User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 244 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 244

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 30, 2014
    6
    While funny and catchy for (few) moments, this movie is so concerned about not falling into boring clichés that, in not doing so, they still fall apart on it, trying to sell us stupid misconceptions of men, women, relations and love in general. Entertaining, but (less than others [but still]) cheesy.
  2. Oct 15, 2013
    4
    I preferred it the first time watching it. Watching it the second time gives me the realization of how stupid the plot is. It's just another romantic comedy.
  3. May 16, 2013
    5
    Romantic-comedies have become such a static routine in Hollywood that even the two lead characters in “Friends with Benefits” have memorized its blueprint. Earlier scenes present us with mild optimism when we learn that our impending couple is considerably aware of the genre’s most common clichés. But their advantage leads to no benefit when they go right ahead and implement the things they were formerly trying to rebuke.

    By the movie’s unsatisfying end, we get the feeling that the purpose of the references was to inform us that what we are watching is no different from the rest of its pack. Instead of utilizing its awareness as a stepping stone for improvement, “Friends with Benefits” lingers in mediocrity by idly pre-apologizing to the faults it plans to commit. What’s the point?

    What the movie lacks in screenplay is made up for in its cast. Reader, you have no idea how refreshed I was to see a rom-com that isn’t starring either Katherine Heigl or Ashton Kutcher. These two actors have spent so much time within the territory of their preferred genre that their careers have gone from complacent to comatose. Katherine Heigl and Ashton Kutcher are to romantic comedies as Milla Jovovich and Jason Statham are to action movies. A personal note of mine that may also come in handy in your future is this: Movies starring Heigl or Kutcher must be so bad that only Heigl and Kutcher and would agree to star in them.

    Read more here: http://localmoviereview.com/friends-with-benefits-movie-review/
    Expand
  4. Jan 27, 2013
    4
    This movie is a long mix of awkward sex scenes and "comedy". It's long and boring and concludes with a moral that you can see coming for entire movie. This movie is a no on my list.
  5. Jan 5, 2013
    7
    Knowing anything regarding the plot, it will probably be pretty obvious to all how the story ends and unsurprisingly Friends With Benefits stays true to expectations. That said, what happens prior is largely enjoyable thanks to a strong script, energetic performances from the leads and fantastic chemistry between Timberlake and Kunis. Woody Harrelson turns up as a gay sports editor to some amusement. I did get a little frustrated at how flippant and **** the pair are in assuming that their friendship will be unaffected, especially when as a viewer you know what's around the corner, perhaps that's the whole rub of the film though I guess. The writers try unashamedly hard to pitch their characters as the coolest inner city hipsters, Jamie from N.Y. and Dylan from L.A, listening to Semisonic, with flash mob contacts and friends with street artists. As the pair make fun of romantic film stereotypes, the writers just about avoid falling into the traps they mock. Expand
  6. Dec 7, 2012
    6
    I really liked this film. It's completely predictable, adding nothing new or exciting to add to the romantic comedy genre, but it's well done. Solid script, interesting characters, and great lead performances drive this film to a higher level that it wouldn't have been in otherwise. Justin Timberlake and the beautiful Mila Kunis give solid performances and have excellent chemistry together. I definitely recommend seeing this film! Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2012
    8
    Mila Kunis and Justin Timberlake have great chemistry in Friends with Benefits- a montage of feel good fun, and easily the romantic comedy of the year.
  8. Oct 15, 2012
    7
    I have to admit, nobody expect (including myself) Justin Timberlake to be a good actor....but he actually is. Mila Kunis has always been a great comic actress (and probably, one of the most beautiful actress of her generation). Both cast members have so much chemistry that it carries the movie along, making it one of the better Rom Com in recent memory.
  9. JBM
    Aug 31, 2012
    5
    The movie was acceptable but hardly outstanding. It was hard to get by some of the flaws. A man living in LA is not from hooterville. He would be able to understand New York without walking around like a rube. I agree with other posters that Emma Stone would have been a better pick for the female lead. The ending was no surprise and nobody who even read the title would not see that they would fall in love. You never forget that you are must watching Justin and Mila, not characters in a real situation. But they are pretty and there are some amusing moments in it which makes it a painless diversion. The sex scenes were just this side of soft porn though and I felt unnecessary to further the plot. They could have been softened without hurting the humor the two of them were creating in their bedroom romps. Expand
  10. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    A truly heart-warming story of friendship and passion, wrapped up in a nice bouquet and delivered by hand by Timberlake and Kunis. The most underated actor and actress of our time team up to produce an inspiring movie about the trials and tribulations of todays society. An enjoyable film that will bring a smile to your face every time. I bought this on blu-ray and DVD just so the creators of this masterpiece got the money they deserved for this genius piece of writing and acting. A lovely family movie that will keep everybody entertained through-out. Expand
  11. Aug 25, 2012
    6
    Clearly the premise rips No Strings Attached off but the style of the two films could not be more difficult. No Strings Attached seems more connected to its emotions and less funny. Friends with Benefits is clearly more dirty minded. For me, Woody Harrelson steals the show in every scene that he's in. Unfortunately he isn't in it enough! The film itself is funny and warm-hearted with some great eye candy too. Definitely worth a watch but possibly not worth all the hype that it received. Expand
  12. Jul 14, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very good rom-com, poking fun at the cliches of the genre, and creating a different take on the story. It also doesn't straight the way throw us in with a love story, which provides laughs, and proof that they are falling in love subtly and very well. If the film had just stayed this way, it would have been one of the best rom-coms in a long while, but the film eventually falls into the cliches it was making fun of. But it still provides laughs, and a fun film, and even though there are faults, it is the best rom com of this year and the best out of a couple of years. Expand
  13. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    One of the best rom-coms in several years. Witty dialogue and fun performances by both Timberlake and Kunis. And they have great chemistry together, which really makes it work.
  14. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    Essential to a good romantic comedy are: a believable chemistry between the protagonists; a story that is real enough to make you think it could happen; humor that is generally appealing enough to maintain levity through the majority of the movie and emotional enough to care about the characters situation when not smiling; the setting or locale is almost a third party in the relationship. When Harry Met Sally, Pretty Woman, etc. Down with Love is one of my all-time favorites too, but not exactly realistic, but still adorable. Friends with Benefits fits the criteria better than I've seen in years. In the Rom-Com genre, the film is near perfect. The chemistry between JT and Kunis is flawless and believable. The use of New York and Los Angeles were reflections of both their personalities and, thus, enhanced an understanding of the characters. The writing is smart, the editing makes the movie flow seamlessly and it even finds a way to make fun of itself and its genre. I enjoyed the film from the opening scene to the final credits. Expand
  15. Mar 21, 2012
    2
    Wow, these Metacritic scores are nuts. Some movies are rated so low and I love them, while movies like this one have positive ratings and they are horrible. This is a terrible movie. It actually picks up a bit at the end, but wow, the majority is plain bad. The dialogue in this movie is the worst. Who wrote these terrible lines. They were just not funny. It's as if they were trying to sound cool by making the characters spew racey banter, but the lines simply were not funny. I'm a fan of Timberlake because I admire how he went from Disney to a ridiculous boy band, to then becoming a respectable solo artist and then a talented actor. Mila is just plain HOT. So I went in here thinking that I would enjoy this movie. WRONG! I am always amazed at how movies like this get favorable reviews. I guess there's no accounting for taste. Be warned. Expand
  16. Mar 16, 2012
    7
    It is interesting that the two main actresses of the Oscar winning Black Swan both follow it up with a rom com with a bit of a spice in it (Portman did the No Strings attached). This is the better of the two mainly thanks to Mila Kunis who is truly adorable.
  17. Feb 11, 2012
    8
    What you expect from movie about sex buddies without end up being laid and love each other? Chemistry between Justin Timberlake and Mila Kunis is almost enough to carry the movie, don't forget about the smart dialogue and cool soundtrack.
  18. Feb 10, 2012
    6
    For what it is, a chick flick, it's not bad. Obviously as a male these movies aren't my favorites but if you absolutely have to watch a movie with your girlfriend, this isn't a bad choice. I would never under any circumstances watch it again though but for one time it's fine.
  19. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    Brilliantly funny with witty comedy, Sadness and madness. A brilliant film with brilliant acting from all the people involved. If you were expecting a large appearance from Emma Stone, you will be disappointed.
    A Must Watch
  20. Feb 4, 2012
    0
    Predictable and boring actually i was bored after 20 minutes and nothing changed until the movie was finished i don't know if i was actually sleeping with a bad dream or i was just almost sleeping in order to have time going faster to see the next movie... sooo boring
  21. Jan 5, 2012
    8
    Dylan (Justin Timberlake) and Jamie (Mila Kunis) think it's going to be easy to add the simple act of sex to their friendship, despite what Hollywood romantic comedies would have them believe. They soon discover however that getting physical really does always lead to complications.
  22. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    [MILD SPOILER] A-MA-ZING. Although cheesy and predictable, the cast for this movie brought it all the way home for me and left me smiling and satisfied with the "happily ever after" ending. There was no doubt that they were going to fall in love with each other and get together by the end of the movie - however just every little detail and every cute thing made it that much cuter and entertaining to watch. Justin Timberlake and Mila Kunis look really good together. HOWEVER; the trailer is slightly misleading - the trailer depicts a much more sexual side of the movie while the whole movie is sappy and cute. Overall, the cast had great chemistry and the acting was well done. I'm glad I watched it; it's totally worth the time! Expand
  23. Dec 29, 2011
    5
    Deja-vue -> go check 'No strings attached'. These movies are very similar, too bad.

    About the acting, it was ok, Mila Kunis did a good job, Justin Timberlake as well, even though I think, these people aren't going to be very great actors, especially not in drama movies. Anyway, if you like to see a predictible, unoriginal movie, go take a look, - put your expectations low, so you can
    enjoy the romance of the story. Expand
  24. Dec 24, 2011
    7
    Friends with Benefits survived only because of the amazing cast . The story is so much smiler to No String Attached(2011) . Both had amazing cast but Friends with Benefits got on top coz its funnier then that one . As for Rom-Com Crazy,Stupid,Love was way better then this but still its worth seeing . Good acting and Justin was good also Mila But Woody Harrelson was the funniest . as for the story .....Sucks . So Friends with Benefits is a funny Rom-Com with an amazing Cast and a sucky Story . Expand
  25. Dec 16, 2011
    1
    This movie sucked! And I love cheesy romantic comedies. I am giving this movie one star because Mila Kunis worked her ass off to try to make this movie funny. It was sorta sad to see how hard she had to work, but I like her, I like her acting, and I think she did a good job. Meanwhile, Justin Timberlake proved that he has NO charisma whatsoever. Nor can he act. If they had cast a talented actor in this movie, it would have been significantly more enjoyable - John Krasinski could have saved this movie- but they didn't cast Krasinski, they cast the stiff-as-wood Timberlake.
    My other major problem with this movie was the flashmob scenes. So cringe-worthy, and not in an adorable way. Flash mobs were over way before this movie came out, yet they play an important part in the plot. Further proof that hollywood writers should be careful about writing-in internet fads. I put my head in my hands during the scene where Justin Timberlake says "What is this?" and Mila's character excitedly explains "It's a flash mob!" Oh really grandma?
    Expand
  26. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    A welcome surprise. Thoughtful, well written and definitely moments of good laughter to be had. There is clearly an authentic connection between Kunis and Timberlake as their feelings evolve layer upon layer. You find yourself rooting for them even though its clear from the start how things will net out them. A must rent!
  27. Dec 8, 2011
    5
    This movie is clearly another version of No Strings Attached. It seems that Hollywood producers are psychic, and when one gets an idea, they all get the same idea, and they all produce the same movie at about the same, which may explain why Woody Allen is hysterically secretive about every movie plot he films. The critics seem to be arguing about this movie: Is it original or cliched? Is Kunis refreshing or shrill? Is the banter charming or relentlessly over-the-top? I would say all of the above, because the movie has strong scenes and weak scenes. Kunis's character is sometimes the smart, glamorous career woman every woman presumably wants to be, and sometimes she's just neurotic and too focused on men, even while she vehemently denies that men are the most significant part of her life, and that if she doesn't find a serious mate soon, she's going to have a nervous breakdown. Of course, the rom-com formula is that she is charmingly perfect--her clothes, her hair, her job, and her brilliantly timed wit. (There is a continuity problem with Kunis's hair--most of the time her sleek ponytail falls halfway down her back, but in some scenes she has a small ponytail that barely reaches her neck.) Of course, the theme is platonic-friendship-with-sex, a contradiction in terms that confuses the two participants more than anyone else. Everyone else knows they're in love and they're deluding themselves; they think they are participating in a grand philosophical experiment that no one ever thought of before, which brings us to the inevitable conclusion that was unintended: in the end, both characters appear to be undereducated. No one reads books, but movies reign supreme and are to be counted as the major influence that shapes lives, careers, and minds. As intelligent as both characters are, it's mostly street smarts--material success is based on being young, beautiful, hip, energetic, verbal, gutsy, and with a physical athleticism that makes for some smooth moves. This also happens to be all the attributes necessary to be a Hollywood film star. So, although the characters played by Kunis and Timberlake are suave and attractive, they are also shallow. A weak attempt to portray Timberlake's suffering over his father's senility is a case of too little, too late. Ultimately, if the characters have to be rich, spoiled, and self-absorbed, the producers should at least make sure that the movie has a plot. Expand
  28. Dec 7, 2011
    6
    Mr Harrelson, Ms Clarkson & Mr Jenkins are the best part of the movie, because it doesn't feel like they are acting. Ms Kunis (Jamie) & Mr Timberlake (Dylan) fire off one liners & repartee like, well, they memorized their lines. Ms Kunis fares much better during the 2nd half of the film, the actual love story. The writing of Dylan's character is way overboard and not necessary. It's hard to believe he is so naive. Didn't he see "When Harry Met Sally?" Men don't have women friends, unless they're fibbing or gay. Ms Kunis kept me from the dreaded FFWD. To the reviewers who compare this to similar films or the director's previous work, hey, just write what you thought of this movie. Story, characters, etc. Mr Timberlake was excellent in The Social Network as was Ms Kunis in Black Swan and Easy A was terrific-so what? That has nothing to do with this film. I didn't cry, laughed once and a while, and was waiting for better. It would be refreshing to see a movie end where the couple goes their own way instead of tying it all up with a nice bow. Even though lacking chemistry and with some less than thrilling dialogue, it's still worth a look. Do 30'somethings really talk like this? Perhaps when we write a review we can give some demographic info. I don't care what the critics say, what about you same agers? You like it? Expand
  29. Nov 16, 2011
    1
    Giant steaming pile of dog crap. Bad acting, bad writing, bad concept...total garbage. Mila Kunis is not good in this...she is not good in anything...how did this person ever achieve any success? Timberlake is usually decent but this stinker was impossible to save. It was painful to get through an hour of this crapheap. Do yourself a favor and avoid.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Sep 5, 2011
    60
    This coasts along just fine thanks to charm and comical interludes, but it fails to deliver the sassy story it promises. Fine for a romantic comedy, but an inferior follow up to director Gluck's edgier "Easy A."
  2. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jul 24, 2011
    80
    Friends with Benefits is fast, allusive, urban, glamorous - clearly the Zeitgeist winner of the summer.
  3. Reviewed by: Anita Li
    Jul 23, 2011
    75
    It's a tired formula moviegoers know well, but in the case of Friends With Benefits, it works.