Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 657 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 100
    Passionate and magical, Forrest Gump is a tonic for the weary of spirit.
  2. Reviewed by: John Hartl
    90
    This is an ambitious movie that attempts too much rather than too little.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    88
    Doesn't sound like a very prepossessing title, but prepare to be taken aback by "what's in a name." [6 July 1994, Life, p.1D]
  4. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    80
    It's a long drink of water at the fountain of pop-social memory.
  5. At its best, Forrest Gump is a gentle, elegiac fantasy about love and trust.
  6. It is also glib, shallow, and monotonous, a movie that spends so much time sanctifying its hero that, despite his "innocence," he ends up seeming about as vulnerable as Superman.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 167
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Bewitchingly acted, well-written, and hauntingly affecting, "Forrest Gump" is a perfectly graceful and earnest story with some truly compelling thematic elements all throughout. Expand
  2. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    One of the most American movies ever made. A brilliant tale of the American Dream narrated by a simple man with simple pleasures. Hanks is at his stunning best here, and Zemeckis proved that he's more than just a technological wizard when it comes to making movies. A classic that deserves to be adored for decades to come. Expand
  3. chw
    Aug 16, 2014
    10
    Forrest Gump is a fantastic film. This is one of the films you have to see before you die, because if you don't you're missing out on a giant opportunity. Expand
  4. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    For me this movie is just Tom Hanks. The story is there and it is fine, but everything depended on the 1st role actor. I hear often that is is easy for an actor to play an imbecil but I sure doubt that anyone could play it as well as Hanks. At first I did not find the character believable. It seemed to have Hanks in the wrong flick. After like 15minutes of dubbing I found myself totally submerged in the story. A young, stupid boy who somehow managed to live his life with honor and without hurting anyone else. Everything thanks to his mother who loved him so much. This movie sneaks up on us like we never seen it and a simple little chain of events becomes a huge story of a man and life and what it is all about. Serious, funny and dramatic at the same time. Expand
  5. CassieT.
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    A great film. Forrest Gump's childlike attitude all through life is refreshing and funny 10/10 all the way
  6. ArielleF.
    May 23, 2009
    9
    One of my favorite movies of all time. It's worth buying on DVD, no doubt about it!
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    The worst film ever made. How could it be consider better then "The Shawshank Redemption" No sense at all. How could it be better then Pulp Fiction No, not at all. I prefer "Attack of the Killer Tomatoes" then "Forest Dumb"! Expand

See all 167 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Least Deserving Best Picture Winners Since 1990

    The Least Deserving Best Picture Winners Since 1990 Image
    Published: February 22, 2011
    With this year's Oscars rapidly approaching, we look back at ten best picture winners from the past two decades that seem like questionable choices today, and see which great films were snubbed as a result.