New Line Cinema | Release Date: April 20, 2007
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 296 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
253
Mixed:
33
Negative:
10
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
folk_tyloreSep 30, 2010
Anthony and Ryan are both perfect for there roles, and work very well together. I was really surprised at how great this movie was. The first scene of the movie shows Anthony murdering his wife but the real drive of the movie is how Ryan isAnthony and Ryan are both perfect for there roles, and work very well together. I was really surprised at how great this movie was. The first scene of the movie shows Anthony murdering his wife but the real drive of the movie is how Ryan is going to implicate Anthony for the crime, intense and humorous at times and never dull. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
JayC.Apr 20, 2007
Intriguing story that kept me interested with a sprinkle of laugh out loud lines. Entertaining, if a bit obvious. Even though you sort of know how it will end, it has a nice twist. Left me feeling good about the outcome and the excellent acting.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
LeeF.Apr 21, 2007
Not perfect, but interesting. See if you can figure it out before the solution becomes obvious. Engrossing. I particularly loved Crawfords house!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnAhtoApr 20, 2007
Great movie! Gosling and Hopkins are both unic actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NolanS.May 20, 2007
While the female characters were either lecherous wives, doe-eyed secretaries, or over-sexed attorneys---making for less-than-modern characterization---beholding the craftiness, suspense, and well-placed humor made this movie well worth the While the female characters were either lecherous wives, doe-eyed secretaries, or over-sexed attorneys---making for less-than-modern characterization---beholding the craftiness, suspense, and well-placed humor made this movie well worth the time and money spent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AideenM.Apr 22, 2007
Good plot and great acting. However, there's no way a character as clever as Ted would not have known about the law concerning double jeopardy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LizzieG.Apr 20, 2007
Gosling and Hopkins play great off one another. A fun thriller with a great cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LukeMay 31, 2007
Good enough. Hopkins was good as a jealous husband, but this is certainly not Oscar material.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TomJ.Sep 9, 2007
Great acting, very engaging.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidW.Apr 20, 2007
Entertaining but with no real good guy to root for, it puts arrogance (Willy) on par with murder (Ted). Really bad part is the ending which is improbable and fatally fractured.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrettD.Apr 23, 2007
I thought the outcome was rather obvious in the beginning, but Hopkins and Gosling still held my attention throughout the remainder of the film. Overall I thought it was an enjoyable movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelM.Apr 25, 2007
Agree with what others have said, great performances, but you could see the 2 major plot twists coming from the next county. Not a big problem for me with this script though, as it was nice to see the "most likely scenario" play out without Agree with what others have said, great performances, but you could see the 2 major plot twists coming from the next county. Not a big problem for me with this script though, as it was nice to see the "most likely scenario" play out without some campy set of extraordinary circumstances being revealed at the last second. Hopkins has the "genius without a conscience" character down pat, and perhaps I've just seen it one too many times, so I wasn't overly taken with that performance. However Gosling did pleasantly surprise me, and I found myself vacillating between hoping his character would succeed and wishing for him to fail. He underplayed the requisite moralistic struggle and epiphany scenes just enough to make them part of the movie flow, rather than an all too predicatable sub climax. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MarkB.May 2, 2007
Many critics and moviegoers have noted the many apparent similarities in characterization and performance between Anthony Hopkins's Ted Crawford, who plots the perfect crime against his unfaithful wife, and Hannibal Lecter. One Many critics and moviegoers have noted the many apparent similarities in characterization and performance between Anthony Hopkins's Ted Crawford, who plots the perfect crime against his unfaithful wife, and Hannibal Lecter. One fundamental difference stands out, however: while nobody would mistake Hannibal "The Cannibal" for anything other than evil incarnate, his attraction to FBI agent Clarice Starling (at least in the original Silence of the Lambs) provided a humanizing factor, however brief...but Crawford is nothing more than a thoroughly despicable sociopath with no redeeming qualities beyond a veneer of surface charm which he operates to suit his purposes. The latter can be the only reason why a seemingly intelligent woman like Jennifer (Junebug's Embeth Davidtz) got involved with him in the first place; given that Hopkins looks healthy and fit enough here to outlive us all, she certainly couldn't have been "pulling an Anna Nicole"! District Attorney Willy Beachum is easily fooled; he's a rising legal star who through a combination of youthful arrogance and the distraction of a prestigious legal position he's about to step into, unwisely assumes that Crawford's on-the-spot confession after shooting Jennifer constitutes an open and shut case. Yeah, and back in 1975, Brody, Quint and Hooper were just going on a little weekend fishing trip. Competing for your box office dollars with such derivative slashfests as Vacancy and Disturbia, and with Spidey, Shrek and Sparrow just around the corner, Fracture emerges as an intelligent, satisfyingly twist-filled pleasure: the movie equivalent of a guilt-free beach read. One characteristic that Hopkins's work DOES share with Silence is that in both he's such a powerful presence that you think he's onscreen for much more of both films' running time than he actually is. The focal character in Fracture is really Willy, who's the one character whose future (not just what career track he will or won't eventually take but what kind of human being he'll choose to become) is really at stake. Ryan Gosling proves in this role that his surprise Oscar nomination last year as a likable but substance-abusing teacher in the sleeper Half Nelson wasn't just a space-filler; he continually makes offbeat, unpredictable character choices that are a real joy to watch--notice precisely just how he gets out of his lover's bed! Davidtz is such an achingly lovely screen presence that director Gregory Hoblit's use of innumerable close-ups of her (even after she's in a coma) indicates his outrage that industrialist Crawford, by not only attempting to murder her but by shooting her in the face, is committing the ultimate act of natural destruction by defacing such an example of pure beauty, even if Jennifer were doing the horizontal polka with the entire local police force! Ultimately, Fracture's central flaw, especially evidenced in the far-too-restrained absolute final scene before the closing credits roll, is that Hoblit (Primal Fear) isn't quite outraged ENOUGH; in endeavoring to make a courtroom movie in which the prosecutor is the hero that will still appeal to liberals and ACLU supporters in the audience, he's just a little too polite, genteel and distanced. I recently rewatched an old DVD box set consisting of four 1980s Charles Bronson action movies, all directed by J. Lee Thompson (The Guns of Navarone) in the final stages of his long career for those notorious schlockmeisters Menahem Golan and Yoram Globus. The flicks are raw, lurid and occasionally offensive, but at their best (especially Ten to Midnight and Kinjite: Forbidden Subjects, arguably the cream of the box) they really tap into the anger that their audiences undoubtedly feel about murderers and lowlifes who successfully manipulate the American legal system in order not only to get away scot-free with their crimes but to keep committing more of them. As enjoyable as Fracture is, Hoblit clearly needs to be a little less classy and cerebral and a little more down-and-dirty and emotional in his storytelling; silly as this may sound, the man needs to inject a small but vital dose of Golan, Globus and J. Lee Thompson into his soul! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarilynZ.May 8, 2007
I was spellbound although we figured out what happened to the missing gun as soon as they said it was missing. That kind of put a krimp in things, but it was a very good movie otherwise. I love Anthony Hopkins in anything.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattW.Jun 29, 2007
This is a fun and extremely entertaining flick that has major plot holes and predictable twists. Just check logic at the door and enjoy a great movie-going experience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ColinCAug 27, 2007
While a lot of the elements felt familiar, it had enough new twists I liked the style of film and enjoyed it, even if it did feel like I'd seen the ending played out more than once in different TV lawyer shows.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CLAug 27, 2007
Reasonably well directed and written, but: Personally, I felt no sympathy for any of the "good guy" characters in this movie. First of all, lets start with Crawford's Wife; she is cheating on her husband, who we are provided with no Reasonably well directed and written, but: Personally, I felt no sympathy for any of the "good guy" characters in this movie. First of all, lets start with Crawford's Wife; she is cheating on her husband, who we are provided with no evidence to the contrary that he is anything else but a loving spouse. She is cold, untrustworthy and generally came across as a deceptive woman. The cop, who comes across less as a deranged lover than as a poorly disciplined, incompetent, also cheating cop was also difficult to muster any kind of sympathy for. The lawyer, again, annoys me and I'm guessing many other people, because he is a stuck up, cocky young lawyer who seems to think he is smarter than he really is. Then there is Crawford himself. [***SPOILER***] I wanted him to prevail, I wanted to see him outwit this cocky young lawyer in a case where he used his perfectly justifiable, though not condoned, human emotions and careful, meticulous intelligence to get away with murdering his cheating wife and her also cheating lover. He was the most complex character and had the most justifiable feelings out of any of the characters in the film. Other than this, I liked it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ElizabethP.Aug 22, 2007
Very entertaining, great story, I just wished they elaborated the ending a little more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ERG1008Sep 17, 2010
Anthony Hopkins can't really shake off the Hannibal Lector tag & I kept expecting him to put on a blue jumpsuit at any moment. And what was his accent all about? Welsh, Irish, American? Few twists here & there & pretty well acted throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
asylumspadezNov 19, 2011
I liked it. Hopkins was a beast in this film and the supporting cast was fine as well. It was interesting from start to finish and it ended perfectly. The one flaw was that is was a little too long, Other then that it was good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobMar 11, 2012
It was actually a pretty solid film overall. Hopkins ,as always, is an amazing lead and definently the driving force of this film. Gosling wasnt that good though and disapointed me quite a bit, The rest of the cast is a little below averageIt was actually a pretty solid film overall. Hopkins ,as always, is an amazing lead and definently the driving force of this film. Gosling wasnt that good though and disapointed me quite a bit, The rest of the cast is a little below average as well. It had a good plot that kept you interested from start to finish. Well worth watching imo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleMay 21, 2014
I am a sucker for a good courtroom drama and this is certainly one. It is certainly formulaic in parts, but is still very well done as a whole. Both Anthony Hopkins and Ryan Gosling, the latter of which I am not typically a huge fan of, didI am a sucker for a good courtroom drama and this is certainly one. It is certainly formulaic in parts, but is still very well done as a whole. Both Anthony Hopkins and Ryan Gosling, the latter of which I am not typically a huge fan of, did fantastic and really made for really interesting leads. On top of it, the plot was absolutely gripping and really had you guessing as to how it would end (however it does become clear towards the end). However, the film is never really great. At many turns, it is quite good, but really, it is just a solid entry in both Hopkins and Gosling's filmographies. The film certainly is not Oscar worthy, but it is still very entertaining largely thanks to its two leads who really are at the root of why this film is successful. Without them, it really would have fallen flat, even with the compelling storyline. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RaymondTSep 3, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great movie. Anthony Hopkins delivers. But there is one troubling aspect of this movie. When Willy Beachum ask his assistant Mona (played by Zoe Kazan) to standby to receive a call requesting she enter the courtroom and mention the finding of fake evidence - she was all for it. She was all in for committing a crime that would have sent a man to jail for life. Shocking. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
alejandro970Oct 18, 2016
Courtroom drama is held in well inspires Anthony Hopkins as a witt, cold- heart murder. Ryan Gosling even does a remarkable performance. Suitable doses thriller with an ending ellipsis.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews