, teachings, Robert Zemeckis spectacular address the outstanding performance of Tom Hanks, was a overwhelming box office success, won the Oscar for Best Picture, is in Congress, is loved by millions of people around the world, what more could you want. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
oscarrMar 12, 2012
I hate this movie with all my life.
3 of 12 users found this helpful39
All this user's reviews
9
spadenxDec 15, 2011
Its a great film, While there maybe a few parts that annoy you or make you lose interest, Its still worth the watch. Tom Hanks is amazing in this film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobDec 26, 2012
A hilarious and touching comedy and one of the greatest films of all time. Forrest Gump is the kind of movie that you simply can not miss. It's a must watch.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JaySupertrampFeb 5, 2012
You can reach everything if you only want to!
Emotional and funny at the same time. A Masterpiece in movie history that no one should miss to watch. 10/10 Points!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ElPitoooSep 10, 2015
one of the best movies ever made, it will make you cry from start to beginning, with waterfalls of tears, its great classic which never gets old, no matter how many times you will watch it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JuanoloMar 31, 2012
First off, this is a 9.5 out of 10. It's also really good. Well acted most of the time. Also an unbelievable story, but some things in the story will sound just plain stupid. Still score and acting is great. Don't get me wrong this is a greatFirst off, this is a 9.5 out of 10. It's also really good. Well acted most of the time. Also an unbelievable story, but some things in the story will sound just plain stupid. Still score and acting is great. Don't get me wrong this is a great film, but I just think shawshank redemption was better. Overall, great film. Highly recommend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Shawshank97Apr 9, 2012
This is a masterpiece! It makes you laugh and cry, but especially makes you think about how the dumbest people can make the difference. Tom Hanks proves that he's one of the greatest actors of all time as Forrest Gump proves he's the greatestThis is a masterpiece! It makes you laugh and cry, but especially makes you think about how the dumbest people can make the difference. Tom Hanks proves that he's one of the greatest actors of all time as Forrest Gump proves he's the greatest hero in USA history. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
OfficialMar 8, 2014
Tom Hanks really killed it as Forrest Gump. This excellent movie touches on everything you expect: love, emotion, humor, and even action. Honestly, if you haven't seen this film, you're doing yourself a disservice.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ValkyrieeeJun 17, 2012
This is my all-time favourite film. It shows how a man can make the best of his life no matter what struggles he goes through. It shows how all you need is one good friend. It is filled with heart-warming moments. The ending of the filmThis is my all-time favourite film. It shows how a man can make the best of his life no matter what struggles he goes through. It shows how all you need is one good friend. It is filled with heart-warming moments. The ending of the film really brings the story full-circle and doesn't leave you wondering "what if". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Loler13grFeb 16, 2015
One of the movies you must see before you die. Forrest Gump is a movie that fills you with so many emotions that you have to break at some point. Funny , hopeful , touching , this movie has everything and it made me cry at the end. AOne of the movies you must see before you die. Forrest Gump is a movie that fills you with so many emotions that you have to break at some point. Funny , hopeful , touching , this movie has everything and it made me cry at the end. A brilliant story told by an amazing actor who portrays Forrest perfectly. Stop reading this and go watch it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleJan 6, 2014
I have finally seen this in its entirety (I had seen parts of it, but most of it was new). There isn't much to be said about this one since it's such an iconic film that most people have in fact seen it already, but it certainly lives up toI have finally seen this in its entirety (I had seen parts of it, but most of it was new). There isn't much to be said about this one since it's such an iconic film that most people have in fact seen it already, but it certainly lives up to the enormous hype it has and more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Rhcploverxx833Jul 22, 2012
One of the best movies I've ever seen! Tom Hanks Performance is incredible. It made me look at some stuff in a whole new perspective. Forrest Gump is autistic and the way he sees life and understands it is so optimistic and different fromOne of the best movies I've ever seen! Tom Hanks Performance is incredible. It made me look at some stuff in a whole new perspective. Forrest Gump is autistic and the way he sees life and understands it is so optimistic and different from what we see it like when he's sent with the army to Vietnam and the shooting and bombings begin he goes back to rescue everyone and he is like "Bubba is my best friend I had to make sure he was ok" most people wouldn't even have a thought like that and that what makes him so amazing. The movie is charming and fantastic, the actors are great, the scrip is fantastic... The movie created a great balance between the whole emotions: one scene I can find myself laughing so hard and the next crying or feeling sad. I highly recommend this movie to everyone! it's a movie you must watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
broodyjokerSep 3, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love this movie.
No No, this is not movie; this is life and love... and stupid :D
this movie brougth my tears :(
I love you Forrest, Forrest Gump!
a beautiful beginning, and end the tragic and very beautiful.
the best movie for all times...
if you did not see it, See it!

"Mama says: Stupid is as stupid does."
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
KarryptoSep 7, 2012
"Forrest Gump" is just an epic movie that touches people throughout all ages and generations. The simplicity of this film is the main reason to love it. Everyone can lern something from this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Sheldonc1981Sep 29, 2012
In my opinion, Forrest Gump is the greatest film in American history. It makes clear references to historical events, but seen through the eyes of a mentally-handicap man. I am a history buff, so I loved it. Forrest is such a likeableIn my opinion, Forrest Gump is the greatest film in American history. It makes clear references to historical events, but seen through the eyes of a mentally-handicap man. I am a history buff, so I loved it. Forrest is such a likeable character and it makes it hard not to like him. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 9, 2012
One of the most heartfelt, warm spirited, and touching American movies ever made.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Iky009Jan 5, 2014
Obra extraordinária.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Bewitchingly acted, well-written, and hauntingly affecting, "Forrest Gump" is a perfectly graceful and earnest story with some truly compelling thematic elements all throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BradySmithSep 6, 2014
A timeless and beautiful movie. Forrest Gump is truly a modern epic. It's hilarious, heartbreaking, sometimes breathtaking, and completely unforgettable. The scope is impressive. Never does the movie feel slight or insignificant. ItA timeless and beautiful movie. Forrest Gump is truly a modern epic. It's hilarious, heartbreaking, sometimes breathtaking, and completely unforgettable. The scope is impressive. Never does the movie feel slight or insignificant. It encompasses the entire human emotional spectrum, is impeccably acted, especially by Hanks, and it contains some of the most memorable characters in film history. At the risk of sounding too overjoyed, it's an absolute classic. Forget the cynics and their campaign against anything emotionally touching. This is one of the greatest films of all time. It's an accomplishment that has stood the test of time and shows no sign of aging. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BrendanCFeb 11, 2013
"My Momma always said that life was like a box of chocolates. You ever know what you are going to get." Forrest Gump (Tom Hanks)

Forrest Gump is an absolutely amazing film that was nominated for and won many academy awards. Tom Hanks won
"My Momma always said that life was like a box of chocolates. You ever know what you are going to get." Forrest Gump (Tom Hanks)

Forrest Gump is an absolutely amazing film that was nominated for and won many academy awards. Tom Hanks won the Golden Glove for best actor, and Robert Zemeckis won the olden Globe for best director. Gary Sanise won a few awards for best supporting actor, and was nominated in the same category for a few other awards. It won so many prestigious awards besides Golden Globes too. It truly is one of the greatest and my highly praised films of all time, and it deserves all of it. The film is creative as it gets, and an absolute masterpiece. Part of it's brilliance is how historically accurate it is. Forrest Gump is a perfect mixture of an epic drama, romance, and a drama-comedy. Forrest Gump (Tom Hanks) is a slow-witted man that happens to witness and influence important parts of American history in the 2nd half of the 20th century. Forrest has influenced parts of American history such as teaching Elvis the "Elvis Pelvis" dance. His legs were in braces when he was a boy, and he couldn't move them. Elvis was playing a song for him, and he started dancing, but he could only move his pelvis because of the braces. Elvis liked the dance and started to use it. That is the first example of something he influenced in the story.

The most important part of the story was when he became a war hero. There were a few people that became part of his life that he would influence history with. His friend Bubba who died in the war, who was his best friend he named his shrimp company after. He started the shrimp company "Bubba Gump" with Lieutenant Dan (Gary Sinise).

Dan had a family member from every generation fight and die in a war, so he feels like that is his destiny. When Forrest saves him he feels like he was cheated out of his destiny. He wanted to die and be honored, but now he doesn't have any legs. He starts to live off of the government, and has lost all faith in God. There is a scene where he is telling Forrest that you cheated me out of my destiny. He was being irrational because it is impossible to be cheated out of a destiny, if God has an exact one planed for you. What Forrest should have said to him is that you are wrong you were destined to survive that war, and in the future you will learn why when all of your pain has passed. I for one don't believe everything is planned. I believe only some things happen for a reason. Certain things I think don't happen for a reason. There is a mix of both, and if everything was planned you wouldn't actually be in control of your life. That is one lesson that Forrest learned at the end.

The film is also a beautiful romance. Forrest has been in love with his childhood friend Jenny (Robin Wright) ever since he first saw her when he was little. Now that they are adults he wants to be with her, but she is really disturbed. She has become part of the hippy crowd, and she takes a lot of hallucinogens. She gets into many abusive relationships partly because of the damage done from the abusive relationship she had with her father. Her father ruined her life, and everything was sour because of him. She won't be with Forrest because she hates herself, and she loved Forrest too much to hurt him. He doesn't have the intelligence to see that she isn't perfect, or to even see that she is completely flawed. That is the really emotional part of the film, and the romantic part. I like romance in movies as long as it isn't really cheesy stuff, and it is actually deep and emotional. That type of stuff I think is really well acted, and hard to do.

The film is a hard one to make and to be in, and it is total genius. One of the most creative masterpieces of all time. A classic that will never die.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ryanMoriarityFeb 9, 2013
It has everything you could ever want in a movie. Friendship, adventure, silliness, romance. Forrest Gump is a fantastic American landmark we should look back on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
shpreaJun 28, 2013
This movie is just all around awesome. Tom Hanks kills the role, portraying an interesting character with a colorful and detailed back story. Every flash back is detailed, well fleshed out, and occasionally inspirational. You really can't goThis movie is just all around awesome. Tom Hanks kills the role, portraying an interesting character with a colorful and detailed back story. Every flash back is detailed, well fleshed out, and occasionally inspirational. You really can't go wrong with this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZekeMarshFeb 24, 2013
A beautiful movie. Loved every single character in the movie and it gets real emotional as you progress through the movie. I could re-watch it infinite times and still shred a few tears and enjoy it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
SEROJJun 2, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is really meaningful! It has all the american history of 20th century in it! For me it was more comedy. But trust me, "Forrest Gump" could be a lot better! Why that girl broke up with him 4 times? Why during his speech about the war in Vietnam, some guy plugged out the cables? I thought he realized something and was going to say a great speech, when he turned around after he ran million miles! And my biggest question is why this movie has won 6 oscars? I think it's a good movie, but i really believe it's overrated and if you're wondering to watch it or not, let me warn you. This movie is philosophical! "Forrest Gump" is really smart movie, but my personal score is 5/10, because i wasn't impressed from what i saw. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
sil3nt_nickMar 24, 2013
This charming and wondrous film is hilarious and at the same time, touching. Exceptional cast.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RaymondMendez19Mar 31, 2013
is a beautiful film where a man with IQ below 75,
politician, soldier, father, millionaire Lawnmower shows you that no matter your personality tells the president to be urinating, survives the Vietnam war and fellow looks like he hates going
is a beautiful film where a man with IQ below 75,
politician, soldier, father, millionaire Lawnmower shows you that no matter your personality tells the president to be urinating, survives the Vietnam war and fellow looks like he hates going bye, millionaire and does not care, mowing works in a school and great father of his love of life and intelligent child. teaches us that if you have a default no matter just have to move on and succeed in life as well.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Jimbo82Apr 13, 2013
Forrest Gump is a truly remarkable film with a magnificent performance by Tom Hanks. The story is simple and when watching the film you will be taken on a journey into the life of a fascinating character. The film has a bit of everythingForrest Gump is a truly remarkable film with a magnificent performance by Tom Hanks. The story is simple and when watching the film you will be taken on a journey into the life of a fascinating character. The film has a bit of everything humour, sadness, uplifting moments, great acting and a whole host of characters that you will not only care for, but also take an interest in aswell. Whilst we are all aware that Forrest Gump is not an intelligent man, by the end of the film you will realise what a remarkable person he is and will have an insight into the astonishing life that he led. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Logan_5Mar 31, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There is a great service for movie buffs on the web called Flickchart. It's premise is simple. It presents you with two movies, and you click which of the two you prefer. The movies can be similar or wildly disparate, and there are no stated criteria to select--you simply pick whichever you feel is the better of the two, wherever and however that may be. Since their are no stated criteria, the choice is instinctual and emotional rather than calculated and intellectual. Forrest Gump is number one on my chart. Citizen Kane is number ten. Doubtless, should I ever be asked to contribute to the Sight and Sound poll, I will have a hard time explaining my choices, but that's okay. I love this movie. But just in case, here's my head start: 1. As an exploration of the theme of unconditional love, there is none better. "You have to stop rescuing me!", implores Jenny, to which Forrest responds, "I can't, Jenny. I love you." Sick, well, degraded, alone, with cads, with child--Forrest loves Jenny. Period. He knows what love is.

2. It's very, very funny and uses humor to address issues such as segregation and the Vietnam conflict that not only are inherently not funny but that have left deep scars on the American psyche.

3. The special effects are fantastic. Has any movie before or since so effectively integrated news clips the way this one did to give the film its heightened sense of authenticity? Not to mention the alterations to Gary Sinise, which in my book are way more impressive than, say, what was done in Avatar.

4. Maybe this one's a stretch, but it seems to me not incredulous to say the themes of chance and destiny are reminiscent of classical Greek theater and that the soundtrack is not entirely dissimilar in function to that of a Greek chorus.

5. And finally, "Stupid is as stupid does" works perfectly as a summation of existential philosophy. After all, who is Forrest? Is he an idiot? Or is he a world class athlete, war hero, shrimp boat captain, and millionaire? Well, it depends on how we define him. But if we define him through his actions, which is, after all, how he defines himself, it's clear he is the latter. Throughout the movie, other characters underestimate Forrest, thereby defining him. The principle thinks he will not make it through public school, yet he makes it through college. Lt Dan worries he will do something stupid and get himself killed, yet he saves not only Lt Dan but several others as well and becomes a medal of honor recipient. Jenny thinks he doesn't know what love is, and yet he becomes the great love of her life.

Okay, I'm waiting for my call from Sight and Sound now.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
voidersApr 30, 2013
My favorite movie ever! Its simple, beautiful, happy, sad... Every thing together.
The story show how life cam be complex and simple at same time, i like it. I have fun with this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
raporgiOct 5, 2014
Stupid saccharine coated fantasy drivel that makes morons root for somebody less fortunate. This movie is literally for retards only! The charm and innocence of the main character sends the wrong message about the bliss of ignorance. TypicalStupid saccharine coated fantasy drivel that makes morons root for somebody less fortunate. This movie is literally for retards only! The charm and innocence of the main character sends the wrong message about the bliss of ignorance. Typical Hollywood **** that takes people away from the reality they have to live in. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
10
VictorLWibzJun 5, 2013
My best movie of all time! i like it when the movie tells a story of someone life adventures.. and yes Forrest tell me a great story about his life that full of chocolate.. A very good acting of Tom and Great story, all just perfect for me..
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticAug 23, 2013
Funny, heartwarming, and with editing so amazing you can't believe your eyes. And Tom Hanks departs from previous roles to play the loving but idiotic title character. You always learn to love him.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews