User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 63
  2. Negative: 32 out of 63

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 1, 2013
    6
    Free Birds isn't a disaster, merely a bloated stab at family entertainment (and a spiffy commercial for Chuck E. Cheese pizza, which I'm only now learning is something people in America actually have delivered). It's a hero's tale, it's a sci-fi riff, it's a history lesson, it's a portrait of friendship, it's Braveheart with turkeys, it's a pop culture bonanza cut from the Shrek cloth, and together it's none of these. It's the turducken of animated comedies, and while it might satisfy kids, it's not the healthiest option. A stew of half-baked plot elements and bird-brained bits pulled from other movies doesn't make the slapstick toon Free Birds a particularly satisfying experience. Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2013
    7
    Very cute movie. Story is engaging, plot is adequately complicated for a kids holiday movie. I was pleasantly surprised today, seeing this after reading the terrible reviews. It's supposed to be silly. It's supposed to be fun. The kids loved it, mine and the dozens of others laughing in the theater.
    The critics are off base here.
  3. Nov 30, 2013
    7
    It was funny and original, not to be taken seriously. The critics and users that bashed it should try to take off their serious faces and just enjoy the silly surprises that this movie keeps throwing at its audience. My kids liked it. And do did I.
  4. Nov 29, 2013
    0
    this is a movie where turkeys go back in time and try stop something in history that never happened...................................... enough said.
  5. Dec 6, 2013
    5
    This move is not a disaster nor good, jokes are little corny but OK plot, plus this a rip off Chicken run, which was an amazing movie. Not sure about this! 5/10
  6. Jun 11, 2014
    5
    Free Birds is sure to entertain small children with its bright colors, light hearted tone (except for one scene), and nice humor. However, everyone else will probably be uninterested and/or bored as the film has little to offer. The story lacks any real substance and has a poorly constructed ending, the characters are not that interesting with the only interesting ones being interesting more for the actor voicing them then the character themselves, and the film doesn’t deliver in the comedy department as much as it should. However, I can’t hate this film as it didn’t get under my skin or make me role my eyes. The film gave me some amusement but also some shallow righting so it falls in the middle with me neither disliking nor hating the film. Check it out if you are interested but if you don’t care I don’t blame you if you skip it as this film doesn’t have much to offer anyone outside of little kids. Expand
  7. Mar 9, 2014
    7
    Definitely a weird one, but there's enough humor and entertaining moments here that will make it enjoyable for kids. I can't say too many adults will find it tolerable, but I found it to be fairly entertaining. The voice cast is top-notch with the likes of Owen Wilson and Woody Harrelson, but the animation is far from impressive. Still it gets the job done. The plot is decent even if it can get a little muddled and there are plenty of laughs here. The theme of the movie is odd but I can still see kids being plenty entertained, and maybe even their parents as well. It's not among the best animated movies out there, but there are still reasons to give it a shot. Expand
  8. Jan 25, 2014
    0
    Reminds me quite a bit about Chicken Run, Where the chickens also have to escape in order to avoid certain death. That being said, This movie is as bad as both users and critics say it is. Painfully stupid and not funny at all. Don't waste your time on it.
  9. Feb 2, 2014
    1
    “Free Birds” isn’t a movie. Movies don’t end with convenient product placements saving the day. Even though the film has terrific voice acting, the movie is a generic, cheaply animated film with a paradox encrusted time traveling story, stuffed with bad jokes, garnished with morals and themes that are doing nothing but flying over the heads of their intended audience and washed down with the reality that this film was made to do nothing more than to sell Chuck E. Cheese pizzas. To call this a movie is just an insult. Expand
  10. Mar 2, 2014
    1
    I found this movie truly unwatchable. In fairness, I didn't expect much, but I was hoping it would be laughably bad so me and my friends could enjoy it. It was terrible. The premise was awful, the acting was weak, the animation was sub-par, the message was irrelevant, and we had to leave the theatre after half an hour. The funniest bit was a strange double entente that I don't even think was intentional. The worst film I have ever seen, and I've seen The Room. Expand
  11. Nov 10, 2013
    0
    Oh, my, God. I thought Planes was godawful. This movie is basically everything an animated film should not be. Unfunny, annoying, racist, and worst of all boring. The plot of the film is basically like dances with wolves, except with turkeys and a time travel element. Honestly, stay away from this piece of human waste, showing this to kids is really not a good idea, there are much better films still in theaters. Expand
  12. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    Love it. It's great. Highly recommended. Great to play with friends and loved ones. Get it today. Perfect for Christmas, birthdays, or any other special event.
  13. Nov 14, 2013
    3
    YAWN!boring,racist,AND WEIRED!It's not good.Saw the trailer,heard bad stuff about it.Saw the first 30 minutes then i turned it off!PLEASE DONT WATCH!!!:(
  14. Nov 17, 2013
    6
    Nice move that whole family can enjoy its got plenty of action and comody also a little bit of learning but this movie seems to fit the range of 5-10 year olds but it is a solid movie that the family can enjoy
  15. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    It is an excellent movie, the climax was great.
    It teaches Turkeys are also sentient beings and which really are. And how scary it is to die.
    Climax was great and the story is perfect.
  16. Jan 28, 2014
    3
    Free Birds has a very intriguing (and weird) premise but executes it very poorly through an unbelievably predictable and unfunny adventure. It isn't a disaster, but it is bad.
  17. Dec 6, 2013
    5
    I didn't like this movie, but I certainly didn't hate it. Some of the jokes were funny, but some were awkward and weren't funny at all (mainly the ending joke) but the story was... how do I put this... Interesting...? Most of the characters weren't that interesting though, especially the main character, who I think could've been fleshed out a bit more, and some of the voices didn't seem to fit their character, probably because of some of the previous work they have done, such as the main character, Owen Wilson being in Cars, all of a sudden being a wimpy turkey. Expand
  18. Dec 7, 2013
    6
    I have to give this 6 because though it was kind of different it was still enjoyable. I think the story was thrown together fairly quick but it had its great moments and iconic lines. I enjoyed it and thought it was a cool concept but could of been a bit better. But it was pretty good and I think kids would like it.
  19. Dec 30, 2013
    5
    I saw "The Hunger Games: Catching Fire" with my little brother and his friends, but I would like "Free Birds". Even though, I would gave "Free Birds" two thumbs down.
  20. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    Perfect kids movie. From beginning to end not the slightest hint of boredom ! I enjoyed it a lot and recommend it to anyone who likes some good fun with loveable characters. I would watch it again and that says something. I don't wanna spoil anything ! You gotta see it for yourself ! Btw I don't freaking know why there a so many bad reviews for this, I liked it a lot more than Despicable Me 2.
  21. Feb 19, 2014
    9
    I enjoyed the film a lot, it was a great story and very, very humorous. The characters all have different personalities & I like that. There were fourth-wall moments towards the audience which kind of made the film more like a parody of how a certain action film is supposed to be, it was a hilarious moment. I recommend you watch it, because I find the film entertaining and worth the time.
  22. Mar 2, 2014
    0
    Fhhffhfhfhfhfhfhhhhghghghghffhdhdhddddhdhdhdhdhfugugpodiejedjdjvjvnvngbbbvbbbnbnbvnvnvnjvnvjgjvvjvnnfjvnfjvnfjvjfvmfjvjfjvjfjvhvnghvhgvnghvhvnghghghvhgh
  23. Mar 18, 2014
    3
    i loved owen wilson in the internship and wedding crashers . but this is the worst thanksgiving special i have ever seen worst then charlie brown series .
  24. May 20, 2014
    0
    Stereo typical Racism... And until the very end you think its not so bad... Then a skinny adult yanks a pizza from a little boy pilgrim and calls him "Fatty". Then an Native American dances around with pizza over his penis. Inappropriate to tell youth these are acceptable terms to use on other people and to make fun of a culture and degrade their integrity with a cartoon mockery of an original American culture. History is horrible and people are mean in real-life.. But this is one of those movies that make it 'okay' for kids to say "It was just a joke!" when it harms other peoples image or emotional well being. A must see to teach your kids how NOT to act. Expand
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 27
  2. Negative: 12 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Curtis Woloschuk
    Nov 29, 2013
    20
    Any comparisons with Chicken Run are rendered poultry by half-baked gags. Even tykes will tell it to get stuffed.
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Nov 29, 2013
    60
    Enjoyable, with some funny lines.
  3. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Nov 25, 2013
    40
    Not bootiful.