User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 261 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 261
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 23, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ad nauseum, in rom-com after rom-com, the man inevitably arrives at that moment when everything becomes crystal clear, in regard to the woman he loves yet carelessly let slip away. As a corrective measure to his mistake, the man saves the relationship by proving his love with the right words to the woman, who only moments ago, stood in resignation with her dashed hopes. Usually the woman is standing in an airport terminal. Usually the man gets there by some mode of frantic transport. Usually they seal the deal with a kiss. Reared on formulaic filmmaking, it's no wonder that Tom Hansen in "500 Days of Summer", continues to misread the ending of "The Graduate", his favorite film about true love which he shares with Summer Finn, as happy. Except for the people who understand that Benjamin Braddock and Elaine Robinson are not in love, nobody has ever said, "Shut up, Katherine Ross, you stupid liar!" Especially Summer, who can plainly see the ambivalence forthwith, grow among the young folks in the back of the bus, when only a moment ago, the part that Tom, after all these years, is still reeling from, shows Benjamin crashing Elaine's wedding, plaintively crying out her name while he rattles the big church window with his fists. In a flash, however, the emotional high of stealing the bride from the groom, peaks when young Ben traps the angry congregants by barricading the doors with a cross, the Christian icon he uses as a weapon against institutionalized love, waving it around like a bat. On the bus, the moviegoer waits for him to kiss the runaway bride, but he doesn't even touch Mrs. Robinson's daughter, let alone, hold her gaze for more than a heartbeat. Using selective memory, Tom tries to pigeonhole "The Graduate" with any other romantic comedy, most of which depict love as a byproduct emanating from the grand romantic gesture, usually in a public place with adoring onlookers. Summer, however, in that repertory house, doesn't miss a thing; she sees the film's authorial commentary, an in-film post-script, about the artifice of movie love, and breaks it off with Tom later over pancakes. At the diner, Summer compares themselves to Sid and Nancy, an apra pro allusion to the punk rock aesthetic of the Nichols film, in the sense that Benjamin and Elaine are nihilists for rebelling against convention. Don't blink, and you'll see how "Friends with Benefits", like the tagline for "500 Days of Summer" states, ultimately, "is not a love story," as well, with its "Graduate"-esque coda, ergo a deconstruction of the romantic comedy in the last frame. Too conventional for the label "meta-film", the film has just enough subversiveness to trump its climactic scene at Grand Central Station, where Dylan tells Jamie, without a trace of irony, that he's in love with her, turning their lives into the very thing(a romantic comedy), they both had agreed was fictive; merely a Hollywood construct which damages people with its unrealistic idealism pertaining to relationships. In an earlier scene, Jamie convinces Dylan to scale the Hollywood sign, representational of the fact that the executive recruiter believes in celluloidal love, although at times the woman forsakes the faerie tale, like when she publicly rails against Katherine Heigl, the scapegoat of her romantic woes. Meanwhile, the art designer gets stuck up there and requires the services of a helicopter, analogous to the rescue being executed by the film's satirical form, whose self-awareness is supposed to set the movie apart from contemporaneous examples of the genre, such as "The Ugly Truth". But just because the film foregrounds the artificiality of the "meet-cute", it doesn't make the "meet-cute"(where Jamie chases an I.D. sign on the baggage carousel) go away. A trope is still a trope, even when it's filmically italicized. As a result, the film can hardly be called a satire, not with a touch so light that the skewering comes off less as a criticism of genre convention than a reason for optimism where life could imitate art. Luckily, although the two leads are far from being the next Spencer Tracy and Katherine Hepburn(the referencing of Amazon.com alludes to "Desk Set", a 1957 film about computers which was dead wrong in predicting the relevancy of people), they're also equidistantly ahead of Heigl and "Killers" co-star Ashton Kutcher, as well. To it's credit, the film gets real in the final scene, where Dylan and Jaime, now, supposedly more than friends with benefits, suddenly look awkward and bored, as they share a booth in the cafe. They're the couple from "The Graduate", but with a crucial difference. Instead of extending the silence, they reach across the table and tear into each other, in essence, updating "When Harry Met Sally" by faking love instead of an orgasm. They're not meant for each other, as advertised, but unlike Benjamin and Elaine, it won't stop them from having sex. Expand
  2. dz9
    Jul 26, 2011
    7
    There will be no comparisons to "No Strings Attached," this movie is rather easy to review. Although the movie technically has two parts. The first 45 minutes of the movie is a laugh riot, and it manages to capture some of the the raunchy vulgar comedy that the movie sets out to accomplish. However, this is only the first half of the movie, the rest of the movie barely manages to keepThere will be no comparisons to "No Strings Attached," this movie is rather easy to review. Although the movie technically has two parts. The first 45 minutes of the movie is a laugh riot, and it manages to capture some of the the raunchy vulgar comedy that the movie sets out to accomplish. However, this is only the first half of the movie, the rest of the movie barely manages to keep its head above the water of cliches. The second half of the film gives only a few quick chuckles, but in between them, the movie might actually put you asleep. Where the first half would get a 9, the second half would barely hit a 5, so I give this movie a 7. Expand
  3. Aug 11, 2011
    10
    I will appreciate the work done by Mila kunis. She's my favorite and made me laugh alot. I must say a good comedy and drama movie that i have seen after a long time. For full reviews read here: http://www.moviesfunzone.com/download-friends-with-benefits-movie
  4. Aug 31, 2011
    7
    Mila Kunis and Justin Timberlake were a very good team to watch, the film was actually very pleasant. The arguments were often funny and good, off course that the whole concept of this film is kind of cheap and stupid, but Will Gluck was able to make movie enjoyable.
  5. Sep 9, 2011
    9
    Is a very good movie, because it has a beautiful story that infects all who watch the film. Even the end is not any surprise, but that did not stop him from being a great movie
  6. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    This movie is amazing! It one you can go see with the girls or with you guy, both would enjoy it. One of the best romantic comedies of the year. Mila Kunis and JT work so well together. When previews first came out, i was a little nervous because of the recent release of No Strings Attached, but this movie by far was one of the best!
  7. Jan 27, 2013
    4
    This movie is a long mix of awkward sex scenes and "comedy". It's long and boring and concludes with a moral that you can see coming for entire movie. This movie is a no on my list.
  8. Jul 22, 2011
    7
    This will inevitably draw comparisons to No Strings Attached (the Ashton Kutcher-Natalie Portman pals-doing-the-nasty comedy from earlier this year), so let's just get one thing out of the way: FWB is actually kinda GOOD, unlike NSA. Here's what's good about it: Witty, sharp dialogue that's well delivered, great chemistry between the actors, good acting, engaging side characters and sideThis will inevitably draw comparisons to No Strings Attached (the Ashton Kutcher-Natalie Portman pals-doing-the-nasty comedy from earlier this year), so let's just get one thing out of the way: FWB is actually kinda GOOD, unlike NSA. Here's what's good about it: Witty, sharp dialogue that's well delivered, great chemistry between the actors, good acting, engaging side characters and side plots. The actors and their characters are likable. The ride is enjoyable and has just enough seriousness to give the plot weight and make the characters not seem like vapid singletons living in a New York bubble. Also, the jokes are funny and often smart, without being snooty. The pacing is also good, although I'll be honest and say it loses some momentum towards the end. It's predictable enough, as all romantic comedies ultimately are (and isn't that why we see them?) so think of this movie as more about than the journey than the destination. Expand
  9. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    Justin Timberlake and Mia Kunis are so good together. I laughed soo hard throughout the movie, but it wasn't just a comedy, if you are a sucker for a good love story this ones for you. I thought it was great. I will probably buy it when it comes out on DVD!
  10. Jul 22, 2011
    8
    A very impressive romantic comedy, then again I wouldn't really call it a 'romantic' comedy, more of a dramatic comedy. I was quite surprised at the amount of drama in this film because the trailers made it look like a flat out comedy. But I'm glad it did have the drama aspect because it gave the film so much more depth and character. I very much enjoyed this film and Justin Timberlake andA very impressive romantic comedy, then again I wouldn't really call it a 'romantic' comedy, more of a dramatic comedy. I was quite surprised at the amount of drama in this film because the trailers made it look like a flat out comedy. But I'm glad it did have the drama aspect because it gave the film so much more depth and character. I very much enjoyed this film and Justin Timberlake and Mila Kunis make a great comedic duo, I laughed my butt off. Expand
  11. Jul 25, 2011
    10
    Once you get past the fact that the storyline isn't that original, this is a terrific movie...definitely one of my favorite romantic comedies in the past few years. The dialogue is hilarious and witty and kept me laughing during most of the movie. The casting is terrific. Mila Kunis really shines in her role and Justin Timberlake is a natural. Looking forward to getting this on DVD.
  12. JBM
    Aug 31, 2012
    5
    The movie was acceptable but hardly outstanding. It was hard to get by some of the flaws. A man living in LA is not from hooterville. He would be able to understand New York without walking around like a rube. I agree with other posters that Emma Stone would have been a better pick for the female lead. The ending was no surprise and nobody who even read the title would not see that theyThe movie was acceptable but hardly outstanding. It was hard to get by some of the flaws. A man living in LA is not from hooterville. He would be able to understand New York without walking around like a rube. I agree with other posters that Emma Stone would have been a better pick for the female lead. The ending was no surprise and nobody who even read the title would not see that they would fall in love. You never forget that you are must watching Justin and Mila, not characters in a real situation. But they are pretty and there are some amusing moments in it which makes it a painless diversion. The sex scenes were just this side of soft porn though and I felt unnecessary to further the plot. They could have been softened without hurting the humor the two of them were creating in their bedroom romps. Expand
  13. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    A truly heart-warming story of friendship and passion, wrapped up in a nice bouquet and delivered by hand by Timberlake and Kunis. The most underated actor and actress of our time team up to produce an inspiring movie about the trials and tribulations of todays society. An enjoyable film that will bring a smile to your face every time. I bought this on blu-ray and DVD just so the creatorsA truly heart-warming story of friendship and passion, wrapped up in a nice bouquet and delivered by hand by Timberlake and Kunis. The most underated actor and actress of our time team up to produce an inspiring movie about the trials and tribulations of todays society. An enjoyable film that will bring a smile to your face every time. I bought this on blu-ray and DVD just so the creators of this masterpiece got the money they deserved for this genius piece of writing and acting. A lovely family movie that will keep everybody entertained through-out. Expand
  14. Jul 29, 2011
    0
    This movie sucks. Do not see it. From the commercials you think its gonna be a comedy/porn. NOPE ITS A DARN LOVE STORY! It never ends. I wanted to kill myself. Best part of the movie is Mila Kunis ass. Its deff worth to see just for that.
  15. Nov 10, 2011
    5
    The movie disappointed me, I was told it was hilarious but I do not very funny, at first it was uncomfortable to see the couple Justin / Kunis looked very fake, and for the conlusion was much better.
  16. Oct 16, 2011
    0
    If I could score this it would get a -100 ... I mean it !!! One of the worst movies Ive seen this year, Terrible acting (mostly on Timberlake's side !!!) He is really bad in first roles !!! He always is showing his butt and it is really really boring it is something you will watch and know what will happen in the end ... DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME
  17. Nov 16, 2011
    1
    Giant steaming pile of dog crap. Bad acting, bad writing, bad concept...total garbage. Mila Kunis is not good in this...she is not good in anything...how did this person ever achieve any success? Timberlake is usually decent but this stinker was impossible to save. It was painful to get through an hour of this crapheap. Do yourself a favor and avoid.
  18. Dec 16, 2011
    1
    This movie sucked! And I love cheesy romantic comedies. I am giving this movie one star because Mila Kunis worked her ass off to try to make this movie funny. It was sorta sad to see how hard she had to work, but I like her, I like her acting, and I think she did a good job. Meanwhile, Justin Timberlake proved that he has NO charisma whatsoever. Nor can he act. If they had cast a talentedThis movie sucked! And I love cheesy romantic comedies. I am giving this movie one star because Mila Kunis worked her ass off to try to make this movie funny. It was sorta sad to see how hard she had to work, but I like her, I like her acting, and I think she did a good job. Meanwhile, Justin Timberlake proved that he has NO charisma whatsoever. Nor can he act. If they had cast a talented actor in this movie, it would have been significantly more enjoyable - John Krasinski could have saved this movie- but they didn't cast Krasinski, they cast the stiff-as-wood Timberlake.
    My other major problem with this movie was the flashmob scenes. So cringe-worthy, and not in an adorable way. Flash mobs were over way before this movie came out, yet they play an important part in the plot. Further proof that hollywood writers should be careful about writing-in internet fads. I put my head in my hands during the scene where Justin Timberlake says "What is this?" and Mila's character excitedly explains "It's a flash mob!" Oh really grandma?
    Expand
  19. Dec 29, 2011
    5
    Deja-vue -> go check 'No strings attached'. These movies are very similar, too bad.

    About the acting, it was ok, Mila Kunis did a good job, Justin Timberlake as well, even though I think, these people aren't going to be very great actors, especially not in drama movies. Anyway, if you like to see a predictible, unoriginal movie, go take a look, - put your expectations low, so you can
    Deja-vue -> go check 'No strings attached'. These movies are very similar, too bad.

    About the acting, it was ok, Mila Kunis did a good job, Justin Timberlake as well, even though I think, these people aren't going to be very great actors, especially not in drama movies. Anyway, if you like to see a predictible, unoriginal movie, go take a look, - put your expectations low, so you can enjoy the romance of the story.
    Expand
  20. Feb 4, 2012
    0
    Predictable and boring actually i was bored after 20 minutes and nothing changed until the movie was finished i don't know if i was actually sleeping with a bad dream or i was just almost sleeping in order to have time going faster to see the next movie... sooo boring
  21. Mar 21, 2012
    2
    Wow, these Metacritic scores are nuts. Some movies are rated so low and I love them, while movies like this one have positive ratings and they are horrible. This is a terrible movie. It actually picks up a bit at the end, but wow, the majority is plain bad. The dialogue in this movie is the worst. Who wrote these terrible lines. They were just not funny. It's as if they were trying toWow, these Metacritic scores are nuts. Some movies are rated so low and I love them, while movies like this one have positive ratings and they are horrible. This is a terrible movie. It actually picks up a bit at the end, but wow, the majority is plain bad. The dialogue in this movie is the worst. Who wrote these terrible lines. They were just not funny. It's as if they were trying to sound cool by making the characters spew racey banter, but the lines simply were not funny. I'm a fan of Timberlake because I admire how he went from Disney to a ridiculous boy band, to then becoming a respectable solo artist and then a talented actor. Mila is just plain HOT. So I went in here thinking that I would enjoy this movie. WRONG! I am always amazed at how movies like this get favorable reviews. I guess there's no accounting for taste. Be warned. Expand
  22. Jul 23, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's probably the better movies that could come out of this concept. Kunis is terrific, Timberlake is under-directed (though fun), and Patricia Clarkson (who I love, generally) is bordering on parody. Jenna Elfman is great is a small role, and Woody Harrelson easily steals the show. Like many of the critics, I think the banter between the leads is solid. The ending just falls flat. And using flashmobs?? (especially via the Uroboros....) A little tired. But it's much better than the Ashton Kutcher film along the same lines from earlier this year. I just wish that what started out as an unconventional relationship didn't wind up so conventionally. Expand
  23. Aug 25, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you're going to poke fun at pop culture cliches you should make damn sure you're not committing them yourself. Like staging a flash mob in Times Square. Mila Kunis and Justin Timberlake are fairly decent actors so I have to interpret their misreading of the main characters to bad direction (Am I the only one who thinks Emma Stone would have been a better choice for the lead than Kunis?). Woody Harrelson does is best with the role of the gay sportswriter (a twist but still a cliche) and probably has the funniest moments of the film. Patricia Clarkson plays the cool but unavailable hippie mom who undoubtedly is the source of Kunis' insecurity. Don't get me wrong there were some decent moments (John F'ing Mayer, Harrelson's relentless recruiting of hetero men) but the dialog seems forced and the "we're cooler than you are" premise falls short. The one saving grace of this film is the undeniable attractiveness of the lead characters. Timberlakes' legion of female (and male) fans will leave the theater feeling they got their money shot, I mean money's worth. Expand
  24. Aug 27, 2011
    8
    Chemistry and funny in its own ways. Parts of it were super hilarious but Its more of a romance than comedy to me at-least. I enjoyed the film and its great! WATCH IT!
  25. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    Essential to a good romantic comedy are: a believable chemistry between the protagonists; a story that is real enough to make you think it could happen; humor that is generally appealing enough to maintain levity through the majority of the movie and emotional enough to care about the characters situation when not smiling; the setting or locale is almost a third party in the relationship.Essential to a good romantic comedy are: a believable chemistry between the protagonists; a story that is real enough to make you think it could happen; humor that is generally appealing enough to maintain levity through the majority of the movie and emotional enough to care about the characters situation when not smiling; the setting or locale is almost a third party in the relationship. When Harry Met Sally, Pretty Woman, etc. Down with Love is one of my all-time favorites too, but not exactly realistic, but still adorable. Friends with Benefits fits the criteria better than I've seen in years. In the Rom-Com genre, the film is near perfect. The chemistry between JT and Kunis is flawless and believable. The use of New York and Los Angeles were reflections of both their personalities and, thus, enhanced an understanding of the characters. The writing is smart, the editing makes the movie flow seamlessly and it even finds a way to make fun of itself and its genre. I enjoyed the film from the opening scene to the final credits. Expand
  26. Mar 16, 2012
    7
    It is interesting that the two main actresses of the Oscar winning Black Swan both follow it up with a rom com with a bit of a spice in it (Portman did the No Strings attached). This is the better of the two mainly thanks to Mila Kunis who is truly adorable.
  27. Jul 26, 2011
    8
    Justin Timberlake & Mila Kunis agree to a sex-only friendship, but the inevitable happens. A film like this depends on clever writing and good chemistry and this one has both. There are plenty of funny lines and some enjoyable supporting characters (loose mom Patrician Clarkson and big gay jock Woody Harrelson), but it's the electricity between Timberlake and Kunis that gives it that extraJustin Timberlake & Mila Kunis agree to a sex-only friendship, but the inevitable happens. A film like this depends on clever writing and good chemistry and this one has both. There are plenty of funny lines and some enjoyable supporting characters (loose mom Patrician Clarkson and big gay jock Woody Harrelson), but it's the electricity between Timberlake and Kunis that gives it that extra spark. Interesting: JT is sans clothes in many scenes, while Mila remains modest (nary a nipple). While there's nothing exceptional about this movie, it's an entertaining and enjoyable summer hit. NOTE: Stay thru the credits for outtakes from the movie-within-a-movie. Expand
  28. Jul 31, 2011
    8
    Good film, not great but good. The chemistry between Kunis and Timberlake is superb. As predictable as the story is it's worth the watch with some inspiring, funny and meaningful parts. Kunis looking as good as ever. Go see it.
  29. Sep 25, 2011
    8
    Great fun. I sense that critics won't give it the review it deserves as it is no Oscar contender, and doesn't make us think particularly hard about life after seeing it. But for us normal folk ... it is a great rom-com with outstanding symmetry and synergy between the leads.
    Kunis is her beautiful, breathtaking self but it's her acting which always impresses me. So natural and unforced
    Great fun. I sense that critics won't give it the review it deserves as it is no Oscar contender, and doesn't make us think particularly hard about life after seeing it. But for us normal folk ... it is a great rom-com with outstanding symmetry and synergy between the leads.
    Kunis is her beautiful, breathtaking self but it's her acting which always impresses me. So natural and unforced with genuine amiable humour. Timberlake is really growing as a great actor who is able to inject a fair degree of depth into his character.
    A great story which makes you feel good ... or embarrassed when you realise that the tongue-in-cheek mocking of Hollywood rom-coms is in fact just mocking all those who watch it and think we will all experience the fairy tale at some stage! Most of us won't ... not with Mila anyway which makes me very sad!! :)
    Highly recommended
    Expand
  30. Jul 30, 2011
    7
    This movie actually pulled it off after '' No Strings Attached '' since it's the same type of romantic comedy, or if you prefer, '' sex buddies ''. Well, I liked more '' Friends with Benefits ''. It was enjoyable, you can see a reel connection between the characters. Mila Kunis (as Jamie) was fantastic ! She delivered a great comic performance and she looked gorgeous. Also, I liked theThis movie actually pulled it off after '' No Strings Attached '' since it's the same type of romantic comedy, or if you prefer, '' sex buddies ''. Well, I liked more '' Friends with Benefits ''. It was enjoyable, you can see a reel connection between the characters. Mila Kunis (as Jamie) was fantastic ! She delivered a great comic performance and she looked gorgeous. Also, I liked the ending. It was ironic because everything that they were believing at the beginning, turn out to be the opposite. Well sure it was kinda predictable, but it worked for this movie. You will know what i'm talking about after seeing it. An other thing that was awesome in '' Friends with Benefits '' is the situations (when there talking, etc) between Dylan and Jamie, which I found less cliche than most of romantic comedies. That's why this one stands out. Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Sep 5, 2011
    60
    This coasts along just fine thanks to charm and comical interludes, but it fails to deliver the sassy story it promises. Fine for a romantic comedy, but an inferior follow up to director Gluck's edgier "Easy A."
  2. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jul 24, 2011
    80
    Friends with Benefits is fast, allusive, urban, glamorous - clearly the Zeitgeist winner of the summer.
  3. Reviewed by: Anita Li
    Jul 23, 2011
    75
    It's a tired formula moviegoers know well, but in the case of Friends With Benefits, it works.