User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 67
  2. Negative: 33 out of 67

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 29, 2013
    0
    this is a movie where turkeys go back in time and try stop something in history that never happened...................................... enough said.
  2. Jan 25, 2014
    0
    Reminds me quite a bit about Chicken Run, Where the chickens also have to escape in order to avoid certain death. That being said, This movie is as bad as both users and critics say it is. Painfully stupid and not funny at all. Don't waste your time on it.
  3. Feb 2, 2014
    1
    “Free Birds” isn’t a movie. Movies don’t end with convenient product placements saving the day. Even though the film has terrific voice acting, the movie is a generic, cheaply animated film with a paradox encrusted time traveling story, stuffed with bad jokes, garnished with morals and themes that are doing nothing but flying over the heads of their intended audience and washed down with the reality that this film was made to do nothing more than to sell Chuck E. Cheese pizzas. To call this a movie is just an insult. Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2014
    1
    I found this movie truly unwatchable. In fairness, I didn't expect much, but I was hoping it would be laughably bad so me and my friends could enjoy it. It was terrible. The premise was awful, the acting was weak, the animation was sub-par, the message was irrelevant, and we had to leave the theatre after half an hour. The funniest bit was a strange double entente that I don't even think was intentional. The worst film I have ever seen, and I've seen The Room. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2013
    0
    Oh, my, God. I thought Planes was godawful. This movie is basically everything an animated film should not be. Unfunny, annoying, racist, and worst of all boring. The plot of the film is basically like dances with wolves, except with turkeys and a time travel element. Honestly, stay away from this piece of human waste, showing this to kids is really not a good idea, there are much better films still in theaters. Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2013
    3
    YAWN!boring,racist,AND WEIRED!It's not good.Saw the trailer,heard bad stuff about it.Saw the first 30 minutes then i turned it off!PLEASE DONT WATCH!!!:(
  7. Jan 28, 2014
    3
    Free Birds has a very intriguing (and weird) premise but executes it very poorly through an unbelievably predictable and unfunny adventure. It isn't a disaster, but it is bad.
  8. Mar 2, 2014
    0
    Fhhffhfhfhfhfhfhhhhghghghghffhdhdhddddhdhdhdhdhfugugpodiejedjdjvjvnvngbbbvbbbnbnbvnvnvnjvnvjgjvvjvnnfjvnfjvnfjvjfvmfjvjfjvjfjvhvnghvhgvnghvhvnghghghvhgh
  9. Mar 18, 2014
    3
    i loved owen wilson in the internship and wedding crashers . but this is the worst thanksgiving special i have ever seen worst then charlie brown series .
  10. chw
    Aug 25, 2014
    4
    Free Birds is pretty bad. It's only for kids who don't understand what's going on. If they understand what is going on, well you just wasted your money, even if it was for your child.
  11. May 20, 2014
    0
    Stereo typical Racism... And until the very end you think its not so bad... Then a skinny adult yanks a pizza from a little boy pilgrim and calls him "Fatty". Then an Native American dances around with pizza over his penis. Inappropriate to tell youth these are acceptable terms to use on other people and to make fun of a culture and degrade their integrity with a cartoon mockery of an original American culture. History is horrible and people are mean in real-life.. But this is one of those movies that make it 'okay' for kids to say "It was just a joke!" when it harms other peoples image or emotional well being. A must see to teach your kids how NOT to act. Expand
  12. Nov 10, 2014
    3
    Free Birds has a very intriguing (and weird) premise but executes it very poorly through an unbelievably predictable and unfunny adventure. It isn't a disaster, but it is horrible.
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 27
  2. Negative: 12 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Curtis Woloschuk
    Nov 29, 2013
    20
    Any comparisons with Chicken Run are rendered poultry by half-baked gags. Even tykes will tell it to get stuffed.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Nov 29, 2013
    60
    Enjoyable, with some funny lines.
  3. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Nov 25, 2013
    40
    Not bootiful.