User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 57
  2. Negative: 2 out of 57
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    I believe the people who label this film offensive or hurtful almost definitely haven't seen it. With a superb and extremely witty writing team of Bain and Armstrong (Peep Show) and a practically perfect directorial debut for Morris (Brass Eye), Four Lions was the best black comedy, with relevance to today's culture, that I have seen in years and the Best British Film of 2010. Although noI believe the people who label this film offensive or hurtful almost definitely haven't seen it. With a superb and extremely witty writing team of Bain and Armstrong (Peep Show) and a practically perfect directorial debut for Morris (Brass Eye), Four Lions was the best black comedy, with relevance to today's culture, that I have seen in years and the Best British Film of 2010. Although no Oscars will probably come it's way, due to a sensitive American audience, the likelihood of a BAFTA isn't completely idiotic. In fact, it's probably a good idea. Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    had the privilege of borrowing this from a uk friend back when us distribution seemed unlikely. really excellent and every bit up to the daunting resume of the filmmaker (if you haven't ever seen the best modern satire of modern media & the hysteria it engenders, seek out morris' awesome series "brass eye"), it is another perfect simultaneous demonstration of the satirical power of bothhad the privilege of borrowing this from a uk friend back when us distribution seemed unlikely. really excellent and every bit up to the daunting resume of the filmmaker (if you haven't ever seen the best modern satire of modern media & the hysteria it engenders, seek out morris' awesome series "brass eye"), it is another perfect simultaneous demonstration of the satirical power of both high and low comedy. for us audiences, it is very loosely hogan's heroes for the jihad set as strained through a deeply bent dr. strangelove satirical vibe. Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2010
    9
    A fantastic film by Chris Morris and one in which I will watch over and over again. Whilst watching this a few members of the audience seemed scared to laugh at some of the comedic parts of the film. Morris took a huge risk in making fun of terrorism in such a way and he pulled it off and has made a very good film. A good sense of humour is required to enjoy this film and the controversialA fantastic film by Chris Morris and one in which I will watch over and over again. Whilst watching this a few members of the audience seemed scared to laugh at some of the comedic parts of the film. Morris took a huge risk in making fun of terrorism in such a way and he pulled it off and has made a very good film. A good sense of humour is required to enjoy this film and the controversial but humorous nature is what makes it so well received. Expand
  4. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    when I watch th film first I thought is was silly but when i got in to the film it was funny and it was so funny i cound stop laughing the people in the film are all Jihadist terroristsââ
  5. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    Four lions is a really funny film as when i started watching it i thought it was stupid but as i watched half n hour of the film it got really funny and kept my eyes glued to the screen it is about jihadists who do stupid things such as put a bomb on a bird and eat sim cards they also use stupid words and the word that made me laugh the most was "rubber dingy rapids" it might sound stupidFour lions is a really funny film as when i started watching it i thought it was stupid but as i watched half n hour of the film it got really funny and kept my eyes glued to the screen it is about jihadists who do stupid things such as put a bomb on a bird and eat sim cards they also use stupid words and the word that made me laugh the most was "rubber dingy rapids" it might sound stupid but it is very funny when they say it in the film, Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    This is a truly an amazing film. A movie that treads the line between Drama and Comedy and pulls it off in amazing ways. This is a movie that will have you burst out laughing and then the next second have you staring wide-eyed as you realize what just happened. The movie starts off a little slow and takes awhile to set up the best jokes and the interesting bits of the plot but once it getsThis is a truly an amazing film. A movie that treads the line between Drama and Comedy and pulls it off in amazing ways. This is a movie that will have you burst out laughing and then the next second have you staring wide-eyed as you realize what just happened. The movie starts off a little slow and takes awhile to set up the best jokes and the interesting bits of the plot but once it gets moving you will be transfixed. The movie is heavy into slap-stick and dead pan humor, and it works. But be warned, this movie is hilarious but when it hits something serious it hits hard. For some this will ruin the movie for them, for others like me it will make it that much more amazing. Expand
  7. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    A very clever look at how twisted the idea of blowing people up really is. The film is another master stroke for Mr Morris (though I doubt Paul Daniels will agree) who is able to twist the viewpoint of disturbing and uncomfortable subject matter in the faces of those who it will enrage the most. With too much hatred in the world it is important that films like this are made to entertain onA very clever look at how twisted the idea of blowing people up really is. The film is another master stroke for Mr Morris (though I doubt Paul Daniels will agree) who is able to twist the viewpoint of disturbing and uncomfortable subject matter in the faces of those who it will enrage the most. With too much hatred in the world it is important that films like this are made to entertain on difficult issues without offending for the sake of offending. Expand
  8. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    Excellent feature-length debut from my comedy hero, Chris Morris. It's situations are hilarious, and it's jam-packed with quotable lines. Kayvan Novak and Nigel Lindsay provide the memorable performances. And, despite it's premise, it is probably one of Morris's most accessible and least offensive productions.
  9. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    Just one of the funniest films I have ever seen. Morris is a genuine satirical genius and I love the fact ge tackles this kind of subject matter. The characters are fantastic and I can't remember the last film which made ms laugh out loud as much as this one did.
  10. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    Four Lions is truly one of the most original and daring comedies I've seen in years. There's many who won't get the humour, and many more who will REFUSE to get it, labelling it as offensive and "too soon". If you love black comedy and don't mind a bit of controversy, you'll enjoy Four Lions. The script is masterfully crafted and had me laughing out loud almost a dozen times (somethingFour Lions is truly one of the most original and daring comedies I've seen in years. There's many who won't get the humour, and many more who will REFUSE to get it, labelling it as offensive and "too soon". If you love black comedy and don't mind a bit of controversy, you'll enjoy Four Lions. The script is masterfully crafted and had me laughing out loud almost a dozen times (something that doesn't happen often when I watch films alone). The humour reminds me of Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant's early projects, with lots of banter between the characters. Nigel Lindsay steals the show as Barry, the dimwitted and misguided fanatic whose plan to invoke a holy war involves blowing up his own mosque. His performance stands out, but the rest of the cast are brilliant too. The ending surprised me, with a rather cynical look at the modern media and how it reacts to terrorist attacks. Four Lions is a brave and clever black comedy, and will satisfy all but the most ignorant of critics. Expand
  11. Sep 2, 2013
    9
    Such a brilliant film, all of the characters and their quotes are fantastic. Guarantee one of the quotes from the film will be stuck in your head and you'll be laughing randomly without a doubt.
  12. Dec 14, 2014
    10
    This film needs to be far more recognised as one of the best comedies ever, it's outright hilarity from start to finish, not even slowing down towards the end to make a forced message near the end of the movie like most comedy films do nowadays! It's dark humour at it's finest, with memorable characters that for a comedy film play their roles exquisitely to ramp the humour up past 11!This film needs to be far more recognised as one of the best comedies ever, it's outright hilarity from start to finish, not even slowing down towards the end to make a forced message near the end of the movie like most comedy films do nowadays! It's dark humour at it's finest, with memorable characters that for a comedy film play their roles exquisitely to ramp the humour up past 11! Chris Morris make a phenomenal debut film and towers high above many other comedies of this era! Personally, this is in my top 3 favourite comedy films, and sjould be in many others too! Expand
  13. Feb 26, 2015
    10
    Four lions is hilarious, it's a smart movie, really smart. I didn't see that it offends any religion, Islam specifically, it actually mocks those stupid terrorists who know nothing about what they're doing, and are not even close to being religious. One of the best black comedies out there, with an excellent hilarious cast.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. 50
    Has a provocative, ticklish premise – five North England Muslims become suicide bombers, but can't decide who or what to take with them.
  2. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Dec 30, 2010
    75
    This is a comedy about imbeciles who fall blindly in love with a concept, without giving any thought to what they are doing. And although some of them eventually have a moment of self-realization, it arrives, sadly, much too late.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Dec 29, 2010
    75
    Its chilling third act suggests that sooner or later, even these riders on the Islamic short bus are going to get one right. And that won't be funny at all.