User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 232 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 232

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 29, 2011
    0
    This movie sucks. Do not see it. From the commercials you think its gonna be a comedy/porn. NOPE ITS A DARN LOVE STORY! It never ends. I wanted to kill myself. Best part of the movie is Mila Kunis ass. Its deff worth to see just for that.
  2. Jan 27, 2013
    4
    This movie is a long mix of awkward sex scenes and "comedy". It's long and boring and concludes with a moral that you can see coming for entire movie. This movie is a no on my list.
  3. Oct 16, 2011
    0
    If I could score this it would get a -100 ... I mean it !!! One of the worst movies Ive seen this year, Terrible acting (mostly on Timberlake's side !!!) He is really bad in first roles !!! He always is showing his butt and it is really really boring it is something you will watch and know what will happen in the end ... DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME
  4. Nov 16, 2011
    1
    Giant steaming pile of dog crap. Bad acting, bad writing, bad concept...total garbage. Mila Kunis is not good in this...she is not good in anything...how did this person ever achieve any success? Timberlake is usually decent but this stinker was impossible to save. It was painful to get through an hour of this crapheap. Do yourself a favor and avoid.
  5. Dec 16, 2011
    1
    This movie sucked! And I love cheesy romantic comedies. I am giving this movie one star because Mila Kunis worked her ass off to try to make this movie funny. It was sorta sad to see how hard she had to work, but I like her, I like her acting, and I think she did a good job. Meanwhile, Justin Timberlake proved that he has NO charisma whatsoever. Nor can he act. If they had cast a talented actor in this movie, it would have been significantly more enjoyable - John Krasinski could have saved this movie- but they didn't cast Krasinski, they cast the stiff-as-wood Timberlake.
    My other major problem with this movie was the flashmob scenes. So cringe-worthy, and not in an adorable way. Flash mobs were over way before this movie came out, yet they play an important part in the plot. Further proof that hollywood writers should be careful about writing-in internet fads. I put my head in my hands during the scene where Justin Timberlake says "What is this?" and Mila's character excitedly explains "It's a flash mob!" Oh really grandma?
    Expand
  6. Feb 4, 2012
    0
    Predictable and boring actually i was bored after 20 minutes and nothing changed until the movie was finished i don't know if i was actually sleeping with a bad dream or i was just almost sleeping in order to have time going faster to see the next movie... sooo boring
  7. Mar 21, 2012
    2
    Wow, these Metacritic scores are nuts. Some movies are rated so low and I love them, while movies like this one have positive ratings and they are horrible. This is a terrible movie. It actually picks up a bit at the end, but wow, the majority is plain bad. The dialogue in this movie is the worst. Who wrote these terrible lines. They were just not funny. It's as if they were trying to sound cool by making the characters spew racey banter, but the lines simply were not funny. I'm a fan of Timberlake because I admire how he went from Disney to a ridiculous boy band, to then becoming a respectable solo artist and then a talented actor. Mila is just plain HOT. So I went in here thinking that I would enjoy this movie. WRONG! I am always amazed at how movies like this get favorable reviews. I guess there's no accounting for taste. Be warned. Expand
  8. Oct 15, 2013
    4
    I preferred it the first time watching it. Watching it the second time gives me the realization of how stupid the plot is. It's just another romantic comedy.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Sep 5, 2011
    60
    This coasts along just fine thanks to charm and comical interludes, but it fails to deliver the sassy story it promises. Fine for a romantic comedy, but an inferior follow up to director Gluck's edgier "Easy A."
  2. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jul 24, 2011
    80
    Friends with Benefits is fast, allusive, urban, glamorous - clearly the Zeitgeist winner of the summer.
  3. Reviewed by: Anita Li
    Jul 23, 2011
    75
    It's a tired formula moviegoers know well, but in the case of Friends With Benefits, it works.