User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 95
  2. Negative: 6 out of 95

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 21, 2013
    4
    This is my second consecutive Noah B. movie starring Greta Gerwig which just fell flat for me. Sure, it's somewhat real, it's clever, and urbane, but it's also very catty, nasty, and trendy. I chuckled twice in the movie, but didn't fully laugh once. I wanted to like it and laugh more, but the movie didn't pull it out of me.
  2. Jun 2, 2013
    6
    Greta Gerwig co-wrote this with her hubby/director Noah Baumbach, which is pretty obvious. The character (and apparently the actor) are self-involved to the exclusion of good filmmaking. I'd call it a character study, but the character's not that deep. She 's a woman who is not successful at career, finances or friendships (with the exception of her best girlfriend). She ambles thru her aimless life, which starts out charmingly but gets tiresome and talkative before it's over. Maybe Baumbach thought shooting it in black and white would elevate it above basic twentysomething mumblecore, but it didn't work for me. Expand
  3. May 28, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you want to relive your 20's something screaming scenes that involve either yourself or watching your roomies, friends, lovers, ex-lovers, or maybe lovers about paying the rent...go ahead & enjoy...I did not. One of the very, very few movies that I have walk out on. Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2013
    3
    A big disappointment. I wanted to like it, but I couldn't. Frances is terribly self-absorbed and oblivious to the feelings of those around her. Up until the last five minutes, every chance she has to make a decision, she make a bad one. That isn't realism to me; in real life we make a mixture of good decisions and bad ones. Only the ending, where she finally wakes up, saved the movie from being a complete disaster.

    I saw this with our weekly movie group, and none of us gave it thumbs up.
    Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2013
    8
    I’ve been dying to see this for a while; and Noah Baumbach’s infectious ‘Frances Ha’, bubbles with pizzazz. This is a witty character study about Frances Frances Halladay (Greta Gerwig), a 27-year-old dancer who lives with her best friend Sophie. When Sophie decides to move out, leaving Frances low and dry, Frances is forced to figure out how to live her life. Not to take things too personally, but as 20-something year-old I can’t help but relate with some of the difficulties faced by the titular character and that struggle to get started on life. While this is clearly a Noah Baumbach film, I think equal credit should be given to star and co-scribe Greta Gerwig. Her contribution to the indie-film realm these past few years have been felt and her presence here couldn’t be any stronger. The shear level of wit, sincerity and (most of all) charisma that she brings to her character was truly something special; and should not be taken lightly. Drawing from the French New Wave and Woody Allen (mainly during the 70’s) Baumbach crafts a deliciously stylized film that tells the story in an utterly unique fashion. The black and white cinematography does so well at setting the bleak tones that comes with a quarter-life crises, and I could listen to the soundtrack all day long. Sometimes funny and sometimes heartbreaking; I’m really hoping this gem doesn't go unnoticed by year end. The film has such an appeal and deserves all the attention in the world. Expand
  6. May 26, 2013
    8
    In a month of sequels (Star Trek 2, Hangover 3, Iron Man 3 you get the picture), it was nice to see something original on the screen without a number in its title.
    While it does not open or end strong, this movie's middle is filled with many great moments. It's beautifully photographed, often funny, and a good combo of Noah B. and Greta G.
  7. Nov 7, 2013
    8
    Lovely movie, from the second half tough.
    The Frances character gets more mature and deeper to the end of the movie. From time to time Greta Gerwig´s acting is a bit akward I do not get why she still has those ,,little child" moves or why is she acting like a child.
    But overall, the movie was a good one.
  8. Nov 23, 2013
    5
    Everything was great except for the blubbering blundering francis (greta gerwig) who even though she had few funny moments in all she just kept on talking non stop a very bad influence for upcoming young adults.
  9. Dec 13, 2013
    7
    This movie is witty, has great writing and a great cast it successfully emulates Woody Allen though misses much of Allen's irony, humor and charm.

    Don't get me wrong the movie has charm but it is difficult at times to empathize with the characters. Their flaws (especially the protagonist's), while intended to come over as cute and endearing, inevitably cause more frustration than
    amusement for the viewer.

    This movie is a pleasant indulgence and though it may distract you for two hours, you feel you've spent that time exploring the self-indulgences of Baumbach and Gerwig rather than exploring interesting characters struggling to find their place in the world. In a nutshell, you never forget for a second you are watching a movie.
    Expand
  10. Jul 13, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Not only love, but sex, or rather, as Helen puts it, the "whole package", is what the art gallery curator wants from her coupling with Jessica, who insists on downplaying sex as being just one component" in a "loving and tender" relationship. "What we have is a friendship," she protests, "best friends", even, which for her incrementally straight partner, a journalist, is enough. How did Francois Truffaut tackle the same terrain of sexual politics, as portrayed in Kissing Jessica Stein? The narrator, in Jules and Jim, recalls how "people called them Don Quixote and Sancho Panza," and that "rumors circulated behind their backs about their unusual friendship." Although Jules puts the kibosh on Jim's pursuance of Catherine, whom we presume to be his lover par excellence, we later learn, after both men return from war, that their marriage is marked by celibacy. Sabine looks nothing like her father, Jim notes. Catherine's satiation, Jules admits, comes from other lovers. When he hands over Catherine without any hesitation or qualms, it's because the cuckolded husband apprizes his best friend's platonic love as being on par with his wife's feminine powers. Bi-curious Jessica, ultimately, doesn't covet women, and yet, bawls her eyes out over Helen's departure as if she did. Whereas Jessica, and Jessica alone would subscribe to the notion that "Jules' and Jim's friendship had no equivalent in love," Frances and Sophie take delight "in the smallest things" and accept "their differences with tenderness," a shared sensibility that transcends love of all persuasions. Manhattan settings both, essentially, Frances Ha picks up where Kissing Jessica Stein leaves off, but here, there is no analogue for Helen, since both Frances and Sophie are randy heterosexuals. "The coffee people are right. We are like a lesbian couple that doesn't have sex anymore," Frances says, sharing both cigarette, and inside joke, in regard to the careening apogee of their avowed sexual orientation. Modern love, indeed. Only David Bowie can explain them. When Frances' laptop light goes out, like a lover, Sophie stops the aspiring dancer from adjourning to her own room, and like a lover who nags about a partner's annoying little habits, she softly chastises Frances over her bad decorum, regarding socks in bed. Socks are the only piece of clothing she removes, which may surprise the viewer, since all of New York can see the uninhibited pair carrying on like Don Quixote and Sancho Panza. Alas, so who is Jules? And who is Jim? The film, it would seem, casts the titular character as Jules. Akin to the scene where Jim gives Catherine to his closest confidant, Frances, in a bequeathing of sorts, suggests that Sophie hook up with Lev, a roommate(one of her "two husbands", a Jules and Jim reference), which would reunite the Vassar graduates, turning the Manhattan apartment into something resembling her counterpart's crowded Austrian chalet. But Sophie, like Jim, already has a partner, and this is where Frances Ha diverges from the Jules and Jim template, since Frances' bespectacled friend remains loyal to Patch, whereas the German can't choose between Catherine and his fiancee. Frances, ever the martyr, rebuffs Lev's advances, because, perhaps, thinking ahead, she sees him as the key to luring Sophie back into her life, even though the Sacramento native thinks he's "magic". Back home for Christmas with family and friends, this transplanted New Yorker, now signified by tract housing instead of skyscrapers, and churchgoers instead of artists, seems less like a persona than a person, and more like a woman than a man. In NYC, she adopts the masculine role by paying for Lev's dinner, and also, Benji draws attention to her "weird man walk", suggesting that Frances is in drag, albeit less visibly than Catherine, who with chapeau and painted mustache, passes herself of as a man, one sunny day in France among the boys. Arguably, the scene where Frances teeters along the river Seine, the same river where Catherine jumps into, is not the first direct steal from Jules and Jim. While Frances' mother pounds on the bathroom door, the daughter lies down in the tub, more or less, underwater, which abstractedly recalls Catherine's drowning, when she drives, with Jim riding shotgun, off the dock. Like the similarly-themed Superbad, porn-lovin' Seth declares, "I don't know what I'm going to be into ten years from now," the same ambiguity imbues itself in this familial exchange: "Frances, how much longer?" asks mom. "I'll be out in a second," responds her adult child, or, maybe give it ten years. From an objective distance, Jules and Jim lock eyes, and for emphasis, the mis-en-scene freezes. What do the eyes say? In Frances Ha, the filmmaker instead employs close-ups and a shot/countershot during the climactic staring, following Frances' first show as a choreographer. We can see. What are we seeing? Expand
  11. Lyn
    Feb 2, 2014
    5
    "Frances Ha" is like an episode of "Girls" in which the girls suddenly, thankfully, are not annoying nymphomaniacs. Greta Gerwig is endearing, with her difficulty facing life's realities (and her bad hair). But she can't make up for the fact that F's aimless missteps are not that entertaining. Also, the intense passion between the two girlfriends -- continual mini traumas, constant I love yous -- just seemed odd & ridiculous. Really, really liked Noah B's other films, but found this one blah. Expand
  12. Mar 7, 2014
    8
    A sweet film about friendship and getting your life on track. Greta Gerwig gives a good performance. The directing is good, though the script could have used a little work.
  13. Dec 1, 2013
    6
    Endearing and enjoyable and pleasing, one of the better of this genre (talk-y millennium young woody allen) which admittedly is not my favorite. Gerwig is also very strong in the role.
  14. Jun 3, 2013
    4
    This movie could have been a good story about an almost 30-year old trying to find herself. Or about how infantile this generation is. Could have. The potential is there. But it is not. With a notable exception of a few funny lines, it left me bored, looking at my watch and mentally scratching my head why on earth it got critic reviews so high...
  15. Sep 11, 2013
    8
    While at first I had no idea what to expect from Frances Ha as it seems to have no semblance of a plot, a complete lack of meaning and a main character who jumps from one extreme to another. In the end though I was in awe of this unexpected little triumph. When Frances (Greta Gerwig) learns that her room mate and best friend Sophie (Mickey Sumner) is moving out she must scramble to get her life in order as everyone else seems to be getting their things together. However this proves more difficult for Frances as she is an interesting and lovable train wreck. Unlike director Noah Baumbach's previous film, the intolerably boring Greenberg, Frances Ha has a lead character who sure takes some getting used to with her indecipherable rants and her illogical sense of self, but isn't an insufferable presence who only gets more despicable. It's a film about self awareness and the ability to know your own self worth and therefore it has a wonderful yet lifelike conclusion anyone who watches will be happy with. While the first act is all over the place, its only to highlight Frances' hyperactive personality and her inability to be still and settle down. The film really comes into its own when Frances is forced to make plans because Frances in trouble is both hilarious and tragic making for a compelling watch. Gerwig is fantastic and understands the effervescent nature of Frances as if it was her. Something this film makes very easy to believe. Peppered with interesting side characters to round out Frances' surprisingly large friend circle (especially for someone as high maintenance as she is), the film is equal parts unusual comedy and sombre drama as we cling to the words coming out of this self destructive yet brilliant woman. Expand
  16. Jan 15, 2014
    3
    The movie is only 86 minutes long and yet after the combination of being bored to death and listening to one of the most irritating characters in movies this year, it felt like 186 minutes. The movie seemed to rely on the quirkiness of the main character, which faded very quickly.
  17. Jan 10, 2014
    7
    Frances Ha is a hoot. It is funny and weird and short(which is a bonus). Lots of strange moments that are enjoyable to watch. It could have delved somewhat deeper, but for what it was it was good.
  18. May 25, 2013
    9
    Frances Ha is a delightful study in character development and all the relationship struggles 20 something New Yorkers struggle with. Meaningful friendships is a common goal the individuals share with their ups and downs. Greta Gerwig shines throughout with an irresistible lightness that has her dancing sometimes aimlessly through the streets of NYC. We intently observe her trying to cope with her dance career and intimate partners and the inevitable disappointments as well as her moments of truthfulness and ecstasy. Expand
  19. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    It was my personal favourite of the year. I just can't show how much I loved this movie but will try my best in this review to explain. It was just like the movie 'The Pursuit of Happiness' where it describes a person's struggle over professional as well the relationship with a best friend. I don't know why this movie was in black and white but very seductive, like women from Charles Chaplin movies. The expressions
    are 'the killer' if you are a man who fall easily for struggling women.
    'Ruby Sparks' is my one of the year's favourite which was written by
    the lead female of the movie and the same goes to 'Celeste and Jesse
    Forever'. I know it is out of topic but I was saying the lead actress
    from this movie who played Frances wrote this. All these were women
    oriented subjects which rendered the movies from a distinct angle.

    Frances is a cute and sarcastic woman in her late 20s lives with a best
    friend Sophie in New York city. She is not talented but as a
    professional dancer she earns enough to lead a happy life. Once she and
    her boyfriend breakup, Sophie too throws an another bomb as she decides
    to move out to live with her boyfriend. One after another her battle to
    survive in the city for rich remains hopeless. But pursue for her dream
    never ends as she wanted to be a fine choreographer. For all these she
    must hold back her downs of her life and aim only up to self discover
    the meaning of the life. Did she successful or not is what the movie
    steadily chronicles her efforts.

    The character Frances will be remembered for a long time, especially by
    me. I just did not only had a fondness on that character but it
    completely transformed me as one. In fact I felt the movie deeply into
    me that I regretted for unable to give my support to Frances. I came to
    know I am in love with Frances in the scene where she runs on the
    streets of Chinatown. I think it is the best scene of the movie, very
    adorable. You must watch the movie till the last frame before the end
    credits roll up to know the meaning of this strange title. It was a
    silly reason to have names like this for a movie but completely cool
    and refreshing. It is not a thought provoking or an art movie but
    believe me it is definitely a must see movie of the year.
    Expand
  20. Feb 12, 2014
    7
    Certainly not a masterpiece, not even in its particularly niche subsubgenre, but I thought it was better than more than half the crap they released in the last two years. The black and white doesn't really fulfill the purpose and there's reason to believe it was chosen for budget rather than artistic value; anyway it's not annoying and Greta Gerwig's bulky, awkward character feels real notwithstanding the small plot holes (the mystery of how she can pay anything at all is left unveiled). Actually, I didn't find any of the characters to be very likeable, but I assume that's another take on recreating reality.

    P.S.: Is that really a thing, walking out of cinemas? I don't understand, how can you rate something if you've seen half of it?
    Expand
  21. Sep 22, 2013
    7
    An easy and laid back movie, nothing complicated happends ever. No major plot twists (im not sure there's any plot). Im not sure what to write anymore, i liked the movie but i dont know why. The characters are adorable and its the perfect movie for a laid back evening.
  22. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    A terrific Indy film that shows the life of a woman in her mid 20's that lives a life going from place to place while trying to find her way in New York as a dancer. A-
  23. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    Noah Baumbach's latest is actually is best in years. Greta Gerwig is funny and sad sometimes at the same time Francis a women struggling with her career and life in her late twenties. Gerwig co-wrote the screenplay along with Bauback and is one of the best comedic screenplays in along time. I have never been a big fan of Gerwing, but that has changed with this movie, Thanks for proving an adult comedy that is for adults Expand
  24. Jun 16, 2013
    4
    This movie attempted to live completely by the quirky nature of its main character. Unfortunately for me, she was quite unsuccessful as a person, in a career, and somewhat boring after the first two or three quirks. I rank it as a movie that the critics give high points for an attempt to be different and uncommercial. This movie did not ring my bell in any way.
  25. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Great directing. This movie is complete. Their was No BS ending, Because their was No BS Beginning. Quite interesting Black & White Motion picture it complemented the movie. The Director of this film should direct MORE FILMS, Preferably in color to loosen up the dreamy vertigo feeling. (A good effect.)
  26. Dec 16, 2013
    9
    Chronically a period of apartment instability of its title character FRANCES HA her late 20s begin relationships tail spin, Golden Globe nominee GRETA GERWIG is a sight to behold you can barely take your eyes off her will it be with Gravity & Blue Jasmine on the Oscar Best Actress list? SEE NOW on NETFLICKS... live streaming...
  27. Dec 19, 2013
    9
    The awkwardness of the characters, especially Frances, and the things they do is painful to watch. But it is in these poignant moments that Noah Baumbach's ability to give his characters life. He reveals the humanness of the characters replete with flaws and gaffes and missteps. A beautiful film.
  28. Dec 29, 2013
    3
    Worst "critically acclaimed" film of the year.
    I walked out, which I haven't done in a very long time. The last one was "Greenberg"...
    ok, so maybe there's a pattern...
  29. Jan 15, 2014
    6
    Not much to the movie but Greta Gerwig is irresistably adorable as a klutz, an apprentice dancer trying to find her way in life. She carries the whole movie on her shoulders and does a good job of keeping you entertained throughout...you can't help but fall in love with her.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Aug 3, 2013
    100
    If films were gestures, this one would be a perfectly timed shrug, with the smile to match.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hughes
    Jul 22, 2013
    80
    Although the monochrome photography will invite comparisons with Manhattan, Frances Ha is closer in spirit to Godard than Woody Allen. Anchored by a charming performance from Greta Gerwig, it’s as light and breezy as a walk in Central Park, and just as refreshing.
  3. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Jul 19, 2013
    80
    Charming, poignant and often very funny, Baumbach and Gerwig’s latest collaboration is a joyous portrait of an unformed personality that should strike chords of recognition in all who watch it.