Lions Gate Films | Release Date: April 12, 2002
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 200 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
182
Mixed:
8
Negative:
10
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
cabritaDec 30, 2011
A film that is like many other crime dramas but with a dark scary twist to it. Every scene in this film is important. The film flows very smoothly and the shocking finish fits perfectly with the past events that have already occured in theA film that is like many other crime dramas but with a dark scary twist to it. Every scene in this film is important. The film flows very smoothly and the shocking finish fits perfectly with the past events that have already occured in the film. Unlike many other films this ending was necessary for the story and it's themes. The question i'm still pondering at the end of the film is if Adam Meekes is a hero or if Fenton was right. The film does lean towards one side but there is still room for Fenton's perspective. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
KingmushApr 14, 2011
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/04/frailty.html

I wasn't sure what I was getting myself into when I was suggested this movie and decided to watch it. When I was suggested it I looked it up and discovered it was a thriller about a
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/04/frailty.html

I wasn't sure what I was getting myself into when I was suggested this movie and decided to watch it. When I was suggested it I looked it up and discovered it was a thriller about a serial killer, I'm game! One of my favorite genres so I of course gave it a shot.

From the start I was a little skeptical. The first few scenes the acting was pretty spotty actually and it made me heavily doubt this movie. However, then the meat of the movie started to roll in and I could see the shining spots. This movie excelled, and I mean excelled, when it came to plot twists and overall story line.

The basic storyline for those who don't know this movie already follows a man who comes into the FBI and says he knows the identity of a serial killer. He then goes on to explain the story of how when he was young, his father saw a vision from God who told him to destroy "demons" and then went on to capture these demons and kill them in front of them and have them partake. Sounds simple enough but the way it was shown on camera and story wise was phenomenal. They did it so well I felt at times like I completely understood where the dad was coming from and didn't feel the typical hatred for him. So that was a major change in a movie personality for me. Here is this guy who they are showing to be completely rational at first, who goes "crazy" but then make you doubt that he's crazy at all and is actually justified!

Then the movie goes even further and introduces you two huge twists at the end which I won't spoil but I will say that you really need to see this movie. I feel it changed my perception on the whole aspect of serial killing. Not that I find it justifiable now but the fact that the movie portrayed them having in their mind, completely rational reasons and didn't even think they were killing people. Huge mind benders in this movie, don't let the poor acting scare you off.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
drlowdonMay 24, 2013
Having terrorised a small Texan town years before, the God's Hand Killer has returned leaving many more victims. Late at night Fenton Meiks arrives at FBI Headquarters claiming he knows the killers identity and so, in order to convince AgentHaving terrorised a small Texan town years before, the God's Hand Killer has returned leaving many more victims. Late at night Fenton Meiks arrives at FBI Headquarters claiming he knows the killers identity and so, in order to convince Agent Doyle Fenton, returns to the beginning of a story that started with his father.

Frailty doesnt rely on blood and gore to produce its shocks instead choosing to gradually explore the relationship between Meiks, his brother and his father. The story that builds is truly gripping as we learn the origin of the Gods Hand Killer and start to understand how Meiks knows as much as he does. Thankfully the finale is able to match the rest of the film making for one of the most underrated thrillers in recent times.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Eilidh2Sep 21, 2014
Just saw this on TV after it was recommended by 'Mystery Exec" on twitter. Excellent thriller. Great performances from Bill Paxton and Matthew McConaughey. Bill Paxton should direct again. Strange it got such poor reviews when it came out.Just saw this on TV after it was recommended by 'Mystery Exec" on twitter. Excellent thriller. Great performances from Bill Paxton and Matthew McConaughey. Bill Paxton should direct again. Strange it got such poor reviews when it came out. Only Ebert seems to have seen what a compelling film it is. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
joe_mcfarlaneSep 2, 2011
This is a good film.. i thought that the plot was well thought out and it's a very interesting film to watch. the ending is very clever and i liked this film a lot. whilst the film's plot twist is obvious from the beginning it's still very gripping
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
marshallmOct 2, 2005
I loved it! it was funny kuz even thot the ending was kind of cheesy, i didn't see it coming because i was so wrapped up in the rest of the story. its a near masterpeice of horror filmmaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeS.Nov 14, 2005
Even though I have rated a good 15 movies in the last 10 minutes the truth is I really don't like a Numbered rating system. that 10 is for being able to scare the living crap out of me without being overly graphic. The movie itself Even though I have rated a good 15 movies in the last 10 minutes the truth is I really don't like a Numbered rating system. that 10 is for being able to scare the living crap out of me without being overly graphic. The movie itself something like a 9.2 but the story although not the most clean and polished one of the best movies I have ever seen for messing with your head. up there with Identity and Memento. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndrewM.Nov 26, 2005
An absolutely brilliant movie.The more I watch it,the more it chills me.Most horror movies are scary because you suspend your disbelief and after it's over you go back to your normal life and forget about it.Some reviewers have said it An absolutely brilliant movie.The more I watch it,the more it chills me.Most horror movies are scary because you suspend your disbelief and after it's over you go back to your normal life and forget about it.Some reviewers have said it is unbelievable.I say not only is it believable, but it is happening all over the world.Take out demons and insert'Great Satan' or 'Jihad' or any other fanatical sect's code words and you will understand this movie for what I believe it is;a chilling look into the impenetrable dogma of religious fanatics. Scary indeed! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnL.Sep 18, 2007
This movie is great ...I watched it again after not seeing it for several years and all I can say is that I'm glad I bought it when it first came out..people who don't like it just don't understand it..I'm not overly This movie is great ...I watched it again after not seeing it for several years and all I can say is that I'm glad I bought it when it first came out..people who don't like it just don't understand it..I'm not overly religious either but it still gives me the creeps when i think about this movie and its underlying message...definitely worth looking for. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SpangleMay 31, 2015
An incredibly atmospheric and unsettling film, Frailty features stellar performances from Bill Paxton and Matthew McConaughey, as well as some great direction from first-time director Paxton. Pretty well-written, Frailty keeps you on the edgeAn incredibly atmospheric and unsettling film, Frailty features stellar performances from Bill Paxton and Matthew McConaughey, as well as some great direction from first-time director Paxton. Pretty well-written, Frailty keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout its runtime and keeps you guessing as you never know what is coming next. With films that take some twists and turns that are pretty unexpected, the success of the story rests on whether these are expected or not. In this case, they most certainly were not to me, though I would love to watch this one again and try to pick up on those clues. Not horror in the typical sense, this one has a way to get into your mind and mess with it a little bit, but to me, this one is not horror. Sure, after watching it, you kind of feel as though you watched a horror film, but this one struck me as more of a thriller with some elements from horror. Regardless, this one is quite well made and largely underappreciated. Not a fantastic film by any means, this one is still really good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
adamjneveFeb 27, 2016
FRAILTY is a deeply unsettling film that gets progressively stranger and darker as the minutes tick by. Somewhat reminiscent of Flannery O'Connor's "A Good Man is Hard to Find," the film deals extensively with themes of good vs. evil, faithFRAILTY is a deeply unsettling film that gets progressively stranger and darker as the minutes tick by. Somewhat reminiscent of Flannery O'Connor's "A Good Man is Hard to Find," the film deals extensively with themes of good vs. evil, faith vs. madness, and whether or not a person can do horrible things for good reasons. Bill Paxton excels not only in his directorial debut, but as the somehow-not-the-villain-despite-being-a-serial-killer father, and Matthew McConaughey is creepy as hell as one of Paxton's grown sons. Intense, chilling, and with a doozy of a twist, this is the kind of thriller that doesn't get made that often. A thoroughly enjoyable trip down a nightmarish rabbit hole. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31May 13, 2016
This builds to an edge of the seat thriller. Great acting and all around good film.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-2214-Frailty
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeOct 15, 2017
Frailty is a slow, interesting and very well made thriller. If you're expecting a full on horror movie with a lot of blood and gore, you will undoubtedly be disappointed. The acting was very good from pretty much all of the cast, the movie,Frailty is a slow, interesting and very well made thriller. If you're expecting a full on horror movie with a lot of blood and gore, you will undoubtedly be disappointed. The acting was very good from pretty much all of the cast, the movie, while being a slow burner still managed to be interesting and entertaining and the twist ending was quite surprising. Definitely a different kind of movie and definitely worth checking out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews