Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Oct 12, 2012
    60
    It's a likable film, though not a sensational development in Tim Burton's career.
  2. Reviewed by: Kerry Lengel
    Oct 3, 2012
    60
    There's no question it looks fantastic...As for the story, well, much like the original Frankenstein's monster, it is a haphazard assemblage of well-aged source materials jolted back to life with new technology, but it isn't quite as sophisticated as one might hope.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Oct 2, 2012
    60
    Though the tale demands a darker outcome, the director disappointingly goes the Mouse House happy-ending route with a reprise of the original short film's finale - one that somehow plays with even more cringeworthy sentimentality.
  4. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Oct 4, 2012
    50
    It's not so much a miscalculation of his audience by Burton as it is a disregard. What lingers after Frankenweenie, far more than its stunning technique, is a sad suggestion of solipsism.
  5. Reviewed by: Tasha Robinson
    Oct 3, 2012
    50
    While Frankenweenie is pleasant enough as a curated tour through horror's past, it doesn't add much to its present.
  6. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Sep 22, 2012
    50
    It is nonetheless imaginative in a highly familiar and ultimately tedious way.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 179 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38
  1. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    Yeah,the old Tim Burton is back with his best movie since Sweeney Todd.Frankenweenie is visually beautiful and very emotional,I have to sayYeah,the old Tim Burton is back with his best movie since Sweeney Todd.Frankenweenie is visually beautiful and very emotional,I have to say that what he done in Dark Shadows is forgiven here Full Review »
  2. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    Frankenweenie is the best animated movie from Tim Burton of all time, because apart from the typical gothic-expressionist environment andFrankenweenie is the best animated movie from Tim Burton of all time, because apart from the typical gothic-expressionist environment and characters, we see that science is in between. First we have the signature character of this director, who in this case is a misunderstood boy without friends, although here is expanded to other people of the story, unlike most of Burton pictures. In addition to Victor, there is Elsa (animated Winona Ryder), Mr. Rzykruski (animated Vincent Price), Edgar, Weird Girl, Toshiaki, Bob and Nassor; all these characters are very well physically constructed and have a defined personality. Second, the vision of the science that brings Tim Burton to the plot is awesome, and it is defined by two things that are said by Mr. Rzykruski: people like what science gives them but not the questions that science asks; and, science is not good or bad, but it can be used in both ways. Third, the idea of gothic mixed with science gives the film a fresh air and it is reflected in the moment when the other boys have their experiments. The thing here is that with these series of creatures, we notice the different approaches to science: love of Victor, ignorance of Edgar, over-confidence of Toshiaki, superiority of Nassor, fear of Bob and accident of Weird Girl. Other great things on this movie are the use of Frankenstein elements and the outstanding application of camera, in the picture are noticeable transitions from one images to another, flip over (360 turn) and the famous vertigo effect, formed by simultaneously dolly in and zoom out. Tim Burton could have a perfect film, but the end should be different. Full Review »
  3. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Frankenweenie. One of my favorite animated movies of this year, I think that is fresh, original -yes I know that the movie is based on the TimFrankenweenie. One of my favorite animated movies of this year, I think that is fresh, original -yes I know that the movie is based on the Tim Burton's short-, the movie is really interesting, the development of the story is funny, and yes I think that is one of the best movies of this year. Full Review »