Friends with Benefits

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 270 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 270
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 27, 2013
    4
    This movie is a long mix of awkward sex scenes and "comedy". It's long and boring and concludes with a moral that you can see coming for entire movie. This movie is a no on my list.
  2. JBM
    Aug 31, 2012
    5
    The movie was acceptable but hardly outstanding. It was hard to get by some of the flaws. A man living in LA is not from hooterville. He would be able to understand New York without walking around like a rube. I agree with other posters that Emma Stone would have been a better pick for the female lead. The ending was no surprise and nobody who even read the title would not see that theyThe movie was acceptable but hardly outstanding. It was hard to get by some of the flaws. A man living in LA is not from hooterville. He would be able to understand New York without walking around like a rube. I agree with other posters that Emma Stone would have been a better pick for the female lead. The ending was no surprise and nobody who even read the title would not see that they would fall in love. You never forget that you are must watching Justin and Mila, not characters in a real situation. But they are pretty and there are some amusing moments in it which makes it a painless diversion. The sex scenes were just this side of soft porn though and I felt unnecessary to further the plot. They could have been softened without hurting the humor the two of them were creating in their bedroom romps. Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    5
    The movie disappointed me, I was told it was hilarious but I do not very funny, at first it was uncomfortable to see the couple Justin / Kunis looked very fake, and for the conlusion was much better.
  4. Dec 29, 2011
    5
    Deja-vue -> go check 'No strings attached'. These movies are very similar, too bad.

    About the acting, it was ok, Mila Kunis did a good job, Justin Timberlake as well, even though I think, these people aren't going to be very great actors, especially not in drama movies. Anyway, if you like to see a predictible, unoriginal movie, go take a look, - put your expectations low, so you can
    Deja-vue -> go check 'No strings attached'. These movies are very similar, too bad.

    About the acting, it was ok, Mila Kunis did a good job, Justin Timberlake as well, even though I think, these people aren't going to be very great actors, especially not in drama movies. Anyway, if you like to see a predictible, unoriginal movie, go take a look, - put your expectations low, so you can enjoy the romance of the story.
    Expand
  5. Jul 23, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's probably the better movies that could come out of this concept. Kunis is terrific, Timberlake is under-directed (though fun), and Patricia Clarkson (who I love, generally) is bordering on parody. Jenna Elfman is great is a small role, and Woody Harrelson easily steals the show. Like many of the critics, I think the banter between the leads is solid. The ending just falls flat. And using flashmobs?? (especially via the Uroboros....) A little tired. But it's much better than the Ashton Kutcher film along the same lines from earlier this year. I just wish that what started out as an unconventional relationship didn't wind up so conventionally. Expand
  6. Aug 25, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you're going to poke fun at pop culture cliches you should make damn sure you're not committing them yourself. Like staging a flash mob in Times Square. Mila Kunis and Justin Timberlake are fairly decent actors so I have to interpret their misreading of the main characters to bad direction (Am I the only one who thinks Emma Stone would have been a better choice for the lead than Kunis?). Woody Harrelson does is best with the role of the gay sportswriter (a twist but still a cliche) and probably has the funniest moments of the film. Patricia Clarkson plays the cool but unavailable hippie mom who undoubtedly is the source of Kunis' insecurity. Don't get me wrong there were some decent moments (John F'ing Mayer, Harrelson's relentless recruiting of hetero men) but the dialog seems forced and the "we're cooler than you are" premise falls short. The one saving grace of this film is the undeniable attractiveness of the lead characters. Timberlakes' legion of female (and male) fans will leave the theater feeling they got their money shot, I mean money's worth. Expand
  7. Aug 16, 2011
    6
    I enjoyed this movie, it was good, but just good. Justin Timberlake was ok and Mila Kunis was hot as always, but it was funny in the opening 10 min or so and whenever Woody Harrelson would appear, but after that it was just too romantic for me. I expected a romantic comedy and it was mostly romantic for the final hour and a half, but i enjoyed it though, good movie, shouldve been alot moreI enjoyed this movie, it was good, but just good. Justin Timberlake was ok and Mila Kunis was hot as always, but it was funny in the opening 10 min or so and whenever Woody Harrelson would appear, but after that it was just too romantic for me. I expected a romantic comedy and it was mostly romantic for the final hour and a half, but i enjoyed it though, good movie, shouldve been alot more comedy involved and it was definitely a complete copy of No Strings Attached but it was good, but only good, 6/10 Expand
  8. Aug 5, 2011
    6
    As much as it tries not to, Friends With Benefits relentlessly relies on rom-com cliches. However, the hilarious chemistry between Timberlake and Kunis makes it worth the while.
  9. Sep 8, 2011
    6
    Il semblerait que Natalie Portman et Mila Kunis soient en compétition depuis Black Swan. Déjà là, les deux actrices "s'affrontaient" dans l'univers de la danse. Maintenant, c'est dans la comédie sentimentale (Sex Friends pour Portman, Sexe entre Amis pour Kunis). Pour la rivale de la grande MathildaIl semblerait que Natalie Portman et Mila Kunis soient en compétition depuis Black Swan. Déjà là, les deux actrices "s'affrontaient" dans l'univers de la danse. Maintenant, c'est dans la comédie sentimentale (Sex Friends pour Portman, Sexe entre Amis pour Kunis). Pour la rivale de la grande Mathilda (référence à Léon), Mila Kunis fait équipe avec un excellent Justin Timberlake dans une comédie romantique qui ne sort pas des sentiers battus. Chaque séquence sent le déjà-vu et se montre prévisible. Mais là où s'en sort Sexe entre Amis comparé à Sex Friends, c'est qu'il est moins guimauve, que le duo Kunis/Timberlake fonctionne parfaitement, et que le film possède un humour qui fait très souvent mouche, sans tabou et sans vulgarité non plus. En somme, Sexe entre Amis se montre être une comédie bien sympathique. Et en ce moment, c'est vraiment ce qu'il faut pour se détendre ! Expand
  10. Dec 8, 2011
    5
    This movie is clearly another version of No Strings Attached. It seems that Hollywood producers are psychic, and when one gets an idea, they all get the same idea, and they all produce the same movie at about the same, which may explain why Woody Allen is hysterically secretive about every movie plot he films. The critics seem to be arguing about this movie: Is it original or cliched? IsThis movie is clearly another version of No Strings Attached. It seems that Hollywood producers are psychic, and when one gets an idea, they all get the same idea, and they all produce the same movie at about the same, which may explain why Woody Allen is hysterically secretive about every movie plot he films. The critics seem to be arguing about this movie: Is it original or cliched? Is Kunis refreshing or shrill? Is the banter charming or relentlessly over-the-top? I would say all of the above, because the movie has strong scenes and weak scenes. Kunis's character is sometimes the smart, glamorous career woman every woman presumably wants to be, and sometimes she's just neurotic and too focused on men, even while she vehemently denies that men are the most significant part of her life, and that if she doesn't find a serious mate soon, she's going to have a nervous breakdown. Of course, the rom-com formula is that she is charmingly perfect--her clothes, her hair, her job, and her brilliantly timed wit. (There is a continuity problem with Kunis's hair--most of the time her sleek ponytail falls halfway down her back, but in some scenes she has a small ponytail that barely reaches her neck.) Of course, the theme is platonic-friendship-with-sex, a contradiction in terms that confuses the two participants more than anyone else. Everyone else knows they're in love and they're deluding themselves; they think they are participating in a grand philosophical experiment that no one ever thought of before, which brings us to the inevitable conclusion that was unintended: in the end, both characters appear to be undereducated. No one reads books, but movies reign supreme and are to be counted as the major influence that shapes lives, careers, and minds. As intelligent as both characters are, it's mostly street smarts--material success is based on being young, beautiful, hip, energetic, verbal, gutsy, and with a physical athleticism that makes for some smooth moves. This also happens to be all the attributes necessary to be a Hollywood film star. So, although the characters played by Kunis and Timberlake are suave and attractive, they are also shallow. A weak attempt to portray Timberlake's suffering over his father's senility is a case of too little, too late. Ultimately, if the characters have to be rich, spoiled, and self-absorbed, the producers should at least make sure that the movie has a plot. Expand
  11. Dec 7, 2011
    6
    Mr Harrelson, Ms Clarkson & Mr Jenkins are the best part of the movie, because it doesn't feel like they are acting. Ms Kunis (Jamie) & Mr Timberlake (Dylan) fire off one liners & repartee like, well, they memorized their lines. Ms Kunis fares much better during the 2nd half of the film, the actual love story. The writing of Dylan's character is way overboard and not necessary. It's hardMr Harrelson, Ms Clarkson & Mr Jenkins are the best part of the movie, because it doesn't feel like they are acting. Ms Kunis (Jamie) & Mr Timberlake (Dylan) fire off one liners & repartee like, well, they memorized their lines. Ms Kunis fares much better during the 2nd half of the film, the actual love story. The writing of Dylan's character is way overboard and not necessary. It's hard to believe he is so naive. Didn't he see "When Harry Met Sally?" Men don't have women friends, unless they're fibbing or gay. Ms Kunis kept me from the dreaded FFWD. To the reviewers who compare this to similar films or the director's previous work, hey, just write what you thought of this movie. Story, characters, etc. Mr Timberlake was excellent in The Social Network as was Ms Kunis in Black Swan and Easy A was terrific-so what? That has nothing to do with this film. I didn't cry, laughed once and a while, and was waiting for better. It would be refreshing to see a movie end where the couple goes their own way instead of tying it all up with a nice bow. Even though lacking chemistry and with some less than thrilling dialogue, it's still worth a look. Do 30'somethings really talk like this? Perhaps when we write a review we can give some demographic info. I don't care what the critics say, what about you same agers? You like it? Expand
  12. Feb 10, 2012
    6
    For what it is, a chick flick, it's not bad. Obviously as a male these movies aren't my favorites but if you absolutely have to watch a movie with your girlfriend, this isn't a bad choice. I would never under any circumstances watch it again though but for one time it's fine.
  13. May 16, 2013
    5
    Romantic-comedies have become such a static routine in Hollywood that even the two lead characters in “Friends with Benefits” have memorized its blueprint. Earlier scenes present us with mild optimism when we learn that our impending couple is considerably aware of the genre’s most common clichés. But their advantage leads to no benefit when they go right ahead and implement the thingsRomantic-comedies have become such a static routine in Hollywood that even the two lead characters in “Friends with Benefits” have memorized its blueprint. Earlier scenes present us with mild optimism when we learn that our impending couple is considerably aware of the genre’s most common clichés. But their advantage leads to no benefit when they go right ahead and implement the things they were formerly trying to rebuke.

    By the movie’s unsatisfying end, we get the feeling that the purpose of the references was to inform us that what we are watching is no different from the rest of its pack. Instead of utilizing its awareness as a stepping stone for improvement, “Friends with Benefits” lingers in mediocrity by idly pre-apologizing to the faults it plans to commit. What’s the point?

    What the movie lacks in screenplay is made up for in its cast. Reader, you have no idea how refreshed I was to see a rom-com that isn’t starring either Katherine Heigl or Ashton Kutcher. These two actors have spent so much time within the territory of their preferred genre that their careers have gone from complacent to comatose. Katherine Heigl and Ashton Kutcher are to romantic comedies as Milla Jovovich and Jason Statham are to action movies. A personal note of mine that may also come in handy in your future is this: Movies starring Heigl or Kutcher must be so bad that only Heigl and Kutcher and would agree to star in them.

    Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/friends-with-benefits-movie-review/
    Expand
  14. Aug 25, 2012
    6
    Clearly the premise rips No Strings Attached off but the style of the two films could not be more difficult. No Strings Attached seems more connected to its emotions and less funny. Friends with Benefits is clearly more dirty minded. For me, Woody Harrelson steals the show in every scene that he's in. Unfortunately he isn't in it enough! The film itself is funny and warm-hearted with someClearly the premise rips No Strings Attached off but the style of the two films could not be more difficult. No Strings Attached seems more connected to its emotions and less funny. Friends with Benefits is clearly more dirty minded. For me, Woody Harrelson steals the show in every scene that he's in. Unfortunately he isn't in it enough! The film itself is funny and warm-hearted with some great eye candy too. Definitely worth a watch but possibly not worth all the hype that it received. Expand
  15. Dec 7, 2012
    6
    I really liked this film. It's completely predictable, adding nothing new or exciting to add to the romantic comedy genre, but it's well done. Solid script, interesting characters, and great lead performances drive this film to a higher level that it wouldn't have been in otherwise. Justin Timberlake and the beautiful Mila Kunis give solid performances and have excellent chemistryI really liked this film. It's completely predictable, adding nothing new or exciting to add to the romantic comedy genre, but it's well done. Solid script, interesting characters, and great lead performances drive this film to a higher level that it wouldn't have been in otherwise. Justin Timberlake and the beautiful Mila Kunis give solid performances and have excellent chemistry together. I definitely recommend seeing this film! Collapse
  16. Oct 15, 2013
    4
    I preferred it the first time watching it. Watching it the second time gives me the realization of how stupid the plot is. It's just another romantic comedy.
  17. Aug 30, 2014
    6
    While funny and catchy for (few) moments, this movie is so concerned about not falling into boring clichés that, in not doing so, they still fall apart on it, trying to sell us stupid misconceptions of men, women, relations and love in general. Entertaining, but (less than others [but still]) cheesy.
  18. Jul 16, 2015
    5
    The movie is predictable,the characters are cliché and the acting is pretty normal.The movie is not very funny and gets pretty boring.The only good and funny character was Woody Harrelson's one.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Sep 5, 2011
    60
    This coasts along just fine thanks to charm and comical interludes, but it fails to deliver the sassy story it promises. Fine for a romantic comedy, but an inferior follow up to director Gluck's edgier "Easy A."
  2. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jul 24, 2011
    80
    Friends with Benefits is fast, allusive, urban, glamorous - clearly the Zeitgeist winner of the summer.
  3. Reviewed by: Anita Li
    Jul 23, 2011
    75
    It's a tired formula moviegoers know well, but in the case of Friends With Benefits, it works.