Friends with Benefits

Friends with Benefits Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 274 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A young female headhunter in New York convinces a potential recruit to accept a job in the Big Apple. Despite an attraction to each other, both realize they're everything they've been running from in a relationship and decide to see what happens if they leave emotion out of it and keep itA young female headhunter in New York convinces a potential recruit to accept a job in the Big Apple. Despite an attraction to each other, both realize they're everything they've been running from in a relationship and decide to see what happens if they leave emotion out of it and keep it strictly physical. (Sony Pictures)
    Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jul 22, 2011
    88
    The result isn't just the best new romantic comedy released so far this year, but one of the best comedies, period.
  2. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Jul 21, 2011
    80
    It's after the sex friends go back to being just friends that the film really hits its stride, and that's also when the excellent Patricia Clarkson and Richard Jenkins enter the picture as loving but imperfect parents who help explain what's made both leads so gun-shy.
  3. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jul 21, 2011
    75
    The takeaway on Friends With Benefits is that mores change, styles change, the rules change, and even humor changes. (There are two jokes involving apps, of all things, that are pretty funny.) But people's emotional needs remain the same from era to era.
  4. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jul 21, 2011
    70
    The results are about as naughty as that sounds (not very), but it also makes for a fairly giggling good time.
  5. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jul 21, 2011
    63
    If Kunis gets the showier role in Friends With Benefits, Timberlake proves a quietly charming stalking horse, finally claiming and fully owning the spotlight with a hilarious homage to the 1990s rap duo Kriss Kross.
  6. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jul 22, 2011
    60
    It's cute and funny and sweet, which - as any woman can attest - puts it way ahead of most Friday night options.
  7. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Jul 21, 2011
    30
    What's most crushing is witnessing what should have been the dream pairing of Kunis and Timberlake - both foxy, loose, confident performers - here generating zero chemistry.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 71
  2. Negative: 6 out of 71
  1. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    Justin Timberlake and Mia Kunis are so good together. I laughed soo hard throughout the movie, but it wasn't just a comedy, if you are aJustin Timberlake and Mia Kunis are so good together. I laughed soo hard throughout the movie, but it wasn't just a comedy, if you are a sucker for a good love story this ones for you. I thought it was great. I will probably buy it when it comes out on DVD! Expand
  2. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    This is a good movie. I was not expecting too much but its a very real and funny movie. The story about the Dad is very touching. Its a guyThis is a good movie. I was not expecting too much but its a very real and funny movie. The story about the Dad is very touching. Its a guy meets girl movie coupled with the blue humor of Californication , the fast paced fun of entourage , and a bit of Wilfred thrown in. I like this movie. Expand
  3. Aug 12, 2011
    9
    This movie is absolutely fantastic. Refreshing, smart and most importantly, funny as hell, Friends with benefits is a wonder. It's interestingThis movie is absolutely fantastic. Refreshing, smart and most importantly, funny as hell, Friends with benefits is a wonder. It's interesting to see two similar movies released within a common time frame. No Strings Attached dropped the ball and Friends with Benefits surpasses it every way. Kunis and Timberlake shine and play off of each other like old pros. What is even more amazing is the true heart of it. Both characters have to deal with family issues that are real and honest. My one problem is believing that these characters are damaged, which they will repeatedly tell the audience. This however can be easily overlooked in favor of casting, plot, and chemistry. Expand
  4. Jul 30, 2011
    7
    This movie actually pulled it off after '' No Strings Attached '' since it's the same type of romantic comedy, or if you prefer, '' sexThis movie actually pulled it off after '' No Strings Attached '' since it's the same type of romantic comedy, or if you prefer, '' sex buddies ''. Well, I liked more '' Friends with Benefits ''. It was enjoyable, you can see a reel connection between the characters. Mila Kunis (as Jamie) was fantastic ! She delivered a great comic performance and she looked gorgeous. Also, I liked the ending. It was ironic because everything that they were believing at the beginning, turn out to be the opposite. Well sure it was kinda predictable, but it worked for this movie. You will know what i'm talking about after seeing it. An other thing that was awesome in '' Friends with Benefits '' is the situations (when there talking, etc) between Dylan and Jamie, which I found less cliche than most of romantic comedies. That's why this one stands out. Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2011
    6
    Mr Harrelson, Ms Clarkson & Mr Jenkins are the best part of the movie, because it doesn't feel like they are acting. Ms Kunis (Jamie) & MrMr Harrelson, Ms Clarkson & Mr Jenkins are the best part of the movie, because it doesn't feel like they are acting. Ms Kunis (Jamie) & Mr Timberlake (Dylan) fire off one liners & repartee like, well, they memorized their lines. Ms Kunis fares much better during the 2nd half of the film, the actual love story. The writing of Dylan's character is way overboard and not necessary. It's hard to believe he is so naive. Didn't he see "When Harry Met Sally?" Men don't have women friends, unless they're fibbing or gay. Ms Kunis kept me from the dreaded FFWD. To the reviewers who compare this to similar films or the director's previous work, hey, just write what you thought of this movie. Story, characters, etc. Mr Timberlake was excellent in The Social Network as was Ms Kunis in Black Swan and Easy A was terrific-so what? That has nothing to do with this film. I didn't cry, laughed once and a while, and was waiting for better. It would be refreshing to see a movie end where the couple goes their own way instead of tying it all up with a nice bow. Even though lacking chemistry and with some less than thrilling dialogue, it's still worth a look. Do 30'somethings really talk like this? Perhaps when we write a review we can give some demographic info. I don't care what the critics say, what about you same agers? You like it? Expand
  6. Feb 4, 2012
    0
    Predictable and boring actually i was bored after 20 minutes and nothing changed until the movie was finished i don't know if i was actuallyPredictable and boring actually i was bored after 20 minutes and nothing changed until the movie was finished i don't know if i was actually sleeping with a bad dream or i was just almost sleeping in order to have time going faster to see the next movie... sooo boring Expand

See all 71 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.