Free Birds

Free Birds Image
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Two turkeys from opposite sides of the tracks must put aside their differences and team up to travel back in time to change the course of history - and get turkey off the holiday menu for good.

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 27
  2. Negative: 12 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Oct 30, 2013
    76
    A more than worthy (and weird) holiday diversion for the whole family.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Oct 31, 2013
    63
    At an hour and a half, the action in Free Birds gets stretched thin. It’s Thanksgiving fare, sure, but it only partly satisfies our hankering.
  3. 60
    Although it seldom approaches the inspiration of its plucky premise... Free Birds nevertheless manages to avoid being branded a holiday turkey.
  4. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Nov 1, 2013
    40
    Children, of course, won’t notice the political subtext. But do be prepared for them to exit the theater demanding that you make only Tofurkey in the future.
  5. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Oct 31, 2013
    38
    Well-intended but maladroit, with a clever premise and cute animation that are undermined by the trite sci-fi parody plot and manic, unfunny banter.
  6. Reviewed by: Miriam Bale
    Oct 31, 2013
    30
    Free Birds is likely to leave audiences fuzzy-headed and vaguely nauseated instead of nourished and satisfied.
  7. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Oct 30, 2013
    16
    The characters are so two-dimensional that a meaningful connection with the material isn't elusive; it's downright impossible.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 28
  2. Negative: 11 out of 28
  1. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    Perfect kids movie. From beginning to end not the slightest hint of boredom ! I enjoyed it a lot and recommend it to anyone who likes somePerfect kids movie. From beginning to end not the slightest hint of boredom ! I enjoyed it a lot and recommend it to anyone who likes some good fun with loveable characters. I would watch it again and that says something. I don't wanna spoil anything ! You gotta see it for yourself ! Btw I don't freaking know why there a so many bad reviews for this, I liked it a lot more than Despicable Me 2. Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    Love it. It's great. Highly recommended. Great to play with friends and loved ones. Get it today. Perfect for Christmas, birthdays, or anyLove it. It's great. Highly recommended. Great to play with friends and loved ones. Get it today. Perfect for Christmas, birthdays, or any other special event. Collapse
  3. Nov 30, 2013
    7
    It was funny and original, not to be taken seriously. The critics and users that bashed it should try to take off their serious faces andIt was funny and original, not to be taken seriously. The critics and users that bashed it should try to take off their serious faces and just enjoy the silly surprises that this movie keeps throwing at its audience. My kids liked it. And do did I. Expand
  4. Dec 30, 2013
    5
    I saw "The Hunger Games: Catching Fire" with my little brother and his friends, but I would like "Free Birds". Even though, I would gave "FreeI saw "The Hunger Games: Catching Fire" with my little brother and his friends, but I would like "Free Birds". Even though, I would gave "Free Birds" two thumbs down. Expand
  5. Apr 21, 2015
    3
    time traveling turkeys go back in time to stop turnkeys from being the main menu on thanksgiving dinner go I need to say more........................
  6. Jan 28, 2014
    3
    Free Birds has a very intriguing (and weird) premise but executes it very poorly through an unbelievably predictable and unfunny adventure. ItFree Birds has a very intriguing (and weird) premise but executes it very poorly through an unbelievably predictable and unfunny adventure. It isn't a disaster, but it is bad. Expand
  7. Mar 2, 2014
    0
    FhhffhfhfhfhfhfhhhhghghghghffhdhdhddddhdhdhdhdhfugugpodiejedjdjvjvnvngbbbvbbbnbnbvnvnvnjvnvjgjvvjvnnfjvnfjvnfjvjfvmfjvjfjvjfjvhvnghvhgvnghvhvnFhhffhfhfhfhfhfhhhhghghghghffhdhdhddddhdhdhdhdhfugugpodiejedjdjvjvnvngbbbvbbbnbnbvnvnvnjvnvjgjvvjvnnfjvnfjvnfjvjfvmfjvjfjvjfjvhvnghvhgvnghvhvnghghghvhgh Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Trailers