Forrest Gump

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1023 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 11, 2016
    10
    If you're looking for a movie that will make you laugh, cry, and think all together, look no further than Forrest Gump. Tom Hanks captures the audience with his empathetic tone in his heartwarming tales of his past. His relationship with both his longtime friend Jenny seems to bring him to the very bench where he waits for the bus to be reunited with her, while meeting some patientIf you're looking for a movie that will make you laugh, cry, and think all together, look no further than Forrest Gump. Tom Hanks captures the audience with his empathetic tone in his heartwarming tales of his past. His relationship with both his longtime friend Jenny seems to bring him to the very bench where he waits for the bus to be reunited with her, while meeting some patient listeners along the way. This sweet story will leave you thinking about your fragile life, and how truly precious it is. Expand
  2. Aug 10, 2016
    9
    A very good display by Tom Hanks in this brilliant movie, the way he portrays a man with a disability with such excellence all while maintaining a great portrayall of the character Forrest, Forrest Gump.
  3. Aug 10, 2016
    9
    Amazing movie tom hanks at his best...................................................................................................................
  4. Aug 5, 2016
    10
    Этот фильм шедевр, у него хороший сюжет, хорошая игра актеров и отличная режиссура. Роберт Земекис — гениальный режиссер у него полно хороших фильмов такие как: трилогия «Назад в будущие», «Смерть ей к лицу», «Изгой», «Кто подставил кролика Роджера» и само собой «Форрест Гамп». В фильме много жанров: драма, мелодрама, фэнтези, исторический, военный.

    В фильме полно исторических моментов
    Этот фильм шедевр, у него хороший сюжет, хорошая игра актеров и отличная режиссура. Роберт Земекис — гениальный режиссер у него полно хороших фильмов такие как: трилогия «Назад в будущие», «Смерть ей к лицу», «Изгой», «Кто подставил кролика Роджера» и само собой «Форрест Гамп». В фильме много жанров: драма, мелодрама, фэнтези, исторический, военный.

    В фильме полно исторических моментов и было много исторических личностей например: Джон Кеннеди, Ричард Никсон, Джон Леннон, Элвис Пресли. Сам Форрест уникальный персонаж, в фильме он был чемпионом по футболу, ветераном войны, хозяином компании по ловле креветок, миллионером газонокосильщиком. Форрест не умный и наивный, но добрый, честный и благородный, да и его слова простые и наивные, но за душу берут. Форреста сыграл гениальный актер Том Хэнкс и сыграл его отлично.

    Люди вроде-бо с нормальным умом, но за доброго, честного человека считают за тупого идиота. Фильм философский, он показывает то что жизнь может быть увлекательной, что в жизни бывают и взлеты и падения, грустные и веселые моменты в жизни.

    Фильм шедевр, посмотрите «Форрест Гамп» и вы это поймете
    Expand
  5. Jun 30, 2016
    10
    Awesome movie. Also it is the best Tom Hanks performance, like really, what the **** did he do to seem so retarded, and at the same time so inteligent (in the performance part, not the role itself).
  6. Jun 7, 2016
    10
    Robert Zemeckis turns a story of Forrest Gump, deftly played by Tom Hanks, who surmounts all odds to achieve the American dream. The film is sweet, relatable, epic but never sprawling and emotional.
  7. May 19, 2016
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ah, a look back over 30 years of American history through the eyes of a somewhat retarded individual is so overtly romanticised and with so much 'apple pie' about it, that I've never understood why it's regarded as some kind of masterpiece.

    The entire movie is just one unbelievable set-piece followed by another, as we watch young Forrest grow into adulthood, attend college, fight in Vietnam, become a world class ping-pong player, create THE dominant shrimp catching business in the US, become an international news story (in of himself) as he spends 3 years running back and forth across America, before he finally gets to marry the love of his life.... Before she dies of AIDS and dumps her kid (Forrest's son, who she kept away from him right up until she knew she was dying) in his lap and just expects him to carry on his life.

    Therein lies the film's biggest problems.... For all that is good, in how it uses Forrest's life experiences to form a narrative that includes a large number of important cultural moments in American history through the early 1950's to the early 1980's, there is a something fundamentally bad.
    In order for the film to work you have to believe that Forrest can merrily walk through life, getting involved in all the major incidents around him, and not query how on Earth it would ever happen.
    I just couldn't do that, so watched the film more as a parody, than a drama.

    The other fundamental problem with the film and, as an audience, one we just have to accept.... Is that Forrest is in love with a woman who is incredibly self-centred and borderline sociopathic. All the way through the film she just treats Forrest like crap, and although she eventually gets her own comeuppance (dying of AIDS in her late 30's) it doesn't make up for everything she did to Forrest.... Plus, as mentioned, her dying act is to foist a small child on him, a child that will remind him every day about the woman he lost (well, never really had.... But whom he loved!!)

    The only good part of the film is the soundtrack... It is crammed with excellent songs from the 50's through to the early 80's, the 'Vietnam' era part having (obviously) the best.

    I suspect my aversion to the movie could well be because I'm English, so I'm a spectator watching the game, rather than someone living in America who might latch onto the sentimentality a little more easily!

    Ultimately this is a film which has good intentions, but is so utterly unbelievable that I couldn't get involved on any level.
    Expand
  8. May 17, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My momma always said life is like a box of chocolates.

    Forrest Gump is a movie I remember my parents watching when I was a kid, and them telling me that I should watch it someday. When I was a kid, I remember not caring about the movie, thinking it was boring because there was no superheroes in it. Yesterday night was my first authentic viewing experience of this movie for me.

    After watching this movie, I was blown away completely with this film. Everything about it is truly phenomenal, especially Tom Hanks’ performance as the titular Forrest Gump. The director (Robert Zemeckis) attempts to make you care about Forrest throughout the movie, and I cared a ton. There wasn’t a single scene in which I didn’t care about Forrest because his character actually felt like a person, and not an actor.

    Something this movie does so brilliantly is making you feel like you are a part of Forrest Gump’s life and world. Whenever Forrest is explaining how much he misses his crush Jenny, you feel sorry for him, and when he tells his other stories, you get so invested in them, because they feel like they actually happened.

    Jenny plays a big part of the movie, and to Forrest. Forrest has known Jenny ever since he was a little kid, and the more he gets to know her, the more he thinks he truly loves her. Throughout the movie, there are a few scenes in which he explains to Jenny that he loves her, and at one point even asks her to marry him. Mostly every time Forrest expresses his love for Jenny, she rejects him, and you truly do feel sympathy for Forrest.

    Speaking of which, this movie is incredibly emotional. I almost cried three times during the duration of this movie, which is something rare for me to do. I almost never cry at movies, but this movie almost got me. Certain things happen like his best friend dying, and other instances that happen in Forrest’s life and they all make you feel sad too, because you do care about Forrest and the people around him.

    Forrest Gump is not just an amazing Tom Hanks movie, but it truly is a masterpiece of 1994.
    Expand
  9. May 10, 2016
    8
    Forrest Gump is easily one of the most enjoyable films Hollywood ever made, the one that makes you laugh from the start to the very end while holding your tears from falling out of your eyes.
  10. Apr 18, 2016
    9
    Good narration of the movie and an in depth feeling brought about in each character. The characters playing around had also been perfectly synchronized with Gump's life like Lt. Dan Taylor, a wonderful acting performance by Tom and Dan.
  11. Mar 27, 2016
    9
    A picaresque story of a simpleton’s charmed odyssey through 30 years of tumultuous American history, “Forrest Gump” is whimsy with a strong cultural spine. Elegantly made and winningly acted by Tom Hanks in his first outing since his Oscar-winning “Philadelphia” performance, Robert Zemeckis’ technically dazzling new film is also shrewdly packaged to hit baby boomers where they live. PicA picaresque story of a simpleton’s charmed odyssey through 30 years of tumultuous American history, “Forrest Gump” is whimsy with a strong cultural spine. Elegantly made and winningly acted by Tom Hanks in his first outing since his Oscar-winning “Philadelphia” performance, Robert Zemeckis’ technically dazzling new film is also shrewdly packaged to hit baby boomers where they live. Pic offers up a non-stop barrage of emotional and iconographic identification points that will make the postwar generation feel they’re seeing their lives passing by onscreen.

    In a part Dustin Hoffman might once have killed for, Hanks plays a kind of semi-imbecile whose very blankness makes him an ideal audience prism through which many of the key events of the ’50s through early ’80s can be viewed. Lacking any ideology or analytical powers, Gump is the immutable innocent moving in a state of grace through a nation in the process of losing its innocence, an Everyman who acts instinctively in an age defined by political divisiveness.

    As Gump narrates his story to a succession of listeners at a Savannah, Ga., bus stop, a most curious life is revealed in evocative, often jokey flashbacks. Gump is raised in an old plantation mansion, now a boarding house, by his abandoned mother (Sally Field), who tells the boy that he’s no different from anyone else despite his 75 I.Q. Outfitted with leg braces and shunned by other boys, young Forrest finds his only friend in a beautiful little girl, Jenny, herself the victim of abuse at home.

    Once Forrest, in a startling scene, literally breaks free of his leg shackles, he becomes “a running fool,” darting about wherever he goes at terrific speed. Even though he doesn’t understand the rules, he becomes a star running back on the high school and college football teams, and it’s at the U. of Alabama that the grown-up Forrest has his first date with destiny, as a dopey-looking bystander next to Gov. George Wallace as the first black students are admitted through the school’s doors.

    After another encounter, with JFK, Forrest heads for Vietnam, where his dim-wittedness makes him the ideal Army soldier. On the way, he meets Bubba Blue (Mykelti Williamson), another not especially swift fellow who’s like Forrest’s black brother, a man whose dreams of a shrimping life give Forrest something to aspire to once they’re back.

    After an intense battle, Forrest saves the lives of several men, including his commanding officer, Lt. Dan (Gary Sinise), who nonetheless loses his legs, and Forrest returns home to receive the Medal of Honor from LBJ and have a chance reunion with Jenny (Robin Wright), who’s become a camp follower of SDS and Black Panther types.

    Through it all, Forrest retains his love and idealized image of Jenny. She, however, indulges in the try-it-all excesses of the era, becoming a stripper, hippie, activist, druggie and more. Jenny keeps popping into Forrest’s life at intervals, never quite ready to settle for his unquestioning love until it’s almost too late.

    Meanwhile, Forrest’s eventful life comes to embrace a stint as a champ ping-pong player, a down-and-out period with Lt. Dan in New York, a hilarious key role in the Watergate saga, amazing success as a shrimp boat captain, the resumption of his life as a runner, which sees him become a sort of mystical guru figure to the jogging set, and finally the unexpected arrival of fatherhood.

    In covering so much ground, literally and figuratively, Eric Roth’s intelligently structured, finely tuned screenplay also serves up innumerable cultural touchstones that will have most viewers in the 30-50 age range melting in recognition. Main themes here have to do with the impulse to recapture the past; the wish to return to one’s childhood, or at least the site of it; the desire to fulfill your life with your original true love; the need to refashion the simple feeling of homeafter many aimless years; and assuming the responsibilities of parenthood after much delay.

    At just short of 2 1/2 hours, pic is a bit indulgent, long and excessive at times, but this is more than compensated for by its humor and sharp-witted storytelling. Pic is weakest in the Forrest-Jenny relationship; the characters have nothing but their childhood connection going for them.On the other hand, Gump reps another career triumph for Hanks after his Oscar turn. In the key supporting roles, Sinise and Williamson are excellent, while Field pops up as Forrest’s loving mom at the beginning and near the end.

    The film has been very well worked out on all levels and Zemeckis’ direction is supple, and in this instance he has well balanced his long-term interest in technical matters with concern over performance and content. From the extraordinary, descending opening shot on through a vivid ground-level Vietnam firestorm and the documentary facsimiles, the film is a superior example of Hollywood craftsmanship.
    Expand
  12. Mar 22, 2016
    8
    A picaresque story of a simpleton’s charmed odyssey through 30 years of tumultuous American history, “Forrest Gump” is whimsy with a strong cultural spine. Elegantly made and winningly acted by Tom Hanks in his first outing since his Oscar-winning “Philadelphia” performance, Robert Zemeckis’ technically dazzling new film is also shrewdly packaged to hit baby boomers where they live. PicA picaresque story of a simpleton’s charmed odyssey through 30 years of tumultuous American history, “Forrest Gump” is whimsy with a strong cultural spine. Elegantly made and winningly acted by Tom Hanks in his first outing since his Oscar-winning “Philadelphia” performance, Robert Zemeckis’ technically dazzling new film is also shrewdly packaged to hit baby boomers where they live. Pic offers up a non-stop barrage of emotional and iconographic identification points that will make the postwar generation feel they’re seeing their lives passing by onscreen. Paramount’s target audience is obvious, and boffo B.O. should ensue.

    In a part Dustin Hoffman might once have killed for, Hanks plays a kind of semi-imbecile whose very blankness makes him an ideal audience prism through which many of the key events of the ’50s through early ’80s can be viewed. Lacking any ideology or analytical powers, Gump is the immutable innocent moving in a state of grace through a nation in the process of losing its innocence, an Everyman who acts instinctively in an age defined by political divisiveness.

    Although hard to pigeonhole, the picture unavoidably recalls the idiot-savant classic “Being There,” and significantly resembles “The World According to Garp” in tone. Most often mentioned, however, will be its similarity to Woody Allen’s “Zelig,” as some of the biggest laughs stem from wizardly interpolations of the Gump character into newsreel and TV footage of several U.S. presidents and other leading figures.

    As Gump narrates his story to a succession of listeners at a Savannah, Ga., bus stop, a most curious life is revealed in evocative, often jokey flashbacks. Gump is raised in an old plantation mansion, now a boarding house, by his abandoned mother (Sally Field), who tells the boy that he’s no different from anyone else despite his 75 I.Q. Outfitted with leg braces and shunned by other boys, young Forrest finds his only friend in a beautiful little girl, Jenny, herself the victim of abuse at home.

    Once Forrest, in a startling scene, literally breaks free of his leg shackles, he becomes “a running fool,” darting about wherever he goes at terrific speed. Even though he doesn’t understand the rules, he becomes a star running back on the high school and college football teams, and it’s at the U. of Alabama that the grown-up Forrest has his first date with destiny, as a dopey-looking bystander next to Gov. George Wallace as the first black students are admitted through the school’s doors.

    After another encounter, with JFK, Forrest heads for Vietnam, where his dim-wittedness makes him the ideal Army soldier. On the way, he meets Bubba Blue (Mykelti Williamson), another not especially swift fellow who’s like Forrest’s black brother, a man whose dreams of a shrimping life give Forrest something to aspire to once they’re back.

    After an intense battle, Forrest saves the lives of several men, including his commanding officer, Lt. Dan (Gary Sinise), who nonetheless loses his legs, and Forrest returns home to receive the Medal of Honor from LBJ and have a chance reunion with Jenny (Robin Wright), who’s become a camp follower of SDS and Black Panther types.

    Through it all, Forrest retains his love and idealized image of Jenny. She, however, indulges in the try-it-all excesses of the era, becoming a stripper, hippie, activist, druggie and more. Jenny keeps popping into Forrest’s life at intervals, never quite ready to settle for his unquestioning love until it’s almost too late.

    Meanwhile, Forrest’s eventful life comes to embrace a stint as a champ ping-pong player, a down-and-out period with Lt. Dan in New York, a hilarious key role in the Watergate saga, amazing success as a shrimp boat captain, the resumption of his life as a runner, which sees him become a sort of mystical guru figure to the jogging set, and finally the unexpected arrival of fatherhood.

    In covering so much ground, literally and figuratively, Eric Roth’s intelligently structured, finely tuned screenplay also serves up innumerable cultural touchstones that will have most viewers in the 30-50 age range melting in recognition. Main themes here have to do with the impulse to recapture the past; the wish to return to one’s childhood, or at least the site of it; the desire to fulfill your life with your original true love; the need to refashion the simple feeling of homeafter many aimless years; and assuming the responsibilities of parenthood after much delay.

    Just short of 2 1/2 hours, pic is a bit indulgent, long and excessive at times, but this is more than compensated for by its humor and sharp-witted storytelling. For the minority of nay-sayers the film will encounter, pic’s key problem will be its preoccupation with lost innocence and certain other self-centered hang-ups.
    Expand
  13. Mar 16, 2016
    9
    EXCELLENT
    It's one of my favorite movies of all time. It's a movie that I can watch multiple times and never get tired of it. It has it's dumb moments but they are so little compared to the rest of the movie.
    I know some people don't like this movie but I just love it!
  14. Mar 13, 2016
    6
    Forrest Gump won six Oscars, including Best Actor and visual-effects, and director and many other awards worldwide. Sadly, we gotta remember that this was a good film because of the awards (the visual-effects, direction or interpretation), but this film is just remembering us how bad is the world and almost all the negative parts of it, like war, deaths, exhibisonists, bullying, brokenForrest Gump won six Oscars, including Best Actor and visual-effects, and director and many other awards worldwide. Sadly, we gotta remember that this was a good film because of the awards (the visual-effects, direction or interpretation), but this film is just remembering us how bad is the world and almost all the negative parts of it, like war, deaths, exhibisonists, bullying, broken heart and a families, etc. Forrst Gump is rally unforgettable real characters very human, but his story also could sound a bit unremarkable too. Expand
  15. Mar 2, 2016
    10
    Every time I wtch this movie, I like it better every time. The main character forrest gump, is one of the memorial characters I have ever seen. The story itself is a great drama story, with sad and memorable moments that will never be forgotten. I think this story teaches a leson, but I wont spoil it.
  16. Jan 20, 2016
    9
    Tom Hanks gave his all in Forrest Gump and it still works for him and his career. He manages to be the master of acting and not only that, the plot actually works from the book.
  17. Jan 10, 2016
    9
    I didn't expect to like this movie but it ended up being one of my favorites of all time. I held myself back trying not to cry about 20 times throughout
  18. Jan 7, 2016
    8
    Since its theatrical release in the summer of 1994, Forrest Gump has become one of those movies seemingly everyone is familiar with. It's a cultural touchstone with lines like "Life is a box of chocolates" appearing everywhere from tee-shirts to greeting cards. The film's popularity was italicized by the way it rampaged through the 1995 Oscars, winning six awards (including the "big three"Since its theatrical release in the summer of 1994, Forrest Gump has become one of those movies seemingly everyone is familiar with. It's a cultural touchstone with lines like "Life is a box of chocolates" appearing everywhere from tee-shirts to greeting cards. The film's popularity was italicized by the way it rampaged through the 1995 Oscars, winning six awards (including the "big three" of Best Picture, Director, and Actor). Now, for its 20th anniversary, the decision has been made to do something Hollywood almost never does during the home video era: a big screen re-release.

    How to get people into theaters to watch (or re-watch) Forrest run when it's a lot easier to do it at home? Enter the IMAX gimmick. Calling it anything less crass would be dishonest since there's no inherent reason why Forrest Gump should be bulked up for IMAX (or pseudo-IMAX, depending on how one views the smaller AMC version of the product). Still, commercial considerations aside, there's something majestic about watching this tall tale unfold on a larger screen than one can find in the average family room. The IMAX format is a nice way to entice some viewers to see the movie in a theater while maintaining the original composition.

    The original review holds up today because, unlike some decades-old motion pictures, this one doesn't seem dated. It wears its age well. Here's what I wrote in 1994 when the movie was first released:

    Ever find the grind of life getting you down? Is the day-to-day struggle threatening to drag you under? If so, there is a movie out there that can replenish your energy and refresh your outlook. Passionate and magical, Forrest Gump is a tonic for the weary of spirit. For those who feel that being set adrift in a season of action movies is like wandering into a desert, the oasis lies ahead.

    Back when Tom Hanks' movie career was relatively new, the actor made a film called Big, which told the story of a young boy forced to grow up fast as a result of an ill-advised wish made at a carnival. In some ways, Forrest Gump represents a return to the themes of that earlier movie. In this case, the main character remains a child in heart and spirit, even as his body grows to maturity. Hanks is called upon yet again to play the innocent.

    Through the miracle of visual effects, Forrest meets his fair share of famous people - George Wallace, Presidents Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon, and John Lennon. While mixing the real footage of these notables with new images featuring Hanks is not a seamless process, the result is nevertheless effective. (This is a precursor of what would become commonplace in future films as the effects work employed here became refined.)

    Forrest Gump has several messages, few of which require much digging into the subtext to unearth. The most frequently recurring theme is an admonition not to give up on life. Why surrender when you don't know what lies ahead? By contrasting Forrest's life with the lives of those around him, and by showing how the passage of time brings solace to even the most embittered hearts, the movie underlines this point.

    Tom Hanks won 1994's Academy Award for Philadelphia, but his performance here is more nuanced. [With Forrest Gump, he would become only the second man to win back-to-back Lead Actor Oscars, joining Spencer Tracy.] The Alabama accent may seem a little awkward at first, but it doesn't take long for the acting to dwarf the twang. Hanks fashions a human character free of guile and deceit, and barely able to comprehend a concept like evil. Robin Wright gives the best performance of her career, surpassing what she accomplished in The Playboys. Looking and seeming like a younger Jessica Lange, she is believable as the object of Forrest's undying affection. The scene-stealer, however, is Gary Sinise. A renowned stage director and actor, Sinise is probably best known to film-goers (to the extent that he is known at all) for his portrayal of George in 1992's Of Mice and Men (which he also directed). In this movie, his portrayal of Lieutenant Dan Taylor is riveting. The passion and pain he brings to the middle portions of Forrest Gump hold together some of the film's weaker moments.

    The soundtrack boasts a variety of sounds of the era - perhaps too wide a variety. Often, music can be useful in establishing a mood, but Forrest Gump rockets into the realm of overkill. There are sequences when the choice of song is inspired (the use of "Running on Empty" for Forrest's "long run" comes to mind), but the soundtrack could have used a little pruning. There are times when it seems as much designed to sell CDs as to cement the setting.

    Ultimately, however, any such gripes about Forrest Gump are minor. This is a marvelous motion picture -- a mint julep on a hot summer's afternoon.
    Expand
  19. Jan 6, 2016
    9
    WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: The star of this classic show - Tom Hanks is brilliant here, every ounce of his character is so believeable and beautifully played. Match this with an amazing cast, an amusing but detailed and fantastic plot with real sentimental value, as well as a great supporting cast, you've got yourself a film that stands the test of time for all the right reasons. Even now itWHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: The star of this classic show - Tom Hanks is brilliant here, every ounce of his character is so believeable and beautifully played. Match this with an amazing cast, an amusing but detailed and fantastic plot with real sentimental value, as well as a great supporting cast, you've got yourself a film that stands the test of time for all the right reasons. Even now it doesn't feel dated
    WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Some of the themes are questionnable...
    VERDICT: A well told tale of one man - thanks to Tom Hanks, 'Forrest Gump' is a real and emotional classic
    Expand
  20. Dec 10, 2015
    9
    The root problem of this movie is the character payoff. We sense that loving the character is not enough, alas we have to respect him as well. Personally, I can remember myself having respect for the dumbest or the most wicked characters. Certainly, there is a way of sentimentalizing a character who saves several lives in a shootout and loses a friend in his arms but when I’m watching aThe root problem of this movie is the character payoff. We sense that loving the character is not enough, alas we have to respect him as well. Personally, I can remember myself having respect for the dumbest or the most wicked characters. Certainly, there is a way of sentimentalizing a character who saves several lives in a shootout and loses a friend in his arms but when I’m watching a guy who does all this because his mind rings “Run Forrest, Run!”, my sentimentalism feels more like a wet dream.
    I was jerked around all over as my sympathy was about to get milked at any minute, regardless of how preposterous the reason was. And, they succeeded damn well but after about an hour when the movie was finished I felt deceived. This may be a great movie, I’m not sure. But it definitely is the great (if not the greatest) manipulation.
    One thing I really, just honestly don’t understand is the film’s stuborness about pedalling this so called simplicity of the main hero. Even in the most tearjerking scenes, Forrest seems totally disconnected, and he is.There was a movie called Awakenings, where characters were in lethargy and I can assume they actually couldn’t understand most of what was happening around. The diferrence is that in that movie the characters were in a center of our curious exploration and we gradually began to feel familiar with them on more fundamental level too. Unlike them Forrest Gump(could be Forrest Dumb) is a container of emptiness, something that keeps your attachment just as much as you are being involved overall. And still he sometimes gets to be the center of the drama here. This is the problem: the movie wants to sentimentalize him no matter what and is too greedy to admit that he’s above all a storytelling device. If the movie had chosen that ground of awareness, I wonder what would’ve been made of it.
    Watching Forrest Gump is like experiencing those moments of euphoria when your mind is being overly selective about events in your life and everything seems to make sense. While, having finished watching it is like unfolding bitter truths about the same events, analyzing them more thoroughly and eventually understanding they were much less meaningful and much less uniquely related to each other than you thought.
    So, does this mean Forrest Gump is about life? Yes, it does. More specifically, if somebody asked me what this film is about, I would say it is about false glimpses of one’s life. The creators of this movie know this but I suggest you not to get annoyed too much. Just take your time and consider everybody already knows what you have to say. After all, there must be kind of a challenge to make a movie that wins people’s admiration and makes them despise that very admiration.
    Expand
  21. Sep 10, 2015
    10
    one of the best movies ever made, it will make you cry from start to beginning, with waterfalls of tears, its great classic which never gets old, no matter how many times you will watch it
  22. Aug 30, 2015
    0
    This overly sentimental film has often been regarded as one of the finest in cinema history, which it is anything but. This is a badly acted,y written and executed film, that downplays American counter culture events in favour of a dim witted story. The film is patronising to the audience and characters alike, with laughable quotes like "stupid is as stupid does." This is a very poor film,This overly sentimental film has often been regarded as one of the finest in cinema history, which it is anything but. This is a badly acted,y written and executed film, that downplays American counter culture events in favour of a dim witted story. The film is patronising to the audience and characters alike, with laughable quotes like "stupid is as stupid does." This is a very poor film, and easily one of the worst best picture winners to date. Expand
  23. Aug 5, 2015
    6
    ‘Forrest Gump’ is a strange movie as the movie itself underwhelmed me, however, the performance of Tom Hanks as the protagonist ‘Forrest Gump’ overwhelmed me. Seriously hyped and known to be one of the finest movies ever made, ‘Forrest Gump’ certainly failed to create that big an impact on me. I felt that the movie, at best, was a sentimental fantasy of a very likable protagonist. The‘Forrest Gump’ is a strange movie as the movie itself underwhelmed me, however, the performance of Tom Hanks as the protagonist ‘Forrest Gump’ overwhelmed me. Seriously hyped and known to be one of the finest movies ever made, ‘Forrest Gump’ certainly failed to create that big an impact on me. I felt that the movie, at best, was a sentimental fantasy of a very likable protagonist. The movie was far from perfect for me. The major flaw for me was that it was the movie was largely predictable and over sentimental at times. Some of the dialogue was so predictable that I cringed every time I got to hear it. Some of the moments in the movie are supposed to be ‘magical’ and direction makes sure they really do seem over dramatic which also kind of bothered me. As likable as the protagonist was, at times, ‘Gump’ himself felt rather invincible which made me worry a little less about him as a character. The other problem with the movie was that it was way too long and disengaged during several parts of it run time. This is also because at times the movie seemed a bit repetitive. Barring these problems, the movie works because of its performance ‘Tom Hanks’ that stands over the movie’s flaws and the movies occasional moments of genuine emotion shared between Hank’s and Wright’s character. In fact, the movie, for me, would have benefitted way more if it had focused more on the love story between its 2 central characters and focused more on Gump’s relationship with his mother. However, I still was amused by the occasional eccentric and funny dialogue delivered to perfection by Hanks and him chemistry with his mom and love. ‘Field’ as ‘Mrs. Gump’ is endearing and loving in a limited role and shares great moments with ‘Forrest Gump’. ‘Sinise’ is good and makes an impact as ‘Dan’ but his relationship with ‘Gump’ did not strike me emotionally too much. He did, however, add the occasional humor and I did sympathize with his condition at times. ‘Wright’ is perfectly cast as ‘Jenny’ and evokes all types of emotions perfectly. I felt bad for her, hated her at times, did not understand her and ultimately adored her because she made a rather weak character very strong through her acting. Ultimately, however, it is ‘Tom Hanks’ as ‘Forrest Gump’ who actually kept me invested in the movie throughout. I felt that it was one of the best performances I have seen by any actor in a long time and one that really rose above all the flaws of the movie and really overwhelmed me. ‘Hank’ perfectly plays ‘Gump’ in a way that he absolutely becomes the character and truly deserved the Oscar for it.
    Overall, ‘Forrest Gump’ is ‘Tom Hank’s’ triumph as an actor because he truly keeps an ordinary film going. I was clearly underwhelmed by the movie because of its duration, over sentimentality and predictability, however, would still recommend it for its magnificent performances and genuine likability.
    Expand
  24. Jul 12, 2015
    10
    Tom Hanks in a modern virtuous story of the unexpected milestones in life, as the title character with a mental disability and a lucky talent in running, football ,and ping pong who becomes involved in many important events that shaped our future for the 21st century, in a spectacular triumph of the american dream in all men.

    Robert Zemeckis' visionary direction and special oscar
    Tom Hanks in a modern virtuous story of the unexpected milestones in life, as the title character with a mental disability and a lucky talent in running, football ,and ping pong who becomes involved in many important events that shaped our future for the 21st century, in a spectacular triumph of the american dream in all men.

    Robert Zemeckis' visionary direction and special oscar winning visual effects is a revolutionary act of chemistry that has changed my views of art forever, a film that makes the impossible possible!
    Expand
  25. SAV
    Jul 1, 2015
    10
    Forrest Gump é senza alcuna ombra di dubbio uno dei più bei film che abbia mai visto. Nella mia personale classifica dei film preferiti é secondo solo a Ritorno al Futuro. Trattasi di un film eccezionale che coinvolge lo spettatore fino a commuoverlo ed emozionarlo fortemente. A dir poco strabiliante l'interpretazione di Tom Hanks che in questa meravigliosa pellicola ha raggiunto l'apiceForrest Gump é senza alcuna ombra di dubbio uno dei più bei film che abbia mai visto. Nella mia personale classifica dei film preferiti é secondo solo a Ritorno al Futuro. Trattasi di un film eccezionale che coinvolge lo spettatore fino a commuoverlo ed emozionarlo fortemente. A dir poco strabiliante l'interpretazione di Tom Hanks che in questa meravigliosa pellicola ha raggiunto l'apice della sua bravura. Se non avete mai visto questo capolavoro cinematografico fatevi un favore e recuperatelo. Expand
  26. Jun 25, 2015
    1
    A vile, offensive, lazy shambles of a film that is so saccharine its a wonder watching it doesn't give you diabetes. Please don't watch it if you haven't.
  27. Jun 5, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of my favorite movies every, Forrest Gump has so many great aspects. Between the humor, heartfelt moments, and all the different adventures in it. Tom Hanks was an incredibly acted, phenomenally directed, and just an all around masterpiece. Expand
  28. May 6, 2015
    8
    Since its theatrical release in the summer of 1994, Forrest Gump has become one of those movies seemingly everyone is familiar with. It's a cultural touchstone with lines like "Life is a box of chocolates" appearing everywhere from tee-shirts to greeting cards. The film's popularity was italicized by the way it rampaged through the 1995 Oscars, winning six awards (including the "big three"Since its theatrical release in the summer of 1994, Forrest Gump has become one of those movies seemingly everyone is familiar with. It's a cultural touchstone with lines like "Life is a box of chocolates" appearing everywhere from tee-shirts to greeting cards. The film's popularity was italicized by the way it rampaged through the 1995 Oscars, winning six awards (including the "big three" of Best Picture, Director, and Actor). Now, for its 20th anniversary, the decision has been made to do something Hollywood almost never does during the home video era: a big screen re-release.

    How to get people into theaters to watch (or re-watch) Forrest run when it's a lot easier to do it at home? Enter the IMAX gimmick. Calling it anything less crass would be dishonest since there's no inherent reason why Forrest Gump should be bulked up for IMAX (or pseudo-IMAX, depending on how one views the smaller AMC version of the product). Still, commercial considerations aside, there's something majestic about watching this tall tale unfold on a larger screen than one can find in the average family room. The IMAX format is a nice way to entice some viewers to see the movie in a theater while maintaining the original composition.

    The original review holds up today because, unlike some decades-old motion pictures, this one doesn't seem dated. It wears its age well. Here's what I wrote in 1994 when the movie was first released:

    Ever find the grind of life getting you down? Is the day-to-day struggle threatening to drag you under? If so, there is a movie out there that can replenish your energy and refresh your outlook. Passionate and magical, Forrest Gump is a tonic for the weary of spirit. For those who feel that being set adrift in a season of action movies is like wandering into a desert, the oasis lies ahead.

    Back when Tom Hanks' movie career was relatively new, the actor made a film called Big, which told the story of a young boy forced to grow up fast as a result of an ill-advised wish made at a carnival. In some ways, Forrest Gump represents a return to the themes of that earlier movie. In this case, the main character remains a child in heart and spirit, even as his body grows to maturity. Hanks is called upon yet again to play the innocent.

    A trio of assets lifts Forrest Gump above the average "life story" (melo)drama: its optimism, freshness, and emotional honesty. Though the movie does not seek to reduce every member of the audience to tears, it has moments whose power comes from their simplicity. Equally as important is laughter, and Forrest Gump has moments of humor strewn throughout.

    Through the miracle of visual effects, Forrest meets his fair share of famous people - George Wallace, Presidents Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon, and John Lennon. While mixing the real footage of these notables with new images featuring Hanks is not a seamless process, the result is nevertheless effective. (This is a precursor of what would become commonplace in future films as the effects work employed here became refined.)

    The soundtrack boasts a variety of sounds of the era - perhaps too wide a variety. Often, music can be useful in establishing a mood, but Forrest Gump rockets into the realm of overkill. There are sequences when the choice of song is inspired (the use of "Running on Empty" for Forrest's "long run" comes to mind), but the soundtrack could have used a little pruning. There are times when it seems as much designed to sell CDs as to cement the setting.

    Ultimately, however, any such gripes about Forrest Gump are minor. This is a marvelous motion picture -- a mint julep on a hot summer's afternoon.
    Expand
  29. Apr 24, 2015
    8
    Since its theatrical release in the summer of 1994, Forrest Gump has become one of those movies seemingly everyone is familiar with. It's a cultural touchstone with lines like "Life is a box of chocolates" appearing everywhere from tee-shirts to greeting cards. The film's popularity was italicized by the way it rampaged through the 1995 Oscars, winning six awards (including the "big three"Since its theatrical release in the summer of 1994, Forrest Gump has become one of those movies seemingly everyone is familiar with. It's a cultural touchstone with lines like "Life is a box of chocolates" appearing everywhere from tee-shirts to greeting cards. The film's popularity was italicized by the way it rampaged through the 1995 Oscars, winning six awards (including the "big three" of Best Picture, Director, and Actor). Now, for its 20th anniversary, the decision has been made to do something Hollywood almost never does during the home video era: a big screen re-release.

    How to get people into theaters to watch (or re-watch) Forrest run when it's a lot easier to do it at home? Enter the IMAX gimmick. Calling it anything less crass would be dishonest since there's no inherent reason why Forrest Gump should be bulked up for IMAX (or pseudo-IMAX, depending on how one views the smaller AMC version of the product). Still, commercial considerations aside, there's something majestic about watching this tall tale unfold on a larger screen than one can find in the average family room. The IMAX format is a nice way to entice some viewers to see the movie in a theater while maintaining the original composition.

    During the 60s and 70s, no topic more inflamed the turbulent national consciousness than that of Vietnam and those who were sent overseas to fight. Forrest, as might be expected, has a singular viewpoint on his time spent there: "We took long walks and were always looking for this guy named Charlie." This observation emphasizes the essence of the title character's nature.

    Through the miracle of visual effects, Forrest meets his fair share of famous people - George Wallace, Presidents Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon, and John Lennon. While mixing the real footage of these notables with new images featuring Hanks is not a seamless process, the result is nevertheless effective. (This is a precursor of what would become commonplace in future films as the effects work employed here became refined.)

    Forrest Gump has several messages, few of which require much digging into the subtext to unearth. The most frequently recurring theme is an admonition not to give up on life. Why surrender when you don't know what lies ahead? By contrasting Forrest's life with the lives of those around him, and by showing how the passage of time brings solace to even the most embittered hearts, the movie underlines this point.

    The soundtrack boasts a variety of sounds of the era - perhaps too wide a variety. Often, music can be useful in establishing a mood, but Forrest Gump rockets into the realm of overkill. There are sequences when the choice of song is inspired (the use of "Running on Empty" for Forrest's "long run" comes to mind), but the soundtrack could have used a little pruning. There are times when it seems as much designed to sell CDs as to cement the setting.

    Ultimately, however, any such gripes about Forrest Gump are minor. This is a marvelous motion picture -- a mint julep on a hot summer's afternoon.
    Expand
  30. Apr 19, 2015
    8
    Forrest Gump (Hanks) is short on I.Q. points but long on heart, a pure and simple soul who follows a straight path through the world, ever true to the homely advice of his mother (Field) - the source of guiding Gumpisms such as "Stupid is as stupid does" - and to his elusive lifelong love Jenny (Wright). He begins his serendipitous skirmishes with destiny in childhood by unconsciouslyForrest Gump (Hanks) is short on I.Q. points but long on heart, a pure and simple soul who follows a straight path through the world, ever true to the homely advice of his mother (Field) - the source of guiding Gumpisms such as "Stupid is as stupid does" - and to his elusive lifelong love Jenny (Wright). He begins his serendipitous skirmishes with destiny in childhood by unconsciously giving ideas to the as-yet-unknown Elvis Presley, and goes on to become, unintentionally, a football star, war hero!

    The charmed and charming life journey of an innocent tossed through three decades of America's turbulent modern history makes for an original and hugely appealing story. Its mesmerising potential only falters because director Robert Zemeckis' agility with ingenious special effects occasionally outpaces his narrative judgement, as it did in Death Becomes Her and, to a lesser extent, in Who Framed Roger Rabbit. It is still his most emotionally satisfying work to date, though, and however mildly or sharply one is struck by its dramatic flaws, there can be few who would deny the film's entertainment value or the captivation of Tom Hanks' performance as the eponymous Gump.

    State-of-the-art computer digitalised compositing enables Forrest to interact with Presidents JFK, LBJ and Nixon, pop stars like John Lennon and TV personalities galore, creating other illusions to quite astounding effect. Less successful is the strand throughout the film in which Wright's Jenny counterpoints Forrest's naïve plod - always following his heart and his inner voice of right-doing in a country losing direction - with her extended walk on the wild side through promiscuity, drugs and loss of belief. Overlong, the film begins to slide into a sentimentalised panorama of the times with distracting, though admittedly frequently hilarious, spectacles.

    Yet, for all its mush and meandering, this is among the stand-out audience pleasers; Hanks outdoes himself in the loveable dolt department with unforgettable, utterly disarming work. Just as he recaptured boyishness in Big without resorting to cuteness, here he brilliantly portrays slowness and dumb doggedness without being patronising. Despite its flaws, this is simply unmissable.
    Expand
  31. Apr 19, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The charmed and charming life journey of an innocent tossed through three decades of America's turbulent modern history makes for an original and hugely appealing story. Its mesmerising potential only falters because director Robert Zemeckis' agility with ingenious special effects occasionally outpaces his narrative judgement, as it did in Death Becomes Her and, to a lesser extent, in Who Framed Roger Rabbit. It is still his most emotionally satisfying work to date, though, and however mildly or sharply one is struck by its dramatic flaws, there can be few who would deny the film's entertainment value or the captivation of Tom Hanks' performance as the eponymous Gump.

    State-of-the-art computer digitalised compositing enables Forrest to interact with Presidents JFK, LBJ and Nixon, pop stars like John Lennon and TV personalities galore, creating other illusions to quite astounding effect. Less successful is the strand throughout the film in which Wright's Jenny counterpoints Forrest's naïve plod - always following his heart and his inner voice of right-doing in a country losing direction - with her extended walk on the wild side through promiscuity, drugs and loss of belief. Overlong, the film begins to slide into a sentimentalised panorama of the times with distracting, though admittedly frequently hilarious, spectacles.

    Yet, for all its mush and meandering, this is among the stand-out audience pleasers; Hanks outdoes himself in the loveable dolt department with unforgettable, utterly disarming work. Just as he recaptured boyishness in Big without resorting to cuteness, here he brilliantly portrays slowness and dumb doggedness without being patronising. Despite its flaws, this is simply unmissable.
    Expand
  32. Mar 30, 2015
    9
    Tom Hanks proves his talent for acting. In this film even manages to surprise me pleasantly. I like Forrest, trying to overcome his moments and be a normal person.
  33. Mar 13, 2015
    10
    Every time I watch this movie, I feel a strong rush of emotion. This movie always leaves me breathless with butterflies in my stomach and goosebumps on my arms. A truly powerful movie that will break your heart and at the same time comfort your soul. Words can't even begin to describe this move, they wouldn't give it enough credit.
  34. Feb 16, 2015
    10
    One of the movies you must see before you die. Forrest Gump is a movie that fills you with so many emotions that you have to break at some point. Funny , hopeful , touching , this movie has everything and it made me cry at the end. A brilliant story told by an amazing actor who portrays Forrest perfectly. Stop reading this and go watch it!
  35. Dec 19, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well, there's only one thing I can tell you about "Forrest Gump".
    "Forrest Gump" is one of those movies that will make you laugh, cry and fell good about life. But also, the movie brin..[*********************************************************]. And that's all I have to say about that.
    Expand
  36. Nov 25, 2014
    10
    Owen Gleiberman needs to lose his job. This movie is worth far more than his score of 50/100. Maybe if he would review this movie again and try to not think like a complete and total douche bag he would give it a better score. Tom Hanks' performance rightly gave him his second Oscar in a row.
  37. Oct 11, 2014
    9
    It's pretty disrespectful that when this Best Picture was released in theaters recently; critics chose hate on it and put it down to 71% good reviews. No way is Forrest Gump a bad movie. It's a classic about just being yourself and how your actions make you stupid; not the size of your IQ.
  38. Oct 5, 2014
    1
    Stupid saccharine coated fantasy drivel that makes morons root for somebody less fortunate. This movie is literally for retards only! The charm and innocence of the main character sends the wrong message about the bliss of ignorance. Typical Hollywood **** that takes people away from the reality they have to live in.
  39. Sep 6, 2014
    10
    A timeless and beautiful movie. Forrest Gump is truly a modern epic. It's hilarious, heartbreaking, sometimes breathtaking, and completely unforgettable. The scope is impressive. Never does the movie feel slight or insignificant. It encompasses the entire human emotional spectrum, is impeccably acted, especially by Hanks, and it contains some of the most memorable characters in filmA timeless and beautiful movie. Forrest Gump is truly a modern epic. It's hilarious, heartbreaking, sometimes breathtaking, and completely unforgettable. The scope is impressive. Never does the movie feel slight or insignificant. It encompasses the entire human emotional spectrum, is impeccably acted, especially by Hanks, and it contains some of the most memorable characters in film history. At the risk of sounding too overjoyed, it's an absolute classic. Forget the cynics and their campaign against anything emotionally touching. This is one of the greatest films of all time. It's an accomplishment that has stood the test of time and shows no sign of aging. Expand
  40. Sep 4, 2014
    8
    awesome movie...in this movie romance as well as we also show drama in both and great chemistry. watch online and Download free Forrest Gump Movie in Full HD Quality on http://goo.gl/rp14DX
  41. chw
    Aug 16, 2014
    10
    Forrest Gump is a fantastic film. This is one of the films you have to see before you die, because if you don't you're missing out on a giant opportunity.
  42. Jun 30, 2014
    10
    One of best movie in Hollywood ever filmed.A brilliant narrated by a man with simple pleasures.Tom Hanks is great and unbelievable actor.Robert Zemeckis deserved an Oscar award for the best director
  43. Apr 26, 2014
    7
    This is a good film that is unbelievably overrated. Gets a 7 for Tom Hanks' performance and the one admittedly hilarious scene where Bubba and Forrest are asked whether they are twins. The rest of the film is cartoonish, pretentious and overly-sentimental bull****. How this beat the Shawshank Redemption, or even worse Pulp Fiction, arguably the best movies of the 90s is beyond me.
  44. Apr 25, 2014
    9
    "Pulp Fiction" is better. "The Shawshank Redemption" is better. But nonetheless, I love "Forrest Gump". I fully understand why some may not like it, but I love it. I love its acting, I love the way in which it is rendered, I love its scope. I love its seamless combination of comedy, drama, romance and, to a degree, fantasy, to produce such a story so dazzlingly endearing you almost don't"Pulp Fiction" is better. "The Shawshank Redemption" is better. But nonetheless, I love "Forrest Gump". I fully understand why some may not like it, but I love it. I love its acting, I love the way in which it is rendered, I love its scope. I love its seamless combination of comedy, drama, romance and, to a degree, fantasy, to produce such a story so dazzlingly endearing you almost don't want the film to end. Tom Hanks is a marvel to behold, playing our protagonist across multiple decades of monumental importance to American history with an endearing simplicity and charm. And I think Gary Sinise delivers some of the best supporting work in any film I've ever seen. Sentimental to a fault it may be, but "Forrest Gump" encapsulates the ideal of the American dream unlike any other film I've ever watched. It is the feel-good film of the decade, of any decade. Expand
  45. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    The very definition of epic. This is the greatest movie of all time in my opinion. It has everything, comedy, romance, tragedy, and spans the globe in this epic fiction tale that ties in with real world events. The music has to be the best in any movie ever. It's moral is great too, it's about a man who wasn't given anything and had to fight for everything. He came from almost nothing andThe very definition of epic. This is the greatest movie of all time in my opinion. It has everything, comedy, romance, tragedy, and spans the globe in this epic fiction tale that ties in with real world events. The music has to be the best in any movie ever. It's moral is great too, it's about a man who wasn't given anything and had to fight for everything. He came from almost nothing and became the most influential and morally upright person ever born. He is everything I wish I could be, the greatest man to ever walk to the Earth. The Dos Equis guy doesn't have anything on Forrest Gump. Forrest is the most interesting man in the world, just ask the people at that bus stop. I've seen the movie at least a dozen times and I still cry when his Momma dies, when Bubba dies, and when Jenny dies and he's at her grave talking about their son. I don't understand why this movie is so low on the rating scale. It's much better than pulp fiction and better than Shawshank Redemption. I read a review where some guy said those movies are way better and I almost laughed. Expand
  46. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    A movie having all the essence for entertainment whether it is romance, comedy, war, adventure or drama. The film is absolutely magical and fun to watch.
  47. Mar 8, 2014
    9
    .Great, entertaining and wonderful, with great music and a very interesting story. Deserves 9, so I think, for what duration was grounded, because in my opinion not have lasted long, as he ran the risk of being boring. But otherwise perfect, my final word.
  48. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    Tom Hanks really killed it as Forrest Gump. This excellent movie touches on everything you expect: love, emotion, humor, and even action. Honestly, if you haven't seen this film, you're doing yourself a disservice.
  49. Mar 7, 2014
    10
    “Forrest Gump” (1994) is an American classic that takes us on a journey through a very unique man’s life who is involved in very important events throughout our history. Every aspect of this movie shows different points on very controversial moments. Everything from how Forrest got his name to interracial integration in schools and even touches base on the disease we now know as HIV or“Forrest Gump” (1994) is an American classic that takes us on a journey through a very unique man’s life who is involved in very important events throughout our history. Every aspect of this movie shows different points on very controversial moments. Everything from how Forrest got his name to interracial integration in schools and even touches base on the disease we now know as HIV or AIDS. Forrest, whose adult actor was played by the award winning actor Tom Hanks, grows up as a special needs child who is befriended by a young girl named Jenny. Jenny was Forrest’s only friend all through high school and they were always side by side until college when Jenny went on to lead a not so glamorous in life of drugs and all that goes along with it, while Forrest took the direction of the military. After the war, Forrest followed a very versatile life of being a Medal of Honor holder, a national ping pong ball champion, a billionaire, a shrimp boat caption, an infamous jogger, and eventually a widowed father to his long lost son from none other than his long time friend and love, Jenny.
    The movie Forrest Gump can be a tear jerker for many and ultimately hold very valuable points to apply to your life regardless of your situation. The most commonly known quote from the movie is, “My momma always said, life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you’re gonna get.” While many may mock this statement, I do hope they see its truth. Always be ready for whatever is thrown at you, and roll with the punches. You definitely cannot plan every detail in life, but as Forrest displays over and over again to just embrace it. Regardless of his endeavors he was always successful because he gave it his all. He did not make excuses and took pride in his actions.
    In my eyes this will always be a “go-to” movie to watch as you can always discover new meaning on scenes that you may have not notice before and really reflect on what America has gone through to get where we are at today. This movie speaks to you a lot about destiny, mainly from the character of Forrest’s mom, Mrs. Gump played by Sally Fields. But, it ultimately reinforced by the reality of each and every character in this movie. Destiny brought all of these characters together and through each event making them into the people they were meant to be.
    I would recommend this film to everyone. It will always be my favorite movie and just by watching it, it also allows me to step back and re-evaluate my life and where it is going. It reminds me to be more humble and always appreciate everything I have today, not only possessions, but the people in my life and experiences I have endured.
    Expand
  50. Mar 4, 2014
    9
    An incredibly touching film with a great cast, excellent choice of music and a thoroughly pleasing storyline. Some of the dialogue in this film is now commonly quoted in everyday life which is a great achievement. It was a teeny bit long though, otherwise this film would have probably scored more, maybe even a 100.
  51. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    I have finally seen this in its entirety (I had seen parts of it, but most of it was new). There isn't much to be said about this one since it's such an iconic film that most people have in fact seen it already, but it certainly lives up to the enormous hype it has and more.
  52. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    I was almost crying when i saw the end of the movie. Warm, beautiful, heart-touching, Forrest Gump is what I will recommend that you watch, for this movie is worth 2 hours spending on
  53. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    What a great movie that summarize Life, that film give you hope and it's a feel good film. If forrest gump, this not intelligent guy, make things in his life that a genius can't make it, so why we lose hope for what we are or underrate ourselves.This masterpiece gives you the best meaning of life between all movies ever, a great acting,directing,screenplay and much more. I think Tom HanksWhat a great movie that summarize Life, that film give you hope and it's a feel good film. If forrest gump, this not intelligent guy, make things in his life that a genius can't make it, so why we lose hope for what we are or underrate ourselves.This masterpiece gives you the best meaning of life between all movies ever, a great acting,directing,screenplay and much more. I think Tom Hanks in this film gives the best performance not only in 1994, but in all-time in my opinion. 10/10 Expand
  54. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    Forrest Gump runs to gold.
    Forest Gump is a tear jerking story with incredible acting and good directing. An instant classic with a beautiful message.
  55. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    The worst film ever made. How could it be consider better then "The Shawshank Redemption" No sense at all. How could it be better then Pulp Fiction No, not at all. I prefer "Attack of the Killer Tomatoes" then "Forest Dumb"!
  56. Oct 31, 2013
    9
    Forest Gump maybe long and for some promote ignorance but that does not stop it from being a straight up wonderful film. Forest Gump has a likeable character, a story that while a tad unrealistic is inspiration, and so many feels! If you haven’t seen this movie yet than check it out because there is some great stuff here. I just love it through and through. Forest Gump is a wonderful filmForest Gump maybe long and for some promote ignorance but that does not stop it from being a straight up wonderful film. Forest Gump has a likeable character, a story that while a tad unrealistic is inspiration, and so many feels! If you haven’t seen this movie yet than check it out because there is some great stuff here. I just love it through and through. Forest Gump is a wonderful film that pulls at your heartstrings with its likeable character and emotional story making it a film that everyone should see. Expand
  57. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    A beautiful movie, overall. Tom Hanks plays the character so well, that the seemingly impossible events in this movie transform into somewhat realistic coincidences. He really was "at the right place, at the right time", or the "wrong place at the wrong time."

    The cast is great, and director Robert Zemekis' careful attention to detail is to be noted. Everything from his white suit to
    A beautiful movie, overall. Tom Hanks plays the character so well, that the seemingly impossible events in this movie transform into somewhat realistic coincidences. He really was "at the right place, at the right time", or the "wrong place at the wrong time."

    The cast is great, and director Robert Zemekis' careful attention to detail is to be noted. Everything from his white suit to his shoes is right and simply true about Forrest Gump, and the movie is just that: right and simply true.
    Expand
  58. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    Funny, heartwarming, and with editing so amazing you can't believe your eyes. And Tom Hanks departs from previous roles to play the loving but idiotic title character. You always learn to love him.
  59. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    This movie is just all around awesome. Tom Hanks kills the role, portraying an interesting character with a colorful and detailed back story. Every flash back is detailed, well fleshed out, and occasionally inspirational. You really can't go wrong with this movie.
  60. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    My best movie of all time! i like it when the movie tells a story of someone life adventures.. and yes Forrest tell me a great story about his life that full of chocolate.. A very good acting of Tom and Great story, all just perfect for me..
  61. Jun 2, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is really meaningful! It has all the american history of 20th century in it! For me it was more comedy. But trust me, "Forrest Gump" could be a lot better! Why that girl broke up with him 4 times? Why during his speech about the war in Vietnam, some guy plugged out the cables? I thought he realized something and was going to say a great speech, when he turned around after he ran million miles! And my biggest question is why this movie has won 6 oscars? I think it's a good movie, but i really believe it's overrated and if you're wondering to watch it or not, let me warn you. This movie is philosophical! "Forrest Gump" is really smart movie, but my personal score is 5/10, because i wasn't impressed from what i saw. Expand
  62. May 24, 2013
    10
    Forrest Gump is without doubt my favourite movie of all time. I am rarely one to watch a film more than once but I must have now seen Forrest Gump at least 5 or 6 times over the years. Tom Hanks is at his brilliant best as the title character and it is a credit to the rest of the cast that they are not completely overshadowed by his performance.

    At times this movie is able to make you
    Forrest Gump is without doubt my favourite movie of all time. I am rarely one to watch a film more than once but I must have now seen Forrest Gump at least 5 or 6 times over the years. Tom Hanks is at his brilliant best as the title character and it is a credit to the rest of the cast that they are not completely overshadowed by his performance.

    At times this movie is able to make you laugh one minute and almost cry the next ("I miss you Jenny").

    A must see.
    Expand
  63. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    My favorite movie ever! Its simple, beautiful, happy, sad... Every thing together.
    The story show how life cam be complex and simple at same time, i like it. I have fun with this movie.
  64. Apr 13, 2013
    9
    Forrest Gump is a truly remarkable film with a magnificent performance by Tom Hanks. The story is simple and when watching the film you will be taken on a journey into the life of a fascinating character. The film has a bit of everything humour, sadness, uplifting moments, great acting and a whole host of characters that you will not only care for, but also take an interest in aswell.Forrest Gump is a truly remarkable film with a magnificent performance by Tom Hanks. The story is simple and when watching the film you will be taken on a journey into the life of a fascinating character. The film has a bit of everything humour, sadness, uplifting moments, great acting and a whole host of characters that you will not only care for, but also take an interest in aswell. Whilst we are all aware that Forrest Gump is not an intelligent man, by the end of the film you will realise what a remarkable person he is and will have an insight into the astonishing life that he led. Expand
  65. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    is a beautiful film where a man with IQ below 75,
    politician, soldier, father, millionaire Lawnmower shows you that no matter your personality tells the president to be urinating, survives the Vietnam war and fellow looks like he hates going bye, millionaire and does not care, mowing works in a school and great father of his love of life and intelligent child. teaches us that if you have
    is a beautiful film where a man with IQ below 75,
    politician, soldier, father, millionaire Lawnmower shows you that no matter your personality tells the president to be urinating, survives the Vietnam war and fellow looks like he hates going bye, millionaire and does not care, mowing works in a school and great father of his love of life and intelligent child. teaches us that if you have a default no matter just have to move on and succeed in life as well.
    Expand
  66. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There is a great service for movie buffs on the web called Flickchart. It's premise is simple. It presents you with two movies, and you click which of the two you prefer. The movies can be similar or wildly disparate, and there are no stated criteria to select--you simply pick whichever you feel is the better of the two, wherever and however that may be. Since their are no stated criteria, the choice is instinctual and emotional rather than calculated and intellectual. Forrest Gump is number one on my chart. Citizen Kane is number ten. Doubtless, should I ever be asked to contribute to the Sight and Sound poll, I will have a hard time explaining my choices, but that's okay. I love this movie. But just in case, here's my head start: 1. As an exploration of the theme of unconditional love, there is none better. "You have to stop rescuing me!", implores Jenny, to which Forrest responds, "I can't, Jenny. I love you." Sick, well, degraded, alone, with cads, with child--Forrest loves Jenny. Period. He knows what love is.

    2. It's very, very funny and uses humor to address issues such as segregation and the Vietnam conflict that not only are inherently not funny but that have left deep scars on the American psyche.

    3. The special effects are fantastic. Has any movie before or since so effectively integrated news clips the way this one did to give the film its heightened sense of authenticity? Not to mention the alterations to Gary Sinise, which in my book are way more impressive than, say, what was done in Avatar.

    4. Maybe this one's a stretch, but it seems to me not incredulous to say the themes of chance and destiny are reminiscent of classical Greek theater and that the soundtrack is not entirely dissimilar in function to that of a Greek chorus.

    5. And finally, "Stupid is as stupid does" works perfectly as a summation of existential philosophy. After all, who is Forrest? Is he an idiot? Or is he a world class athlete, war hero, shrimp boat captain, and millionaire? Well, it depends on how we define him. But if we define him through his actions, which is, after all, how he defines himself, it's clear he is the latter. Throughout the movie, other characters underestimate Forrest, thereby defining him. The principle thinks he will not make it through public school, yet he makes it through college. Lt Dan worries he will do something stupid and get himself killed, yet he saves not only Lt Dan but several others as well and becomes a medal of honor recipient. Jenny thinks he doesn't know what love is, and yet he becomes the great love of her life.

    Okay, I'm waiting for my call from Sight and Sound now.
    Expand
  67. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    This charming and wondrous film is hilarious and at the same time, touching. Exceptional cast.
  68. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    A beautiful movie. Loved every single character in the movie and it gets real emotional as you progress through the movie. I could re-watch it infinite times and still shred a few tears and enjoy it.
  69. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    "My Momma always said that life was like a box of chocolates. You ever know what you are going to get." Forrest Gump (Tom Hanks)

    Forrest Gump is an absolutely amazing film that was nominated for and won many academy awards. Tom Hanks won the Golden Glove for best actor, and Robert Zemeckis won the olden Globe for best director. Gary Sanise won a few awards for best supporting actor,
    "My Momma always said that life was like a box of chocolates. You ever know what you are going to get." Forrest Gump (Tom Hanks)

    Forrest Gump is an absolutely amazing film that was nominated for and won many academy awards. Tom Hanks won the Golden Glove for best actor, and Robert Zemeckis won the olden Globe for best director. Gary Sanise won a few awards for best supporting actor, and was nominated in the same category for a few other awards. It won so many prestigious awards besides Golden Globes too. It truly is one of the greatest and my highly praised films of all time, and it deserves all of it. The film is creative as it gets, and an absolute masterpiece. Part of it's brilliance is how historically accurate it is. Forrest Gump is a perfect mixture of an epic drama, romance, and a drama-comedy. Forrest Gump (Tom Hanks) is a slow-witted man that happens to witness and influence important parts of American history in the 2nd half of the 20th century. Forrest has influenced parts of American history such as teaching Elvis the "Elvis Pelvis" dance. His legs were in braces when he was a boy, and he couldn't move them. Elvis was playing a song for him, and he started dancing, but he could only move his pelvis because of the braces. Elvis liked the dance and started to use it. That is the first example of something he influenced in the story.

    The most important part of the story was when he became a war hero. There were a few people that became part of his life that he would influence history with. His friend Bubba who died in the war, who was his best friend he named his shrimp company after. He started the shrimp company "Bubba Gump" with Lieutenant Dan (Gary Sinise).

    Dan had a family member from every generation fight and die in a war, so he feels like that is his destiny. When Forrest saves him he feels like he was cheated out of his destiny. He wanted to die and be honored, but now he doesn't have any legs. He starts to live off of the government, and has lost all faith in God. There is a scene where he is telling Forrest that you cheated me out of my destiny. He was being irrational because it is impossible to be cheated out of a destiny, if God has an exact one planed for you. What Forrest should have said to him is that you are wrong you were destined to survive that war, and in the future you will learn why when all of your pain has passed. I for one don't believe everything is planned. I believe only some things happen for a reason. Certain things I think don't happen for a reason. There is a mix of both, and if everything was planned you wouldn't actually be in control of your life. That is one lesson that Forrest learned at the end.

    The film is also a beautiful romance. Forrest has been in love with his childhood friend Jenny (Robin Wright) ever since he first saw her when he was little. Now that they are adults he wants to be with her, but she is really disturbed. She has become part of the hippy crowd, and she takes a lot of hallucinogens. She gets into many abusive relationships partly because of the damage done from the abusive relationship she had with her father. Her father ruined her life, and everything was sour because of him. She won't be with Forrest because she hates herself, and she loved Forrest too much to hurt him. He doesn't have the intelligence to see that she isn't perfect, or to even see that she is completely flawed. That is the really emotional part of the film, and the romantic part. I like romance in movies as long as it isn't really cheesy stuff, and it is actually deep and emotional. That type of stuff I think is really well acted, and hard to do.

    The film is a hard one to make and to be in, and it is total genius. One of the most creative masterpieces of all time. A classic that will never die.
    Expand
  70. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    It has everything you could ever want in a movie. Friendship, adventure, silliness, romance. Forrest Gump is a fantastic American landmark we should look back on.
  71. Dec 26, 2012
    8
    A hilarious and touching comedy and one of the greatest films of all time. Forrest Gump is the kind of movie that you simply can not miss. It's a must watch.
  72. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Bewitchingly acted, well-written, and hauntingly affecting, "Forrest Gump" is a perfectly graceful and earnest story with some truly compelling thematic elements all throughout.
  73. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    One of the most heartfelt, warm spirited, and touching American movies ever made.
  74. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    In my opinion, Forrest Gump is the greatest film in American history. It makes clear references to historical events, but seen through the eyes of a mentally-handicap man. I am a history buff, so I loved it. Forrest is such a likeable character and it makes it hard not to like him.
  75. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    "Forrest Gump" is just an epic movie that touches people throughout all ages and generations. The simplicity of this film is the main reason to love it. Everyone can lern something from this movie.
  76. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love this movie.
    No No, this is not movie; this is life and love... and stupid :D
    this movie brougth my tears :(
    I love you Forrest, Forrest Gump!
    a beautiful beginning, and end the tragic and very beautiful.
    the best movie for all times...
    if you did not see it, See it!

    "Mama says: Stupid is as stupid does."
    Expand
  77. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    One of the best movies I've ever seen! Tom Hanks Performance is incredible. It made me look at some stuff in a whole new perspective. Forrest Gump is autistic and the way he sees life and understands it is so optimistic and different from what we see it like when he's sent with the army to Vietnam and the shooting and bombings begin he goes back to rescue everyone and he is like "Bubba isOne of the best movies I've ever seen! Tom Hanks Performance is incredible. It made me look at some stuff in a whole new perspective. Forrest Gump is autistic and the way he sees life and understands it is so optimistic and different from what we see it like when he's sent with the army to Vietnam and the shooting and bombings begin he goes back to rescue everyone and he is like "Bubba is my best friend I had to make sure he was ok" most people wouldn't even have a thought like that and that what makes him so amazing. The movie is charming and fantastic, the actors are great, the scrip is fantastic... The movie created a great balance between the whole emotions: one scene I can find myself laughing so hard and the next crying or feeling sad. I highly recommend this movie to everyone! it's a movie you must watch. Expand
  78. Jun 17, 2012
    10
    This is my all-time favourite film. It shows how a man can make the best of his life no matter what struggles he goes through. It shows how all you need is one good friend. It is filled with heart-warming moments. The ending of the film really brings the story full-circle and doesn't leave you wondering "what if".
  79. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    This is a masterpiece! It makes you laugh and cry, but especially makes you think about how the dumbest people can make the difference. Tom Hanks proves that he's one of the greatest actors of all time as Forrest Gump proves he's the greatest hero in USA history.
  80. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    First off, this is a 9.5 out of 10. It's also really good. Well acted most of the time. Also an unbelievable story, but some things in the story will sound just plain stupid. Still score and acting is great. Don't get me wrong this is a great film, but I just think shawshank redemption was better. Overall, great film. Highly recommend.
  81. Mar 12, 2012
    0
    I hate this movie with all my life.
  82. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    This film has everything, love, conflict, drama, humor, unforgettable characters, an amazing script, revolutionary effects, funny moments, touching moments, values, teachings, Robert Zemeckis spectacular address the outstanding performance of Tom Hanks, was a overwhelming box office success, won the Oscar for Best Picture, is in Congress, is loved by millions of people around the world,This film has everything, love, conflict, drama, humor, unforgettable characters, an amazing script, revolutionary effects, funny moments, touching moments, values, teachings, Robert Zemeckis spectacular address the outstanding performance of Tom Hanks, was a overwhelming box office success, won the Oscar for Best Picture, is in Congress, is loved by millions of people around the world, what more could you want. Expand
  83. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    You can reach everything if you only want to!
    Emotional and funny at the same time. A Masterpiece in movie history that no one should miss to watch. 10/10 Points!
  84. Dec 27, 2011
    9
    People often mistake nostalgia for sentimentality, as is the case with Forrest Gump, which exudes nostalgia. It is also easy for the cynic to scoff at the manipulative innocence of such a character as Forrest Gump. However, its effectiveness is undeniable. Forrest overturns every cornerstone in modern American history and allows us to rediscover what a wonder it was to live in 20thPeople often mistake nostalgia for sentimentality, as is the case with Forrest Gump, which exudes nostalgia. It is also easy for the cynic to scoff at the manipulative innocence of such a character as Forrest Gump. However, its effectiveness is undeniable. Forrest overturns every cornerstone in modern American history and allows us to rediscover what a wonder it was to live in 20th century America. All the while, Forrest takes no sides, judges no one, and holds no grudges. Of course, this does not make him a saint, because he appears to not have the mental capacity for such actions. Consequentially, he only has the capacity to see things in terms of those he loves rather than those he hates. Ideologically, he is a simpleton, but can anyone argue with the tangible results? Half of the comedic irony lies in the fact the he survives and lives to tell his story, with no regrets, despite being "slow". The films power lies in notions of right and wrong. In that regard, Forrest is a reflection of those he loves, namely Jenny and his Momma, and they are the ones who influence him. Because those who influence him are benevolent, he turns out to be what we all wish we could be; a lover rather than a hater, candidly honest rather than a liar, all the time. It's tough to imagine a world where everyone always chooses the alternative to malevolent hatred and deception. Whether out of pure righteousness, or because his "Momma" told him, Forrest gives us a glimpse of at least a microcosm of that world through his actions, and it is an experience I will never forget. Expand
  85. Dec 25, 2011
    5
    Wouldn't it have been better if Forrest had been shot to death in Vietnam? Too many good things happen to this righteous character. For those of us cynical and in need of any intensity, it's too hard on the brain to see this nitwit who you know nothing bad is going to happen to him, just the way more interesting characters around him.
  86. Dec 15, 2011
    9
    Its a great film, While there maybe a few parts that annoy you or make you lose interest, Its still worth the watch. Tom Hanks is amazing in this film.
  87. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This film is amazing. Tom Hanks was great in it and played the role perfectly. I think it also did a funny re-telling of some historical events. You cant help but love this film.
  88. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    You will cry tears of sadness. Tears of depression. Tears of hope. Tears of joy. Tears of optimism.. you will cry every possible way your tear ducts can cause, can make, and will do... God bless you Gump.. you lovable idiot..
  89. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    It is very easy to understand that I haven't read the novel in which this film was based on, but that doesn't take away anything about how much I liked this film.

    I liked the whole story about Forrest Gump's life as it revolves around him and his personalities which makes it one of the best ones yet. I'm telling you, this film is not only one of the finest movies ever made, but one of
    It is very easy to understand that I haven't read the novel in which this film was based on, but that doesn't take away anything about how much I liked this film.

    I liked the whole story about Forrest Gump's life as it revolves around him and his personalities which makes it one of the best ones yet.

    I'm telling you, this film is not only one of the finest movies ever made, but one of the greatest masterpieces of all time with great comedy, a very nice concept, amazing emotional sad moments, good development, and Tom Hanks' wonderful performance. Thumbs up from me.

    10/10
    Expand
  90. Aug 28, 2011
    10
    Tom Hanks Delivered the best performance of his career by portrying Forrest Gump. The idea of the movie was just amazing. "Run Forrest Run", this film was so inspirational, when I watched i couldn't believe it, I mean Forrest never stopped, we always had to do something, and he chased for things, he wasn't waiting for them to fall off the sky, so for me that was special. The RelationshipTom Hanks Delivered the best performance of his career by portrying Forrest Gump. The idea of the movie was just amazing. "Run Forrest Run", this film was so inspirational, when I watched i couldn't believe it, I mean Forrest never stopped, we always had to do something, and he chased for things, he wasn't waiting for them to fall off the sky, so for me that was special. The Relationship of Forrest & Jenny, and they encounters after years and stuff like that gave a original flavour to the whole movie. The Directing was awesome, this was truly the best film that Robert Zemeckis ever made. Expand
  91. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    If you've seen THE CURIOUS CASE OF BENJAMIN BUTTON (a life story made 14 years after this movie), think of that, then add some humor. I still don't see why this would win Best Picture, though...
  92. Aug 25, 2011
    3
    A thought crossed my mind many years after viewing this picture: Forrest Gump cannot succeed as a sentimental message picture, because it's message is irresponsible. It is a message of ignorance through bliss, the idea that life would be inherently easier without our pesky brains and ideas. Hanks plays his role as best he could, but the film mistakes a remarkably sad existence for a happy one.
  93. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------The perfect film, Tom Hanks at his finest.
  94. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    For me this movie is just Tom Hanks. The story is there and it is fine, but everything depended on the 1st role actor. I hear often that is is easy for an actor to play an imbecil but I sure doubt that anyone could play it as well as Hanks. At first I did not find the character believable. It seemed to have Hanks in the wrong flick. After like 15minutes of dubbing I found myself totallyFor me this movie is just Tom Hanks. The story is there and it is fine, but everything depended on the 1st role actor. I hear often that is is easy for an actor to play an imbecil but I sure doubt that anyone could play it as well as Hanks. At first I did not find the character believable. It seemed to have Hanks in the wrong flick. After like 15minutes of dubbing I found myself totally submerged in the story. A young, stupid boy who somehow managed to live his life with honor and without hurting anyone else. Everything thanks to his mother who loved him so much. This movie sneaks up on us like we never seen it and a simple little chain of events becomes a huge story of a man and life and what it is all about. Serious, funny and dramatic at the same time. Expand
  95. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    One of the best movies of all time. A must-see. Tom Hanks is simply fantastic. Everyone must see this film once in their lives, it's a real masterpiece.
  96. May 29, 2011
    9
    Beautiful, charming, a ironic and fantastic story told with big passion, a script which verge the surreal, but does the retract of a charismatic character, a anti-hero with charisma of a hero, a story which bring us to get enamored by the meter of the story. And the soundtrack? Damn straight, really flawless! A movie with Doors' music in the soundtrack already deserves my respect, and plusBeautiful, charming, a ironic and fantastic story told with big passion, a script which verge the surreal, but does the retract of a charismatic character, a anti-hero with charisma of a hero, a story which bring us to get enamored by the meter of the story. And the soundtrack? Damn straight, really flawless! A movie with Doors' music in the soundtrack already deserves my respect, and plus more than one, really impressive. Tom Hanks, really, embodies the character so exceptional! Very well directed too, might say in passing. I can't believe that I took so long to watch this film. I didn't know what I was losing. This movie is one of those which makes me remember why do I love so much movies. Expand
  97. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    This is one of the few non-summer blockbusters that I love. Tom Hanks did an incredible job here. And this movie definitely deserved its Oscar for Best Picture.
  98. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    Great movie in every way from the actors to the story and the meaning behind the whole thing... A movie deffenatly worth watching if you havent yet...
  99. Aug 24, 2010
    7
    Weird bloke at a bus stop relays his story to other people waiting by a series of flashbacks.
    Very tongue-in-cheek piss take of American history & goes for the sentimental jugular throughout the film.
    Tom Hanks & Robin Wright are good & the soundtrack is decent despite being a bit obvious. Also seems like Gump has a bit of curse with him as most people he meets tend to die! And surely the
    Weird bloke at a bus stop relays his story to other people waiting by a series of flashbacks.
    Very tongue-in-cheek piss take of American history & goes for the sentimental jugular throughout the film.
    Tom Hanks & Robin Wright are good & the soundtrack is decent despite being a bit obvious.
    Also seems like Gump has a bit of curse with him as most people he meets tend to die!
    And surely the worst John Lennon impression ever!
    Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 90
    Zemeckis, an undisputed master of film technology, shows off an equal aptitude for vivid storytelling.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Manages the difficult feat of being an intimate, even delicate tale played with an appealingly light touch against an epic backdrop.
  3. Los Angeles Times
    Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    70
    It's most successful when it is being off-center, a state of grace it doesn't quite have the nerve to maintain. [6 July 1994, Calendar, p. F-1]