New Line Cinema | Release Date: August 15, 2003
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 381 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
317
Mixed:
43
Negative:
21
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
keithSep 24, 2010
Freddy Vs Jason is the best horror movie i have ever seen.Not only does it bring back two old killers had awsome movies,but its has over the top gore,strong language and lots of drug use.It`s the best movie of 2003
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscApr 11, 2014
Really i can not believe critics are not enjoying two horror legends go aganist each other . these critics do not know what they are talking about i am a huge fan of Freddy and Jason . Really Critics ! know your horror movies better . Grade A+
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
9
MovieLonely94Oct 26, 2010
after watching two of our favorite horror killers battle against each other, I think I'm starting to like this movie. GREAT ENTERTAINMENT!
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
7
JayZilla2830Sep 8, 2010
This is a movie that made me say "Huh?" at the end. There's no intestines flying out everywhere, which is saying a lot about today's horror movies. There was a complete lack of scares in this film and the only real blood splatter is when oneThis is a movie that made me say "Huh?" at the end. There's no intestines flying out everywhere, which is saying a lot about today's horror movies. There was a complete lack of scares in this film and the only real blood splatter is when one guy gets decapitated, the entire house gets painted in his blood. It's an alright movie with an alright plot, it was very predictable, but it was a horror movie that really worked at answering the long-awaited question: Freddy or Jason? By the end of the film, you didn't really know the answer but it was cool to see what happens in the climax. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
Rox22Apr 13, 2014
Considering I was a huge fan of both horror franchises, I was over the moon when they finally announced this. What did I think of it? Not bad. It could have been better and there was allot of minor points that I found really stupid, but onConsidering I was a huge fan of both horror franchises, I was over the moon when they finally announced this. What did I think of it? Not bad. It could have been better and there was allot of minor points that I found really stupid, but on the whole I still thought it was highly entertaining.

Overall:
Freddy vs. Jason is far from perfect, but then again, none of the Halloween or Nightmare on Elm Street movie were perfect either. This movie more or less copies the tone and style of both franchises to be something of its own. So in essence, this movie is exactly what it was meant to be.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
RirenFeb 2, 2007
It's hard to write about this movie because it's hard to imagine adults discussing it. We have here a long guilty pleasure of a movie, from two series of horror films that have long since become about bodycount and the form of It's hard to write about this movie because it's hard to imagine adults discussing it. We have here a long guilty pleasure of a movie, from two series of horror films that have long since become about bodycount and the form of murder. It doesn't quite deliver (it makes the same old mistake of focusing on its poorly-acted heroes, who the audience only wants to see be disemboweled), but if you're a fan of both series, it's a blast to see the titans go at it. A good part of the movie is devoted to Jason and Freddy actually competing for bodycount. A rave gets turned into a massacre. America's fondness for medicating its children even gets the finger here. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KMMar 23, 2009
Love this movie. More action than horror and I'm pretty sure it was never meant to be scary, just an awesome movie where horror icons battle it out. VERY ENTERTAINING.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
GerrickC.Jul 13, 2006
This movie is about as ruthless as a horror movie can be, and then some. Freddy and Jason go at it to see who is the better iconic terror and the way it turns out is somewhat obvious during the last two minutes of the movie. This movie is This movie is about as ruthless as a horror movie can be, and then some. Freddy and Jason go at it to see who is the better iconic terror and the way it turns out is somewhat obvious during the last two minutes of the movie. This movie is extremely violent and dark. During the movie there are flashes of reality and things that Freddy uses to scare the heck out of some people in their dreams. Jason is the stoic killer and plays the part of a deranged maniac to a tee. The movie sure wasn't the best, but it certainly wasn't one of the worst. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DawzyOct 3, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This Movie is OK its not the best movie to watch
The Movie Is about Jason vorhees and Freddy Kruger
Freddy is not powerful enough to kill the children - Teenagers in Elm street so he brings Jason back from the dead to make them fear so when they fear Freddy gets his power back Spoiler Alert: At The End Jason And Freddy Fight To The Death
Expand
12 of 13 users found this helpful121
All this user's reviews
9
Skullgirlsfan13May 16, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just to start things off, the main reason why the score for this is so high is mainly because of me being a fanboy and appreciating the fact that my dream has come true. If anything this would probably be a 6 or 5 at least, without my horror geek glasses on. This isn't my favorite horror movie; I believe I said Halloween was, but this is near the top for favorite ACTION movie. Yeah, this is more focused on action than it is scares, but when they try to scare us, it's not always successful. Sometimes it is, but not always. So as I remember, this movie had a long production period, it took years to get the rights to both characters, and when the chips were in New line's hand, they took it. With a movie called Freddy vs Jason you shouldn't expect anything else but action, so it keeps true to that with good fight scenes, and gallons of blood. the director: Ronny Yu I think, you could tell was more sympathetic towards Jason; even saying that he's like a samurai, and tries to make him a "hero" persay in the end. Also the actor in this movie playing jason is someone new, he has a more tall approach compared to Kane's big appearance, which I like. Freddy is still Freddy, saying puns whether they're are good or bad, this is a fitting farewell to Robert. The kids in this are actually not too bad, they're sympathetic at times, and are believable. None are great, but they're aren't bad either. There was this saying in the movie about the killers being killed by water and fire, but that doesn't go anywhere, it's more of a fun fact than anything. I would say that anyone liking either friday the 13th or A nightmare on Elm street should see this, and even if you just want to have fun with friends. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerAug 16, 2015
Two classic 80's horror franchises come together. The results are gory, cheesy, and sometimes downright stupid. The movie is fun all the way through though. Especially for fans of either of these series. The tone of the film is more in lineTwo classic 80's horror franchises come together. The results are gory, cheesy, and sometimes downright stupid. The movie is fun all the way through though. Especially for fans of either of these series. The tone of the film is more in line with later movies in both series. Which means we get a package built around the more excessive qualities those sequels contained.

However the movie doesn't really feel stale as a result thanks to the fact that this is a combination of the elements of the two different franchises. Had it just been Freddy or Jason onscreen by themselves we would have received a less entertaining movie. As it stands it's slasher movie fun with two iconic horror villains.

It is rather brainless entertainment though. Dumb moments pop up throughout just like they did in the sequels and there certainly isn't any fear to be found here. Scary is something it is not. Still, it's a fun watch. One that succeeds thanks the amount of blood it isn't afraid the shed with kills that hearken back to both series. Most of the jokes land with a thud, but the Freddy one liners are just entertaining as ever.

It's shear popcorn entertainment meant to give fans of these classic horror movies something to relish in. It's a nostalgia vehicle intended to be a bloody good time rather than a genuine horror experience. While that is rather disappointing the Nightmare on Elm Street and Friday the 13th fan in me had no problem indulging in the experience. Sometimes that's all that really matters. It's one I think any fan of these two series should check out. Just seeing these two clash onscreen is enough to ensure entertainment for fans. It might not be the smartest slasher out there, but it is certainly some cheesy fun.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
TheViking101Jul 14, 2015
Freddy vs Jason was an entertaining homage to two great horror characters. For what it was, I found it enjoyable to watch.

Summary:
Switch your brain of and enjoy two forces of evil war against each other.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
LelandskellDec 23, 2013
Freddy vs. Jason, back when this movie came out, it was not really a shocker. You see, Friday the 13th and Nightmare on Elm Street are both cash cows. They follow a simple formula, teens+killer=money. So we have his movie, this movie wasFreddy vs. Jason, back when this movie came out, it was not really a shocker. You see, Friday the 13th and Nightmare on Elm Street are both cash cows. They follow a simple formula, teens+killer=money. So we have his movie, this movie was created for a the fans. I am not that big a fan of either franchises, but this movie was entertaining to say the least, not too bad, probably better than the sequels of the movies this came from. 6/10 Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
RD.Jan 25, 2007
Very fast and entertaining. Too gory but the Freddy and Jason battle rocks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Meth-dudeJan 2, 2015
A little bit boring at times and over the top but the acting performances are not that bad and the special effects are good.There is a lot of gore and the teenagers are stereotypical but,you know it's always the same in those movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Nov 22, 2014
Freddy Vs Jason brought out what with great about both franchises. After several film adaptations and sequels these characters were certainly starting to get stale. It was a project that was a long time coming but it worked. I found myselfFreddy Vs Jason brought out what with great about both franchises. After several film adaptations and sequels these characters were certainly starting to get stale. It was a project that was a long time coming but it worked. I found myself truly entertained. Robert Englund takes on a bigger role as Freddy than may have had in other installments of his respective series and that was what made it different from the same old same old. It also helped revive both Nightmare on Elm Street and Friday the 13th. Both series received a whole new reboot with a complete different cast several years later. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews