Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 236 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A young female headhunter in New York convinces a potential recruit to accept a job in the Big Apple. Despite an attraction to each other, both realize they're everything they've been running from in a relationship and decide to see what happens if they leave emotion out of it and keep it strictly physical. (Sony Pictures)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jul 22, 2011
    88
    The result isn't just the best new romantic comedy released so far this year, but one of the best comedies, period.
  2. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Jul 21, 2011
    80
    It's after the sex friends go back to being just friends that the film really hits its stride, and that's also when the excellent Patricia Clarkson and Richard Jenkins enter the picture as loving but imperfect parents who help explain what's made both leads so gun-shy.
  3. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jul 21, 2011
    75
    The takeaway on Friends With Benefits is that mores change, styles change, the rules change, and even humor changes. (There are two jokes involving apps, of all things, that are pretty funny.) But people's emotional needs remain the same from era to era.
  4. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jul 21, 2011
    70
    The results are about as naughty as that sounds (not very), but it also makes for a fairly giggling good time.
  5. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jul 21, 2011
    63
    If Kunis gets the showier role in Friends With Benefits, Timberlake proves a quietly charming stalking horse, finally claiming and fully owning the spotlight with a hilarious homage to the 1990s rap duo Kriss Kross.
  6. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jul 22, 2011
    60
    It's cute and funny and sweet, which - as any woman can attest - puts it way ahead of most Friday night options.
  7. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Jul 21, 2011
    30
    What's most crushing is witnessing what should have been the dream pairing of Kunis and Timberlake - both foxy, loose, confident performers - here generating zero chemistry.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 67
  2. Negative: 6 out of 67
  1. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    Justin Timberlake and Mia Kunis are so good together. I laughed soo hard throughout the movie, but it wasn't just a comedy, if you are a sucker for a good love story this ones for you. I thought it was great. I will probably buy it when it comes out on DVD! Expand
  2. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    This is a good movie. I was not expecting too much but its a very real and funny movie. The story about the Dad is very touching. Its a guy meets girl movie coupled with the blue humor of Californication , the fast paced fun of entourage , and a bit of Wilfred thrown in. I like this movie. Expand
  3. Aug 6, 2011
    9
    Hilarious! This movie jumped off the screen on a level I did not expect, it will have you in tears of laughter and sadness. Justin Timberlake and Mila Kunis really have excellent chemistry in this dramatic/romantic comedy. The comedy side of the movie was soo funny I just couldn't stop laughing, even the next day when I replayed the scenes in my head and would embarrassingly laugh out loud... in public... The drama in the movie was unexpected and in my opinion very moving. You see a lot of good emotion and a touching love story that makes this comedy a movie you could watch over and over. This is a DVD buyer for certain! Expand
  4. Aug 1, 2011
    7
    I'm not usually into romantic comedy movies (thats girls stuff! JK lol) but this was a well written well acted movie. It literally brightened my day a little bit. I don't even like Timberlake but after this movie he may want to drop that "music" career and be an actor. Good movie. Expand
  5. Oct 15, 2012
    7
    I have to admit, nobody expect (including myself) Justin Timberlake to be a good actor....but he actually is. Mila Kunis has always been a great comic actress (and probably, one of the most beautiful actress of her generation). Both cast members have so much chemistry that it carries the movie along, making it one of the better Rom Com in recent memory. Expand
  6. Sep 8, 2011
    6
    Il semblerait que Natalie Portman et Mila Kunis soient en compétition depuis Black Swan. Déjà là, les deux actrices "s'affrontaient" dans l'univers de la danse. Maintenant, c'est dans la comédie sentimentale (Sex Friends pour Portman, Sexe entre Amis pour Kunis). Pour la rivale de la grande Mathilda (référence à Léon), Mila Kunis fait équipe avec un excellent Justin Timberlake dans une comédie romantique qui ne sort pas des sentiers battus. Chaque séquence sent le déjà-vu et se montre prévisible. Mais là où s'en sort Sexe entre Amis comparé à Sex Friends, c'est qu'il est moins guimauve, que le duo Kunis/Timberlake fonctionne parfaitement, et que le film possède un humour qui fait très souvent mouche, sans tabou et sans vulgarité non plus. En somme, Sexe entre Amis se montre être une comédie bien sympathique. Et en ce moment, c'est vraiment ce qu'il faut pour se détendre ! Expand
  7. Oct 16, 2011
    0
    If I could score this it would get a -100 ... I mean it !!! One of the worst movies Ive seen this year, Terrible acting (mostly on Timberlake's side !!!) He is really bad in first roles !!! He always is showing his butt and it is really really boring it is something you will watch and know what will happen in the end ... DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME Expand

See all 67 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.