Drafthouse Films | Release Date: November 5, 2010
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 67 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
56
Mixed:
8
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
06MorrowJan 18, 2011
I believe the people who label this film offensive or hurtful almost definitely haven't seen it. With a superb and extremely witty writing team of Bain and Armstrong (Peep Show) and a practically perfect directorial debut for Morris (BrassI believe the people who label this film offensive or hurtful almost definitely haven't seen it. With a superb and extremely witty writing team of Bain and Armstrong (Peep Show) and a practically perfect directorial debut for Morris (Brass Eye), Four Lions was the best black comedy, with relevance to today's culture, that I have seen in years and the Best British Film of 2010. Although no Oscars will probably come it's way, due to a sensitive American audience, the likelihood of a BAFTA isn't completely idiotic. In fact, it's probably a good idea. Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
4
GitboJan 3, 2011
First, the movie is nearly unintelligible because the English accents are so thick. I think I missed half the movie because I just couldn't understand what the characters said. However, the movie is seriously unfunny and borderline racist.First, the movie is nearly unintelligible because the English accents are so thick. I think I missed half the movie because I just couldn't understand what the characters said. However, the movie is seriously unfunny and borderline racist. While I understand this is a black comedy, the difference between this and, say, Fargo, (a truly masterful black comedy) is substantial. The specter of innocents being obliterated by bumbling jihadists is simply too gruesome to be truly funny. A disturbing work that epitomizes "too soon." Expand
0 of 11 users found this helpful011
All this user's reviews
10
atriskteenNov 5, 2010
had the privilege of borrowing this from a uk friend back when us distribution seemed unlikely. really excellent and every bit up to the daunting resume of the filmmaker (if you haven't ever seen the best modern satire of modern media & thehad the privilege of borrowing this from a uk friend back when us distribution seemed unlikely. really excellent and every bit up to the daunting resume of the filmmaker (if you haven't ever seen the best modern satire of modern media & the hysteria it engenders, seek out morris' awesome series "brass eye"), it is another perfect simultaneous demonstration of the satirical power of both high and low comedy. for us audiences, it is very loosely hogan's heroes for the jihad set as strained through a deeply bent dr. strangelove satirical vibe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JamesNWANov 5, 2010
A fantastic film by Chris Morris and one in which I will watch over and over again. Whilst watching this a few members of the audience seemed scared to laugh at some of the comedic parts of the film. Morris took a huge risk in making fun ofA fantastic film by Chris Morris and one in which I will watch over and over again. Whilst watching this a few members of the audience seemed scared to laugh at some of the comedic parts of the film. Morris took a huge risk in making fun of terrorism in such a way and he pulled it off and has made a very good film. A good sense of humour is required to enjoy this film and the controversial but humorous nature is what makes it so well received. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryNov 20, 2010
It's daring concept: a comedy about Jihadist terroristsâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
killer123Nov 26, 2010
when I watch th film first I thought is was silly but when i got in to the film it was funny and it was so funny i cound stop laughing the people in the film are all Jihadist terroristsââ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
rahadDec 3, 2010
Four lions is a really funny film as when i started watching it i thought it was stupid but as i watched half n hour of the film it got really funny and kept my eyes glued to the screen it is about jihadists who do stupid things such as put aFour lions is a really funny film as when i started watching it i thought it was stupid but as i watched half n hour of the film it got really funny and kept my eyes glued to the screen it is about jihadists who do stupid things such as put a bomb on a bird and eat sim cards they also use stupid words and the word that made me laugh the most was "rubber dingy rapids" it might sound stupid but it is very funny when they say it in the film, Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GalenMar 9, 2011
This is a truly an amazing film. A movie that treads the line between Drama and Comedy and pulls it off in amazing ways. This is a movie that will have you burst out laughing and then the next second have you staring wide-eyed as you realizeThis is a truly an amazing film. A movie that treads the line between Drama and Comedy and pulls it off in amazing ways. This is a movie that will have you burst out laughing and then the next second have you staring wide-eyed as you realize what just happened. The movie starts off a little slow and takes awhile to set up the best jokes and the interesting bits of the plot but once it gets moving you will be transfixed. The movie is heavy into slap-stick and dead pan humor, and it works. But be warned, this movie is hilarious but when it hits something serious it hits hard. For some this will ruin the movie for them, for others like me it will make it that much more amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
thefaceheadAug 7, 2011
A very clever look at how twisted the idea of blowing people up really is. The film is another master stroke for Mr Morris (though I doubt Paul Daniels will agree) who is able to twist the viewpoint of disturbing and uncomfortable subjectA very clever look at how twisted the idea of blowing people up really is. The film is another master stroke for Mr Morris (though I doubt Paul Daniels will agree) who is able to twist the viewpoint of disturbing and uncomfortable subject matter in the faces of those who it will enrage the most. With too much hatred in the world it is important that films like this are made to entertain on difficult issues without offending for the sake of offending. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
alexandergreenSep 4, 2011
Excellent feature-length debut from my comedy hero, Chris Morris. It's situations are hilarious, and it's jam-packed with quotable lines. Kayvan Novak and Nigel Lindsay provide the memorable performances. And, despite it's premise, it isExcellent feature-length debut from my comedy hero, Chris Morris. It's situations are hilarious, and it's jam-packed with quotable lines. Kayvan Novak and Nigel Lindsay provide the memorable performances. And, despite it's premise, it is probably one of Morris's most accessible and least offensive productions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LadybootleSep 11, 2011
Just one of the funniest films I have ever seen. Morris is a genuine satirical genius and I love the fact ge tackles this kind of subject matter. The characters are fantastic and I can't remember the last film which made ms laugh out loud asJust one of the funniest films I have ever seen. Morris is a genuine satirical genius and I love the fact ge tackles this kind of subject matter. The characters are fantastic and I can't remember the last film which made ms laugh out loud as much as this one did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CBZOct 15, 2011
Great movie. it brings humor to a very touchy topic, in a very correct way. Its not meant to offend anyone.
I believe the underlying message is that a few ignorants don't represent a whole group.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ThomasB1627Nov 17, 2011
This film comes under Drama and Comedy, but it is mainly a comedy film because you know pretty much what will happen at the end. It focuses on the poignant issue of suicide bombing and the film seems to parody it in a way. A good film, butThis film comes under Drama and Comedy, but it is mainly a comedy film because you know pretty much what will happen at the end. It focuses on the poignant issue of suicide bombing and the film seems to parody it in a way. A good film, but I little to predictable at times.

"Rubber dingy rapids bro!"
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HalfwelshmanFeb 6, 2012
Four Lions is certainly one of the most daring comedy films of the past few years. It's the directorial debut of Chris Morris, and he has transferred his love of satirising controversial subject matter on the TV and radio onto the big screen.Four Lions is certainly one of the most daring comedy films of the past few years. It's the directorial debut of Chris Morris, and he has transferred his love of satirising controversial subject matter on the TV and radio onto the big screen. The writing is sharp, funny and hard-hitting, as is to be expected from such talented British writers as Jesse Armstrong and Sam Bain, the former of which wrote for The Thick of It and In the Loop, and both of whom still write for Peep Show. The central cast playing a group of inept would-be terrorists are all great - Riz Ahmed's Omar is the dramatic anchor for the story, and the rest of the group is composed of brilliant comic creations: the slow but eager Waj (Kayvan Novak), the manipulative, arrogant white Muslim Barry (Nigel Lindsay), the moronic suicide-bombing-crow advocating Faisal (Adeel Akhtar) and the Toploader-loving Hassan (Arsher Ali). There's also some nice little cameos for British TV favourites Craig Parkinson, Alex MacQueen, Julia Davis, Kevin Eldon, Darren Boyd and Benedict Cumberbatch. Four Lions works both as a witty satire and as an extremely black comedy. It forces us to question our views of the world, and proves there is a funny side to almost every situation, even something as seemingly bleak as home-grown religious extremism and the threat of a terrorist attack. It is, unfortunately, the kind of film that is at its most affecting and enjoyable on the first watch, as on repeated viewings some of the jokes lose their impact, and the message the film aims to promote feels a little more muddled and indistinct. Also, though Riz Ahmed gives a great performance as the closest thing the film has to a protagonist Omar, as a character he always remains an enigma. We never understand why he has chosen the path that he has, and consequently the scenes where he is interacting with his son, who clearly idolises his father, feel a little sinister and without clear purpose. Perhaps Morris and co. never wanted to provide an explanation for Omar's actions to highlight the senselessness of terrorism, but by making Omar so alienated from humanity, his potential as a compelling lead character is limited. At least the rest of the group can blame a severe lack of intelligence for their actions, but Omar is shown to be considerably more level-headed and calculated, and being able to get inside his head might have been interesting for the viewer. Even so, Four Lions remains an original, funny and exceedingly brave film, and I eagerly look forward to seeing what else Chris Morris has stored away in that twisted little comedy brain of his. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
wololoooMar 28, 2012
Four Lions is truly one of the most original and daring comedies I've seen in years. There's many who won't get the humour, and many more who will REFUSE to get it, labelling it as offensive and "too soon". If you love black comedy and don'tFour Lions is truly one of the most original and daring comedies I've seen in years. There's many who won't get the humour, and many more who will REFUSE to get it, labelling it as offensive and "too soon". If you love black comedy and don't mind a bit of controversy, you'll enjoy Four Lions. The script is masterfully crafted and had me laughing out loud almost a dozen times (something that doesn't happen often when I watch films alone). The humour reminds me of Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant's early projects, with lots of banter between the characters. Nigel Lindsay steals the show as Barry, the dimwitted and misguided fanatic whose plan to invoke a holy war involves blowing up his own mosque. His performance stands out, but the rest of the cast are brilliant too. The ending surprised me, with a rather cynical look at the modern media and how it reacts to terrorist attacks. Four Lions is a brave and clever black comedy, and will satisfy all but the most ignorant of critics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
dev92Aug 24, 2012
This film was more emotional than I thought it would be and shed light on some of the more taboo topics in today's society. It was funny in places but not as funny as some would have you believe. Still I thought it was a good film and enjoyedThis film was more emotional than I thought it would be and shed light on some of the more taboo topics in today's society. It was funny in places but not as funny as some would have you believe. Still I thought it was a good film and enjoyed the emotional arc upon which the character's take as you watch them on their journey through their despicable plans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DarkWolf1991Sep 2, 2013
Such a brilliant film, all of the characters and their quotes are fantastic. Guarantee one of the quotes from the film will be stuck in your head and you'll be laughing randomly without a doubt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SQG_SlasherJul 4, 2014
Sure, it's dark comedy around terrorism makes certain people disgusted, but the film while being very suggestive because of its theme doesn't stop it being one of the best comedies I have seen since any of the Monty Python films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
oDjentoDec 14, 2014
This film needs to be far more recognised as one of the best comedies ever, it's outright hilarity from start to finish, not even slowing down towards the end to make a forced message near the end of the movie like most comedy films doThis film needs to be far more recognised as one of the best comedies ever, it's outright hilarity from start to finish, not even slowing down towards the end to make a forced message near the end of the movie like most comedy films do nowadays! It's dark humour at it's finest, with memorable characters that for a comedy film play their roles exquisitely to ramp the humour up past 11! Chris Morris make a phenomenal debut film and towers high above many other comedies of this era! Personally, this is in my top 3 favourite comedy films, and sjould be in many others too! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
zouz123Feb 26, 2015
Four lions is hilarious, it's a smart movie, really smart. I didn't see that it offends any religion, Islam specifically, it actually mocks those stupid terrorists who know nothing about what they're doing, and are not even close to beingFour lions is hilarious, it's a smart movie, really smart. I didn't see that it offends any religion, Islam specifically, it actually mocks those stupid terrorists who know nothing about what they're doing, and are not even close to being religious. One of the best black comedies out there, with an excellent hilarious cast. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews