Frailty

Frailty Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 213 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. 100
    Andrea Yates believed she was possessed by Satan and could save her children by drowning them. Frailty is as chilling.
  2. The film becomes cumulatively stranger as it goes along, and it has a lulu of a kicker.
  3. 80
    It's good old-fashioned rural gothic that would make Flannery O'Connor proud, with tricky switcheroos that keep shaking up our assumptions about what's going on.
  4. Chills to the bone -- and beyond, but for pure excitement it's best not to look far beneath the surface.
  5. 60
    Audiences are destined to debate the film's final scenes, where Hanley piles on plot twists, leading to a coda that turns a creepily ambiguous story about God and the terrifying power of paternal love into something closer to an X-File.
  6. Dumb but also unrelentingly dark and ugly, thereby depriving the viewer of any camp value.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. Sep 21, 2014
    10
    Just saw this on TV after it was recommended by 'Mystery Exec" on twitter. Excellent thriller. Great performances from Bill Paxton and MatthewJust saw this on TV after it was recommended by 'Mystery Exec" on twitter. Excellent thriller. Great performances from Bill Paxton and Matthew McConaughey. Bill Paxton should direct again. Strange it got such poor reviews when it came out. Only Ebert seems to have seen what a compelling film it is. Expand
  2. GeorgeS.
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    Even though I have rated a good 15 movies in the last 10 minutes the truth is I really don't like a Numbered rating system. that 10 is Even though I have rated a good 15 movies in the last 10 minutes the truth is I really don't like a Numbered rating system. that 10 is for being able to scare the living crap out of me without being overly graphic. The movie itself something like a 9.2 but the story although not the most clean and polished one of the best movies I have ever seen for messing with your head. up there with Identity and Memento. Expand
  3. May 24, 2013
    9
    Having terrorised a small Texan town years before, the God's Hand Killer has returned leaving many more victims. Late at night Fenton MeiksHaving terrorised a small Texan town years before, the God's Hand Killer has returned leaving many more victims. Late at night Fenton Meiks arrives at FBI Headquarters claiming he knows the killers identity and so, in order to convince Agent Doyle Fenton, returns to the beginning of a story that started with his father.

    Frailty doesnt rely on blood and gore to produce its shocks instead choosing to gradually explore the relationship between Meiks, his brother and his father. The story that builds is truly gripping as we learn the origin of the Gods Hand Killer and start to understand how Meiks knows as much as he does. Thankfully the finale is able to match the rest of the film making for one of the most underrated thrillers in recent times.
    Expand
  4. Feb 27, 2016
    8
    FRAILTY is a deeply unsettling film that gets progressively stranger and darker as the minutes tick by. Somewhat reminiscent of FlanneryFRAILTY is a deeply unsettling film that gets progressively stranger and darker as the minutes tick by. Somewhat reminiscent of Flannery O'Connor's "A Good Man is Hard to Find," the film deals extensively with themes of good vs. evil, faith vs. madness, and whether or not a person can do horrible things for good reasons. Bill Paxton excels not only in his directorial debut, but as the somehow-not-the-villain-despite-being-a-serial-killer father, and Matthew McConaughey is creepy as hell as one of Paxton's grown sons. Intense, chilling, and with a doozy of a twist, this is the kind of thriller that doesn't get made that often. A thoroughly enjoyable trip down a nightmarish rabbit hole. Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2011
    7
    This is a good film.. i thought that the plot was well thought out and it's a very interesting film to watch. the ending is very clever and iThis is a good film.. i thought that the plot was well thought out and it's a very interesting film to watch. the ending is very clever and i liked this film a lot. whilst the film's plot twist is obvious from the beginning it's still very gripping Expand
  6. Aug 8, 2011
    5
    This movie is fairly interesting, however, the ending is very disturbing because I am an agnostic. I do not deny the existence of god but IThis movie is fairly interesting, however, the ending is very disturbing because I am an agnostic. I do not deny the existence of god but I also have seen no proof, ergo the ending would be disturbing to a logical person. Expand
  7. DHE
    Dec 3, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A bait-and-switch contrivance of the worst kind. (Is there a good kind?) The creepy religious weirdness that characterized the bulk of the movie was an accurate - and disturbing - cautionary tale about how faith and belief untethered to objective reality morphs seamlessly into bat-**** crazy. Unfortunately, there are plenty of people like those depicted in the film (some of them are currently running for president), so the apparent message of the film would have seemed to be: watch out for nut-jobs masquerading as good God-fearing people. I say apparent because this prevailing theme gives way in the end to its opposite. Namely, no matter how crazy you thought these people were, you were wrong: they were actually doing God's handiwork. Really. So I guess regardless of how irrational people might seem, who knows, they may just be taking orders from God. This is not a plot twist; it's a plot reversal. Or a sick joke. If you're truly religious, I don't see how you could make it through most of this movie. If you're not, you'll be thoroughly disgusted with the ending. If you're neither, maybe this is the movie for you. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 30, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The BFG, The Purge: Election Year, The Legend of Tarzan, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016 Image
    Published: June 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including an extended version of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice plus Green Room, Everybody Wants Some!!, O.J.: Made in America, and more.
  3. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
  4. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.