Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Two turkeys from opposite sides of the tracks must put aside their differences and team up to travel back in time to change the course of history - and get turkey off the holiday menu for good.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 27
  2. Negative: 12 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Kate Erbland
    Oct 30, 2013
    76
    A more than worthy (and weird) holiday diversion for the whole family.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Russo
    Oct 31, 2013
    63
    At an hour and a half, the action in Free Birds gets stretched thin. It’s Thanksgiving fare, sure, but it only partly satisfies our hankering.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Rechtshaffen
    Oct 29, 2013
    60
    Although it seldom approaches the inspiration of its plucky premise... Free Birds nevertheless manages to avoid being branded a holiday turkey.
  4. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Nov 1, 2013
    40
    Children, of course, won’t notice the political subtext. But do be prepared for them to exit the theater demanding that you make only Tofurkey in the future.
  5. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Oct 31, 2013
    38
    Well-intended but maladroit, with a clever premise and cute animation that are undermined by the trite sci-fi parody plot and manic, unfunny banter.
  6. Reviewed by: Miriam Bale
    Oct 31, 2013
    30
    Free Birds is likely to leave audiences fuzzy-headed and vaguely nauseated instead of nourished and satisfied.
  7. Reviewed by: Drew Taylor
    Oct 30, 2013
    16
    The characters are so two-dimensional that a meaningful connection with the material isn't elusive; it's downright impossible.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 25
  2. Negative: 10 out of 25
  1. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    Perfect kids movie. From beginning to end not the slightest hint of boredom ! I enjoyed it a lot and recommend it to anyone who likes some good fun with loveable characters. I would watch it again and that says something. I don't wanna spoil anything ! You gotta see it for yourself ! Btw I don't freaking know why there a so many bad reviews for this, I liked it a lot more than Despicable Me 2. Collapse
  2. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    Love it. It's great. Highly recommended. Great to play with friends and loved ones. Get it today. Perfect for Christmas, birthdays, or any other special event. Expand
  3. Mar 9, 2014
    7
    Definitely a weird one, but there's enough humor and entertaining moments here that will make it enjoyable for kids. I can't say too many adults will find it tolerable, but I found it to be fairly entertaining. The voice cast is top-notch with the likes of Owen Wilson and Woody Harrelson, but the animation is far from impressive. Still it gets the job done. The plot is decent even if it can get a little muddled and there are plenty of laughs here. The theme of the movie is odd but I can still see kids being plenty entertained, and maybe even their parents as well. It's not among the best animated movies out there, but there are still reasons to give it a shot. Expand
  4. Dec 30, 2013
    5
    I saw "The Hunger Games: Catching Fire" with my little brother and his friends, but I would like "Free Birds". Even though, I would gave "Free Birds" two thumbs down. Expand
  5. Mar 18, 2014
    3
    i loved owen wilson in the internship and wedding crashers . but this is the worst thanksgiving special i have ever seen worst then charlie brown series . Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2014
    1
    I found this movie truly unwatchable. In fairness, I didn't expect much, but I was hoping it would be laughably bad so me and my friends could enjoy it. It was terrible. The premise was awful, the acting was weak, the animation was sub-par, the message was irrelevant, and we had to leave the theatre after half an hour. The funniest bit was a strange double entente that I don't even think was intentional. The worst film I have ever seen, and I've seen The Room. Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2013
    0
    Oh, my, God. I thought Planes was godawful. This movie is basically everything an animated film should not be. Unfunny, annoying, racist, and worst of all boring. The plot of the film is basically like dances with wolves, except with turkeys and a time travel element. Honestly, stay away from this piece of human waste, showing this to kids is really not a good idea, there are much better films still in theaters. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Trailers