Free Birds

Free Birds Image
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 83 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Two turkeys from opposite sides of the tracks must put aside their differences and team up to travel back in time to change the course of history - and get turkey off the holiday menu for good.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 27
  2. Negative: 12 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Oct 30, 2013
    76
    A more than worthy (and weird) holiday diversion for the whole family.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Oct 31, 2013
    63
    At an hour and a half, the action in Free Birds gets stretched thin. It’s Thanksgiving fare, sure, but it only partly satisfies our hankering.
  3. 60
    Although it seldom approaches the inspiration of its plucky premise... Free Birds nevertheless manages to avoid being branded a holiday turkey.
  4. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Nov 1, 2013
    40
    Children, of course, won’t notice the political subtext. But do be prepared for them to exit the theater demanding that you make only Tofurkey in the future.
  5. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Oct 31, 2013
    38
    Well-intended but maladroit, with a clever premise and cute animation that are undermined by the trite sci-fi parody plot and manic, unfunny banter.
  6. Reviewed by: Miriam Bale
    Oct 31, 2013
    30
    Free Birds is likely to leave audiences fuzzy-headed and vaguely nauseated instead of nourished and satisfied.
  7. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Oct 30, 2013
    16
    The characters are so two-dimensional that a meaningful connection with the material isn't elusive; it's downright impossible.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 32
  2. Negative: 12 out of 32
  1. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    Perfect kids movie. From beginning to end not the slightest hint of boredom ! I enjoyed it a lot and recommend it to anyone who likes somePerfect kids movie. From beginning to end not the slightest hint of boredom ! I enjoyed it a lot and recommend it to anyone who likes some good fun with loveable characters. I would watch it again and that says something. I don't wanna spoil anything ! You gotta see it for yourself ! Btw I don't freaking know why there a so many bad reviews for this, I liked it a lot more than Despicable Me 2. Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2015
    8
    Free Birds is a fun and interesting animated movie that kids can enjoy and have a great time at.This movie in my opinion is hated way too muchFree Birds is a fun and interesting animated movie that kids can enjoy and have a great time at.This movie in my opinion is hated way too much and unfairly because it does have problems on its own but it also has good things in it and above all,good characters that make for a fun ride. Expand
  3. Dec 30, 2015
    7
    WTF!!!!!!! is everyone complaining about this is better then the critics say so.The plot is creative. also theres the lovableWTF!!!!!!! is everyone complaining about this is better then the critics say so.The plot is creative. also theres the lovable characters........................................ Expand
  4. Jun 11, 2014
    5
    Free Birds is sure to entertain small children with its bright colors, light hearted tone (except for one scene), and nice humor. However,Free Birds is sure to entertain small children with its bright colors, light hearted tone (except for one scene), and nice humor. However, everyone else will probably be uninterested and/or bored as the film has little to offer. The story lacks any real substance and has a poorly constructed ending, the characters are not that interesting with the only interesting ones being interesting more for the actor voicing them then the character themselves, and the film doesn’t deliver in the comedy department as much as it should. However, I can’t hate this film as it didn’t get under my skin or make me role my eyes. The film gave me some amusement but also some shallow righting so it falls in the middle with me neither disliking nor hating the film. Check it out if you are interested but if you don’t care I don’t blame you if you skip it as this film doesn’t have much to offer anyone outside of little kids. Expand
  5. Apr 21, 2015
    3
    time traveling turkeys go back in time to stop turnkeys from being the main menu on thanksgiving dinner go I need to say more........................
  6. Nov 14, 2013
    3
    YAWN!boring,racist,AND WEIRED!It's not good.Saw the trailer,heard bad stuff about it.Saw the first 30 minutes then i turned it off!PLEASE DONTYAWN!boring,racist,AND WEIRED!It's not good.Saw the trailer,heard bad stuff about it.Saw the first 30 minutes then i turned it off!PLEASE DONT WATCH!!!:( Expand
  7. Mar 2, 2014
    0
    FhhffhfhfhfhfhfhhhhghghghghffhdhdhddddhdhdhdhdhfugugpodiejedjdjvjvnvngbbbvbbbnbnbvnvnvnjvnvjgjvvjvnnfjvnfjvnfjvjfvmfjvjfjvjfjvhvnghvhgvnghvhvnFhhffhfhfhfhfhfhhhhghghghghffhdhdhddddhdhdhdhdhfugugpodiejedjdjvjvnvngbbbvbbbnbnbvnvnvnjvnvjgjvvjvnnfjvnfjvnfjvjfvmfjvjfjvjfjvhvnghvhgvnghvhvnghghghvhgh Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.