Free Birds

Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 27
  2. Negative: 12 out of 27

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Oct 30, 2013
    76
    A more than worthy (and weird) holiday diversion for the whole family.
  2. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Nov 1, 2013
    63
    Free Birds is pleasant enough holiday fare. And kudos to the animators for transforming a rather unattractive — or at least unappreciated — species into a cast of endearing characters.
  3. Reviewed by: Bill Zwecker
    Oct 31, 2013
    63
    While the overall concept of the script is pretty creative and original, at several points along the way the storyline gets a bit muddled.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Oct 31, 2013
    63
    At an hour and a half, the action in Free Birds gets stretched thin. It’s Thanksgiving fare, sure, but it only partly satisfies our hankering.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephanie Merry
    Oct 31, 2013
    63
    Free Birds has the colorful palette, zippy action and silly story to keep kids giggling, but it also delivers a few worthwhile winks to parents.
User Score
4.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 28
  2. Negative: 11 out of 28
  1. Nov 1, 2013
    6
    Free Birds isn't a disaster, merely a bloated stab at family entertainment (and a spiffy commercial for Chuck E. Cheese pizza, which I'm onlyFree Birds isn't a disaster, merely a bloated stab at family entertainment (and a spiffy commercial for Chuck E. Cheese pizza, which I'm only now learning is something people in America actually have delivered). It's a hero's tale, it's a sci-fi riff, it's a history lesson, it's a portrait of friendship, it's Braveheart with turkeys, it's a pop culture bonanza cut from the Shrek cloth, and together it's none of these. It's the turducken of animated comedies, and while it might satisfy kids, it's not the healthiest option. A stew of half-baked plot elements and bird-brained bits pulled from other movies doesn't make the slapstick toon Free Birds a particularly satisfying experience. Full Review »
  2. Nov 2, 2013
    7
    Very cute movie. Story is engaging, plot is adequately complicated for a kids holiday movie. I was pleasantly surprised today, seeing thisVery cute movie. Story is engaging, plot is adequately complicated for a kids holiday movie. I was pleasantly surprised today, seeing this after reading the terrible reviews. It's supposed to be silly. It's supposed to be fun. The kids loved it, mine and the dozens of others laughing in the theater.
    The critics are off base here.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 30, 2013
    7
    It was funny and original, not to be taken seriously. The critics and users that bashed it should try to take off their serious faces andIt was funny and original, not to be taken seriously. The critics and users that bashed it should try to take off their serious faces and just enjoy the silly surprises that this movie keeps throwing at its audience. My kids liked it. And do did I. Full Review »